Nasim to begin local production of Pug T73 sedan in 2012

peugeot-408-sedan

Following plans that were already on the cards, Nasim and Automobiles Peugeot have signed a master agreement for the production of the T73 C-segment sedan, which will be built at the Naza Automotive Manufacturing plant in Gurun, Kedah.

Nasim is slated to produce 60,000 units of the vehicle – which is expected to be the Peugeot 408 that was launched in the Chinese market earlier in the year, though the official designation for the car has not yet been announced – over a five-year period beginning 2012 and ending in 2016.

The car will be launched in early 2012. Of the 60,000 units, some 60% is being planned for export to other right-hand drive countries in Asean as well as markets outside of the region.

peugeot 408 sedan back

The signing of the T73 master agreement brings things one step closer to making Malaysia Peugeot’s production hub for the region, and there are plans to develop Malaysia into the parts distribution hub for Peugeot for Asean and Pacific countries as well.

The new 207 sedan was the first wave of the expansion plans. Launched locally in early November, the car has already begun making its foray into the Thai market, and first deliveries have begun for the initial order of 44 units. Following Thailand, Nasim intends to begin exporting the new 207 to Indonesia, Brunei and Sri Lanka in the first quarter of 2011.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This is cool, Anthony.
    We’ll have more choices in this segment.
    Hope Nasim could improve the spare part and after sale services, too.

Could you please share more details on the spec?

• now who can say naza is a rebadge company?? hahahaha, bye bye P1

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:26 am

Even if they “rebadge”, it’s for our benefit. That Naza badge saves us thousands of ringgit, and we just need to shell out 200 bucks to get those Kia emblems to replace the Naza ones! That sounds like a good deal no matter how you cut it!

• now they actually start producing cars, P1 supporter will be speechless.

everyone is doing a better job. lets compete!!

p1,p2,inokom,naza.

• Tiadaid on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:32 pm

P1 produces their own cars. NAZA assembles cars for other brands. Big difference.

But still good on them to bring Peugeot in Malaysia. Hopefully the “Rising Sun” dominance will be wiped off.

• nighttrain on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:57 pm

you have no idea what producing and assembly means, right?

• bobdbilder on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:20 pm

You can call Peugeot a rebadge company. They’ve got 107 which comes from Toyota’s Aygo and shared with Citroen C1.

• racotua on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:49 pm

4007/C-crosser = mitsubishi outlander
          iOn = mitsubishi iMiEV

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:45 am

No specifications or details have been announced – the Chinese market 408 has two powertrain choices – 110 hp 1.6 litre and a 147 hp 2.0 litre engine, the latter with CVVT. It’d be nice if the Prince gets shoehorned in.

• nighttrain on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:58 pm

why cant we get whatever europe gets? why follow silly chinese versions?

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:37 am

1) this is not europe
          2) you may not be able to afford what europe gets
          3) small cars like the 107, 1007 are too small and expensive for here

that’s why

• gellardo on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:20 pm

finally…i do hope i can have a used 407 at very attractive price:D

er…408 comes with prince engine also, right?

• DonkeyKong on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:27 am

If it has the same turbocharged 156hp engine and the 6-speed auto.. this sedan will be flying off the shelves!

• bobdbilder on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Only the (proper) 207 hatch and the 308 plus the new Citroen DS3 gets Prince THP 150. Here’s the thing. They all have Manual gearboxes.

See, the French understands that people who drive fast, uses a manual.

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 8:42 pm

unfortunately our people only know how to scream for manual options and when it is available, they go and buy the auto. if you’re not buying, don’t ask for it. you’re just wasting people’s time listening to your ‘wants’ but not ‘needs’.

• Anthony, is this really CKD or gonna be a SKD?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:27 am

Well, they do say it is being built here. :)

• rodimus on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:18 am

Sorry to ask, what is SKD?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:20 am

Semi knocked down, where it is an incomplete kit.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 07, 2010 at 2:41 pm

klx,

I have been informed by Nasim that every single last T73 will be assembled at the Naza Automotive Manufacturing plant in Gurun, Kedah, as they are all complete knock down units (and for that matter, the 207 is also a CKD pack, I am told). Hence the words “built at”.

