More images of the new Kia cee’d appear on the Net

Last week, Kia released the first image of its new cee’d hatchback ahead of the car’s Geneva show debut. It was a front three-quarter shot showing the C-segment hatch’s more rounded shape and new nose, featuring a prominent Schreyer grille. Now, side profile and rear three quarter images of the car have surfaced.

The cee’d is a European model that targets the Golf, Focus and Astra, and shares a platform with Hyundai’s i30. Kia says that the car combines styling typically found on a sporty coupé with the space and functionality of a five-door hatch.

No pics of the cabin yet, but expect a “driver oriented dashboard and refined interior, with a strong focus on quality of materials,” says the South Korean brand. Kia’s industry leading seven year warranty will accompany the car in Europe.

The new cee’d will be launched from the second quarter of this year.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Looks a lot like the new pug 208 XD

• OMG…I think it more look like Peugeot 308…
      Nice design from Kia..

• MrPoppyplants on Jan 16, 2012 at 10:50 am

KIA’s new designs are really fresh! Front ALMOST looks like the f10.

• yahoo on Jan 16, 2012 at 10:57 am

front design is quite OK…the rear is very nicely done..but the profile is too plain i think.. even the current polo n golf have a better profile than this.. but it seems this car package design is very roomy and good enough to beat golf interior dimension :D

*aku main cakap je ni..dari perhatian je…lain lah dah test duk dua2 keta kat dalam..ke guane?

• ss427 on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:06 am

Well folks, while the Cee’d is a Euro market only model, we will get the next gen Forte whose mech will be shared with the Cee’d and of cos the current gen Elantra :)

I believe the new Forte (sedan and hatch) will be even better looking than the Cee’d

• PakAbu on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:35 am

Forte hatch coming to Malaysia?

• ss427 on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:37 am

Well this is how the current gen Forte Hatch looks like in SG. :)

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/resized-20110529210036395.jpg

• David D on Jan 16, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Is it just me, that i find the gaping grille here kinda awkward on here alone. Don’t get me wrong here, but maybe i feel that grile, which worked well on the Rio and Optima, somewhat looks awful here, which, otherwise, is a pretty good design at that.

• Masked Ryder on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:14 am

Booorriinnnggg……. zzzzzzzZZZZ

Peter the Style Looser is copying VW Golf again..
    Oh please cut the craps that he is ex VW designer, come on he left VW since 2006, why is his design still “inspire” by latest VW car ???

KIA fanboy can buy one & stick a VW logo & pretend driving a Golf :-P

• OMG…u meant boring with the VW designs…..This exterior look better than VW golf.

• OMG looks better than the Golf ?! came on even the 2009 mk6 is better looking than this new korea thing !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1yilyuFwvlY

• Yaya.. slap a toyota badge on it and you’ll instantly say “Shut up and take my money”..

Typical anti korean mentality..

• David D on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Masked Ryder, if you’ve got nothing much but loads of crap comments to say in this posting, i’d suggest you keep your big mouth shut. Your anti-Korean mentality isn’t taking you far, instead incurring the wrath and hatred of all car lovers alike. For your stupid comments.

• TurboMan on Jan 16, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Word!!!!

• Masked Ryder on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:45 pm

Strangely, what make u think i could have bother whether u like or dislike my comments at all.

As i said if u & rest of korean car fanboy/salesman comments are taken into consideration, Korean car would have dominate the MAA non national car sales every month, well in reality it doesn’t, which mean yours comment are irrelavant.

Maybe again u going to deny this Cee’d is nothing more than rojak copy of various european hatchback with a tiger nose that doesn’t go well with the overall design.

You can alway shut your pea eye on my comments if it doesn’t please you vision.

• TurboMan on Jan 17, 2012 at 2:26 pm

If you don bother, you wouldnt have replied at all my friend.

• David D on Jan 17, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Living in denial, i see. Your biased preference for certain makes, whereas having the extremely anti-Korean mindset sickens neutral car lovers here. Everytime one comes to counter your gibberish with proper reasoning, you’re just full of childish retaliation, giving the basis of sales figures to justify your baseless arguements.

Want to fight with sales figures? Fine. The Hyundai Elantra, including previous generations sold in other countries, nearly outsold the ever-mighty Corolla, which also includes previous generations sold in certain countries.

Stupid? The information giver is a Korean-ass licker? Well, the figures don’t lie, but another 10,000 units sold last year, and the Elantra would’ve knocked the Corolla out of the global sales crown. And it’s found here:-

http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2012/01/02/world-2011-hyundai-elantra-millionaire-threatens-toyota-corolla/

Enough to keep your retaliating mouth shut? And, if you don’t, keep up with the bashing if you don’t care. If this was real-life, i’m sure people who would find out your real name would’ve come bashing you for being such an arrogant, childish person who cannot accept global reality, yet living based on general Malaysian sentiments.

