Proton “Iriz” Compact Car – two new teasers released

iriz-engine

Proton has added two new slides to the Proton “Iriz” Compact car’s betulbetulonz.com.my microsite. One of them shows a cropped view of the car’s engine bay, showing us how the new engine’s cover looks like.

There’s the letters VVT on the engine cover, which stands for Variable Valve Timing. The teaser doesn’t go in-depth about it though, for example – we don’t know whether the VVT implementation is on the intake valves only or both the intake and exhaust. The only other Proton engine with VVT right now is the turbocharged Campro CFE, which has VVT on the intake side only.

Proton’s Campro engine started off as a plain vanilla DOHC engine. Campro CPS added variable valve lift and a variable length intake manifold, switching between two profiles. The Campro IAFM engine added a variable length intake manifold to vanilla Campro. Later, an improved IAFM+ engine was introduced, together with a new CVT gearbox to go with it. Finally, there’s the Campro CFE we mentioned above.

iriz-leather

The other teaser shows a cropped shot of the new hatchback’s leather seats, which we presume will only be available on the higher end models.

Proton also mentions a 3D-stitched leather-textured instrumentation panel, which could refer to the faux leather stitching that we saw on the car’s dashboard.

Check out our Proton Compact Car infohub for all our coverage so far.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express a mix of excitement and skepticism regarding the Proton Iriz teaser, with some appreciating the new VVT engine and modern features like the CVT, while others criticize Proton for being late with VVT deployment and relying on old technology. Many compare Proton's efforts unfavorably to Japanese brands, highlighting concerns over fuel efficiency, build quality, and reliability. Some comments also touch on broader issues like government protectionism and the performance of other local brands like Perodua. Overall, there is hope that Proton’s new model will mark a significant improvement, but skepticism remains about whether it will deliver on promise and truly advance Malaysian automotive technology. The general sentiment is a cautious anticipation mixed with criticism of past deficiencies.

• perodua spy on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:17 pm

looking forward.. hopefully this is not another savvy again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 15
    • Vader (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Same to many advertisement, where got engine with more power but with less fuel consumption?
      Do hope the engine will be improve significantly since the previous campro actually is cam poor..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • ProtonGSC on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Finally a new TRUE fuel efficient engine?
        Or just same LOUSY Campro VVT?

Need more info, Proton give more info on engine.

And Tun done it again, Tun love spyshot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 13
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Proton 4-Good quality control:
          1. Sounds Good
          2. Looks Good
          3. Promised Good
          4. But Truly…

Car not yet launched, so we just wait patiently and see… Everything should be fact based, no need syok-sendiri, no need bashing also.

Some say the Iriz can smoke this smoke that smoke cheese naan, smoke roti telur, I will just say “WAIT and SEE”…

Too many of spyshots, advertisements, leaked photo bla bla bla nonsense, just LAUNCH it!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 57
          • driver on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:46 am

… and yet you’re provoking for more mindless bashing/supporting.

what’s your real intention?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:07 am

umw salesman butthurt… now his vios cant beat city… his camry cant beat accord sales

ppl choose DRB honda over crappy UMW

since he lose to DRB honda n to make him feel not sad … he start barking in proton topic

prffthhh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
          • In efficient? What’s that? Vios 1.5l can do 11km/l, preve can do 10km/l, it is 2.0l equivalent powered engine. Still not efficient? So blind these guys.

The FC of NFE has been around the web already. Around 5.7l/100km. It’s good enough for that engine, only thing is that 1.6l or 1.3l, that’s stil in question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:18 am

His age need time to think.
            Spyshot all in his head for now.

Later you rush him make wrong decision he blame you for life. Say Rakyat no good.

• Albert Lee on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:37 am

Same Lorr,I think this new car is heavily bogged down with technical issues.
            If it is ‘launchable” like Axis,why cant they start collecting bookings?
            In fact they should be getting 5,000units stock ready for the hardcore supporters.Poor diehards,they have to wait till 2015,by which time the Myvi and Axia would have controlled a bigger market share.
            Proton,you are not only playing catch up,but losing market share and making losses which I reckon should hit RM500 juta this financial year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:29 am

Albert Lee, you are right. If it is so good, why not start collecting bookings? GST is coming, car buyers definitely wanna buy the car before next April.

I bet we won’t see it launched before the global camry facelift launched.

Ppl already sitting in the GSC till butt hurt still no news on Proton GSC.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Proton is a low class car for low class Malaysians. It is for the poor people and mainly for the kampung people. This Iriz is for people who got no money and got no ambition in life. Why these people have no money? Very simple. they got no money because they are lazy and like to sleep and expect all the time for government to help.

In the office, buyers or potential buyers of this Iriz, instead of working hard and focussing on the work, they are sleeping and lazy. If they are awake, they are looking at the secretary and having dirty thoughts about her.

