New Volkswagen Polo hatch variant sighted at JPJ

vw-polo-jpj-015

Regular contributor Anol Alias has alerted us to a curious white Volkswagen Polo which has appeared at JPJ Putrajaya. It is quite different from the Polo TSI that’s on sale right now by Volkswagen Malaysia.

Other than the low-spec alloy wheels, we notice silver headlamps as opposed to the Polo TSI’s black-tinted headlamps housings, rear drum brakes (not discs), ‘Volkswagen’ badging on the rear (also found on the 2014 Polo Sedan) and the missing TSI badge. The tail lamp elements are no longer L-shaped.

UPDATE: We now have confirmation that the VW Polo hatchback will be locally-assembled in Pekan, with CKD packs from India. Full story here.

The rear bumper is also different – there’s no cut-out on the left side for an exhaust tailpipe to be visible. There are side indicators on the fender while the Polo TSI has none. Inside, the seats also look different, with vertical stripes on the chair instead of a horizontal design. The stereo (RCD 320 with USB, iPod and Bluetooth) and air-con (single-zone Climatronic) seen here are similar to what the 2014 Polo Sedan gets.

vw-polo-jpj-002

This white car looks more basic compared to the Polo TSI on sale now, and the lack of rear disc brakes leads us to believe this might be a normally-aspirated version of the Polo, which is on sale in India as the Polo Petrol.

In the Indian spec car, a normally-aspirated three-cylinder 1.2 litre engine produces 75 PS at 5,400 rpm and 110 Nm of torque at 3,750 rpm. The Polo Petrol is only available with a five-speed manual in India, while this spied car has an auto ‘box – probably a six-speed conventional automatic as per the Polo Sedan.

Could Volkswagen Malaysia be looking to introduce a car that’s more affordable than the upcoming reduced price RM87k CKD 2014 Polo Sedan? Could a non-TSI Polo hatchback be priced at under RM80k to give the RM74,800 CKD Honda Jazz a run for its money?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• seancorr on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:44 am

Would be very interesting to see this model under RM80k but VWM has a lot of work in the after sales department as Honda’s after sales is miles ahead of VW in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 0
    • alldisc on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:50 am

6 speed auto with 1.2 naturally aspirated engine? that car will struggle all the time in its life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
      • Chris on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:18 am

I read many review saying the 1.2L engine in the polo is a miserable little engine, saying it’s better just to go for the diesel model (for Europeans of course). Also read in Wikipedia that there’s a 1.4L I4 engine pumping 85ps, maybe that’s more palatable for Malaysians?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:39 am

This car is a waste of money. Much better to buy a Hilux. Hilux is far sexier and can pull any chic in town compared to this VW. Anyway RV for VW drop like comet falling onto earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 75
          • Please give me you yard address, I want to see it for myself. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • dino years on Oct 29, 2013 at 7:02 pm

sam comparing rat with pig. speaking of rats, sorry guys but IMHO the interior is just so drab, just like our local rat myvi.

• What ashamed on you din do your homework before comments here. No wonder so poor sales. Toyota Hilux has scold much lower in ANCAP safety test than Polo TSI.
            Check here pls.
            http://www.howsafeisyourcar.com.au/

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:01 am

I have to officially declare, my yard cannot take anymore VW cars. So many owvers berlambak want to trade in their problematic DSG cars. Very clever, pass the problem to me. I now officially not taking anymore VW cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 50
          • to-desperate-used car dealer on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:01 am

so you’re a used car dealer that kept too much old stock and yelling here. people wont give you their hot selling hilux to keep in your yatch please…

• I agree with Tan. Sam, what is your yard address. If you are telling the truth, please provide your yard address. I will bring my guys to visit your yard and take photos and videos as proof and then post it here as proof.

