Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT Euro – 6 airbags, RM180k

Pajero Sport VGT Euro_1

Following the pattern set by last year’s limited edition ASX Euro and Triton VGT Euro, now it’s the Pajero Sport’s turn to get the Euro treatment. The Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT Euro, to give it its full name, is limited to 250 units – the largest number among the Euro brigade yet – and is priced at RM180,550 without insurance.

The RM13k premium over the standard Pajero Sport VGT model, which is already well specced for its class, gets you a few key and welcome additions that include a sunroof, six airbags, eight-way driver’s powered seat and an exterior bodykit pack comprising of a front airdam and rear garnish. Not bad eh?

That’s on top of the standard-issue touchscreen GPS navigation system with Bluetooth connectivity and reverse camera functions, leather upholstery, auto lights and wipers, auto climate control, cruise control and magnesium paddle shifters for the five-speed INVECS-II automatic gearbox.

Power comes from the familiar VGT-equipped 2.5 litre turbodiesel engine in the range-topping Triton and Pajero Sport, with peak power of 178 PS and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm. So it’s powerful, and now very well equipped with premium and safety features; do you approve?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Vincent on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:18 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 156
    • MycarMylife on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:57 am

Dullsville at this price.

• RejimKejamGanas on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:13 pm

The Santa Fe is overpriced and has far lower specs than this Triton. A RM194K Santa Fe only comes with 2 airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
      • Black Dog on Jul 18, 2013 at 5:30 pm

My Sorento also comes with 6 air bags, sunroof, 176hp, and all the premium features but only cost Rm158,888. This is really overpriced! Even the new Santa Fe easily beat this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 56
        • Chakib on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:36 am

Ok son… 4×4 class 101: the Sorento is not a 4×4… And frankly, Kia is far behind Mitsubishi.. Not the same class.. Not even close. Compare your Sorento with a CRV, but even then, it would almost be a disrespect to Honda! Please lah!

• akule sapelagi on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:32 am

Approved

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Josh Ling on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:42 am

Magnesium paddle shifters?? WOW….that’s WOW for me!! imagine to paddle shift in a car that big, with such a nice pair of paddle shifters some more, already sounds very attractive to me!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • Richard on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:47 am

Hard to compare with santa Fe cos this is a real off roader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Chakib on Apr 16, 2014 at 8:09 am

Richard, you are absolutely correct.. its an absurd comparison.. IT seems that people are comparing apples with oranges.. Comparing a Mitsubishi with the Santa Fe is absurd.. As nice as they are trying to make it, it is still a Korean Car and is playing catch up vs. Japanese.. And that is the absolute reality.

• radzor on Jul 18, 2013 at 11:51 am

i ll wait for a while for ford everest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • fourwheeler on Jul 18, 2013 at 12:31 pm

emm… 2.2 vs 2.5 cc…197 ps vs 178 ps, 440 Nm vs 350 Nm, 2 airbags vs 6 airbags …RV?

• lancruiser on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:02 pm

when it comes to off-road, don’t forget it’s rally proven Super Select 4WD, the true blue off-roader, Santa Fe ermmm….can’t it even stand a small flood? i doubt so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • RejimKejamGanas on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:14 pm

The specs on this will already kill the Santa Fe.

• Rhys Millen on Jul 20, 2013 at 8:29 am

Sorry you obviously never gone off road in a Santa Fe… 4wd system is way more advanced than any other Pajero or fortuner …. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=IiZaPRw8awg

• ahshuy on Jul 18, 2013 at 1:13 pm

I approved, and is hell of a good car to drive. Forget bout santa fe, its just a macho car with wannabe off road capabilities. Dare u take both cars offroad and u would see what i mean.

Btw, this car is few hundred kg more to santa fe, can anyone guess where the weight go?

• Drust on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:51 am

Dont talk about SUV going off-road, i doubt any bros here wanna drive their 150k and above SUV and go off-road…sakit hati one leh. But maybe except East Malaysia bros la, those over there drive their Super King and off-road.

• frenzyaustin on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:59 am

Why you buy this car in the 1st place if they don’t want to go off road? There are many better choices for on road car within that price range

• Chakib on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:32 am

You are wrong.. Some “bros” here can afford a good 4×4 to take off road… Just because u can’t or won’t does not mean others won’t!