Most Proton buyers can only dream of buying a Toyota. I advice you, work hard and you can be like me, a Toyota owner. Aim higher in life than wanting to buy this trash Proton. It shows, you got no ambition in life and settle for peanuts. Work hard and make a Vios or an Altis your next goal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • ProtonGSC on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Again Tun done it, Tun love spyshot.

New TRUE vvt engine with fuel efficient?
        or just same LOUSY Campro CFE/VVT?

Need more info on engine, can Proton show photo with include details/info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
        • Phly Syd on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:29 am

Stop teasing already. Its overdone for a Proton. No point getting a hard-on with no woman. Teasers wont get more sales, only more people annoyed. A backfired strategy that many car makers already realised

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Albert Lee on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Proton GSC,photos and long list specs won’t do the trick,anymore.
          Consumers and critics like Jeremy Clarkson,want ‘FUNCTIONAL DRIVABILITY AND MASS SATISFACTION”,
          Can Proton provide that?
          Well,after the launching we should kacau the Proton salesperson to let us drive and get a “feel”.
          Time will tell whether it can sell or just a BIG HO HA.

• Obviously (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:47 am

Yeah, but previously the Campro was noticeably less efficient than equivalents from other carmakers. Hopefully they can at least close the gap, if not outright beat the competition. Hopefully.

• Bad News on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:06 am

The High Specs is 65k !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • kzm (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:14 am

nonsense..then where to put preve?

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:37 am

Proton pricing and naming are funny, not the first day.

Inspira even more expensive than Suprima S.

Preve hatchback then called Preve hatchback lar, why Suprima S? When can we see Suprima F? or Niama X?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • Toyot name also funny, why call yaris why not vios hatchback or yaris sedan for vios?

Hahaha!!

• prabowi on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:14 am

Proton is merely playing catch up with this vvt engine. other manufacturers have been using vvt for ages. Even perodua have been using vvt since 2003. No doubt vvt gives better economy but being 10 years late is pretty dumb. Should skip the vvt and go straight to direct injection force induction route. CFE 1.3 + DI perhaps?

• impulse on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:37 am

Pls read lor, VVT has been here since CFE. Perodua now leaves VVT in Axia engine for some intake manifold, that’s going backward. Proton is going fwd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Vader (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Same to many advertisement, where got engine with more power but with less fuel consumption?
      Do hope the engine will be improve significantly since the previous campro actually is cam poor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 22
      • DonkeyKong on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:33 am

You mean, there’s no such thing as high-efficiency turbodiesels?? Another kampung engineer sounding off without facts..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
        • Vader (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Haha monkey, don’t pretend that you are know so advance engineering.
          Turbo Diesel engine is call efficiency, is not call more power but less fuel.
          A previous driven episode is a good example that fiesta 1.0 ecoboost is efficiency, is more power than the attrage but relatively it will not less fuel than attrage as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
          • Ecoboost power is about N/A engine 1.6l of course it consumes more fuel than attrage engine despite lower cc.

• Subframe on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:11 am

Ecoboost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Aladdin on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Why not? The Savvy was a good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 28
      • mim (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Maybe he’s referring to Savvy’s bad sales. It was a good car though (if the owner takes care of it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrr on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:41 pm

There is no bad car if the drivers regularly spend money change this change that. End up 10 years old chassis with 6 months old parts (and engine, gearbox).

With Toyota, you don’t need to take care also it won’t break down easily.

This is called BUILD QUALITY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:41 pm

yess
            with toyota real toyota japan made jdm edm usdm.. no meed to worry on quality

but for malaysian made umw
            with bad quality of roof
            and unsolve suspension of bios umw

no wonder ppl go for drb city

go DRB go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
          • cronof on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Keep Toyota for over 10 years? When other people already using hybrid car, Toyota Vios owner still using garbage engine, at that time it wins inefficient engine of the year award

And in safety dept,people ady have 10 airbags VDC etc, Vios owner oso got VDC – very dangerous car!

Rotfl

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:28 pm

thats the difference between real toyota product and malaysia umw ptoduct

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:10 am

Toyota or Honda, sushi cars still rock.

You get both build quality and RV at same time with sushi cars.

Toyota’s hybrids are the best selling hybrids in the world. Why it is so expensive now? Thanks to Proton and its protection.

Peyno no need talkok sendiri syok, if CKD Toyota has problem, why resale value of 10 years old Vios still so expensive?

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:38 am

sam lorr
            i believe u never been in japan n no exposed to real JDM car

u try to gang with DRB honda???
            you know when my frend visit honda showroom n asak for opinion.. the SA said if no dont buy city fine… but dont buy vios… better get suprima he said

see … honda n proton is freind.. under one drb roof

umw butthurt

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:29 pm

True, a good car not needed any facelift like other brand cars. Example like saga 20 years never change.
        Vios, City facelift so many times no good at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
        • MoFaz on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:37 am

there was a very minor facelift done to savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Corporal on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:51 am

If that is the case care to explain why Toyota worldwide sales can be over 10 million cars annually and Proton sales not even 100k units last year and with an ever shrinking domestic market?

