New variant of Volkswagen Polo sighted on trailer

polo-trailer-1

The new unidentified variant of Volkswagen Polo hatchback that we first sighted at JPJ Putrajaya has been seen again. While the first car we saw was white, this time the car has a red paint job. As previously pointed out, changes include the lack of an exhaust tailpipe on the rear, no TSI badging, and the word ‘Volkswagen’ spelled out on the left side of the tail gate.

polo-trailer-2

We’re still unsure of what specs this Polo will have. The lack of TSI badging could mean either a normally aspirated 1.2 litre three-cylinder, a normally-aspirated 1.4 litre or the same normally-aspirated 1.6 litre engine in the 2014 VW Polo Sedan. Since our first sighting of this car showed an automatic gear shifter in the interior, the gearbox should be a six-speed torque converter automatic.

Could this car be one of the models that Volkswagen will be showcasing at KLIMS13?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments show strong enthusiasm for the new Volkswagen Polo variant, with many praising its engineering, design, and value for money if priced below RM80k. There is mention of a 1.6L engine possibly without DSG, which many see as a less troublesome option. Several commenters compare it favorably against Japanese and Korean rivals like Vios, Myvi, and Fiesta, citing better build quality and European roots. While critics highlight past issues with VW's service and DSG reliability, owners and fans defend VW's quality, emphasizing its performance and design. Some comments speculate the new model will intensify competition, especially with upcoming rivals like Fiesta Ecoboost. Overall, the sentiment is hopeful and optimistic about VW's return to affordable, reliable, and well-engineered vehicles in this segment.

• do you know what this means? Thats right!
    its time to get a fiesta/208.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 53
    • This car look cheap, remind me of 90s Daihatsu Charade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
      • wtfmsia on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Trust me it looks, feels and drives more expensive than a Fiesta!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
        • VW (M) Facebook page speaks all! on Nov 11, 2013 at 9:39 am

Before you ever buy VW in malaysia, go read VW Malaysia facebook commnets. You will be scared stiff. Even Proton, which people laygh at all the time, gives better after sales service.

Most people use up ALL their annual leave waiting in the service centres. You got 21 days annual leave, ALL 21 days will be waiting for your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 26
          • The facebook page comments are written by competitor car companies. It has already been exposed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
          • Deny deny deny on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Soow, so obvious you are a VW salesman losing sales. And now blame competitor companies. Last time DSG problems, VW deny so much. When finally exposed and cornered, then now cannot say anything. So, best thing to do is blame competitor companies.

Btw, competitor companies did not create your DSG problems. VW did. They even admitted the DSG problems recently despite years of lies and denial. It is in black and white. All the DSG cars cannot handle Asian weather or Asian traffic jams. Otherwise it will breakdown non stop. VW already issued a press statement confessing this in black and white.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
          • NazaRUs on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Ha ha, Naza salesman detected, cause Peugeot sales down!,!!

• Service Stinks on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Don’t be fooled. Its not the DSG cars that breakdown non stop. Their Polo with non DSG is also known as kaki breakdown. Go to facebook and read yourself. And customers have to wait 3 months to get anything fixed especially normal parts. See facebook, all customers fuming mad and angry. Anything also they take months to fix. And don’t get excited with their warranty. Its ONLY 2 years. 3 years is insurance based. That takes weeks for approval. Adjuster must come and see, approval takes weeks, and most of the time, not covered. Read again, NOT covered. Because insurance can decide whether to cover or not at their discretion. Don’t believe? Go to facebook and see yourself. VW customers are fuming mad. Even to service the car also must make appointment few weeks beforehand. And when you cross over the required mileage because you waiting weeks for your appointment, VW will tell you, sorry, cannot claim warranty. Because you have crossed over the service interval mileage. You tell them but my appointment given 4 weeks later, they tell you, you should plan in advance. So, their DSG cars can only drive at night but their non DSG cars like the Polo stinks in service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
          • medic on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Don’t bull lar.My warranty claims after 2 years is immediate.No waiting for approval bullshit.If the parts are avalaible,fix straight away.Don’t try to spin stories here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
          • VW Salesman on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Maybe you claim small part. Wait when you claim a big part. Then why so many people have to wait 3 months for their DSG?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
          • Keris Jawa on Nov 12, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Mana mana ada ceriter VW ini lah dia komen skima mamat ni… By the way, I am a self-confessed VW fan since 1995 but does not own one coz tak mampu lagi…
            ;-)

• whereisTSI on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:01 am

Of course cheap. No TSI turbo engine. Why not put it in with auto gearbox? If more 60k it should have better engine. At least 1.2TSI.