• nighttrain on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:01 pm

207 or 207 sedan? coz if it’s the real 207, I’m in the market..

• Critique on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:38 pm

Now this looks like a proper Pug ! ! ! :)

• toyoottt on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:45 pm

wow,, 408 is coming,, this is sedan for 308,, hope we can see more pug car on malaysian road in future..

• Bobob on Dec 06, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Hi all,

Last time I own Pug 405GTX in 1996-2000, handling were superb but the price maintained it by Mbf Peugeot & spare part cost need to think me twice to re-owned its. but, luckily I stay near S’pore. every time I need the spare part, I will call “Kian-hua” at Veerasamy road, ask the to quote me by fax, bring enough cash and most of the time, the cost there is at least 1/3 cheaper than Malaysia. Sometime need extra token RM50-RM100 for duty, no need to kautim just declared by mentioning to costly to get in Malaysia.

And now with Nazim, assembling it in Malaysia hope fully I could driving it again in near future.

• naqib on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:11 pm

yes, bring this n kill the 207 (206) sedan
    i’ll be one of the buyers for this

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:18 am

the 207 is for another segment of buyers. not you. and, you don’t have to buy it nor say disparaging things about those who like the 207 because they are people too and have different liking.

• dragster on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:11 pm

why the desgin look like cut n paste the rear from another car?? prefer the cupe type of body design….

• nighttrain on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:03 pm

that’s because it is cut and paste..

• bobdbilder on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:50 pm

Yep from a 308. See the front lights and even the fog lights at the bottom. The bonnet and the front bumper has been changed.

• adrian on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:14 pm

any interior photos paul?

• shawal on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:21 pm

Now this is more like it!!!, Why didn’t bring this model earlier instead of the biblically horrendous 407 sedan?!

• Mata2 on Dec 06, 2010 at 8:41 pm

This model looks much balance than the current 207(which is not actully 207 cause peug never repeat the model number)

• malaysia seem able to attract conti car than jap or kor car to built here

• mitlanevo on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:54 pm

hopefully this sweet car wont be outdated in 2012….

• tianshi on Dec 06, 2010 at 9:54 pm

2.0 HDi – RM95K

• Maybe Nasim should assemble some 308SW, other other 7-seater….. :)

• better built than assemble to avoid import tax n use local built component…suppose to be cheap than CKD

• local built component, and suffer like P1 where cronies are giving sub par component!

• odi862 on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:00 pm

The Lion is good in looks but it is sure a thirsty beast. This is true for 308T….dunno about other models.

• saki77 on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:35 pm

are u talking about Turbo? i thought turbo does drink much… or is it just Peugeot? what about others Turbo?…

• Zidane on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:09 pm

Well hope that when Malaysia becomes a production hub for the region, the spare parts will get cheaper for us to own a Peugeot.

• Nasim plan for 60000 production between 2012 to 2016. to be more specified, it’s 12000 each year or 1000/month.

while 60% of it is for exporting to other Asean contries.
    which is reducing all the grand amount to a target of 400 sales of this Pug408 or T73 in Malaysia.

• intermilan on Dec 06, 2010 at 10:57 pm

400/month sale target consistently for 5 solid years or 400/month on average for 5 solid years seems rather high (as usual) .. but who knows.
      The 308, 3008 and 5008 ‘success story’ might have give Peugeot the much needed acceptance by the market towards Peugeot brand once again.

What i know, this one should be another hit seller for Peugeot, unless it is screw up big time, which is quite difficult.

I just wish that for the time being, the long waiting period for the 3008 has been taken care of so such negative-impact news wouldn’t be around anymore.