Please have some b***s and give us the address.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
      • Service Stinks on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:25 am

Don’t be fooled. Its not the DSG cars that breakdown non stop. Their Polo with non DSG is also known as kaki breakdown. Go to facebook and read yourself. And customers have to wait 3 months to get anything fixed especially normal parts. See facebook, all customers fuming mad and angry. Anything also they take months to fix. And don’t get excited with their warranty. Its ONLY 2 years. 3 years is insurance based. That takes weeks for approval. Adjuster must come and see, approval takes weeks, and most of the time, not covered. Read again, NOT covered. Because insurance can decide whether to cover or not at their discretion. Suka hati. Don’t believe? Go to facebook and see yourself. VW customers are fuming mad. Even to service the car also must make appointment few weeks beforehand. And when you cross over the required mileage because you waiting weeks for your appointment. VW will tell you, sorry, cannot claim warranty. Because you have crossed over the service interval mileage. You tell them but my appointment given 4 weeks later, they tell you, you should plan in advance. So, their DSG cars can only drive at night but their non DSG cars like the Polo stinks in service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 51
        • Serviceokwhat on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:57 am

Hey “Service Stinks”, you sound like an old broken record. I have 3 VWs for the last 6 years. I have no problems with the service or the DSG. Have you actually owned a VW?

By the way, yes a batch of the dry clutch DSG made before 2011 has some problems, but if you go to the service centre, they will replace everything free of charge. ( yes, i mean everything!) Same goes with my BMW brake disc fault and Toyota’s accelerator and alternator problems. My friend – all cars have recalls. By the way show me one VW car on a tow truck together with its registration plate and ill show you 10 cars of other makes on tow trucks!

Seriously, your comments are getting irritating and by the way, if you ask any senior motoring journalist, they will agree that the problem is not as bad as it is made out to be by some very detrimental people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 23
          • valjean on Oct 29, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Hi, You only comment on the DSG breakdown issue. What about the long waiting period for parts, 4 weeks advance service appointment, VW skirting their respondsiblity the minute the mileage is over, etc

Why are you so defensive? Don’t have to ask Journalist, their livelihood on based on their comment (no offense Paul Tan). Best is to ask owner and check the facebook

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
          • of coz la non-common part breakdown need more time to be stock..any other maker SC same thing…just u ask any maker SC if they has stock of gearbox or sensitive equipment available…
            advance service appointment is common wat the fuss?… n they don have many SC to begin with..unlike more establish auto player in boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Diam lah! i own a VW and i must admit that the Service and the car is not ok but i can trade in anytime if i don’t like it and i believe u can do it if u hate the VW! don’t complains like cheap ppl anymore lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • Haha… many people criticize VW here but in fact they never owned one. All are seem like my friends said, people said, salesman said…
            They dun even know what is TSI + DSG7. I urge them go study and understand it before comments here.

• In India, most car have small displacement for its size. Its because of very bad traffic condition.

• why and why again must VW spell out volkswagen on the badge?? VW emblem is more than enough for anyone to recognize it’s a volkswagen. you don’t have to spell it out, ok??!!

if i buy the car, i’ll remove that badge.

• amokio on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:51 am

this Polo Completely Knocked me Down…xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Aerro on Oct 29, 2013 at 7:34 am

This Polo surely much better buy than Suprima lah. It’s an actual real European car, nothing fake or syok sendiri about it! Bravo to VW Malaysia, keep up the good job! Confirm 2,000 units sales per month easily!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 77
      • alldisc on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:06 am

VW is struggling to move its cars now… many ppl who can afford to buy has already got them.

most owners who is due to change is unlikely to buy another VW – this VGM has to admit for several reasons like the failure of DSG, parts availability and limited dealer network range among others.

many owners who are in 3rd year ownership will realise that the so called 5 yrs warranty does not cover anything other than engine and transmssion (which is good somehow). leaked absorber and failed ICE or inoperative power window is to be borne by owner himself.

not surprisingly polo sedan price was reduced from 100k to 90k, putting it as a direct competitor to vios and city.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 40
        • Hey alldisc, you talking nonsense. If they are struggling to move their cars, how come they were the best selling European cars for three months in a row (July, August, September) based on car sales figures by MMA?

They are actually selling quite well, they have run out of stock of the Golf TSI and Beetle due to high demand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
          • test me on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:39 pm

VGM has reduced their sales target more than 20%. is this doing well?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:49 am

Hilux is far sexier than this trash. Poeple just cannot accept it. I know so many Sports Toto 6/58 winners. The moment they strike RM$20 million, the first thing they do is buy a brand new Hilux from me and not any other car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 85
        • Desperado on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:09 am

Stop talking cock lah wei! If a person hit the jackpot, he definitely wont tell a moneyface like you. Anyway, your sales figures so bad is it that you need to promote nonsense here and there? My car salesmen friends are not as desperate as you lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • phantom on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:42 am

I’m not VW fan, but based on all your comment, yourself got critical mental issue…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Sam Hilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 5:58 pm

No need Hilux,it is too big for me.At least get a higher RV Honda Jazz for this size.

