Peugeot 408 (T73 sedan) spotted undergoing camouflaged testing on the highway

This disguised sedan was spotted by reader Eugene on the PLUS highway between Kampar and Sungkai on Friday afternoon during lunch hour. It was accompanied by a Naza Forte. Although it is disguised, we can identify it as the Peugeot 408 by looking at the shape.

Nasim has been referring to the Peugeot 408 by the codename T73 sedan so far, as the “408” name has not been confirmed for our market. It is known as the 408 in the markets its been launched in so far. Despite its name, it’s not really a continuation of the 407, as the successor for that car has moved upmarket and is now called the Peugeot 508.

Although Nasim plans for the T73 to be locally assembled, this unit shouldn’t be one of the locally assembled units as from this picture we can see it is a left hand drive unit.

The Peugeot 408 is a C-segment sedan and is based on the Peugeot 308 hatchback chassis. However, Peugeot has increased the wheelbase so there should be significantly better interior space for the 408 sedan as compared to the 308 hatchback. Because of the longer chassis and new body panels instead of merely carrying over the 308 body panels, the 408 doesn’t suffer much from the awkwardness of typical hatches that are converted to sedans.

The 408 has a wheelbase of 2,710mm, which is 10mm longer than the roomy 8th generation Honda Civic’s 2,700mm wheelbase. In China, the 408 was launched with two engines – a 110hp/147Nm 1.6 litre engine and a 147hp/200Nm 2.0 litre engine.

Look after the jump for the full gallery of spyshots, a promo video, as well as product photos of the Peugeot 408 from its international unveiling.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2301]

[zenphotopress number=999 album=795]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tiadaid on Jun 12, 2011 at 6:10 pm

It’s like the 207? A 308 hatchback with a sedan?

• Pretty much.

At least the Peugeot 408 is a sedan based on a current model, unlike the Peugeot “207” sedan which is a Peugeot 206 with a face transplant and a bolt-on boot.

• Fridz on Jun 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Yup..

The so called 207 sedan brought by Nasim is actually a sedan-ed 206. Why Nasim dont bring the Hatchback 207?

Any idea what will be in this 408? 1.6 Vti or 2.0 like 407?

• for info,

Chinese market 207 Sedan & 408 Sedan also using
          this same Nasim philosophy
          Its not a special case for Malaysia only

• ntahaaa on Jun 12, 2011 at 6:12 pm

owh…. i thought it was a proton

• anti-first on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:18 am

owh….it can be a proton – in 50 years from now.

• ntahaaa on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:56 pm

owh… come on..
        in term of exterior design, proton almost as good as this peugeot design… but not that perfect…
        for interior design and quality (proton)… haish… damn.. but ok la

• DonkeyKong on Jun 12, 2011 at 6:17 pm

I’m sure this car will be quite beautiful in the flesh! Let’s hope it’s within the RM130k-140k price range at most. And also, why not give it the 156hp Prince 1.6 engine, or the more powerful 200hp high-pressure turbo version.

• Peugeot is introducing a new updated THP 163 Prince engine for the Chinese market in 2013.

Until then I am arrive they are stuck with the older last generation engine that the Peugeot 307 use.

• Kevin on Jun 12, 2011 at 7:45 pm

why 130k to 140k??? the turbocharged 308 is only 118k! so by right, this should cost rm95k max!

• SHHITTTsss on Jun 12, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Bring 408 to European market for lower price so we can get HDi engine, not VTi engine.

• jackson on Jun 12, 2011 at 6:39 pm

donkeykong, you’re an IDIOT! it’s people like you who ‘estimate’ the price sky high that the brands, Toyota, Honda, Peugeot, Nissan, Hyundai, etc dare to place the car price high when they have NO factual reason to do it. Other than to cheat the gullible people in Malaysia. The only reason they can put the car price high is because they CAN. and they are greedy.

• SHHITTTsss on Jun 12, 2011 at 9:58 pm

All Malaysians are very greedy, like Chinese and South Americans. They want a trunk, not a hatch. They want 3-box sedans for their family. They are very greedy.

