GALLERY: Toyota Aurion – Sportivo looks for new Camry

As you would already know by now, UMW Toyota’s order books for the new Camry is open. The Thai-made D-segment exec will come in three variants, two 2.0L ones and the top spec 2.5V – click here to view the brochure.

Here are pics of the Australian market Toyota Aurion, which shares looks with Malaysian bound Camrys, although there are sportier versions Down Under that have a unique front end and racier add ons, showing us what’s possible with the XV50.

Billed as an “attainable luxury car”, the Aussie made Aurion comes in five model grades, all with a 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 paired to a six-speed automatic. The quad-cam engine has 268 hp and 336 Nm of torque. The AT-X, Prodigy and Presara trims look identical to our sober Camry, while Sportivo SX6 and ZR6 grades have the sporty appearance featured here.

In addition to the entry AT-X’s seven airbags, seatbelt warnings on all seats, VSC dual-zone climate-control, reverse camera, 60/40 split-fold seats, MID, Eco indicator, acoustic windscreen, dual exhaust and Optitron instruments, Sportivo models add on sports suspension, 17-inch alloys, paddle shifters, sports pedals, three-spoke steering wheel, sports front seats, power front passenger’s seat, unique meters and smart entry/start.

The top dog ZR6 adds on automatic high beam, auto wipers, HID headlamps with AFS, front and rear clearance sonar, and exterior mirrors dipping in reverse.

It also sports leather, driver’s seat memory, JBL premium audio with seven-inch display, digital radio, sat nav with live traffic updates, electro-chromatic interior mirror and back-guide monitor.

Click here to view a leaked brochure and here for estimated OTR prices for the new Camry, which will debut here in June.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• civic fan on Apr 30, 2012 at 3:52 pm

much sportier look than the New 2012 camry . Not like Bolehland camry who is for APEK. Good job TOYOTA .
    worth a thumb up !

• awg1031 on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:08 pm

sportier??……………………………….ok……………………..

• Donkey Kong on May 01, 2012 at 3:27 am

Ugly bodykit. Looks like it was designed for Power Rangers TV series..

• Front is wannabe,Rear is terrible and the interior is horrible !

• Jujubes on May 01, 2012 at 10:59 am

oh gawd! are you kidding me…SPORTIER! Toyota is has lost the plot. What you have is a car that looks like an uncle but trying to gel and spike his hair to attract young girls!

This is total rubbish. I think this will be the worst selling Camry.

• rear bumper bodykit design looks tacky and unnecessary. overall it looks great!

• our version is the “kosong” version.

no VSC
    no traction control
    no reverse camera
    no seven airbags
    no acoustic windscree
    no dual exhaust
    no paddle shifters.
    amongst others.

our Camry seem to have taken a step backwards.

• Alpha on Apr 30, 2012 at 9:10 pm

Well,that’s because our Camry is actually made for the mass market.While elsewhere in Australia or Japan,the Aurion is marketed as an upmarket car.Kinda like a pseudo-luxury car.Hence,the Aurion is using a 3.5V6 engine and all.However,in asean region,they kinda market it as just a normal D-segment,hence the usage of 4-spd for the base trim.But yeah,4-spd is something to laugh about in this time.

I’m a Honda fan,so…..let’s wait for the Accord!!*which is the Inspire in Japan,a larger version of the JDM Accord that’s only available in 3.5V6 there too,similar to how the Aurion is to the Camry.

• look at the spec..dont simply blame toyota for outdated version such as 4speed gearbox and other of camry in malaysia,it is greedy UMW fault…they bring the lower spec of camry yet sold it as the highest spec price

• sick&tired on May 01, 2012 at 11:33 pm

blame malaysians! if no one buys, then they have no choice but to lower the price or give us a higher spec version.

The previous generation looks good when it first came out, much better then the previous generation that it replaced. but the newer model looks worse then the current outgoing model. The Japs are seriously losing the plot. anyhow whatever crap toyota produces, malaysians will still buy, so no point for UMW/Toyota to put in any effort. Malaysia boleh (kena con)!