• TurboMan on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Maturity doesnt work with these guys.

Sarcasm works sometimes.

Critical reasoning doesnt work at all.

• Masked Ryder on Jan 18, 2012 at 10:28 am

OMG, David D Boy2 Dunno that thre is a Tsunami happened in Japan during March last year, causing a huge halt in Toyota Production.

So David D is not from Malaysia ? As i said the hell i care what US, Europe or even what South Korean is buying, we live in Malaysia remember ? So r u going to buy Wuling Sunshine Mini Van just because it is the 3rd best selling vehicle since is very popular in China ?

I do remember one of paultan blog writer here claim that Sonata will overtake Camry throne in US in 2011 :-D obviously it doesn’t come into reality, i wonder where is he going to keep his water face now.

Hello ! come back to Cee’d issue don’t divert, do u or do u not agreed that.

1.) Ceed’s is copying various European Hatchback including VW & BMW ?
            2.) Is the Tiger nose of the Ceed’s doesn’t fit into the overall rojak design ?

• Manfred Khoo on Jan 16, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Keep it up KIA, big big warm applause to your hard work! Cheers

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 16, 2012 at 12:12 pm

No supprise very “PLAIN” design, Dry as a leaf.

No wonder name KIA “Cee’d” sound like Kiasi (Takut Mati) meaning alway take safe plain boring route.

• How come you guys are so predictable?

• TurboMan on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Man.

Lets open up a can of worms and whoop-ass.

The koreans bashers are here again with their childish points again. I mean Cee’d is an international car, and yet they are linking it with Kiasi? Typical jaguh kampung. Take my advice mate. GO SEE THE WORLD. Its way bigger than the coconut above you.

Anyhow no post on korean cars are complete without maserati, jolo and wait a minute. We have a new kid on the block.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 16, 2012 at 6:18 pm

Still can’t get over the “Old Grunge” Ha ?

Why do you think Nissan Did not Name Slyphy as Bluebird like the rest of the world then ? Try Read it in Hokkien, ask your Chinese friend in case you donno.

Car sales are alway regional, it doesn’t mean what go well in Europe go well in Asia, maybe u should come out of your Hazelnut shell instead.

• TurboMan on Jan 16, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Old grudge? Cmon get a life. You need one desperately.

Find an original way to reply. Don’t emulate my way. Other wise you will just be a monkey from the phrase monkey see monkey do.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 17, 2012 at 11:29 am

Grunge ! Grunge ! Not Grudge (Check Dictionary)

Typical type who concertrate on the color of the dog colar rather than the color of the dog.

I am saying KIA taking a very dull (Dry as a Dead Leaf) approach in designing the exterior of Cee’d copying BMW Lights & VW Back slap in a Tiger Nose (Which doesn’t fit into the flow of the design), this is what i call a “Kiasi Design”, unlike the rest of European hatchback dares to offer unique design.

KIA need to shake out of VW shadow, or else it nothing more than a cheap European Car Wanabe.

Yes Avanza is a boxy SEA people carrier & Vios a low cost asian A to B car, but took off the Toyota badge one can still recognized them by it’s unique Toyota design.

Try & take off the badge & Tiger nose of this KIA Cee’d one would have guess VW ? Nope not solid enought ! BMW ? Are u kidding ! Vaxhall ? You must be mad !

Typical souless car, aim at those who want a cheap look alike car.

• john die on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:56 pm

‘Yes Avanza is a boxy SEA people carrier & Vios a low cost asian A to B car, but took off the Toyota badge one can still recognized them by it’s unique Toyota design.’

u know y ppl can recognize???it is not bcause its sexy or beautiful..BUT damn plainly fugly…

• TurboMan on Jan 16, 2012 at 9:52 pm

Plus you reckon this is dry as a leaf?

Tell me. What is your view on Avanza and Vios?

Oh wait. Best car in the world right?

My goodness. I rest my case.

• ss427 on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:27 pm

The Avanza?? Sigh I had, unfortunately, numerous opportunities to drive the OMG Avanza 1.3 AT when I was in JB. It was my in law’s car..

I’m not kidding but the 1st time I got my hands on the car, esp after jumping from my trusty FD1 to the Avanza, I almost crash the Avanza just 2 blocks away from the in law’s house! :0

The steering wheel was very big (and no airbag!), but the real problem was that it was completely lifeless and feather light. And you have to wind the steering like mad just to make any meaningful turns. I almost crashed becos in my FD1, I could accomplish that said corner with just 1/4 turn or so. In the Avanza, you need almost one full 360 deg steering turn to make that said corner! :0 And with the steering feel next to non existent, you really can’t tell what the Avanza was doing.