• dugong on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:37 pm

Hahahaha! Hilux is good for myanmar and indon contractor worker to use only la. And here you talk as if its a luxury car. Nobody that strike jackpot will ever buy this low safety feature junk as they value their lives more than bangla worker.
          hahahahhaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • armandd on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Really? I must be hallucinating then, because I see more Suprima on the road than Polo!

• Furqan on Oct 29, 2013 at 2:03 am

I can see this car being priced between RM75-90k to compete with the Peugeot 208 & also Ford Fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Hilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 5:59 pm

I can see the hailat face of 208,Fiesta and Polo owner when they trade in these junk for Honda Jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • mr zygote on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:51 am

its like a VW made in China…hahaha

• Pontiac on Oct 29, 2013 at 7:19 am

If i see any of u guys says janji dicapati like samy vellu i will smacked u down. This is janji ditepati lohh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 46
    • FU Pontiac on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:21 am

oit, u downgrade the whole car then u reduce the price, itu janji ditepati ke??.. same package with reduced price baru la janji ditepati.. mangkuk..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
    • stupidpontiac on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:28 am

janji dicapati. i said it. so what, come and smack me la. u stupid macai. puiii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • VGM finally serious about getting market share than playing premium..
    likely a 1.4 NA which is common in spore, taiwan.. 6 spd aisin.. more reliable..

wont be surprise they take out the esp, but i hope they wont..

• fantasy1989 on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:05 am

VW Polo SV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Agree. This will be in Utusan Malaysia right before PRU14 saying that VW Polo has cut price by 35% but actually it is a different polo model

• Is this car still using the same problematic DGS gearbox? Or as quoted above “probably a six-speed conventional automatic as per the Polo Sedan.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • leonardo on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:17 am

It suddenly occurred to me that JPJ Putrajaya have a ‘mole’ to leak all these photos!

• alldisc on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:16 am

and as expected always… its the same person. coincidence, no?

• azrai on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:34 am

Ainol Alias; part timer for paultan la. Got less work at RTD still get half month bonus early next year.

• azrai on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:18 am

I believe it will cost RM78,888 without insurance. It’s a CKDed model, and no it will not give the Honda Jazz CKDed a run for its money because both Honda and Polo are assembled by DRB-HICOM.

• 1.2L na engine, ckd model should priced below 70k to compete with Mitsubishi mirage, Kia picanto & Hyundai i10. 208, fiesta & jazz etc are 1.5L which acceptable for 70-90k price range. Jz my 2cents

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • AGREE.
      With so many things been stripped off and low displacement engine, they should price it below 70k.
      Around Mirage price is about right. After all this specific german brand has bad reputation in its aftersales service and reliability thus it needs to regain people support by making it cheaper

• test me on Oct 30, 2013 at 2:43 pm

it is 1.6 NA lor..

• This should be a CKD Polo without the TSI !

Anyway good option besides Vios,City.

• Sam Hilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:01 pm

This low RV car can never compete with City and mighty Vios.

• Einstein on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:39 am

Hope there are cuming with manual transmission option for this baby

• marco on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:49 am

its good to have this option. at least this car is a lot more stable for small family to travel..

somehow i see DRB is killing their counterpart, proton..
    but anyway, nobody likes proton..its just that we have less option.

• azhar on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:18 am

great!!..we need more competition to japs cheapo car..more competition good for consumer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Worth wait for review Paul. Keep it coming. Hope this babe wont give many issue like DSG and TSI. Finger cross.

• azrai on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:04 am

It won’t be an issue since the no frill VW doesn’t even have those DSG TSI whatsoever.

• whether or not you like the polo, any competition in the sub80k brand is good for all consumers, especially if they are able to give 4 airbags. It will force T/H to rethink thier pricing

• azrai on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:36 am

The cheapest hatchback from DRB-HICOM and in Mlayisa with Japan quality is ; Suzuki Swift 1.4. At RM64k OTR now, it is a best option compare to Myvi Lagi Best SE 1.5 at RM62k OTR.

