Audi TT ultra quattro concept shaves off 300 kg

audi tt ultra 01

Something light – but not fluffy – from the four rings will be going to Worthesee next month. The Audi TT ultra quattro concept is a study in removing weight, in this case, a whopping 300 kg off a production TT 2.0 TFSI Coupe.

The quattro all-wheel drive car, finished in crystal white, tips the scales at 1,111 kg, and the weight reduction has been supplanted by an increase in power – the TT ultra concept has 310 PS and 400 Nm from 1,900 to 5,000 rpm; mated to a six-speed transmission, it’s all good to give the car a 0-100 km/h time of 4.2 seconds and a 278 km/h top speed.

Weight reduction-wise, 43 kg was removed from the production TT’s already light-ish 206 kg body (excluding detachable body parts, amounting to 98 kg), and with the help of optimised detachable body parts the total weight reduction in this area adds up to 100 kg.

The use of carbon fibre-reinforced polymer (CFRP) in the rear end, the centre tunnel, the B-pillars and the roof contributes its bit, as do magnesium components in the floor and in the hinge reinforcements.

CFRP also finds its way inside, adorning the door trim, the centre console and the cross-bracing that replaces the rear seat bench. The standard front seats are also replaced by fibreglass-reinforced polymer (FRP) bucket seats from the R8 GT, trimming a further 22 kg.

Elsewhere, the four-cylinder mill also loses 25 kg through modifications to the crankcase, the crankshaft, the balancer shafts, the flywheel, the sump, the bolts and certain ancillary units.

The front brakes with their ceramic discs and aluminium fixed calipers also make a contribution, and there are savings to be found in the titanium exhaust system with its single centrally mounted tailpipe and the CFRP wheels with high-strength aluminium spokes, the last taking off 20 kg.

Fibreglass-reinforced polymer (FRP) also replaces more conventional steel for the coil springs in the suspension, helping to further reduce unsprung masses and cut weight by 40%. Meanwhile, a smaller lithium-ion starter battery, which is located in the interior under the driver’s seat, weighs just under four kilograms. Sounds to me that the Audi boffins weren’t taking things lightly with this one!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Aaron on Apr 26, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Holy cow, its 0-100 sprint is faster than twin-powered turbo V8 BMW M5!

• Jimmy on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Don’t get too excited. Comes into Malaysia, it will be RM1 to RM2 million. And yes, about RM500,000 will go into BN pocket. Vote wisely soon so that, you may have a fair chance of buying this car at reasonable prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
      • berombon on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:19 am

Haiyaahh..even after the so called giving the 500K to BN, you still cannot afford it lah. Berangan saja lebih…cakap berlagak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Kalun on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:04 pm

But can it beat the power to weight ratio of a Lotus Exige V6?

• No. But the power/weight ratio cannot be compared, as the Audi is four-wheel drive… ;)

• Almost all high performance car have Gearbox problem.

• lonelyobserve on Apr 26, 2013 at 4:31 pm

That depends on the gearbox type used. Conventional manual, conventional auto, automated manual or dual-clutch transmission.

• driver on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Wow!! 300 kg off! that’s a lot. No wonder it can sprint that fast.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 26, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Baby R8!

• Jimmy u must be DAP or PR supporter I guess. Leave politic out of this forum. Dont make assumption. Lets discuss only about cars. Leave policy making to the government. If you dont like this forum dont make comments. I’m sure the reason Paultan create this forum is petrol heads to discuss abt cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • So, govt’s policy which regards the automotive has got nothing to do with car? Some more I think Paul can always dump any comment during moderation. By the way, is there any successful advanced nation on earth with their govt unchanged for so long, even since independence? US, UK, Japan, France, Italy, Australia, Germany, S.Korea, Russia or even Thailand?

• GT-Rider on Apr 27, 2013 at 12:57 am

GT-R is still faster…yawn

• Only on the playstation. At the 24h Nurburgring race, the GT-R’s failed the last years… :D

• GT-Rider on Apr 28, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Butthurt audi fanboy. LOL

• Are you angry because your GT-R’s were behind BMW 1 series Diesels and Renault Clio’s the last years? :D

• GT-Rider on Apr 30, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Go and play your playstation kid. There you can cheat and win as much as you want. LOL

• NihonJidosha on Apr 28, 2013 at 9:54 pm

Segment to segment dude… You just made me tiada muka use my favorite car to buli smaller sports car.

• amokio on Apr 27, 2013 at 1:41 am

Errm..where is the door handle sir?