• Just me on Jun 13, 2011 at 11:15 am

No doubt car in malaysia is expensive. The real reason is mainly on the import duty (blame our gov), the car company also want to make profit, but I would say that is not as much as import duty. Just compare the price in Langkawi vs other part of malaysia.

• sukasuki on Jun 14, 2011 at 1:19 am

but u have to aware, the car company sets the basic price without tax. so the tax is based on the car actual price. so it goes back to T n H cos putting the non logical basic pricing. :)

• nabill on Jun 12, 2011 at 6:39 pm

singapore ody have…paired with 2.0 and cvt from nissan

• Monday on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:38 am

sure or not? since when singapore have this model? better check your facts.

• TallPan on Jun 12, 2011 at 7:17 pm

sexy lookin rims! way to raise the bar :-)

• sick&tired on Jun 12, 2011 at 7:20 pm

after the seeing the 207, i am glad peugeot did a better job with the 408. however i would still take the hatchback any day.

• Paul,

How about the rumors on 508 Paul? I was in Singapore last week and 1.6 of 308Turbo in the bigger sedan pretty impressive. Imagine smaller engine with 240Nm that dwarfs the Japanese sedan.

508 if price competitively can challenge the Japanese status quo, a bit. Nice interior and feel so luxury.

408 can only match Japanese sedan if using turbodiesel or at least 1.6 turbo of Prince engine not lesser than that.

• Why on earth that they need to covered it with bandages ? people have already seen it from the web, unless Malaysia version look different or it going to be a Naza Bestari 408 ? to escape the tax & duty?
    Anyway it still look oddly to me, peugeot still do not know how to turn an hatchback into a sedan nicely, infact Proton done a better job by turning Gen2 into Persona & Savvy into Saga.
    If this going to be a replacement to the good looking 407, then it certainly is a “Sad Case” :’-(

• Describing it as a women, the 408 has a pretty face but an ugly butt… But i think there are certainly ppl out that tat can ignore the ugly butt coz of her pretty face..

• Jimmy on Jun 12, 2011 at 8:19 pm

If 508 has to be priced slightly lower than Camry to attract buyers, then this alang-alang 408 has to be slightly below Altis price right?
    Let me guess, RM 115k to 120k.
    Sunroof, traction control and 6 airbagsis together is a must, in my opinion.

• shawal on Jun 12, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Successor to the insanely biblically hideous peugeot 207 sedan (T33)

• Monday on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:29 am

its not a successor. it will be sold alongside the 207.

• shawal on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:15 pm

ic ic, well , it wont be difficult in choosing between the two….

• Monday on Jun 13, 2011 at 6:51 pm

choosing between the two depends on how deep your pocket is. 2 different segments, 2 very different prices.

• fsadsa on Jun 12, 2011 at 8:22 pm

this car will have 1.6 turbo prince engine?

• redboy on Jun 12, 2011 at 9:31 pm

this 408 is in which range? Civic/Altis range? Then if it price over 100K will be suicide.

So interesting that RM100K range car got more and more. The Cruze just launched.

So its battle in Altis/Camry/Cruze/Sentra/Mazda3/408/Elantra/Forte?

Ops, realized few brand under 1 roof of the AP king?

• fsadsa on Jun 12, 2011 at 11:01 pm

boy, grow up, this is the sedan version of 308

308 you know? 308 turbo/308THP?

wait, in your kampung only have vios?

• squawk on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm

The Sentra is still a contender? Wow… go Nissan! :-)

• bien335 on Jun 12, 2011 at 10:58 pm

go turbo or bust

• Harris Murad on Jun 13, 2011 at 12:35 am

It may not be the best looking sedan,but you just got to admit that its still pretty handsome guys…

• i am waiting for the all new Sportage to launch in Malaysia ! can some body tell us when !

• fadzil on Jun 13, 2011 at 9:37 am

ya, agreed with some guys here that this test car shouldn’t be covered with such a huge camouflage. it doesn’t make any sense at all as we already know how it’ll look unless our Malaysian version will get a totally different face or else..

but in my eyes, i spotted something weird to the 2nd pic. is it the car tested is left hand drive? or it just a camera trick? or my eyes was wrong? huhu

• Unforgiven on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:41 am

The sales for 408 gonna be similar to the 207….
    Do you know why?