• Kjryth on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:06 pm

Proton better….we are nombor one die japanese cars

• MoFaz on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:07 pm

ugly… and just 4 speed gbox, so what’s so ‘sporty’ about it??

• blind…..’ Billed as an “attainable luxury car”, the Aussie made Aurion comes in five model grades, all with a 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 paired to a six-speed automatic.’

• MoFaz on May 01, 2012 at 12:54 am

go read previous post about what we’ll be getting for the new Camry here. 4 speed gbox la dude. don’t ever dream to get 3.5L V6 6spd here because of the tax… and if they’re making those 4 speed gbox as sportivo version here, maybe you’ll buy one.

• Julian Lee on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:09 pm

ugly! give me 5-seies anytime!

• abuabuabuabu on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:12 pm

Yawn…. april fool’s joke?? 4 speed paddle shift?!!?!
    GOOD ONE GUYS! Really made my day …

• ‘ Billed as an “attainable luxury car”, the Aussie made Aurion comes in five model grades, all with a 2GR-FE 3.5 litre V6 paired to a six-speed automatic.’

• abuabuabuabu on May 01, 2012 at 1:50 am

appeal to all motor journos to refuse test driving this car in light of how irrelevant it is in today’s world… its just like test driving a trishaw …… old school tech with really fugly design. The floods must have really really hit toyota real hard… brain also waterlogged!

• 4 speed paddel shift? LOL. better make paddle shift for 6 speed motorcycle-lah!

• taboogen on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:13 pm

where have i’ve seen the rear skirt…. owhhh myvi elegance… no wonder….
    its kinda busy design at the rear end….

• whysoserious on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:14 pm

skirt belakang mcm myvi lg best..hahahahahha…

• Vader on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:18 pm

Wahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    Is damn ugly!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• agogo on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:22 pm

UGLY has a new name.

• mike ute on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:22 pm

nay, aussie prefers to drive a Holden seriesII cruze SRi-v than this poor man version of Lexus…

• Kelvin Tee on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Holy S*** this is ugly. Ricer rebirth?

• Damn. So nice!

• The body kit dont seem to be designed for it the first place, i mean just look at that overdone rear apron and awkward rear spoiler!

• mohsin on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:30 pm

Takder la cantik sangat pun!
    BOTOX je lebih!

• ezracopters on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:32 pm

errrrrr…

too much touch up on the bodykit.. looks cheap la!! better without kot, or current one. btw, spec wise, okay la!!

• Wallstreet on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:34 pm

Alamak….if they gave me this car, first thing i will do is to remove the rear spoiler. It is really horrendous….

• albag on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:37 pm

fast uncles might want it…!!! i mean… healthy uncles… oh wai-

• Faizul on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:40 pm

the bodykit edging look like Gaban spaceship. a weird combination of uncle-ish body + aggresive bodykit..

• Surely anotherdepedable car by toyota, but design too unker even for an unker like me…

• ChrisLai75 on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:49 pm

OMG…..ugly

• Thomstho on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:57 pm

The rear of the car looks has oddball looks…

• Obama on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:00 pm

The back and the interior is “unique”

• The rear look of US version Sport Edition Camry makes more sense. This is just simply awful and unacceptable at all!

• damn fugly…

• theanswer on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:11 pm

dafuq? totally ugly. the old aurion trd is lot better.

• nebula87 on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:12 pm

MyVi Extreme 1.5 bodykit?? lol!!!!!
    shame on u for using it on toyota camry…=.=

• kivatt0024 on Apr 30, 2012 at 8:27 pm

agree with u….seems they copy cat the myvi xtream rear especially the red one….dafuq…

• ben yap on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:13 pm

the rear bumper looks fugly as if it was plastered.

• Brahim on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:17 pm

arghh!!the rear?burukss!!!!

• damn ricerrrrrr

• mamamia on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:25 pm

i think, they should apply new style of design lar….

• Jimmy on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:27 pm

RM180k for CKD Camry is daylight robbery. Add a bit more you can get a C200 or 3-series, more worthiness.
    For those aiming at E/G specs, you are stupid because you buy dinosaur engine and 4-AT; it is shameful to become the driver. Honda Accord may be a better choice if you really want Jap make.
    Remember a couple of years ago (2006) when Camry was just RM135k when the government just adjusted the car tax structure? So, similar spec same engine same 4-AT but at RM20K higher price?