• hondaman on Oct 29, 2013 at 11:23 am

bought the swift last month as a 2nd car… well worth the price especially after the discount except the after sales service experience need to improve alittle bit… no complimentary car wash & karipap at SC compared to other brand especially perodua & honda.

• Krikilp on Oct 29, 2013 at 9:43 am

How about stability control?

• ulitmatum79 on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:22 am

Hopefully below 80k..same like polo sedan..

• farghmee on Oct 29, 2013 at 10:29 am

spec?

• Jimmy on Oct 29, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Flood the market with 6-airbags and ESP loaded vehicles.

• iwonder on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:08 pm

I dont know what’s with the amount of thumbsdown on comments of VW’s problems.

I used to want to get myself a golf TSI, engine of the year for so many years, loaded with technology and etc. But…. i know 5 people who owns one or more VW’s of different models, all of them had experienced a breakdown at least once before due to different failures. Comments VW’s facebook page is not very reassuring either.

I am just stating what i know, maybe it’s just me knowing the wrong ppl owning VW’s? More importantly, what’s going on VW? I would’ve thought that German cars would be more reliable? Working in a German company, i know what German’s are like and they’re nothing like VW.

• azrai on Oct 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm

I thought only Proton got many problems in Malaysian market. Other makes are superior.

• I dont understand , why so much complain about a car. this is what they planned to sale, if u like it then can buy it.
    guys like SamShowedMeTheHilux , u having personal problems ke ? if u want to sale Hilux, please spend time selling it then commenting here. atleast u can make profit.
    as a Volkswagen Jetta owner my self, i find the car good, fuel economy a trip from penang to KL then to seremban and beck to KL (doing 130 to 150 km/hr most of the time) is good compare to the cars i have driven (Nissan Sentra 1.8 , Nissan Latio 1.6 sports, Proton Waja, Proton presona, Proton Saga98) and the power of the car is much better then all the cars i mentioned , as a 1.4 twin charger TSI .
    Talking about servicing the car , so far never had problem with my service center, i bought the car in ipoh Goh Brothers. and call them up a week ahead and they still can slot my car.
    and service dont take more then 1 hour. yes it is a big pinch on my wallet but then every 15K service is a plus point as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Hilux on Oct 29, 2013 at 6:07 pm

But u will never escape of being tailgate by a Hilux.I drive new Civic at 140 km/h from Bukit Mertajam house to Alor Setar being tailgated by a Perlis-plated Hilux near Gurun exit.This shows that Hilux is Powerful Japs car.Better than yr VW Junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
  • Im a mechanic this is good news for me. More volkswagen sales means more break downs, n my garage will be filled up. Thanks You!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 29, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Price it under 80k with a 1.6 NA and 4-6 airbags and watch it fly off the dealer lots.

Might be enough for people to overlook VWM problems.

While not a big fan of local CKD build quality – after our “badly put together” accord…. I still think as for small hatchbacks go few would be able to match the optimizations of a Jazz. It’s a well sorted out car. Just wished that Honda Malaysia wouldn’t have skimped on airbags, sound insulation and better tyres.

• medic on Oct 30, 2013 at 9:09 am

Every makes has its flaws.My cousin new,3 weeks old BMW 316i broke down,due to transmission prob in S’pore.I’ve heard of prob with BMW N20 turbo engine also.

But being German,with a niche for quality,these companies will work to solve their defective parts ASAP.Your car is covered under warranty anyway.Generally the more advance the car is the higher chance some part will fail invariably.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Oct 31, 2013 at 4:05 pm

That’s why i prefer cars like nissan sunny 130y and kancil 660. Nothing to break down, super reliable and super high RV. I still take those for 20k trade-in anyday compared to sui kwan euro VW and kimchi.

• Maserati on Oct 30, 2013 at 7:28 pm

If your gonna buy the POLO ,Just top up and get the POLO TSI lah. Its a hell of a difference .

If not,don’t buy this NA POLO.

• smart on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:39 am

1.6NA with 6 speed automatic gearbox(niasin)