• Monday on Jun 13, 2011 at 6:49 pm

i do know that you have no idea what you’re talking about.

• kingjoke on Jun 13, 2011 at 12:03 pm

for me… this is a good lookng car…can be a strong contender for jap cars if they can price below civic/altis

• mizzuddin on Jun 13, 2011 at 1:25 pm

n why shouldn’t they use the camo..?

it been expected to be launch next year…

• acerol on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:47 pm

WOW…..

• i hate pujot on Jun 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm

thank god..at least the car is covered…
    this car will look uglier when uncovered

• maybe u can upload your car design here. oh wait, u can start by uploading door design.

• loveit on Jun 13, 2011 at 3:20 pm

looks like new persona from behind

thumbdown if you agree

• redwings on Jun 13, 2011 at 5:20 pm

This sedan looks brilliant and the boot simply match the body…
    Normally..those sedan built based on hot hatch looks disappointted..

• Speed Racer on Jun 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm

nice but why the camouflage for a car already launched

• cos its not launched in malaysia yet. you have seen overseas pictures only but not pictures of the real thing uncovered in malaysia. that is why they are covering it up till launch time.

• Rulered on Jun 13, 2011 at 10:16 pm

It’s kinda sad that everytime a new car is going to be launch, the price reference point would always be either of Toyota or Honda. It’s like everyone is using Kleenex tissue to wipe, Colgate toothpaste to brush their teeth, buy Bata shoes for their schooling kids, Pampers as diapers…….the list goes on. Are we brain washed?

• waimak on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:47 am

Car is one of the items that we can’t negotiate the price.. sad. :)
      But seriously this 408 is very good looking..

• that called brand loyalty eg fried chicken – KFC, burger – MCD, JKR – samy vellu….not brain washed

• anti-first on Jun 14, 2011 at 9:17 am

it’s the same song again and again….lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen VS peugeot enthusiasts.

whenever there’s news about peugeot, these lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen always go out of their normal job scope to discredit peugeot.

we peugeot enthusiasts are always objective about shortcomings by nasim and point out our concerns but it’s hard for peugeot to improve when these lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen goes ballistic with exaggerated stories spun by their idle lame minds.

what i want to point out is that no matter how hard these lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen, peugeot enthusiasts will win this war of misinformation, objectively.

at the end of the day, at least peugeot enthusiasts don’t have anybody breathing behind us. but you lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen will always answer to us and your principal.

do your worklah, you lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen!

• vromm on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:28 pm

errr? so are u lame, makan gaji, peugeot salesmen??……

from yours truly; people known as paultan blog reader who are not lame, makan gaji, competitor salesmen or peugeot enthusiasts.

• anti-first on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:20 pm

for the record, i’m not paid by peugeot malaysia nor am i a peugeot salesman.

but good to know you’re not one of the lamers.

• Bob Vettel on Jun 14, 2011 at 12:35 pm

Toyota & Honda salesmen so used to the easy life…

Now when there are more choices, they can’t improve on their products so they resort to mudslinging.

• stephen on Jun 14, 2011 at 2:32 pm

I’ve seen it at China. It kinda like an Altis with more family look. Its like something that’s trying to suit to people who don’t want to look aggressive.

• intermilan on Jun 14, 2011 at 3:58 pm

Exterior wise, to say that its quite okay is an understatement. its obviously more that just okay, but not truly outstanding (not that it is expected). nothing out of the ordinary but pretty safe and handsome design, but this praise exclude the rear, which is a bit of a let down. its a tad too similar to 406 / 607 rear end design and this is a perplexing decision. why not have a fresh rear end design (that’s not ugly)?
    better copy 407 rear end if PSA want to play it safe. 406/607 rear end design are not ugly but look dated in 2011. they should make it in-line with the front end design philosophy. the 406/607-inspired rear end look ‘soft’ and seem like an ‘opportunity lost’ to me.

interior should be above the rest and by that i mean better than most competitors in segment and price range. well.. its almost same like the 308 interiors. hopefully the rear seat aren’t too straight up, as most people don’t prefer this seating position.

