Toyota to regain No 1 spot in 2012, with 9.7 mil units

toyota logo

Reports indicate that Toyota is set to regain the world No. 1 automaker ranking for 2012, after having dropped down to third place in 2011, a slide brought about by severe production disruptions that occurred when natural disasters hit Japan and Thailand last year.

This year, with robust sales being recorded in North America and Southeast Asia, the brand has certainly rebounded. For 2012, it’s due to chalk a record 9.7 million units of worldwide sales, and this will comfortably top that of General Motors and Volkswagen, which have each been projected to sell slightly more than nine million units.

Toyota said last Friday its global sales for the January-November period, including that of Daihatsu and Hino, climbed by 24.3% to 8.93 million vehicles. Toyota itself – including Lexus – achieved 7.97 million units, a rise of 24.5%.

Lexus sales grew 19.7% to 428,000 units in the period, though weaker demand in China might mean that its full-year target of 500,000 units may not be achieved. The reports add that though GM and VW managed to boost their sales in China, where Toyota and other Japanese firms took a big hit from anti-Japanese demonstrations, a European downturn weighed on them.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• comrade on Dec 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm

trusted brand worldwide…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 27
    • “robust sales being recorded in North America and Southeast Asia”

North America and Southeast Asia is “worldwide”? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Love Camry on Dec 28, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Camry in malaysia with 4 speed and no stability control and lower spec ! Done tell me 4 speed is very good already n we done need stability control … Explain why other country getting 6 speed with all safety feature , plus stability control is a must !
        Paultan knew it !
        Enough ! I’m selling of my Camry ! Buyer please !

• ayam_brand on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm

yes..agree,wordwide sales qty tell everything..but our GLOBAL car company sell few hundred units worlwide only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
  • Allan on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Volkswagen all the way!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
  • Toyota is simply the BEST !!!

Gentlemen and ladies, just drive it steadily, obey the speed limit and u would never go wrong with a Toyota!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
  • Louis Lee on Dec 24, 2012 at 4:29 pm

sorry we want quality NOT quantity and market share.. comes out with a basic equipment car with one air bag just to make the price lower and affordable for others and neglect the safety feature is a bad car company :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 26
    • that one is umw…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Fukuoka on Dec 24, 2012 at 11:59 pm

The burden of safety and emission enforcement is on the GOVERNMENT, not Toyota.

Here in Japan, passenger car makers including Toyota strictly have to conform to latest JNCAP (similar to EURO NCAP) safety requirement. Emission wise, the minimum readings of CO, HC and NOx are clearly defined and adhered to.

Malaysia do not even have a Standard Cycle to begin with. The cycle (10.15 or JC08 in Japan and ECE-15 in Europe) is a standardized vehicle movement with fixed time, acceleration, velocity and braking sequence. Only with this standard, a recognised fuel consumption and emission readings could be recorded.

Without these enforcements, opportunist Toyota (as well as Proton and Perodua) take advantage by offering sub-standard cars to Malaysia.

So the government should make the right move by introducing the appropriate regulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 7
      • Actually, this is what I hate about people only following rules and regulation when others enforced them. I believe genuine good-will comes from knowing what’s best for the customer, not because others are enforcing it. And its actually very similar to a culture that’s been practiced here by most from the lowest class to the highest ranked: If you’re not caught, continue doing it. If you’re caught, try doing it again…

I thought Toyota is different, looks to me its not different than what the Government is. And about Proton and Perodua, it’s not that they are offering sub-standard cars, it’s sadly their inability to offer better cars. That’s slowly changing somehow but it’s the worst if knowing that company has the technology but still offered sub-standard cars.

Disgrace and Disgusting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 18
        • I am not a fan of Toyota, but I won’t go as far as saying Disgrace and Disgusting. Who planted the idea that Toyota is different. It is and always have been the ‘save’ choice for those who are not willing to take risk. Different will be Ford.

By the way, Proton to have the inability to produce better cars? We have given them 25 years and Government support, all to see them fall behind the Kimchi ,who share the same ‘bad car’status in the early 00, move leaps and bounds ahead. 00s Hyundai Accent diesel?

PS: I just found out that I actually replied your comment down there…..Merry Christmas :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • theanswer on Dec 25, 2012 at 3:37 pm

the problem is, outside msia, toyota dont use that ‘save choice’ ideology. they offer more model with better spec outside. for example dual vvti engine for vios..6 airbags for camry lowest spec.

• Agreed completely.

In countries other than Malaysia, Toyota has turn over a new leaf, by making cars more exciting. The GT86[could literally be the last of the affordable FR manual coupe in the world] and the new Avalon and Auris (Finally an un-Toyota looking Toyota].