• Abidal on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:31 pm

aiyohh i thought its China car!

• wah!! so ah beng!!

• hakimin zahid on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:38 pm

this is sooo 80s

• biggbro on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:40 pm

cheap plastics slap here and there…and they call this luxury!! c’mon toyota, ppl are not so stupid to accept this kind of things nowadays

• Mr. M on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:44 pm

The rear end of the car looks horrible!

• pojie on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:47 pm

ewwwwwwww!!! the body kit makes it look even uglier!

• Me Again on Apr 30, 2012 at 5:52 pm

Is there such thing as ‘too much bodykit’ ??

• Hideous… Kit doesn’t match at all…

• BERSIH 3.0 on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:02 pm

front look like civic..rear bumper similar to myvi extreme…am i right..;D

• muixmuix on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:06 pm

are they hiring old kia/hyundai car designer..

• DrZQarnayn on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:10 pm

If this going to be new camry….a bit disappoiment..esp the front…..should be better….

• Alpha on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:10 pm

What’s up with the super ah beng rear??

• tikus on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Front part looks like KIA Forte….Now Jap copying Korean,Sad!!

• CamryLover on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:13 pm

it looks hideous

• the back of the sport version does not look good..
    the normal one is fine..but cannot match current camry

• alamak on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:25 pm

OMG,the exterior design still old school yet try out the exaggerate Bodykit , this fail as Ah beng car….still interior is improve so much
    but still awful overall

• _xXx_ on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:38 pm

alamak backside mcm maivai lagi best spesial edition extreme 1.5

• foxis on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:43 pm

the red one…. the back is really OMG…..a red Lego brick car ?

• SOUP69 on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm

man…its a tad ugly

• Truth on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Is it just me or are Toyota’s getting uglier?
    ( Eg: New gen. Wish & Camry )

• jalan54 on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Good luck toyota… lol

• Maaajeeedaaa on Apr 30, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Fugly!!! Sorry, not a Toyoda base fan…..

• omg the rear is……….. horrible!

• Major T-roll on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:14 pm

STUPID UGLY SLAP ON BODYKITS! WHEN WILL THEY EVER LEARN???

• seriously fugly.

• bluey on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:22 pm

does it transform into Voltron? haha..

• DArkerMarker on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:36 pm

Was the rear of the car designed by a blind person???

• Sorry toyota still cant beat K5. LOL
    what an ugly car u have made?

• Form 5 project into production.

• kelvin on Apr 30, 2012 at 7:52 pm

OMG who did the bodykit? Yucks!

• sonata on Apr 30, 2012 at 8:01 pm

prefer hyundai sonata rather than buying this shit…design+feautures all not update at all!but even bolehland people will buy this crap over korean cars…damn ugly piece of shit on road…can go for preve more better than this shit!

• this aurion spec is a lot better than sonata la bro…aih…the rear is kinda ugly la but they way you concluding something makes you really stupid…

• Salamander on May 01, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Again a stupid comment. Compare and apple to an apple. Sonata sold here is the 2.0 version. If you compare the 2.0G Camry with Sonata 2.0 you would know the difference.

• sonata on May 02, 2012 at 10:22 am

what the hell you want to compare apple with an apple?arr u dumb?im comparing sonata D segment with camry D segment!look at the price you funny dumb ass!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Apr 30, 2012 at 10:54 pm

Whoa…did Toyota just contract out body kit designs to Proton…I mean Lotus?

• helmi on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Ugly exterior design and boring interior. Bloody hell greedy UMW Toyota, we will only get old engine but damn expensive price tag. I hope this time all Malaysian will give greedy UMWToyota a hard knock-out punch like we have gave to Proton for insulting us with ugly 3rd world car but at a very expensive price.

• Rulered on Apr 30, 2012 at 11:53 pm

It’s like the we’re paying more for a Big Mac in Malaysia which comes with only bun and beef whereas in Australia you have it with salad, tomatoes, cheese, pickles etc, etc. If we have to pay more for a car , we jolly well should get a better spec car than what we’re getting now. Open your eyes Toyota fans. If a similar segment cars from Korea or even Peugeot 5008 can offer their cars fully loaded, why can’t Toyota?