the only burning question now is the engine & gearbox combination.
    what would it be? sadly, this is no mystery.. no surprise area.
    99.9%, automatic transmission will be the only option offered. couldn’t see enough valid reasons for a manual, unless they just want to have an entry-level 408, where a 1.6L 408 with auto gearbox will do a better job (in term of sales), i guess.
    but then, with manual, performance and fuel consumption will be better. its easy to introduce a manual 408 here, as there are a few manual versions in china. the tricky part is to sell them, of course!

as for the automatic transmission, so far, all petrol-powered 408 come with the 4-speed AL4 gearbox and so far, I couldn’t see how this could change for Malaysia-bound 408. Nasim will wish for the 6-speed gearbox but that’s depends on Peugeot and they won’t do it, not for now. we’ll get what the china and latin america markets are getting.

As for the engine, currently, Prince engine is not available for 408, so its out of the question. therefore, the same principle (as with the gearbox) should apply, nasim can only choose based on what is available to china market (as malaysia-bound 408 must be coming from there and not argentina). no business logic to create a different variant of 408 for our very small market, unless it cost equal or less. if china (and latin america) can’t get it, we have even less hope or frankly, no hope at all.

currently 408 employed the same 2.0L engine that is use in the 407. disappointed? well, got VVT what.. and since the 408 is in fact a C-segment car, to have the same engine as the D-segment car (i.e. 407) is kinda good justification / excuse. peak power of 147bhp and max torque of 200Nm. is not below par for a C-segment car.

The catch is with it’s weight. since the 408 weighted around 1400kg (more or less similar to 407), it will not be a sprinter, but a matured cruiser, ala-grandturismo if u like.. but with added urgency as the torque figure would suggest. Peugeot have long tune their engine by sacrificing a little peak power (which you’ll rarely use) for more torque at ~4,000 rpm (which is used more frequently). This is in complete contrast with most Japanese car makers which always tune their engine to a higher peak power (bhp) and sacrificed some of the torque (Nm). Kinda weird decision for a normal run-of-the-mill engine and car. But whatever. Power without control is nothing.

There is a 1.6L engine 408 in china. its the same engine that powered the 207 sedan. with same automatic gearbox (i.e. 4-speed AL4). it will be hard to sell a 408 with a 207 engine and gearbox combo. but who know if its priced at 85K OTR.
    Most probably, nasim will only bring in the 2.0L version(s). the 1.6L engine is able performer but 110bhp & 147Nm will feel lethargic for a heavier car like the 408. we can only wait n see.

the last part, is how many variants will there be?
    so far (in china), there are four (4) variants of 408 with 1.6L engine and five (5) variants with 2.0L, so there are nine (9) variants of 408 in total.

i think nasim will only introduce two (2) variants during launching. both will be 2.0L AT (with automatic gear box) and the different is with the trim levels. I suspect they will introduce the 2.0L Luxury and 2.0L Premium 408 in Malaysia, or they might bring in the ‘standard’ 2.0L instead of the Luxury to wider the price gap between the two variants.

Price? Won’r speculate for now, but i’m sure, as usual, it will be lower than an equal competitors, bar the Koreans.

What do you think?

• Espresso! Quick! on Nov 15, 2012 at 8:36 pm

its a fine car. especially the 2.0 with the proven, reliable, updated 407 engine.

• Jacksonkua on Jun 14, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Hope Nasim will launch it ASAP.
    The recent 1.88% interest for 308 turbo may give some hint that this 408 may be cheaper than current 308 turbo version.

• kamheo on Jan 09, 2012 at 7:34 pm

any idea when this model will be released in malaysia ?

• from the looks of it, very soon. sightings of the cars are getting more frequent now

• Mapaulo on Jun 22, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Yes this car is produced in Naza plant with CKD collections from Wuhan plant in China & Vesoul in France.Notice that these CKD parts shouldn’t stay more over 3 weeks outside in their protective box to prevent about rust tricking as it was the case for some of 2000 bestari after 206 year which where sold with a big stress with corrosive warranty over 3 years.