Over here, on this web site at least I hope, there are people who just hate Toyota based on the product that is selling here. Yes, I have to agree that buyer are paying more for less, but to hate TMC as a whole, that’s over rated. The Camry is not a completely sh** car as some suggest[ but it is still a huge disappointment] It’s still has great NVH and comfort. and R&H is a bit better than K-cars which is less. And the all so ugly Vios, that’s a 7 year old product, born when Toyota still has less competition. We here in Malaysia need to look north to see that there are better-equipped Vioses.

I think people here just want to have some changes, a market filled with fresh new cars aside for T&H. which brings unexpected prejudice against the common T&H. Or maybe because Nippon makes were so great last time, and we compare their greats with today products, which is less great because there are fresh new Korean and cheap European makes around. Why cars of the rising sun is so lame here? like you I point at our local Big Brother. T&H heving been so long here adapt themselves to the market and government standard. which makes our product…….lame

Anyways, on a personal note, you said here in Japan.really hope to go there one day…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Dec 24, 2012 at 5:47 pm

How many % contribution by Vios and other 3rd-world-country vehicles?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
    • skypirate on Dec 24, 2012 at 10:55 pm

vios and 3rd world country vehicles actually accounted to very little vehicles in the total cars that toyota sold. the total number of vehicles sold in north america by toyota and lexus makes up the majority of the projected 9.7 million units.

• toyota should have bring in CVT engine for Vios to see 20% fuel improvement.

your toyota Prius c is not selling well at all, it’s too ugly, do something like Honda Facelifting Civic so urgently. Honda is humble, willing to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 18
    • harrith on Dec 24, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Toyota Auris 2013 is coming to Malaysia bro. That will be selling like hot cakes!! Looks awesome inside and out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
      • zowell on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:06 pm

got turbo?

• Smaller boot, hard plastic, 11 sec from 0-100km/h, lesser fun in driving. Even sedan preve can do around 9 sec, with soft touch plastic panel. Not to mention the coming hothatch, sure can do faster with lesser weight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Skypirate on Dec 26, 2012 at 11:19 am

The Prius c is actually selling very well in North America and Japan, it’s more like demand outstripped supply so Toyota is trying to satisfy the demand in its 2 biggest markets.

The Honda insight and crz are the ones that are selling poorly worldwide.

• sam loo cousin on Dec 24, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Where is sam loo? It’s show time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • HONpengDA on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:02 pm

In thailand honda sales for passenger car already beaten toyota,i wandered honda passenger car in malaysia can beat toyota or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • I don’t think so. All uncle & aunties likes Toyota. Fully support it.

• akupunya on Dec 24, 2012 at 8:56 pm

Does it include Perodua sales?

• Modesto.hann on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:14 am

Toyota is the most socially responsible car company in the world. It cares about the environment with its green engine, cares about pedestrian with its pedestrian safety body design, buys back pre owned toyota cars from its customers to protect value of the cars, thus protecting customer welfare.

Toyota drivers are civilized with good manners, willing to give way to another driver in the wrong lane during heavy traffic.they drive safely to uplift their image collectively, they know they represent toyota drivers globally.

When it comes to purchasing a car, you know where to invest your money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
    • Try reading Fukuoka’s statement above. Toyota is only responsible when the government enforces it.

And Toyota Vios, Innova, Hilux are one of the worst drivers on the road.

If you want to invest your money, you shouldn’t even buy a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
      • RV is not as important as Sam Loo suggest, but for some it still dictates the buyers choice. If the cars RV is high, you save some money on the next car you buy, financially thinking. But who am I supposed to say this, I am not a ‘business’ minded person, any car that offers fun-to-drive characteristic gets my pick, which is why I still admire R3 Neos and manual1.5 Myvi out there.

I dun think you can go out and say Toyota drivers are reckless. There are more Toyotas out there than other foreign car, so the chance of encountering one is always higher. I find a lot of Myvi tailgating me on the highway, do I consider all Myvi are reckless and Porsche are less because I encounter less of them on the road.
        [though weirdly, 1 of 2 cars that tailgate me will always have a kidney grill and German prescence]

Yes, a company needs to respect a customer, and what they know best. But the goverment has the iron fist over the market, and no mass manufecturer like Toyota is going to be Robbin Hood here. Toyota is mass-manufacturing maker, it needs to make profit for every car they sell. You can only get customer-first manufecturer from high end Marques like BMW or Bentley. And don’t say that the Koreans does better, the Elantra is only slightly cheaper and slightly better spec with the pay off of an slightly inferior engine. If you had not notice, the Korean makes are steadily increasing the price with every new introduction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • anti vios and camry on Dec 25, 2012 at 12:19 pm

totally agree with you, vios and innova never even give way. never use turning signal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • Sam Loo on Dec 25, 2012 at 6:08 pm

The very fact that kimchis have poor RV is a blessing for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Nothing against Toyota worldwide but UMW here in bolehland is bring down Toyota image to 6 foot under…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Dec 26, 2012 at 10:14 am

imagine if the automotive market in malaysia is level playing field, then I believe UMW could sell a better equipped Vios/Altis/Camry at the same price.

example
      now 85K – Vios has alldisc brakes, ABS, EBD, twin airbag
      future 85K – Vios has all the above, plus side and curtain airbag and stability control.

so first things first – remove national car protection and that high 75% excise duties!!