• RedBeanBun on May 01, 2012 at 12:38 am

can someone run a protest infront of toyota office/showroom for the 4 speed milk all they can ? I mean…2012…4 Speed? Protong also moving to CVT…

• peYno on May 01, 2012 at 7:51 am

Japanese dump 4 AT tranny to kampung car like AVANZA, Myvi.. and they fully utilise CVT tech in Japan market

pity kampung ppl

• Lets go for Bersihkan Toyota 1.0!

• oh please on May 01, 2012 at 1:36 am

oh god, it looks like some transformers robot wearing bandage

• Iylia H on May 01, 2012 at 3:28 am

damn is that supposed to look better? more like myvi extreme bodykit to me

• Protonlotusiast on May 01, 2012 at 7:56 am

sorry 2 say..i’m smelling a myvi extreme bodykits on this camry..

• Unforgiven on May 02, 2012 at 1:15 am

Yup, that’s true. It looks like Altis on Myvi extreme…

• Thank you, Toyota.
    You just made my decision to get a VW much easier.

• Proton salesman on May 01, 2012 at 10:23 am

CIAAAAAANTIKKKKKKK

• Jaybond on May 01, 2012 at 1:07 pm

UGLY.

• like like on May 01, 2012 at 1:11 pm

mcm altezza pon ade

• Salamander on May 01, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Ah Beng will still buy these due to second hand value.

• optimus on May 01, 2012 at 2:12 pm

those lubang at front n rear bumper looks like lamborghini inspired ^^

• hanhan on May 01, 2012 at 2:49 pm

fucking ugly ass.what’s going on with toyota? -.-

• izhar on May 01, 2012 at 4:03 pm

lambo tuh…

• droll on May 01, 2012 at 4:12 pm

there is one unit previous gen aurion for sale now. go and find it in the online car sites. it is the supercharged version ;) 300bhp if i recall!

• anynomous on May 01, 2012 at 10:27 pm

I’ve seeing it in China…it is the most ugliest badge of Camry’s family…

• eurohead on May 01, 2012 at 10:48 pm

EEEEEEWWWWWWWW…. let me look at it again… EEEEEEEEWWWWWWWWWWWWWW….

• “Very sporty” bumpers like exactly as booted
    Myvi lagi best! Hahahaha

• azrai on May 02, 2012 at 8:24 am

Camry AB Edition; Ah Beng Edition maa!!

• i just back from Indonesia and saw lots of this camry over there..actually i’m quite surprise it’s look more nicer infront of your eyes instead looking it at the picture all this while. Also saw new Elgrand there. Also Super nice….

• Wisdom on May 02, 2012 at 12:07 pm

The rear bumper seems confused.

• fendy on May 02, 2012 at 12:56 pm

lambota..

• matlimmutu on May 02, 2012 at 3:54 pm

seriously a bad design..

• DRZQARNAYN on May 03, 2012 at 8:16 am

it kind na retro to me esp the front…look at nissan now…honda…

• Kam-II on May 02, 2012 at 4:45 pm

with this price i would rather buy Mazda CX-5 , and still save 20K money!

• Frank on May 02, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Seriously TOYOTA you have lost it with this Camry

What’s with the Design of this car ???

The Hyundai Sonata / Kia Optima definitely looks much better..!!!

• slimershine on May 02, 2012 at 9:06 pm

1992 volvo-ish..

• DRZQARNAYN on May 03, 2012 at 8:10 am

seriously..no turning head for this one …..just new car…

• volvo for life on May 03, 2012 at 3:46 am

my god…. r u kidding me toyota…… the whole thing is wrong

• volvo for life on May 03, 2012 at 3:47 am

r u kidding me toyota?? this whole thing is wrong!

• zanggief on May 03, 2012 at 11:53 am

a very ozy flavour of tuning….compared to japanese type of tuning…

• mentari-o-korea on May 03, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Look dated, shud come early 2000, next!!!