• i own a Mitsubishi Grandis and what i can tell u about their after sales service is. Bloody useless, and unreliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Head Hunter on Jul 18, 2013 at 2:25 pm

I am a current owner of both Triton & Pajero Sport so I approved of this addition. At least when we tested with Hiroshi Masuoka, it didn’t flip over like a certain brand with a VIP in it. Heheheh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • Nice specs & all but how many can afford..let Malaysians buy cheaper vehicles less safety features so more can perish…& Gov can keep their RM7 billion mah….our lifes are less valueable??? How efficient can Gov spend our money…I say No More heavy Tax on Vehicle. We want Value for our money. We want less house hold Debt….Agree???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Apalalu on Jul 18, 2013 at 3:42 pm

In Langkawi it is rm70k cheaper. TQ BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • TIGER760LI on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:01 pm

pajero vgt plus points 1-)fully imported 2-) 6Airbags 3-) 2 yrs free maintenance 4-) paddle shifters(magnesium) 5-)Gps
    negative points 1-) is still underpower 176ps only for 2.5 litre engine as rival hyundai have 2.2 litre engine produce near to 200 ps 2-) no ESC/ESP/DSC as rival Hyundai have (v imp for such bulky SUV)
    3-) ladder plateform should be cheaper because its cheaper to produce so not worth to buy RM187k for dis SUV 4-) Rival Hyundai have proven R-series diesel engines which r smaller in cc but hi PS(high pressure turbo charger)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • frenzyaustin on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:11 pm

But Santa Fe suffered from huge turbo lag. They installed a larger turbo to appeal better on paper. But real life driving it’s terrible.

• Jimmy on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Lousy acceleration from the ‘famous’ diesel engine, 2 airbags only, zzz.

This euro version is good with 6 airbags, but no ESP right?

• BMW Fanboi on Jul 18, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Ladder frame is proven to be tough and reliable and it’s make sense to use in hardcore SUV like this. It targeted towards off roaders fans or Civil Engineer who always travelled in off road condition.

• gavin on Jul 18, 2013 at 4:57 pm

I would dumped the sunroof and body garnishes for Rockford Fosgate audio system

• Sick&tired on Jul 18, 2013 at 8:29 pm

the only thing the triton sport has over the Santa fe is the number of airbags. Other than that, the Santa fe trumps it in virtually everything else. Btw the triton sport is truck based (regular triton) so if you need a truck, get the ford ranger!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • car man on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:32 pm

pls go to test drive subaru forester! add another 15k…….rm195k
    you will know what is the real 4×4…

this FORESTER can fight many conti. car above price tag rm400k!

I ALREADY BOOK ONE.!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • suparman on Jul 19, 2013 at 8:29 am

Have sat in the forester..the interior doesnt even worth 200k price tag, not even 100k..a big letdown

• BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2013 at 10:49 am

The only thing that the Subaru has that is worth more than its value is the 2.0 Turbo Engine. Other wise it is light years behind many Japanese makes…

• frenzyaustin on Jul 19, 2013 at 11:01 am

Light years behind Japanese makes? It’s All wheel drive system is the one of the most advance in passenger vehicle.

• smarties on Jul 18, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Nice car but too pricey.

• Ex Lancer on Jul 18, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Tested this Pajero at Auto City long time ago where they purpose dig big holes, pour water in, 45 degree side way slope, steep hill… The Pajero handled them so well.

The best thing was they hired a rally driver to drift the car where you sit at the passenger side. It was really amazing, but the sales girl got “green” after getting from the car :D

If it wasn’t the Inspirasi, I wouldn’t let go my Lancer, what a shame.

• Jimmy Toda on Jul 19, 2013 at 1:39 am

worth waiting for Chevy Trailblazer 2.8L but dont know Ma when gona launch Malaysia as indon and Thai already have.
    dis chevy will shave dis pajro and santa banta ooo

• zapruder on Jul 19, 2013 at 2:50 pm

For Sarawak punya tokey balak.

• smart one on Jul 19, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Smart people wont buy such overpriced car…. please think over between necessity & need!

• azim ahmad on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:12 pm

really upset with the problem of black smoke which still can’t be solved until today by Mitsubishi. My mileage is almost 90,000km & the problem is getting worst. Cannot blame the diesel becouse other model use same diesel but not facing this black smoke.

• azim ahmad on Aug 17, 2013 at 5:34 pm

i heard Pajero Sport VGT. 4×4 diesel engine really produce terrible black smoke from the ekzos pipe. any comment??? because i plan to buy this car…really need ur advise…

• Chakib on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:26 am

I am seriously baffled reading these comments.. How can ANYONE compare the Santa Fe or a Subaru with a Pajero? It’s frankly ridiculous. The Pajero Sport is a great off roader.. I have drove it in Latin American rallies and if anyone wants to compare, it would be in a class together with the 4tuner, the 4runner (not in Malaysia), and the Pathfinder.

While the Pajero is not the best on road SUV, I think for those who actually drive it (not those that obviously talk without owning one), it is surpringsingly good, particularly the VGT Euro, which adds nice luxury features to a REAL 4×4.