China’s BAIC and Brilliance in line to buy sick Pininfarina?

The world’s most famous auto design house, Pininfarina, is in deep financial trouble and Chinese carmakers are lining up as saviours. Reports from China have pointed out to Beijing Automotive Industry Holding Corp (BAIC) and Brilliance Auto as among the companies bidding to acquire the Italian firm.

“BAIC has submitted the bid for the Italian firm for several months. The successful acquisition of Pininfarina will be very favorable for BAIC’s development of future models,” a BAIC exec told eeo.com.cn. The unnamed exec also revealed that he was recently in Italy working with Pininfarina with a Saab-based concept car for this year’s Shanghai motor show.

The hungry Beijing based automaker is no stranger to acquiring foreign help. In 2009, BAIC paid $200 million to GM for three platforms and two engines from Saab, which included the design of the old 9-5.

Apparently, the design house’s other Chinese customers are also interested. Brilliance Auto and Anhui Jianghuai Automobile (JAC) are the other names in the frame to take over Pininfarina, which posted a net loss of 33.8 million euros in the third quarter of 2010. Other names in the rumour mill are Indian company Mahindra and and Magna International.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bryan.jones on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:44 am

if they took over Pininfarina, the design will be marvellous.. no more chinaman designs from either 2 of the chinese carmakers.

• Amryl Malek on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:57 am

Proton should also bid for it….

• Amryl Malek on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:58 am

Proton should bid for it…

• awe donde on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:02 pm

please dont take over vw group…. hahaha…

• jules on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Proton Should buy it… Lotus .. ride and handling…. Designo by Pinifarina…. good combination

• Rockmebaby on Jan 03, 2011 at 3:20 pm

Great time for Proton to spend some ringgit. THEN, they can go & fired their whole Proton Design Dept (^_^)

• Jules on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Proton should buy it. Lotus ride and handling … Designo Pininfarina. .. What good combination

• ^pomen_GTR^ on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:14 pm

proton hurry grab your chance here…

u already got lotus….for mechanicals

now its time get tis pininfarina for looks

• nebula87 on Jan 03, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Walao..those china man wat also wan 2 buy…haiz…i think the future will have those china man taking over all the automobile industries…swt

• squawk on Jan 03, 2011 at 1:09 pm

China and India fighting for foreign assets.

• JustUpgrade on Jan 03, 2011 at 1:10 pm

when the industry is booming, they use the money to acquire others to improve their product, and target the world market to improve. Not like us spend the money to acquire and sell at $1. It is so obvious where the $$ go to someone’s pocket. So it never been a grand view of the people in charge. period.

They way Protong management is doing? its only target for 1 market. pity us.

We were many years ahead of China Automobile when we started, but I am not surprise in 5-10 years time, the world is buying Chinese Car, and also…IMPORT by our grey importer, or dealer to our market to MAKE money for them. So, what has Protong doing? F1? HAHAHA..Lotus? HAHAHA..

• On the contrary, China automobile industry started way back in late 1920s. Their first modern automobile factory First Automobile Works began production in 1956

But once they made up their mind to open up the economy and compete with the rest, China zoomed past Japan to become the world’s No. 2 vehicle market in 2006 and passed the United States to be the biggest in 2009 (Wikipedia).

Proton collaboration with China (although not very smooth yet) is a smart move.

• Where is our P1&P2, we fall behind from the beginning if they get it.

• is not quite shocking when it involve italian…

OOT: Where is the news about perdana replacement news using nissan fuga and rebadge it…is it true?….

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 03, 2011 at 3:27 pm

disgusting

• biggie on Jan 03, 2011 at 3:45 pm

a good move at least no more eyesore on the road (hopefully cars from the latest autoshow will get a makeover). At a cheap price as well.

most probably some will go to mao pocket

• Ash Menon on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:14 pm

I agree with the other comments, why isn’t Proton leaping at this? I admire the confidence in your own design department, but let’s be realistic, this is Pininfarina we’re talking about.

• rather than buy pina..better acquire pina designer rite..at least proton will not hav to invest to much to make pina become profit..if i giv u choice which u choose 1. loss making pina + high salary pina designer or 2. just acquire pina high salary designer