• omaigot on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:07 am

OMG after 7 decades they only can make this kind of car? Shut it down please, if they can’t make it cheaper than Picanto!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • oldtc on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:27 am

VW makes 80’s car in year 2013, that’s amazing

-sarcasm-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • It reminds me of 80’s Nissan March

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
      • Quentin Tuntantin on Nov 11, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Wow, so many Peugeot and Ford salesmen here. :-)

• THeLiviNg on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:16 pm

In the art of war, it is stated that an act of systematically criticising something or someone repeatedly makes people believe that something is wrong with the item in question ( in this case VW cars).

That is the aim of the people trying to degrade VW’s success, mostly due to jealousy or hatred, due to the inability to emulate the success (of VW)

Enough said.

• What success? After decades making money why no TSI for under 80k car?

• Maybe this hatch are going to replaced 2014 Polo sedan as the most affordable vw car models in Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
  • samCars on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:10 am

Defintely a 1.6 ltr engine. Would be nice if it comes with a manual gear shift, similar to the ones assembled in India. Less headache than maintaining a DSG. Since VW is going head on with Toyota, this would take on the Yaris.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Sammy on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:36 am

How many times u need ppl to tell u the 6speed auto box used on entry level such as polo sedan is not of DSG variant. Pls understand the product before leaving comment keyboard warriors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 12
      • samCars on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:21 am

Ok Sammy. I go slow on this one. I was was referring to the 1.6 ltr Polo hatch, that comes in a non-DSG gearbox. You are right. But there is also a manual variant which would not sell here. And these two are less troublesome compared to the TSi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • tessla on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:08 am

Good luck with DSG, you will use all your annual leave in service centres.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • alldisc on Nov 11, 2013 at 6:16 pm

suddenly vios appears as the better buy. solid 3 yrs warranty, nationwide service network support, decent handling and reliable….

eh, me not salesman nor driving vios. just observer only. cant afford all but a viva 850.

• For this size and specs, better get Picanto or Fiesta Ecoboost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
    • VW Fanboi on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:17 am

Please don’t compare VW with what Picanto or Fiesta, VW is class above with German engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 51
      • BlueV12 on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Bro, just because it’s german doesn’t mean it’s superior as merc, audi or bmw. I agree that picanto is not in the same league as polo but a ford with an ecoboost engine is sometimes better than a VW. Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 41
        • samCars on Nov 10, 2013 at 9:55 pm

You are right bro BlueV12. It was claimed, Fiesta has a better ‘handling’ than a Polo TSi. But that comparison was based on UK cars. We on the other hand, get the down-spec Thai assembled Fiesta, unfortunately.

• mitsushihtzu on Nov 11, 2013 at 11:23 am

yeap please don’t compare VW with what Picanto or Fiesta, VW is “Class” above with German Engineering and Reliability wise i don’t think its above Picanto or Fiesta. Trust me i know

• There goes the Naza and Sime Darby salesmen again. Do you know they are the dealers of two European makes that do no have the sales volume to enable the parent company to sell directly in Malaysia?

Of course la their salesmen jealous!

• Fiesta ecoboost is coming n I think its better than thiz car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 33
    • i cant wait no no no huuu huuu

• cakap banyak on Nov 10, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Waaa people say this good.. that good..
        talk talk talk…type type type only here..

cakap saja lebih..
        duit tidak ada mau beli apa..

ada duit baru beli; tak payah cakap sana baik sini baik..
        ikut kemampuan $$ la…

why worry…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • adaduit on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:24 am

Give us 6 airbags, VSC+EBD+ABS+BA+Traction Control, 6 speeder, auto lamp/wiper, 16″ rims, leather seats, TSI, 7″ touchscreen HU, 6 speakers, reverse cam, rear/front sensor and we’ll show you the money! Is that too much to ask?