• Only salesman cares about sales number.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:12 pm

toyota worldwide means real toyota jdm edm n usdm … not a crappy umw malaysian product

do u think umw vios, unser, avanza are toyota wolrdwide product??

• Annoynimouse on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:27 pm

I agree, Savvy was a solid car. Sales were poor mostly due to poor marketing, the horrible chicken butt rear end on the pre-facelift models and the ugly grey steering wheel. Even used ones are sturdy and drives well with no rattles unlike competitors. Maybe a little rough around the edges in terms of cabin noise, and the interior could be nicer (although they last very well). The only problem with the Savvy is the underpowered engine (the chassis is so rigid you’d fell that the car can take more power) and the coarse and unreliable gearbox in the AMT versions. The stick version is a joy to drive. Hope the new car rectifies all these.

• rifle on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:42 pm

No its not..a new era for Proton has just begun..this car is also better than the best P1 to date, Preve and Suprima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:33 pm

How can u say like this, Preve and Suprima proud of Proton and m’sia.

Iriz is others story, Global car standard and Lotus handling, New VVT engine.

Tun make Preve and Suprima only for local standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Nissan on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:21 am

beat Superman Ass (suprima S) FC of 9.9L/100km than can claim fuel efficient? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
        • megde on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:13 am

That’s combined cycle lor, urban + extra urban, can be translated to 10km/l, Vios FC is 11km.l in city driving, mind you that’s 1.6l turbo engine that churns out far power than puny Vios 1.5l engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • karam singh on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:44 pm

that guy own Nissan bro …
            ALmera maybe ,, ugly fugly car..
            Nismo Almera also very ugly ..
            ewwwwwww

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:44 pm

1.6l turbo with no power but only fuel hunger.

VW 1.3l TSI can beat the proton turbo anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:42 pm

yes 1.3 tsi vw can beat 1.5 vvti umw vios anytime

• Preve 1.6 cfe easyly can beat Altis 2.0. Preve aceleration is 7.6 sec sport mode.

• 205nm torque is not a joke, neither civic, sylphy, forte, elantra have any chance to beat.

Vios ? Puny helpless engine, not really efficient for nowadays standard.

• Corporal on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:57 am

Why not compare apple with apple. It is quite unfair to compare NA engine against a Turbo. Do try to compare with Turbo engines of other makes.

• Corporal on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:19 am

Let’s compare against a few other Turbo engines based on combined cycles (urban + extra urban)

Preve 1.6CamproTurbo engine: 141HP/205NM, 9.9L/100km
            Golf 1.4TSI engine: 140HP/250NM, 5.0L/100km
            Passat 1.8TSI engine: 160HP/250NM, 7.0L/100km
            Peugeot 308 1.6Turbo engine: 156HP/240NM, 7.6L/100km
            Fiesta 1.0Turbo engine: 125HP/170NM, 5.3L/100km
            Kuga 1.6Turbo engine: 180HP/240NM, 7.7L/100km
            Mondeo 2.0Turbo engine: 240HP/340NM, 7.7L/100km

Hopefully the new Proton engine has better efficiency and hp/torque than the Campro mill it replaces.

• Those engines some have different setup with stop-start tech, direct injection and twinscroll, of course can do better.

• Corporal on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:48 pm

My point exactly. Its the same when you compare a turbo to a NA engine. Compare NA with other NA engines while turbo with other turbo. In this case Campro turbo is not as good compared to others in terms of HP, torque or FC.

• I know right.Proton is the best.GO GO PROTON!!!!!

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:13 am

Before Proton launch any model, marketing and fanboys keep on saying “Proton is the best”. They actually miss out some part

Proton + Garage are the best.

• Nissan on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:13 am

Make me laugh when proton claim their engine safe fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
      • nissanNo1 on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:15 am

lol kid go and read more latio 1.8l in city driving only can have 9-10km/l in city driving despite it’s a B segment car and much lighter than Preve, you call it fuel efficient?

Ptuihh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • … and are you will laugh too if you read new vios owner complaining about their car’s fuel consumption, absorber and roof problem when its rain???…excited?? PLS GOOGLE..

• karam singh on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Typical basher,
        Proton is developing …
        Nissan never a fuel efficient car btw,
        B-segment now Honda most fuel efficient.City n Jazz.
        The fuel efficient almost familiar with proton’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Annoynimouse on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:14 pm

SAVE fuel… not safe fuel…
        Ok, when it comes to fuel consumption, the largest influence is the right foot of the driver. Nissan cars have good fuel consumption because Nissan drivers are sensible on the throttle pedal… peace.

