Ford EcoLPi liquid injection LPG Falcon set for Oz debut

Over in Australia, Ford will be introducing its next-generation EcoLPi liquid injection LPG system sometime in mid-year, and it will debut on the Falcon sedan there. The introduction will see Ford continuing to be the only manufacturer to offer dedicated LPG technology in that market.

The new EcoLPi in-line six-cylinder engine is a liquid phase injection, dedicated LPG powerplant promising impressive fuel efficiency and reduced CO2 emissions, with no compromise in engine performance compared to the existing petrol I6 engine found in the Falcon.

Liquid injection LPG delivers significant driveability and operating improvements compared to the previous E-Gas venturi-style vapour system offered, including better fuel economy and substantial increases in both power and torque outputs.

The new EcoLPi engine develops 265 hp of power at 5,000 rpm and 409 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm, identical to the petrol I6 engine running on RON 95 fuel. The block will be partnered to a ZF six-speed automatic transmission on all variants wearing the EcoLPi unit.

The numbers represent a 27% improvement in maximum power and 10% improvement in peak torque compared to the previous generation E-Gas LPG engine, which produced 209 hp and 371 Nm. Preliminary testing on a Falcon EcoLPi sedan points towards a 12-15% improvement in overall fuel efficiency and CO2 emissions over the old system.

The cornerstone of the EcoLPi engine is a new injection system, which follows a similar fuel induction configuration to the petrol I6 engine, courtesy of a new injector-based, high-pressure fuel rail that delivers liquid-state LPG fuel directly into the intake port.

Whereas traditional vapour LPG systems turn liquefied gas into vapour form before feeding it into the engine via a venturi in the throttle body, the liquid phase injection system takes the gas in liquid state all the way to the injectors.

Injecting the LPG fuel in a liquid state directly into the intake port in a more precise and controlled manner generates improved engine volumetric efficiency, which delivers better fuel economy, reduced CO2 emissions and greater engine performance.

As the LPG fuel is no longer under pressure once it’s released from the injector, its sudden expansion and rapid cooling of the incoming air charge creates the ideal conditions for maximum fuel burning efficiency. This enables the engine to produce more power and torque, economically, and with fewer emissions.

Technical highlights of the system include a new fuel rail (including injectors) designed and developed specifically for the EcoLPi engine, new design lightweight pistons (including a low-friction ring pack), a higher 12.0:1 comression ratio, new polymer fuel lines with a low thermal mass to keep the LPG fuel liquefied and a new fuel line filter (with an in-tank filter added) to prevent system/component contamination.

Elsewhere, significant modifications have been carried out on the fuel tank, including all-new internals and sub-level components as well as a new high-pressure fuel pump, and mods have been done on the engine management system as well, including a new fuel priming strategy.

The new EcoLPi powertrain will be available on both the Falcon sedan and Ute, with the line-up made up of XT, G6, G6E and XR6 variants for the sedan and XL, R6 and XR6 variants in both Cab Chassis and Styleside Box body configurations for the Ute.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Used Panties Sniffer on Apr 04, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Our clowns selling Ford here are all selling outdated and old cars lah. The Ford Escape, we have one old model being sold lah. In the US website, the new Ford Escape has been there over a year and it looks totally different.

Even Ford Focus also, we are being sold old model. Ford Focus got new model launched already. Why do we Malaysians always get third world products? Are we the dumping ground for rejected goods?

• vw_fan on Apr 04, 2011 at 3:51 pm

This car is powerful indeed. I always thought LPG cars were slow pokes. It would make sense for the government to waive the taxes for this since this is a eco friendly car. I wonder if our current LPG pumps support this.

• Sometimes different models are sold in different regions. As of now, Focus and Escape selling in Malaysia are the same models selling in Australia. In fact, Ford Malaysia offered the 6-speed dual clutched gearbox to Malaysian Fiesta when the Australian still using 4-speed AT.

Try to take the used panties off your head before you speak, you’ll see a brighter and clearer world.

• mohgui on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:18 pm

the headlights and bonnet grill looks like the Satria Neo…

• NONICKNAME on Apr 04, 2011 at 4:22 pm

The truck remind me of Satria Neo.. Opps!!!

• babyboy on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:13 pm

copyright proton arena ker..

• ezracopters on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:15 pm

wow………. Falcon Ute could be next gen Proton Arena. had a little Neorism in it hehehe..

• WahPiang on Apr 04, 2011 at 5:26 pm

This is what I drive, but V8 version – XR8…

• Shaycoat on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:21 am

The Falcon UTE (front lamp) reminds me of Chery Easter