Subaru WRX RS40 – 300 units, exclusive to Australia

Subaru_WRX_RS40_01

While Japan gets to enjoy the Subaru WRX STI tS Type RA, Subaru Australia introduced its own swansong for the current rally-bred road star. The Subaru WRX RS40 isn’t quite as hardcore as the last-gap Japan special, but it’s no less exclusive – only 300 units will be made.

The name pays homage to the company’s success in the realm of rally sport (six WRC titles and 10 consecutive Australian Rally Championship titles under its belt) while celebrating its 40th anniversary in Australia.

It’s based on the WRX sedan (no Impreza moniker here; that’s used only in the newer base models now), and features the competition rally car’s signature WR Blue paint scheme with contrasting gold 17-inch WRX wheels. Special RS40 badges/decals, STI front splitter and rear wing round off the exterior changes.

The WRX RS40 lists at AUD$44,490, just AUD$4,500 more than a standard WRX. In all, there’s over AUD$7,000 worth of extras, including the exterior add-ons, STI short shift gear assembly, STI flexible tower strut brace and Recaro seats with blue Alcantara inserts.

Alas, we all know these last-gap special editions are just here to keep the current WRX relevant, before the all-new Subaru WRX arrives soon enough. Just recently, Subaru Australia also launched the BRZ S, another Aussie-special to keep your mind off the incoming Subaru BRZ STI.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kadajawa on Aug 05, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Now I know from where Proton copied the blue colour for the preve hatchback….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
  • this is what we call a proper color theme for wrx!

• 44K and u get a brand new wrx sti…i seriously envy them aussies

• 44k as in 44k AUD to MYR 129k. Cheaper yes but think of their lifestyle, it’s cheaper for a reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Malaysia Boleh! on Aug 05, 2013 at 8:11 pm

They earn 5-10 AUD per hour for part time job, they earn 2K AUD as a fresh graduate, their McD cost 9 AUD, their Levi’s jeans cost 50 AUD and a WRX STi cost 44K AUD.
        We earn 5-10 Ringgit per hour for part time job, we earn 2K Ringgit as a fresh graduate, our McD cost RM9, our Levi’s jeans cost 180 and a WRX STi cost 300K AUD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Simon Ng on Aug 05, 2013 at 10:51 pm

But their car loan is 12%. Sadly, it is still a rich man’s game. Unless you can put down a large deposit, otherwise it is still beyond reach for many.

• Australia pun boleh on Aug 05, 2013 at 10:52 pm

and do u know how much it costs to maintain (own) one?

• They can easily earn 44kAUD a year equivalent to the cars amount. We earn RM44k a year here but what can we get?

• if u r earning 44k a year i advise u take public transport. cause that wont be enough for ur food n shelter. thats y malaysia is an incredible country tat breeds champions. then later goes overseas.