• faisal on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:57 am

The Savvy is powered by a 1.2-litre D-Type DOHC 16-valve engine sourced from Renault, similar to the one used in the Renault Twingo and Clio. Euro car technology and japan too much different. Compare BMW with Accord which one are cheap maintenance. Which one are best to drive Europe car or Japan car.

• Japan cars such as Myvi and Vios, according to Same Lorr.

Right Same Lorrr? Lolol

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:16 am

The Wira/Iswara were copied bulat-bulat from Mitsubishi. End up only the Mitsubishi made engines are reliable.

Lesson learnt:
        Only non-Proton-made Proton parts are reliable.

• lynx653 on Sep 17, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Wish can get Preve with this VVT thingy.
      No less fuel is ok la.
      At least extra power a bit.
      For a reasonable price of course.

• Cheh! I thought the said VVT engine is new designed and not derived from Campro==

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
    • MrPera on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:26 pm

I would say people like you are too idealistic and so-called perfectionist…

It is logic to improve something that is already there….

People like you, sure will throw away a product that you assume failed despite its potential, anf waste assets…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
      • Yes, I am a perfectionist. I don’t think Campro has any potential at all. The Campro had been in the maker for few years, so did they managed to make the torque between 2500rpm to 3500rpm hike rather than drop? As I know they just managed to minimize the droping instead of eliminate it.
        If Proton wants to improve their product, those imperfect stuff must dropped. I hope Proton will design a new engine that save fuel with hike of torque from 2500rpm to 3500rpm. Continue working on Campro will just limit the engineer’s ability in the Campro frame. If they just continue on Campro, this is really waste of asset at the end.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 58
        • ahpeck on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:59 pm

perfectionist taikuchinnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrr on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Proton used to break down on all parts but not the Mitsubishi engine.

With Campro engine, all parts could break down and the Proton has full anywhere-anypart-breakdown syndrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
          • ellix on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:49 pm

LOL Since when Proton resembles BMW? But Toyota I know, so far many recalls have been made all over the world. Toyota quality is getting worse.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:19 am

Even for the smallest problem, Toyota willing to do recall to ensure the customer satisfaction. Toyota customers don’t have to worry because they know Toyota will do something if anything goes wrong.

But Proton? You bad luck with this batch of Proton you own problem. Bring back to SC, they will always said “Biasalah ini, bang.”

• Proton did recalls but not as many as Toyok. Many recalls = many problems

• ayamxxx on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:53 pm

He got a good point, last time proton did come out with cps, a version they said improve the torque dip. They did, but the “vvt” version of cps got really bad FC.

People compared it with vvt-i, i-vtec, cvtc; the rest all got a better fc and power for that engine capacity. Proton does not improve the FC of cps compare to non cps.

Now come out with VVT but only at intake side, based on Old 110hp campro, with heavy steel used as material. Others like Kia already produce all aluminum engine that lighter and VVT on intake & outlet side.

It just proton still obsessed with that Campro engine, the basic is just not efficient enough for 2014 years onwards.

Please obsolete that Campro & plan for future engine instead redevelop that Old Campro engine. Or else do like Perodua, just outsourced engine from market for our Malaysian used.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
          • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:03 am

do like perodua??? outsourse engine??? i tot the car itself is out source

but diffwrent betweemn perodua n daihatsu indonesia is.. daihatsu produce ayla, karimun but they never syok sendiri claim as nasionsl car maker

prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
          • vioser on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:21 am

What is efficient? Vios you can get 18km/l in city driving? In your dream

• Denim on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Peyno, whatever product under P1 or P2 badge are national cars regardless there are rebadge or not. Even p1 rebadge dna citroen aka tiara oso national car.

• Denim on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:04 pm

peyno, any products of P1 n P2 will regards as national cars regardless it is a rebadge car or not. Even, product P1 dna citroen aka Tiara oso national car. Indonesia is different coz its totally owned by Daihatsu. In fact their government during Suharto as President, do not want to establish any automotive company under term ‘national’ as they want to follow Thai’s concept.

• kasbar on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:27 pm

The article didn’t say this is a Campro-derived engine. Read again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • ayamxxx on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Yes it doesn’t mention, but Proton indirectly mentioned that they redesign some parts of the engine.

So it still based on the old campro 110hp engine. Some parts redesign doesn’t make it a new Engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • driver on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:48 am

it’s a new block if I correctly remember reading somewhere in one of PT’s postings.

• rogaz on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:15 pm

How many engine have produce that so good. There are many other engine in the world, why you so condemning Proton. I you don’t like just leave Proton alone . Let Proton do the business. You go design your engine and sell to car manufacture if they like it.

• kasbar on Sep 09, 2014 at 12:05 am

Source please?

