Renault R-Space: Putting sexy and romance into an MPV

First we saw the sexy DeZir coupe, then the Captur crossover, now we’re looking at R-Space, which sees Renault’s fresh design language applied on a compact MPV. Led by former Mazda Nagare man Laurens van den Acker, the design team sought to combine sensuality with a monospace architecture. The result is flowing and organic, unusual for a people carrier.

Measuring 4.25 metres in length, the R-Space is more compact than a Scenic. The front end adapts the new visual identity as seen on the DeZir/Captur that’s centred on the large Renault lozenge. Inspired by the human body, the honey-gold body panels are shaped as sculptured volumes – as a result, eyes are drawn to reflections and the play of the light rather than the lines themselves.

This is an R rated MPV. “With R-Space, it was the pent-up energy in tensed muscles that inspired me. I wanted to make people feel the urge to caress the body, to make it sensuous – despite the fact that this is an MPV aimed at families,” reveals Fabrice Pouille, exterior designer.

The coach doors open wide like the Opel Meriva, except that this concept doesn’t have B pillars. The forms of the dash and seats are similar to the DeZir concept’s. The driver enjoys a cockpit-like environment, while the interlinking shape of the front seat backrests are an idea of a couple in love. The latter leaves one in no doubt that this is a French car!

The rear section revolves around children. It’s a play space formed from a simple and universal shape – the cube. 27 miniature motors power an array of height-adjustable hexahedrons, allowing four settings to be programmed, from an all-flat surface, to a booster seat, a table or a random configuration (only when the vehicle is parked) for children’s games.

You’ve got to admire their creativity. Gallery after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2022]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ash Menon on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:12 pm

One thing you can never call Renault concepts is boring. The new design look is beginning to look a little more practical (as opposed to the ridiculous Captur).

Is it just me or does the shape (especially the design of that top) resemble the Mazda Kiyora concept?

• dickybird on Mar 02, 2011 at 6:40 pm

ass macam like the murano’s?!

• Loving the roof! Fancy stuff…

• the concept is Fiesta MPV alike.. without the B-pillar..

• shawal on Mar 03, 2011 at 6:43 am

the1 thing that annoys me about renault concept cars is ….the production version will look nothing like it …

• oldcar on Mar 03, 2011 at 8:56 am

R-Space = Romance space which mean a space for a couple to hv s*x in the car. Space for children is just a twist…maybe.

• mohsin on Mar 03, 2011 at 9:39 am

I’m in love… again!

• nolan on Mar 03, 2011 at 10:03 pm

for the first time I’m in love with this Renault….