• toman on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Hello tell that to any European and they will laugh at you. Tell me what has Fiesta achieved!? Nothing! The VW Polo is the WRC champion on its first entry. This is quality, not a car once voted as worst from the Ford parts bin ( it got the dubious honour in the 1990’s).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • toyoma on Nov 10, 2013 at 4:00 am

As usual, car salesman of competitor cars getting scared and leaving negative comments here. Please limit this forum to genuine car enthusiasts only, please? If not, please leave!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Please improve your service center services before you launch this model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 37
  • Jiesir on Nov 10, 2013 at 7:37 am

Just back from VW, salesperson tell me that it is going to 1.6ltr engine. The same same engine use in Polo Sedan. It’s make sense too as 208 is using 1.6L engine too. And the good news is, price will below 80k, make sense too, complete against Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • But Honda SC is totally outclass VW SC, to service a Honda you can walk in anytime. To service a VW you got to book one month ahead appointment!

Still want to buy a VW? You got balls..

• bemmi on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:15 am

Still 1.6l engine? Why no TSI? Sell it under 50k else it should be scrapped in rubbish yard.

• motorhead on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:03 am

Less troublesome? Better get myvi auto.. Seldom problem. (Im not a perodua salesman). But Daihatsu built tough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • cakap banyak on Nov 10, 2013 at 6:38 pm

try drive any conti baru or lama..
      feel the difference in ride handling…

• inners on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:17 am

Ride and handling of lotus is much better, LOL. Conti cars cannot sell until take Proton lines? That’s shame.

• myvi owner on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:36 pm

myvi gear response is slow and dumb as heck and its a pain to live with

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 10, 2013 at 9:04 am

The B segment is definitely getting much more interesting with this cheaper non TSi Polo. I’m hoping it would be the 1.6 available with either a manual (unlikely) or 6speed auto box. Let’s just see how much cheaper this can come in less than the polo sedan.

If this can come in at less than 80k, it would be a serious kick in the nuts for its Japanese segment mates, especially if it can maintain its full complement of safety gear.

• No, it will get worse because Fiesta Ecoboost is coming, so near during KLIMS13. VW should put this as lower variant and cheaper, because it’s cheapo car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • omniscent_one on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:25 am

I think these cars are from India (assembled), watch the new tamil movie called Raja Rani. In this movie VW are sponsors, i saw this exacut make with the name of VW spelled out on the Polo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • beetlemanic on Nov 10, 2013 at 12:53 pm

with so much doubts n complaints on VW service and DSG, I hope VW can convince more ppl to get a VW with more openings of SC as well as cheaper base models with conventional 6-spd auto as well as 6-MT selling 65k-85k then I’m sure sales will definitely surge upwards….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • cakap banyak on Nov 10, 2013 at 6:39 pm

DSG/Stronic problematic is the 7 speed DRY clutch..

NOT THE WET…

want no issue go buy the WET DSG/S-tronic…

• salahlaku on Nov 10, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Excuse me what is wrong with VW service? I have a BMW 5 series and a Golf GTI and I find the VW service centre better and more professional than the BMW one. Please don’t simply make statements here unless you actually own the car and has been to at least 5 of their service centres at any time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • showmetheranger on Nov 10, 2013 at 1:12 pm

VW should bring the manual variant in addition to the auto tranny, as most B segment hatch are auto only. Except for Myvi and the higher priced 208 GTI.
    I dont think there is anything else.

• anuar on Nov 10, 2013 at 2:54 pm

i’ve got information from “insider”, the price is 78888 MYR OTR.

Anyone interested? because that price seems interesting for a VW.

Many people will say this one is not a “real” VW since it lacks the DSG and TSI. I just dont care because those are the stuffs that bring down VW’s reliability here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • danne on Nov 10, 2013 at 5:26 pm

At 79k i’d prefer suprima or preve anytime. This segment is a class lower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
      • Hondaman on Nov 10, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Unfortunately sales figure doesn’t jive with your preference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • So what, the sales figure doesn’t mean the specs are good enough.

• boboiboy on Nov 10, 2013 at 6:55 pm

danne, you go ahead and support P1.
        P1 is the reason most Malaysians are forced to buy P1 or P2.
        I am sure almost everyone would rather have Japs, Koreans and Contis priced lower at around P1 / P2 price range. and P1 / P2 should be even lower.
        It is a big joke that P1/P2 cars are priced cheaper overseas than in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
        • danne on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:11 am

Still the pereve/SS specs are better than those who sell the badge, not the car!

• So you suggest p1/p2 is the tax setter in bolehland? That’s funny.

• bluebird on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:35 pm

did u forget to take your medicine?

• tiadaid on Nov 10, 2013 at 9:19 pm

You think Malaysians would give a damn what segment car they’re buying as long as the brand is right?