• DonkeyKong on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:35 am

It will not have many items in common with the existing Campro. For all intents and purposes there’ll be hardly anything interchangable between the two.

Unless of course you consider having twin cams, 4 cylinders and 16 valves to mean it is derived from the old block.

• mim (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Every car manufacturer will always derive their existing engine design to reduce cost and development time lah. For example the Lamborghini V12 from the 60s Miura to 2010 Murcielago is essentially the same engine, but heavily revised. Aston V12 is actually two really old Ford 6-cyl slapped together. Mitsu 4G15 was used from 70s in Colt/Lancer until now with CVVT(MIVEC)+Turbo in Colt Ralliart and Smart Brabus Forfour.

No doubt Proton will do the same. However Campro was designed to be very modular from the start. Example:
      -a parallel hybrid (remember Gen-2 EVE?) + start-stop system
      -did a direct injected turbodiesel version (never went into production)
      -supercharged version (cancelled, now became a OEM bolt on kit for CPS)
      -direct injection in CFE, but cancelled due to reliability with dirty fuels.

These things proves how much potential that it has. And this new VVT engine also has all-new valve, piston, block, and manifold design. Proton may brought CVVT a bit late (2011 in Exora Bold CFE), but I believe Campro’s architecture still has a long way to go.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
      • driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:46 am

If were’re going with his logic, there was almost never a new car on the road even thought it was one minute coming out of a factory. why? because parts sharing is a common practice. And I think toyota is the leader in this.

• Jules on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:24 am

Where in the article did it say that it was “derived from Campro”? Care to enlighten me?

• nabill (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Atleast the leather doesnt look like pvc…thats a good start….
    I think vvt is on both intake and exhaust bcos the ‘other’ website shows the diagram of the engine n mentiones “heavily reworked” internals of da campro engine….orhrwise thy jus rebrand da cps…
    Anyway nt enough info so lets all take wild guesses…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • ayamxxx on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:08 am

It is based on campro cfe version. So vvt on intake side only. And not intelligence vvt, its vvt that only activate on certain rpm only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • DonkeyKong on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:36 am

VVT that activates at certain RPM? Looks like you don’t understand how cam phasing works.

• mim (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:39 am

It’s a continuous VVT la. Pretty much the same like VVT-i and i-VTEC.

• SamTheSmellyMouth on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Soon, they will announce request for few bils of subsidies for R&D and need to increase the price because you can’t get cheap car with quality….. Just because of this Iriz….let’s see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 36
    • xiper (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:47 pm

they already did

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • rogaz on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Whatever it is why you bother ? If you not interested just leave > how many people cheating on their business and do the many laundry, why you ignore it so be an investigator and tell everybody.

• Nissan on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 51
  • shawal on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Bragging rights it seems…lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • nobrand on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Teaser again? Proton. Make sure the real car is better than all these showings. If not people will never believe you anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:00 am

ask rakyat to buy ur car without test drive n see real one is totally insulting malaysian

even proven product sucn apple iphone oso dont do this

only malaysian boleh dibodohksn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • ah chai on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:52 pm

So many teasers… when is the launching date, next year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • honest on Sep 06, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Far to late
    bought jazz oledi
    no regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:28 am

good.. as long it is DRB product

dont buy umw n perodua pnb product

• driver on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:51 am

cognitive dissonance? hehe..

• bubbaonsteroids on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:15 am

cruel but nice choice of vocab..lol

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:55 pm

hehe.. the fact that he even put an effort to comment and then self-comforting “no regret” further indicates the dissonance. LOL

• leoRNado on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:44 pm

honest, the new jazz really thumbs up.. I drove the one that my younger brother bought, i like the driving feeling inside on top of the design..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:46 pm

yes… new jazz DRB product

just imagine gomen dont protect perodua n jazz price same as myvi…. jazz will be rakyat choice… we are forced to buy crappy , tin milo perodua compact car

• leoRNado on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Both P1 n P2 under gomen protection. If no protection, both of these tin milos die long time ago meh..

• Wee fuk yew on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:07 pm

Give the advertising guys a break. These teaser ads will just add more to their advertisement bill. It’s akin to soap operas where a tear jerker or intense scene is cut short only to be shown for the next episode.in the meantime let us all pretend to enjoy the ride. Pun not intended.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Whatever happens, Proton needs to get rid of all memory of the Campro. Probably the silliest move they have made through the life of the company, having severe dips in torque curve, notorious for leaks etc.

