Gordon Murray Designs T.27 – RAC Future Car Challenge’s best overall entry consumes equivalent of 0.81L / 100 km!

As you’re probably aware of already, Gordon Murray Design’s T.27 electric city car took a sweep of major honours in the second running of the RAC Future Car Challenge that took place last weekend.

The T.27, which competed against more than 65 entries including the latest technology from 11 major car manufacturers, won ‘Most Energy Efficient Small Car (Prototype)’, ‘Best Overall Pure Electric Vehicle’ and ‘Best Overall Entry – RAC Future Car Challenge Winner.’

The vehicle covered the 91.94 km (57.13 miles) from Brighton to London carrying two occupants inside the allocated time, using energy equivalent to 350 miles per gallon (or 0.81 litres per 100 km) and with emission totalling only 37 gm CO2/km. On a full charge, taking only four hours, the T.27 can do more than 160 km.

The design is the latest vehicle to use Gordon Murray Design’s innovative iStream manufacturing process, which the company says sets new standards in weight, footprint, small car dynamics, safety, packaging and efficiency whilst addressing full lifecycle CO2 emissions, congestion, parking and low cost motoring.

iStream, the company says, is F1 technology for the everyday motorist, delivering benefits from ‘light-weighting’ along with high levels of safety – GMD recently completed a structural durability test which showed the T.27’s iStream chassis to be up to 60 times more durable than a standard steel structure.

“This win represents a huge step forward in our race to reduce automotive energy consumption and emissions. This year’s success, in combination with last year’s win with our petrol powered T.25, awarded ‘Most Economic Small Passenger ICE Vehicle’ and ‘Most Economic and Environment Friendly Small Passenger ICE Vehicle,’ proves absolutely that lightweight is our most powerful tool for solving our energy problems,” Gordon Murray said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Just need a lil bit redesign to make it more less eye sore.. :) I’ll buy it!

• Nazrul on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:33 pm

The car itself is small. If want to “balik kampung” in the future, you might be experiencing the tough moments in your lifetime.

• It’s meant for city drive to work 1 la.. Balik kampong u bawa Porsche Panamera k..

U imagine everyday we go work, all cars only have 1 person.. zzzZZZ

• Nazrul on Nov 08, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Well imagine this, you dressed up good, wearing a coat complete with a tie. Driving “this” car here to your work. Well, suite you well actually. You were right about one thing, I “should” drive Panamera rather than “this” car here. Cheers!

• You were talking about balik kampung and now try to pusing sini and pusing sana for your face sake.. gosh…

FYI, I did say it did need some exterior redesign.. geez…

• Nazrul on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Well, chill out buddy. We all have our own opinion and I’m sure not all of it is right. If you really think single seated car is a good way to drive in the city, that’s fine by me because that is your opinion. But imagine this, you have a girlfriend, and she wanted you to take her home, I’m sure you’ll having a bit uncomfortable moment there. Well, “in the future” of course. Haha, that’s just me. That’s my opinion.

• Ok. understood.

My POV is the concept itself is good.. I agree it doesn’t look so nice la.. If it looks like a sports bike, yet thin enough to let you squeeze by traffic without of worries of how would the weather would be like later. It’s not a bad solution. Just that the design still needs to be better.

There are always time when u sat in ur car and u envy those who rode kapchai’s and zoom pass u while you sat in traffic congestion. Not?

• Nazrul on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:12 pm

If the price of this car is like buying a MODENAS Kriss, then why not? But, if you’re me, in the future, I would rather go for PROTON Emas, hehe.

• Hadi75 on Nov 08, 2011 at 7:45 pm

It’s for city driving la bro ie. short distance only….not meant for long distance..

• Nazrul on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:30 pm

I’m aware of that. But c’mon, why on earth these future car always ALWAYS for city use. Don’t you wanna “balik kampung” in the future? In the end, this guy person still won because of these best overall consume bla3. Of course, the car is small, only have one seat, its lightweight. But not like PROTON, I believe they use Persona, Saga and Exora, which is have more than one seat. But they only won two awards. I congratulates PROTON for winning and I believe they can do more than this crap-looking car.

• samsam on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:54 am

future i took malaysia bullet train to balik kampung la

• Nazrul on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Well, think again, in Malaysia, you’re not the only one who wanna “balik kampung”, there’s thousands out there, samsam. Imagine when you have to bring all along your stuff to the train station with others who also bring their stuff, let me tell you this, its breath taking

• joepng on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:39 pm

fugly looking car..

• joepng on Nov 08, 2011 at 4:41 pm

fugly looking car…

• Hause on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:16 pm

A lot of people say fugly this, fugly that.
    But the engineering is absolutely brilliant. (Come on even the original McLaren F1 design was fugly if it wasn’t for Peter Steven’s input).

It is said that the plastic body doesn’t do anything besides keep the rain and wind out.
    In fact a big part of the crash safety structure is derived from the base of the car, not the upper plastic body part.