Most of us are not informed buyers – which explains Vios/MyVi being the most popular car sold in Malaysia today.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • anuar on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:32 am

Danne, its your money, its your call :)

• powershot on Nov 10, 2013 at 6:48 pm

regardless of price & brand name; VW aftersales service & parts availability is still a total letdown. Please do take that into consideration when purchasing a VW. if not you’ll be in the list with many others which have the same saying, “this will be the first & the last time I purchased a VW.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Interesting.. this give hope to a lot of VW fans out there..

• overpriced and overrated..better buy vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • flyerveos on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:29 am

I agree because with overrated overpriced Vios you can fly!

• passat now is rm 155888..

• repel on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:31 am

DSG is the main selling point. It could make towing truckers become richer much faster.

• Tell me, have you seen even one VW car on a tow truck.? Please don’t bullshit la!

• eseng on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:33 am

Wow so cheap, why not make it 200,000?

• batman on Nov 10, 2013 at 8:19 pm

They will definitely reduce the safety features, …better buy Polo candy than this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • robon on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:32 am

Is Polo candy that a kind of sweet? 20 cents for 3?

• Batman on Nov 11, 2013 at 4:14 pm

yes of course polo candy is the sweet…yummy…no regret to buy polo candy but big regret if buy polo car..

• krs189 on Nov 10, 2013 at 9:44 pm

VW Polo HB

1.6 MPi 6 Speed Auto
    2 Airbag
    Auto Cruise
    Auto Climate.

Hoping it to be below Rm80K to give the Jazz a run for the money.

• I reading VW Malaysia Facebook comment from VW owner i will never buy a VW. And i pity all these innocent owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Hello, that comments in Facebook are not fromVW owners la. Its from competitor salesman.

• VW sucks on Nov 11, 2013 at 2:18 pm

how do you know those comments are from other brand salesman? I own a golf tsi and i already suffer a lot n my friend, also the VW owner facing the similar problems..dont just accused if you dont know anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Eliminatedumbasses on Nov 11, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Hey ‘VW Sucks’, I own a VW and i am a member of a VW club that has more than 1000 members. None of us have any problems with the service, parts or any other area of the car. So if you really own a VW, please place your car number plate here so anyone here can do a JPJ check to see whethere you are telling the truth! Thank you.

• VW sucks too on Nov 12, 2013 at 9:50 pm

OK, but you have to show your payslip too to check whether you are VW SA!

• curry on Nov 11, 2013 at 3:46 am

I don’t want yindian curry smell in this car. I want it smelled like CBU car, from Germany! That’s worth every penny I pay to VW and government (tax)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • How can u tolerate smell?

• salambangi on Nov 11, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Wow yindian curry. I dont mind mind having some smell of cardamon or turmeric in my car instead of the new car smell.

• Sparcov on Nov 11, 2013 at 8:48 am

Looks good…should be heads on to Vios same with polo sedan.

86k polo 1.6, 6 speed vs vios 1.5 4 speed for 80k plus Espec.

Seriously, Toyota really overpriced.

by the way, I went to the road show in Publika and was told Camry basic model from 149k to 140k..
    Are they start to realize now ?

• will buy if got VSC..tq

• Kokoi on Nov 13, 2013 at 11:56 am

Used polo GTI for 2 years. No problem at all. Service is ok, comparable with Honda, proton, ford, perodua & mitsubishi. Sold after 2 years becoz upgrade. Will i buy VW again? Yes.

• Chrisg on Jan 11, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Even the cheapest VW non TSI and DSG is better than any Camry, vios, Almera, city or civic la….it’s crazy why people will buy and T/ H cars blindly. You need abit of taste and intelligence to appreciate good design- and to appreciate good engineering. My gf drives the previous gen CRV and it handles like crap…and this very CRV sells bloody well here. I have driven my friends city, handles like kancil. I have the old golf TSI, it’s just superb. And yes, VW did ask me to go back for mechatronic upgrade, 2 hours at sc. Mine was a 2010 model. If you consider vios and such cars, at least look at the korean makes too. Don’t listen to the ah bengs abt resale value only. These ah bengs don’t even read their car manuals and can’t read car brochures, they only know resale value. And go to used car listings, see how much depreciation a VW has if it’s your concern. Value is holding good.

• WahLauYeah on Jan 29, 2014 at 9:01 pm

haizz funny everyone say this MPI is not real VW … than what abt VIOS that using same engine from their first model until now and still stick with 4speed A/T