Though the name VVT seems a bit meh (if that is the name)… I’d have preferred the original NFE name instead…

• nabill (Member) on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Only the first gen campro had that nasty nose dive torque curve…..i had the cps b4 n it was very good actually,yes it wasnt very fuel efficient n lacked general refinements,but power delivery was good,no dips whatsoever,it was very easy to go high speed with it….current iafm+ again doesnt hav a torque dip ….
      But i get what u mean,the damage has been done perception wise,i dont mind based on curent campro ,its the practice within the industry to prelong the life cycle with improvements done to it over time(vios 1.5 engine n 4 speed auto classic example)
      Please proton dont screw this up,otherwise jus like how Khazanah bailed MAS out,u will b next…no second chances this time…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • botolsusu on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:37 pm

People may call me perodua salesman but so be it…. way back years ago, kembara had DVVT – Dual (meaning intake and exhaust)VVT…10 years later proton is marketing single VVT ( at least proton stop giving stupid names like cfe, iafm, iafm+ etc to their engines).. Proton, having single VVT is nothing to shout about… no wonder your engines are still having 2004 standard of fuel economy and emissions.. what about gearbox? Still giving that nasty cvt? Why no more.turbo (cfe) and no more variable valve lift (cps)? Proton keep proving that their r&d is clueless…. and it results in.the cars that they make and sell.. Dear perodua, this is your chance to kill proton off once and for all.. they entered your territory banging their empty tong, time to shut them up for good. Just domt launch axia too early, launch on the same week as iriz and let the sales numbers do the talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 66
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Hahahaha
      Tun will make P2 suffer.
      The true power of Tun. You wait and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:21 am

cehhh… kununnya p2 tu import car laa.. nothing to do with gomen…. remember alza M2 version ?
        M2( mahader mohamad)

hahaha
        perodua is bn cony hiding behind japs butt

• Kembara has DVVT but it’s still drink fuel like no tomorrow, nasty CVT? YOu mean Honda’s issit? Put that blame to their lousy SC.

ANd Proton’s CVT that’s years ahead Toyot which use same gearbox for 3 gens of vios,and the CPS cannot reach Euro V standard emission that’s why it’s been continued. Same goes to most Japs cars sold here, mostly below Euro V

• mamaktektarik on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Ah Seng ProtonBasher

Hahahaha
        We will wait and see how Tun can save poton despite begging money from taxpayers.

• You’re going to need a totally new Myvi to do that. Te Myvi is already showing it’s age. Reliable car but already getting outdated.

• botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:26 am

I compare this iriz to axia for the lower cost versions. I am convinced that iriz will not be able to compete with myvi even though myvi is dated. This is not c segment where people have buying power, this a and b segment is about price, easiness to get loan and something simple, cheap to run, good resale.value and works reliably (protons are expensive, hard to get loan, complicated, expensive to maintain, bad resale.value because of all discounts given because desperate and not reliable… also poor after sales service by rude, arrogant and unsystematic aftersales service…)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
        • VTI-L on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:08 am

Huh? Getting loan for Proton cars are not that hard, not expensive to run, and their SC you have the power to choose which one is better

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:09 am

sapa nak percaya cakap perodua salesman???

kalau DVVT tu pon menipu customer kata Dual vvt

hahaha

rakyat smart oredi

• leoRNado on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:52 pm

CVT, need 2 get yr facts right. Current Myvi is the FMC unit which differ with old Myvi but only platform sharing. The new gen Myvi (oso known Myvi Baharu) was launch in end 2011 n shall have another facelift end of the year b4 FMC.

• 'Fridz on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:21 am

Nope. Perodua never got Dual VVT. That DVVT is an abbreviation of Dynamic Variable Valve Timing..

The CFE engine meets Euro 5 emissions compliant.

That the so called ‘nasty CVT’ is way better than your ancient 4AT transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • enth_car on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:27 am

You 1st deg moron. Perodua’s DVVT D stands for dynamic not Dual. Next time check your facts first.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:42 am

well… perodua macai ksmpung boy… what u expect… leave him alone

prffthhh

• infinity on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:20 am

The D in DVVT kembara stands for Dynamic, not Dual..This DYNAMIC VVT is essentially the same VVT-i engine found in avanza and vios. And as far as I am concerned, it has VVT at its intake only. Please get the correct information before commenting.

• kalam on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:29 am

Why need to kill p1? Not all malaysian want to drive p2 only. Let us consumer have a choice and compare both cars brand. After that get the imported product and compare it again.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:41 am

to kill his competitor for his survival
        now we can see perodua n umw salesman work soo hard here( bash proton , repeating share old story) just to convince rakyat not to buy proton n buy his p2 n umw car

we cant blame them salesman like sam lorr n imoa
        this is their job.. later how to feed his family

bug his job getting diffucilt nowadays coz rakyat smart oredi

they cant simply hiding behind real japanese anymore

• Sagia86 on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:32 am

I agree with you, how about we just abolish (or reduces) our car excise tax

• Drink your milk on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:50 am

Are you sure the D in DVVT stands for dual? It’s actually Dynamic Variable Valve Timing and only at the intake side. You sounds exactly like a p2 salesman but minus the product knowledge.