And then there’s the utter lack of power from the tiny 1.3L. Toyota needs to know that trying to build a 7 seater from a tiny Daihatsu Extol delivery van is not what a great car manufacturer is about.

Just sit 3 pple on board and partial throttle will result you still standing in front of the lights and then get horned by just about everyone else. :( It was a harrowing experience as it was difficult to judge if you’d be able to make it across a busy junction with such puny horses on board.

A RWD van chassis PLUS tiny engines and old style AT, PLUS no ABS, tiny 14″ wheels and high profile tires, PLUS narrow and high CG body…. I don’t know folks, all these combos seems to be a perfect receipe for turn turtle disaster….And the crude suspension makes the ride so jittery and bumpy…

Seriously, if its not for the T badge, the Avanza really looks like some crap from those crap pirated Chinese car makers…

• tiger on Jan 16, 2012 at 1:25 pm

The front headlight so bmw-ish…=.=’
    The only kia identity i see here is just the tiger front grille…..

• fatty ahbeng on Jan 16, 2012 at 1:30 pm

nice :D

• Just me on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:07 pm

It’s going to be student’s car to college or nany’s car to wet market in Europe. Bring it to boleh land probably sell better.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:57 pm

I love my Vios.

Vios is the best car in the world.

Better than BMW and Merc and this junk KIA. Heck even M3 can smell my smoke.

• An651 on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Smoke from your engine bay rite? he he he ;)

• ss427 on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:34 am

Good one… LOL :D:D

Seriously I’ve driven numerous Vios (both gen 1 and current gen) in SG and I must say that for Gen 1, Toyota really knows how to rip off we SE Asian customers. The build quality and overall fit and finish is horrible Sound insulation is an alien term in the Vios and panel gaps are almost as wide as the singapore river. haha :D The Vios is not much better built than Potong IMHO.

The 1NZ-FE engine was competitve back in early 2000 where it was 1st introduced, but in today’s world, the engine and its old style 4AT is hopelessly outdated. It’s neither a hp leader nor a fuel economy champion. And when it comes to engine refinement and quietness, Hyundai/Kia current Gamma 1.6 can beat the shit outta it anytime.

And then we have those wonderful small 4 cyln from Euro… Ford’s Ecoboost and VW group TSI engines..

• TurboMan on Jan 16, 2012 at 9:49 pm

Eh Kiasu.

I wanted to treat you like an adult and reply to you like an adult.

But well, it seems like you are just a kid.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Jan 17, 2012 at 10:02 am

I bet only TurboMan & Peanut Brain would believe that i wrote “Kiddo” comments like above.

Come on don’t let your “grunge” cloud your thinking, if it is still funtionable.

• LE_buruk on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:54 am

typical low minded vios lover…..my old 320d can smoke your vios in straight line and also in corner and also in f.c…..keep your rubbish n your mouth please…

• Just me on Jan 17, 2012 at 9:29 am

I like your reply. Perhap you should add F1 car in your list, that will make your comment more interesting. Opps don’t forget to put proton also, because that will really pissed it’s supporye off.

• ss427 on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:03 pm

This Cee’d is too new to be reviewed by independent car mags. But you can read up the test drive review of the new Elantra here. The Cee’d, upcoming Forte will all be sharing the same mech as the new Elantra.

http://youtu.be/Jbm_RtutVaY
    Note: US market Elantra has no climate control, our Elantra comes with dual zone full auto climate control. :)
    And we have no heated seats option in this part of the world for obvious reasons :)

• Lim Kopi on Jan 16, 2012 at 3:30 pm

NAZA KIA,
    Bring this into Malaysia….

IT WILL SELL !!

• SM1704 on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm

hopefully NAZA KIA will bring in this to malaysian shore as alternative for customers who prefer this hatchback style than forte’s design

• Serious Fast Donkey on Jan 16, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Somehow I feel this car has more Mitsu look. Very nice for the Korean.

• rally_fan on Jan 16, 2012 at 5:14 pm

quite nice this car.

• Olbert on Jan 16, 2012 at 11:32 pm

SO Freaking Ugly! I will take Fiesta day and night. Fiesta the best for hatchback!

• john die on Jan 17, 2012 at 4:59 pm

take la ur fiesta coz this car won’t have any chance to be sell in bolehland

• LE_buruk on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:57 am

even top gear praise this little car for its value for money…

• 4agze on Jan 17, 2012 at 12:31 pm

so Top Gear will be getting a new car perhaps

• if you love it .. buy it .. i you don’t , just go away and put up your ever boring Toyota to the pedestal.