Are certain quarters at Nasim have get it all wrong for grossly underestimating the market demand for the 3008? I do hope the waiting period has been reduced drastically. 12 months waiting period is ridiculous and unheard of for a French car!

Victim of its own ‘success’.

• the 3008 is now having a wait list of about 4-6 months only. so i think it is solved. do check with the outlets to get the latest updates on the 3008 stock situation. do not think that the peugeot brand is ‘tak laku’ and have lots of stock waiting at the showrooms for buyers. yes, the response to the 3008 was underestimated but i think they will not make the same mistake for the future models.

• intermilan on Dec 12, 2010 at 6:32 pm

its important to the market to know that the waiting list shorter now, thou 4-6 months are still quite long, you know.

• whatever on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Any chance NASIM will locally asssemble the 5008? He…he…

• this car very comfortable..even in offroad..driving is great..interior like 308..very comfortable and more leg room for back seat…i tried it in china..left hand version..

• 207 not even on the road yet……..dunno why ???

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:30 am

did you think that they could perhaps only want to register cars in 2011 since it is so close to year end? thinklah, think!

• mrk2k on Dec 06, 2010 at 11:41 pm

Is there even any plans to CKD the Peugeot 508 instead? Now, that’s something I really look forward to.

• Peugeot needs to further improve their design to make their appearance in Asean countries a successful one. It’s been receiving critisms all these years…

At least Malaysian won’t be that picky when it comes to a looker than a performer.

• Peugeot neds to know that in this part of the world. buyers buy the cars first with the eyes, and then the brain then only the heart. This means, they need a damn good looking car, then a good spec sheet (never mind if the power comes in only after you strain the car till near death) and finally handling and such. This is imho, how car buyers in this region act. So Peugeot, Wake Up and replace the 207 as soon as you can!

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:32 am

well, the 408 looks decently good. at least it is not offensive.

• the juke on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:40 am

i dont know that looks can be offensive?

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 11:43 am

yes, it can be. just see how ‘offensive’ some people think the 207 looks ;) by the way, it is grammartically correct to use ‘offensive’ for looks as this term has been used quite a lot of times by motoring writers.

• the juke on Dec 08, 2010 at 12:40 pm

for example? dont mean to be sarcastical or critical, honestly i wanna know.

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 7:20 pm

you could look for the 207 page right here in paul tan and read the comments. those should give you an idea but as for actual usage of the term ‘offensive looks’ gosh, i hv to search my stacks of old magazines lah.

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:20 am

isnt dat a bit late?

• i believe for the past few months we have seen onslaughts of new model like PUG, Nissan Teana, Altis. We all know Honda civic is coming next year too. And all these is to actually trying to neutralize the impact of civic’s arrival in the market. People in Malaysia are not stupid to own peugeot, bmw or audi instead of a more powerful legendary Civic. Hold your money and wait for the world king of the car to land here…Honda Civic!!

• civic is king of the car? no wayyyyy, got sampan handling can become king arr? tight corner has to brake brake then proton cars easily potong maaa, where to put face?

• ??? i tot civic already here..u mean new gen civic?

• tikus on Dec 07, 2010 at 10:21 am

HA!! Honda Saleman….with cheapo publicity.

• Nope, the upcoming version of Civic won’t be than ‘legendary’ as you mentioned… it’s already putting ppl down at some of the possible previews at middle east…

It’s more like a Toyota design now… (Axio, Allion)

• Unbelievable on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:16 am

S60,

Honda CIVIC is NOT legendary or collector car at all .

Latest heard Honda CIVIC only sold 9,000 units in Japan and cannot sold well there. Japan shall be dropping the sales of HONDA CIVIC MODEL in their own country totally but in future this model is only for export market only.

PPL will have a big problems later on when coming to get wreckage parts easily ( not plentiful around in the future) . Can only buy expensive new parts only if available as limited outsource wreckage parts.

Honda is a relative young company as compare to Peugeot . Peugeot company had more than 100 years history whereas Honda is LESS than 100 years( only 62 years ) history.