• ayamitik on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:03 am

DVVT (for perodua) stands for dynamic variable valve timing. It is similar with toyota VVTi and not Dual VVTi. It is a single VTi on the intake.

Dual VVTi are reserved for expensive and upmarket car such as Altis and camry.
      Sorry to burst your bubble. It is nothing new actually, most of people know about the marketing gimmick of DVVT (for daihatsu) and VVTi for toyota.
      check in the net..

cheers bro.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:40 am

Huh? No more turbo? Does that mean that just because VW released some models with 1.6 MPI engine and the 6-speed Aisin gearbox, that means they don’t sell cars with turbocharged engines and twin clutch gearboxes anymore?

Another brainless comment from a blind basher..

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:10 am

proton blind basher= perodua macai

• johndoe86 (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Shouldn’t compare Volkswagen and proton iriz la is like heaven and earth lo.. my fren is driving Golf tsi 1.4, it is more powerful than Toyota Altis 1.8. That the beauty of Volkswagen technology. Even Japanese car technology still far away behind Volkswagen.. it really take LONG LONG time for Proton to learn.. think wawasan 2020 vision still wont achieve lo

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:23 am

no.. u r not p2 salesmsn… u just a normal kampung ppl drive p2 n your dreamcar is umw vios

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:27 am

proton pls give us CVT… crappy or not cvt us a trend… daihatsu japan oso use cvt… different or not cvt us the latest n the best… uf 4at gb good… why daihatsu dumb it to malaysia???

we see now… p2 macai scared of cvt, they know their 4 at is lousy n they cant answer why daihatsu japan use cvt n p2 use 4at

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:23 am

dvvt = dual???

hahahaha

klau nak puji n jadi macai perodua pon agak agak laaa

over sgt ni sampai kata perodua kembara dah ada dual vvt 20 thn lepas

hahahaas

mmg macai perodua set set cam ni ker

prffthhh

• Perodua DVVT
      the D not means Dual
      the D means “Daihatsu” or Dynamic

Just like VVT-i, only act on intake

• wa cakap lu on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:54 am

P2 was supppse to produce cars up to 1.0 L only but due to their greedyness they bite into the higher cap engine category to kill proton. When umw step in it should no longer be name perodua instead be call peyotsu a combination of perodua toyota and daihatsu… So who bite who… Proton also have the right to bite into P2 butt…..

• Correction plz… DVVT is stands for “DAIHATSU VARIABLE VALVE TIMING”. Not a dual vvt..

• speechless on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:59 pm

bro dvvt means -daihatsu vvt lar !! go check it out ! is stil the same vvt on the intake cam only !! zzzzz……
      cps is valve lift not variable !!!

• Kering susu on Sep 07, 2014 at 4:03 pm

first “D” at DVVT p2 words stand for “Dynamic”

get your fact right before commenting to kill proton. or kill yourself because claim as P2 salesman and put ashamed!!!

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:53 am

your comment as if perodua is producing a turbo engine. reality is.. they don’t even make their own car!!

• pirlo on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:24 am

no la. DVVT means dynamic variable valve timing. still use single VVT at intake. remember how fuel gazzler was for Kembara before the DVVT introduction?
      even new Altis use dual VVT. previous one was VVT-i.

• rogaz on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I Drive CRV after at 160 Km/H it take a lot of petrol more than Campro at 190 km/h. See Proton save petrol at high Speed but WiSH at high speed take too much petrol at 160 km/h. Do you know about this fact. Please try high speed and you know.

• botolsusu on Sep 06, 2014 at 11:47 pm

By the way proton… you can also have a bigger fuel tank to “make less stops at the petrol station” it does not mean your engine is fuel efficient… your r&d is clueless and your advertising is hopeless… still think people are stupid… publish your fuel consumption numbers and let the people decide how efficient it is! If yoi are not at 15 – 17 km/litre then no need to claim for efficiency…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:18 am

same goes to perodua… make 956cc engine n claim fuel efficient….. if 2l n 20km/l then rakyat will impress

rakyat smart orediii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
      • viosuser on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:19 am

Vios can do 18km/l in city kah? LOL

Saga – 40 litre
        Vios – 42 litre
        City – 40 litre

Which one has bigger tank? LOL
        Vios scammer fuel efficient !!

• xoxox on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:12 am

obviously you failed your maths….fuel efficiency count by ratio bro…

• normal_user on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:41 am

Pls tell me which car can clock 15-17km/L on pure city drive? Even a prius struggles to achieve that. If u haven’t drive at least 5 different cars with >200k km mileage in your lifetime, pls dont talk about fc like bs here. Oh forgot ur nick is milk bottle.. no wonder.

City Vios Almera also struggle to hit 11km/L on pure city drive. Let alone Civic & Altis, even 9km/L. But they can reach 17-18km/L if driven on highway at 90kmh constant. Dont be surprised Persona Preve can do the same.

