Porsche marks 10 years in China with special 911 Turbo S

Porsche has been in China for a decade and is growing strongly in the world’s largest auto market. Demand is outstripping supply, especially for popular models like the Cayenne SUV, which has a waiting list of over a year! Stuttgart plans to triple its dealer network in China to about 100 from 33 by 2018 at the latest, and from the looks of it, China should overtake USA as Porsche’s largest market in 2014.

And to celebrate its tenth anniversary in China, Porsche is introducing a special edition of its 911 Turbo S. No extra power or mods, so the car comes with the standard 530 hp twin-turbo flat-six, mated to Porsche’s PDK twin-cutch gearbox.

What’s unique is the looks. The exterior is painted in a special Gold Bronze Metallic hue with flat black and carbon fibre accents. Those black wheels are 19-inch Fuchs-style alloys taken from the 911 Sport Classic. Inside, you’ll find a gold commemorative plaque, lots of Alcantara and contrasting gold stitching for the main black trim.

Only 10 examples will be built, and they’re all reserved for Chinese customers. As with anything labelled “special edition”, they will have no problems finding 10 people willing to pay top dollar to stand out.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ko malu saje... on Jun 02, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Myvi can do better than that!

• maserati on Jun 02, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Enough lo Porsche, you want to copy Perodua?

• mizzuddin on Jun 02, 2011 at 7:33 pm

hayyooo this special edition bkn cincai2 punya la mate… only 10 examples to be built ma…

anyway i got ur point bright clear… perodua’s doctrine on special elite melite supreme duper mega edition SU*KS!!!

• GeeGee on Jun 02, 2011 at 8:33 pm

LOL myvi special edition? sports edition? limited edition?

so many edition.

• for once i have to agree with maserati

• doctor noway on Jun 02, 2011 at 8:39 pm

wow tis car looks like satria neo from the back!!

• sfssd on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Hahaha, Elite Exclusive Limited edition “KIAM SIAP”, HAMSAP

• mmouse on Jun 02, 2011 at 9:54 pm

I can only afford a TATA NANO special edition… Haiz….. Do they have one made?

• DArkerMarker on Jun 02, 2011 at 11:33 pm

exclusive limited edition from Porsche such as:

Cinapek Edition

and the famous

Pagoda and Helang Edition

• Yah,, China is so powerful now it even scars the hell out of those earth people here!

• niceone on Jun 03, 2011 at 11:03 am

wow all those luxury car brands really love china (for their money of course). only need some modifications to the exterior, and a photoshopped picture for advertisement purpose, and POOF!! sold out already.

• why you people here so jealous about other people? i know you all are poor……