For comfort , Peugeot is legendary
      For good in Advertisement , HONDA is legendary

NEW HONDA CIVIC is real SUCKS big time in the future !!!

• anti-first on Dec 07, 2010 at 4:01 pm

thank goodness people in Malaysia are smart enough NOT TO BUY “the delusional legend” called HONDA CIVIC due to a plethora of choices in the form of Peugeot, Citroen, Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Proton, Perodua, Madza and others available to them – RIGHT NOW!

aiseh honda salesman, take your peddling elsewhere la wei! :)

• mizzuddin on Dec 08, 2010 at 9:23 am

powerful and legendary? king of the car? for civic? WTF!

people who can afford to buy contis surely buy bmw, merce or volks if not audi or peugeot. they don’t even bother to think about civics

• Ah Fook on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:47 am

Their service center sux big time!

• If Nasim is serious enough they should offer this instead of 207 (or 206+boot) sedan. Why not offer turbodiesel and publicized maintenance and ownership cost as l was made known that the service not much difference that ‘king of the sedan’, Honda Civic?

Peugeot is decent RHD European machine, with decent Prince engine too but people are scared of maintenance cost and availability. God willing if Peugeot through Nasim have done their part adequately, more potential buyers willing to give them chance.

Perhaps, their gray import doing more than enough instead of Peugeot, Chevrolet or Kia businesses? Or younger Naza heirs not as serious as their dad?

• intermilan on Dec 07, 2010 at 8:07 am

If Nasim is serious enough, which i’m sure they do,

They should strive to ensure replacement parts cost commensurate reasonably with the cost of the vehicle. Best if they could make it very affordable. We know they have quite an influence in determining the cost of Peugeot replacement / spare parts.

No point selling a vehicle at RM68K or RM72K when its parts pricing is similar or more expensive to competitor model that sold for RM100K.

It worse when the cheaper vehicle you sold is less reliable (i.e. many parts need to be replaced so quickly and out of the blue, leaving your wallet empty more frequently).

Almost all Peugeot models will be a success if the Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) is acceptable. Truer for bread-and-butter model.

So far they have did great in setting good price for the vehicle on offer, standard maintenance cost is not high (really!) and Peugeot vehicle fuel consumption rate is good (not fuel guzzler definitely).

All left to do in completing the low TCO package and experience is for them to further bring down the cost of spare parts.

Nobody will say good thing about their Peugeot when the price of replacement / spare parts (other than the one used for the normal schedule maintenance) is ridiculously high.

• just sell your 206 la intermillan

• intermilan on Dec 12, 2010 at 6:43 pm

its intermilan lah, satu “l” saja, not dua “l”.

sell my 206.. ? you must be so jealous with my 206 or just couldn’t stand the truth.

and by the way, who the hell are you jbjb?

• u sholud ask peug for than not Nasim…

• donno on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Normal dealing with foreign carmakes la…

If you want the hot selling model, 1st you must sell this nearly obsolete car 1st… If you can, then they will give the hot selling car…

In that way they are able to make profit/cut their loss by dumping the old model here while still selling the hot cars elesewhere.

Proton got it fair share with the Tiara (when citroen promises to give the more latest model the saxo after that)…

• 408=308 sedan.

207= 206plus + sedan.

they are different segment la.

• katob on Dec 07, 2010 at 9:01 am

this is truly sedan and not Pug 207 Sedan. Its like odd to me.

• This is not the 407 replacement right? When will the 508 will be coming here? Will the price of 407 will drop in the near future?

• laluan sehala on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:26 am

normally, nasim don’t drop price of old models when a new one comes in. like when the enhanced 308vti came out, there was no discount. likewise, when the 6 speed 308 turbo came out, there was no discount for the 4 speed.