And it isn’t a ‘balik kampung’ car it is after all an urban commuter, the same way the Smart ForTwo is, with the exception that GMD’s T25 has more seats and is smaller.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 08, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Most of all these designs are lost with regular malaysians which views cars as status symbols.

Cheap small very efficient cars does have thier place in the city. Do looks up French maker Chatenet, Aixam, Ligier and Microcar has been the torch bearer of these minute city cars since the madness began in the 70s.

Only if you spend some time like a city like Paris you would understand the appeal (or logic some might say) of these tiny roundabouts.

• chaku on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:19 pm

max speed is 105km/h, but i doubt i will feel safe doing 105 in that thing.

on positive sight, thing this is suitable for in-town taxi.

• Chris on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:43 pm

I want to go to work in one… Never once I hit 90km/h when commute to work, and according to my gps, most of the time I averaged 20km/h on my journey anyway and 70km/h on the straights…

Every morning I drive to work 3 out of 4 cars on the road are basically the driver driving alone with no passengers (me included). Imagine everyone switching to small car like this and move at a steady pace… I might just reach work faster!

• hodoh on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:27 pm

wtf, good engineering but very very pathetic lousy styling… =))

• VoidDance on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:49 pm

My kind of car! I need this fast to replace my ageing Kancil for office commute every day. Highly doubt it will be cheap. I just loathe to see big cars on the road hogging all the lanes with only one person inside it, and they’re commuting to work.

• Annoynimous on Nov 08, 2011 at 5:52 pm

McLaren F1 oso cannot balik kampung…

• Sleepwalkerz on Nov 08, 2011 at 6:48 pm

We will be reducing our petrol bills yet increasing our electric bills…i would prefer hybrid than this..

• Erm… You sleep talking ke…

BTW, mass generation of electricity is more efficient than a typical hybrid engine.. And I am pretty sure that your $/KM will be cheaper than you pump gas.. The only bad thing is that this is pretty limited to the city as it’s range is not that huge..

And somehow, Hybrid tends to create drivers such as this.
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVdMySWfAIQ

• Sleepwalkerz on Nov 08, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Yeahh.i did not do any calculation.but,i do not like the idea of charging ur car to travel just 160km.believe that the technology would be better someday.

• Out of Luck on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:25 pm

I think it’s still cheaper when using electric compared to petrol. Even when both petrol & electricity price increases after the general election, electricity will still be cheaper. But yes, hybrid will be more useful because your can go further and it’s faster refill petrol than to recharge battery.

• awg1031 on Nov 08, 2011 at 7:36 pm

meehhhh..no wonder they won..it will be a surprised if they loss though

• Very Good Idea! 1 car sit 3 ppl! =) love it. Overhaul the design and price it not more than 9999US Dollar and come with lots of Incentive such as free road tax, free parking etc… Many citizen will buy it and be proud of it.

• Out of Luck on Nov 08, 2011 at 7:55 pm

Fugly or not, this is the ideal car for commuting to work within town area: reasonably fast, good operating range and easy to park as well. Definitely much safer than motorbike and guarantees to keep you dry during monsoon season. 160km on a single 4 hour charge from regular home socket…now that’s awesome and more practical compared to others that requires at least 8-12 hours of regular charge unless the user is using some complicated and expensive rapid charger. No point having nice looking electric car if it’s not practical. It will be a waste if this car not going into mass production.

Those who are looking for a general purpose car that can be used to commute to work and balik kampung, then this is definitely not the right kinda of car, as a matter in fact, none of the electric vehicle is suitable for you.

• JeremyNg on Nov 08, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Hey guys , since it’a pure EV car how they count according 0.81/100km ???

• Waiora on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:28 pm

I think there’s a calculation for EV car, based on electricity consumption..considering that it gain electricity from power plant..not from solar panel..

• Chris on Nov 08, 2011 at 9:36 pm

I guess it’s calculated based on some formula created by the boffins to give us simpletons a clearer image on how efficient these EVs are. I think it’s less about the money and more about the efficiency…

I guess petrol = energy, and energy moves this car. By calculating how much energy you need to move the car for 100KM and you can get the equivalent amount of petrol right?

• this is not pure ev car meh…
      it works like a plug in hybrid just the battery is super efficient..
      therefore only when the battery drains out only the engine start to kick in..
      this car i think could go 90+ km using only the battery.

wow

• opss sorry guys that’s the system for proton’s car
      smile :)

• suitable for U students. hehe

• if “perotiga” start producing this for rm 30k or less, I’ll get one. My money is on table now.

• if this car is a Proton and they won this competition, surely this thread will be basher heaven.

• montana on Nov 09, 2011 at 11:56 pm

this car like at the golf one.sure win lah.bulshit..of coz dis 1 win..the person at the picture dun smile so big lah if proton engine put there oso can do better.pui~

• I guess it may cause traffic jams because it may not accommodate 5 people, so you may need more of these on the road.