Tan Chong enters agreement to assemble Subaru vehicles

Tan Chong Motor Assemblies (TCMA) has entered into an assembly agreement with TC Subaru Sdn Bhd, which is a subsidiary of Tan Chong International Limited, the company handling Subaru in our region and beyond. This was announced by Tan Chong Motor Holdings, the owner of TCMA, in a filing to Bursa Malaysia.

The agreement is for the assembly of passenger vehicles by TCMA for TC Subaru, and is effective from March 6, 2012 to December 31, 2013. This duration can be extended with a six-month notice. The installation of assembly infrastructure is at the cost and expense of TC Subaru. Not mentioned now, but it was previously revealed that the Subaru CKD programme will happen at Tan Chong’s Segambut plant in KL.

Nothing new here, merely a formalisation of the plans we broke to you last July, where Fuji Heavy Industres (maker of Subaru) inked an MoU with Tan Chong to make Malaysia the ASEAN production hub for Subaru. The model in question is the Subaru XV crossover, a raised C-segment hatchback with the brand’s famous Symmetrical AWD. Click here for our first drive story.

Production will start later this year, and the planned 5,000 units per year will be divided for sale equally between Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia. To sell the cars, Motor Image is embarking on a big expansion plan in Malaysia with 18 outlets planned through 2013. This means that by 2014, Malaysia will have 20 Subaru outlets if all goes to plan.

Click here to read our exclusive interview with Glenn Tan, Executive Director of TCIL, where he talks about Subaru’s plans for the region, and Malaysia.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gurmit on Mar 08, 2012 at 12:41 pm

finally realise nissan car cant sell anymore?

• Alpha on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:02 pm

If u think Tan Chong Group only distribute Nissan,you need to do your research.

• alldisc on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:49 am

they realised that some tim ago, but since Nissan Japan also struggling to survive before being taken over by Renault – there was pretty much nothing they can do

• Vader on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:15 pm

at least some new model from TC, not always the old models from Nissan.

• hway de Cruz on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:18 pm

interesting, best for consumers to get lower pricing but maintain or surpass the quality issue. if the tech for this crossover is at or above current market suv specs, chances r they can grab some orders from potential buyers. foresee the next 24 months to b exciting for us consumers. afterall, the suv design here is pretty good

• scoobydoo on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:43 pm

cant wait for xv to release here

• Once of Japanese best handling car brand.

• tok-kok on Mar 08, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Looks like a good car .. if the price is RM110K to 120K still OK. If over RM150K .. i think a bit hard to sell leh!!

All thanks to our Gomen’s NAP car tax system :(

• Silwen on Mar 09, 2012 at 2:22 am

Being that it’s an SUV, it will probably come in at the X-trail CRV price range.

• go naza1 on Mar 08, 2012 at 2:11 pm

the look is so sexy. will this comes with flat 4 turbo and 4wd?

i can actually drive a subaru in msia? oh my gawd…..yes yes yes

• the center console…remind me of Waja

• Already on sale in singapore. By the time on sale in malaysia, obsolete.

• autojohndoe on Mar 08, 2012 at 3:02 pm

the dashboard… hmmmm…

• Does this mean Tan Chong will be bringing in the new Subaru BRZ? That would be awesome!

• alldisc on Mar 08, 2012 at 3:04 pm

subaru has suffered a lot, due to direct competition from parallel import cars including SUbaru’s own Impreza WRX and Mitsu Lancer Evo..

i wonder whether they can really make it this time around.

• USE YOUR HAND TO CLOSE HALF BOTTOM OF THE CAR PIC (ORANGE COLOUR – REAR VIEW) WHAT U WILL SEE??
    It’s Satria Neo!

• Good move. Don’t have to give everything to Naza.

• jonet on Mar 08, 2012 at 4:38 pm

SATRIA NEO FACELIFT….=)

• chiu..they didnt bring in gtr also

• about time Tan Chong got their act together and open up more subaru dealerships. Right now the grey importers sell more Subarus than Motor Image.. I had friends who bought subarus from Motor Image in the past and the service was crap. They didnt even stock replacement parts like oil filter, air filter and even belts!!! what kind of service is this?!

• RedBeanBun on Mar 09, 2012 at 10:31 pm

it will capture lots of attention at RM120K range…go Subaruuuuu!!

• linda on Feb 22, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Glenn Tan, how you want your planned 5,000 units will be divided for sale equally between Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia. A order for 1 unit Impreza STI in Malaysia have to take more than four months and not yet get the answer when the purchaser can received the car.