• Sam Loo on Dec 25, 2012 at 1:42 pm

And needless to say, Toyota produces cars with the best Resale Value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • Modesto.hann on Dec 25, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Ya, true. High resale value doesn’t come automatically, toyota has made quite a fair bit of effort in the background, like buying back pre owned units, making their parts widely available with standardized parts across different models so that parts can be shared. When parts are cheaper and easily available, resale value will be good as used car can be maintained cheaply. Name another car company which cares about this? Other car companies may sell cheap, they just wash their hands few years after you bought their car, say sorry to you when you need them the most!

• sam loo cousin on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:23 pm

Yahooo Sam Loo is back! Yo are the Toyota Great Fan!
      Sam Loo! Sam Loo! Sam Loo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Modesto.hann on Dec 25, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Ya, true. High resale value doesn’t come automatically, toyota has made quite a fair bit of effort in the background, like buying back pre owned units, making their parts widely available with standardized parts across different models so that parts can be shared. When parts are cheaper and easily available, resale value will be good as used car can be maintained cheaply. Name another car company which cares about this? Other car companies may sell cheap, they just wash their hands few years after you bought their car, say sorry to you when you need them the most!

• breezehaw on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:01 pm

It’s still making boring and bad handling car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • alldisc on Dec 26, 2012 at 10:22 am

ini orang sudah makan racun proton 10 tahun lepas.

handling, handling, handling.

and yet the outside world do not bother with handling. what they are looking for – peace-of-mind reliability while being easy to live with

if u buy an entry level vios J with 14 inch wheel and skinny 175 width tyres, standard suspension setting for comfort of course you do not expect the car to handle very well. but when you alter the handling you will compromise performance and fuel economy with heavy and wider tyres and harsher ride with stiffer springs and the like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • sam loo cousin on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Yes go for toyota, proven quality peace of mind having it, high resale value

Change your tyres to wider ones and get Lotus ride and handling alike

• viosowner on Dec 26, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Now I know all cars can handle like Lotus does on proton, just put wider tyres and walla, you can handle it like elise

• I know most of the car are boring and maybe…bad handling but…..GT86?

• preve 7/10 on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:14 pm

what is popular is not always right, and what is not popular is not always wrong. i read it somewhr.

So toyota fans are floating with this piece of news..as if their cars are really the best. They make good cars yes, but most are shitty.

Lie someone above mentioned, Toyo still equip some cars with one airbag here, old transmission and tech, selling price close to 75-80k. thats shit.

• NamOvi on Dec 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm

Still expensive in msia. Cant imagine if can get lower price in msia. All the T haters might buy this car also.

T service centre still sucks big time. Parts are expensive. Service time took longer than it shud be, even for changing engine oil only. Have to bear with them until finish warranty.

Quality? They are 2nd to none. Have you seen a T brokedown along the hiway?

Badside? Recalled units, camry in us, prius all over the world. And New T model takes time to get in msia market.

The most interesting part of T that i like most,most of the cars has less sensors, less electronic compare to its rival. Want more sensors, go for lexus, which is luxurious car from T.

Adios…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Carl Wong on Dec 26, 2012 at 1:36 am

That is a lot of cars made for this year…………

• Louis Lee on Dec 26, 2012 at 9:50 am

sorry guys i dont see worldwide as it doesnt matter to us.. what is matter to us is what UMW malaysia have to offer us the Toyota range.. coming out a low spec and affordable vios J spec with a airbag previously just to make affordable to anyone but in safety feature is minimal is not the way to GAIN market sharre. You might be the top seller small sedan in malaysia but you have the worst safety feature in malaysia as well for non local brand car. Thank you

• alex chan on Dec 26, 2012 at 5:17 pm

HAH!..i told u guys oledi…TOYOTA..best value car in malaysia…Resale value oso gud..thats why we chinese choose value..u can make the different!..want cheap car?..vote PR leh..congrates to toyota for the outstanding performance!!

• Cool Daddy on Jan 03, 2013 at 11:41 pm

I love my Toyota’s car so much..dont ever bother other brand..for middle income earner like myself, I, want car that value for money i.e. low FC, low maintenance cost & of course good resale value. Hard earn money maa…

• Sam Loo on Jan 07, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Way to go.

For those that have made the mistake of buying a cabbage, sell them off now to stop the pain once and for all