• 2012..why so long…im way much eager to know about the persona R;D

• french croissant on Dec 07, 2010 at 11:54 am

1 sentence sums up everything, get 1 u will regret forever…………

• whocares on Dec 07, 2010 at 12:01 pm

looks small and lacks modern styling

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:37 pm

Puegeot should send their engineers here to ensure that the quality of the locally produced Pug cars are of Pug’s minimum requirement.

• Jimmy on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:38 pm

At least must meet the minimum requirement, exceeding is even better.

• vincent on Dec 07, 2010 at 6:17 pm

The problem is, is the Pug’s minimum quality as high as the customer’s expectation, or same as germany or japanese car manufacturers?

• bryan jones on Dec 07, 2010 at 1:37 pm

2012??? so long to go.. maybe Msia not on earth, that’s why so long to bring it in this planet.

• 1012?
    1 year from now??
    How does Peogeot acheive their sales target since potential buyer cant have a passion to wait ?/

Till 1012?/who know,others alternative model from others brand of car make a first move to launch their new model which capable as T73??

It is open for discussion.=)

• SoMeOnE on Dec 08, 2010 at 2:12 am

well judging by what i have read on the above comments its rather obvious Malaysia is not like any other car market…the reason why new manufacturers are so afraid to sell thier ‘top’ products here is because we have a rather ‘unique’ market…even from this site u see so many comments written that goes like ‘wah like that better get toyota lor’ or Honda ‘pick up and interior nicer’ or even ‘Mercedes do that first and now this car maker copying’

from the said comments..its rather obvious that when the majority of the public switch up from local makes..they instantly form a ‘car brand pyramid’ in thier head…..in this pyramid its starts with toyota,honda and nissan. and.then when they think premium they move to bmw or Merc …so basically these are the brands that come into the mind instantly..and the sales charts speak for themselves…the other simply dont stand a chance in the said segments and most joint ventures always result in failures. ..the reason for this is the brands i have mention control the pricing of thier parts ..and most importantly it seems for Malaysians is GOOD RESALE VALUE and the list goes on..and these makes it easier for a buyer to ‘buy’ into the product due to the crazy pricing we have here and they becomes brand loyalists..and Malaysians tend to stick with thier chosen brand no matter wat (as sales charts of the last 5 -10 years show)

IMO its a ballsy move for any other maker to even try to get into our market because of this phenomenon and like any other business….they would try to minimize the risk as much as possible while gauging the public response and thats why we are given ‘asianized’ products. such as this..its not a bad car in any sense of the word as even the corrola’s , rush’s or even certain bmw’s were or still are using outdated engines tech etc in the spirit of ‘minimizing costs/takin us Malaysians for granted’ but we dont actually find fault in tha due ito what is mentioned above..IMO i would take this as a sign of things to come which means (i hope) we would have more choices in more segments and having more choices wont realy hurt us would it??..Im honestly glad that im looking at the pic as the buyer instead of being A niche brand investor/distibutor as they are constantly hoping and prayin to even reach decent sales numbers to justify thier start ups etc……who knows..more of us might find something we like in this ‘other’ brands …this can only mean i can have more fun come the time i buy my next car ;)

• rambl on Dec 11, 2010 at 11:10 am

can ‘asianized’ the product but don’t give us toned down version , such as less hp engine, asians also customers , why don’they give us the same engine, we want it as powerful as as it is, don’t degrade , detune or detone it, give us the turbo version at least light or soft ones so we have more choices.

same as interior quality, safety features, and of course teh tarik hooks and places for mineral bottles.

• zainal abidin on Dec 08, 2010 at 8:25 am

Brilliant move by Nasim and Peugeot….That’ll mean more jobs for us….TQ

• Jaybond on Dec 08, 2010 at 10:01 am

The timing I suspect, is probably to co-incide with the launch of the next gen Honda Civic. Look & performance-wise, I think the car should still be pleasing for the future market. What could be lacking though is the dashboard design, which is pale and lack of imagination if compared to, even the current Civic. But at least we have a competitive European contender for the C segment.

• Kim McClain on Dec 08, 2010 at 3:46 pm

Yeah. If we survived 2012.

• First of all,

From the comment above ,most of them are giving a positive comment of the series segment-C T73.

Refering to the press today,CEO of Asia pacific from Peogeot automobile mentioned that they are very comfident that this model will get a very good respond in the market soon.I guess ,probably this survey we can get from blogs and feedback from the buyer mindset throught the forum.But ,for the enduser like us,have a good market respond will it going to benefict the buyer?

I very sure all people outthere are wondering ,What is the end price for the new model?
    In my point of view,the price have not set yet ,perhaps,but the respond and survey from us,buyer will effect the end result of the market price in this market soon.
    Example,high demand on this model and good respond on the series will indirectly influences the end retail price they are going to set,am i right to said that ?
    And if ,the price of this model is out of our expectation ,for sure ,who will going to “invest”an automobile which will be down value after purchase.

I do beleive every one of us discussing the spec ,the safety,the captability ,ect of this model,if the prices is still a “?”.

Of course,too much confident and demand will increase the price.This is the fact in business and i think none of us hope this model will going to priced Too expensive.But ,i think every one out there sure hope can get this model with a Super Competitive price,right?=),me too.

France car is still france car,it cant compare to German car in the market of Malaysia.This is the fact.
    But we hope ,we can support France car with the PRICE is affortable.
    We will support Peogeot in Malaysia market ,but of course we need them to give us a competative price to support them also.

• They are selling 1000 unit per month? Serius ah? They are goimg to beat Vios hahahaha which I doubt unless Marion C becomes the Marketer hahahaha

• went to Peogeot show room today .

207 sedan display in the showroom.Get closer and touch it…..

One word.Dissatisfied.

gentelment,u have to go into showroom and experence this car…..207sedan .U will get what i mean.

Not idea is that becoz local assemble or cut down the cost .The quality od 207 sedan = kancil produa…….interior fitting ………….Suck

OMG!!!!!!!!!
    Nasim ?naza….are u really wanna spoil ur market with this type of quality ????

• went to show room today ….

get closer into 207 sedan …….

One word,Sick!!

No idea is that local assemble or wanna cut cost ?

the quality of 207 sedan =kancil …the interior fixing ………really suck ..

OMG!!1
    Nasim /Naza Group….
    R u really wanna spoil ur name with the kind of quality ????

• anybody drives Peugeot 3008? im searching for users who face some quality problems. tag me pls

• Roger on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Dear all,

II have been in China for more than 3 years and was currently driving a Peugeot 408. For those of you who can read chinese, you can try this website about the review of this car;
    http://www.autohome.com.cn/987/
    http://www.autohome.com.cn/987/articles.html

tons of pics, prices, comparison with other cars, specs are all there.

My 2 cents of this car;
    – got this car for approx. 135 K CNY for 2.0 Auto. Value for money
    – a very spacious car, width of 1815 mm , length of 4680 mmand a wheel base of 2610 mm. Try compare that with Vios/City, you will know the difference.
    – interior quality rather good. soft plastic
    – looks better than peugeot 307. although 408 was a stretch version of 307.

Cons;
    – 4 gear auto. a litlle sluggish

P/S: consumer in China are spoilt with choices. All major brand introduce their latest model to this market with pretty good specs. You don’t want to know how much VW Golf 1.4 TSI is selling here. It is a steal!

• Roger on Jan 23, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Dear all,

Test drive review of the car;

http://www.autohome.com.cn/drive/201006/119150.html

for those who can read chinese, you will find this very informative.

• Hi

latest new i receive is 408 will not be carry in to malaysia market by Nasim……

it that true?

• Mapaulo on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:07 pm

What about current Rust warranty in Malaysia, because in Europe it is often 12 years and i heard that duting 206 Bestari production, some of 2000 cars in Naza plant were sent as new car by Peugeot but with a big stress with corrosion and no warranty over 3 years?