• City user on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:34 am

You are wrong about the new City though. City can easily achieve 12.5km/L in city driving alone while 18km/L can be reached at speeds of 110km/h on the highway. I highlight the word EASILY cuz you don’t even need a light foot to get the figures. Eco mode off by the way.

• ayamitik on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:16 pm

friend,
          there is differentiation of city drive as it doesn’t reflect the traffic movement. Urban and extra urban.

Well drive in city located in Kuantan or Kuala Terengganu is consider as city drive but u can’t be comparing extra urban like KL traffic.

It is quite impossible for a new city to clock 12.5km/ltr in extra urban traffic. In urban traffic, perhaps.

Cheers

• City user on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Just to tell a bit more of my daily usage. I travel KL-PJ daily and go through 50km of traffic using federal highway, east-west link and cheras daily during rush hours. Its mostly stop and go traffic so i think i would quality for extra urban conditions.
            Yet im getting 12.5km/L with the new City. RM70-RM75 a tank for 450km per tank.
            Just some feedback on the new City

Cheers

• This is it Proton.Your call.

No more turning back.

16/9

It’s coming.

• Derived from the Mitsubishi 4G18 ages ago..first added DOHC, then IAFM n CPS n now VVT..all that has been done is just changes to the intake system..its just the same old fuel guzzling old junk they tryin to sell forever..20yrs down the road there wud be CAMPRO++++..N the 1.3 is just a shorter stroke combustion chamber..again with poor bore to stroke ratio..they produced the almost similar FC..stop bulshitting us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
    • Bullshitting? Look at their FC in city driving and you can pretty sure that its FC at least on par with other engines not efficient.

• Huh? Since when its derived from mitsu engine? That long time ago lor before waja uses campro cps engine. And this engine is derived from cfe. Only without turbo unit.

• ayamxxx on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:05 am

Looking the trend of Preve, Suprima which the latest version product from Proton, proton still struggle to improve their sales no of that unit.

Not sure either people already have no confidence towards proton or their products just not meet Malaysian demand of good FC car, the Iriz seem not able to compete sales from Perodua and others.

Even suprima, still struggle to cope on sales from Vios and city, even gift discount of 10k for its 2013 product that just not sell enough unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • enth_car on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:33 am

Waaa awak nujum kereta ka? Iriz not yet launched and yet able to know the sale is not good.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:21 am

Suprima was never meant to compete with the Vios, City or Almera. That’s the Prevé’s job. The Suprima is mostly meant for export. You can see as many Prevés on the road today as there are new Citys. The new Vios is not so common now, not since the new City’s launch. The Almera is a different story.

Malaysians haven’t lost confidence in Proton, it’s just that Proton doesn’t have a strong volume seller right now. The Saga is too old, the Persona is even older and the Prevé is too expensive for most lower middle-income families. If this new Iriz costs between RM40k to RM55k, then Proton’s sales will pick up drastically. However, when the new Saga comes out next year, that’s when the party really starts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:15 am

stupid produa lover… comparing suprima hatchback with umw sedan vios

even drb city sales better than crab vios sedan… pls make apple to apple comparison

newsy we are buyer not salesman…we want what they can give to us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • imran on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:38 am

bila mau lancar?? letih la asyik tgok snapshot jer…

• imran on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:38 am

bila mau lancar?? letih la asyik tgok snapshot jer…

• muixmuix on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:39 am

Just bring on the mye01 engine.

• botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:41 am

LOL.. i was so engrossed about the VVT i just saw the “you now have more bragging rights when you take your friends out for a spin” because its leather seats!!! Hahahaha is proton so poor now that they cannot afford proper advertising consultants? Aiyoh so lame…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:28 am

petodua dari zaman kembara dah pakai DUAL vvt … proton baru nak pki single VVT

hshshaha
      joke of the year by perodua macai.. we need print screen his comment n share on fb

• axiagtr on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:26 am

It’s much better than those dynamic bumper, is it tunnel tested to be bragged about>?

Muahahahhahhahahhhh

• Drink your milk on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Ahem, your beloved perodua also put leather seat covers as their main selling point in Alza Advanced and Myvi Extreme. Speaking of lame marketing gimmicks, i have to give the (dis)honor to perodua for sticking a very misleading Extreme badge on a plain vanilla Myvi.

• botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Yes same like the current satria neo r3… slower than the old plain vanilla satria neo cps.

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:59 am

don’t make me start on highlighting “a buzzer” as a safety feature in axia…

• Wah…. another teaser.. just in time to fill our thirst…..
    Product from lousy ailing company but teaser gempak like launching all spark powered supercar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Simon on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:05 am

Proton, show us the real car, price n let us drive it and then we decide. Enough of this teaser ads. Don’t waste money on teasers ads.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:15 am

I noticed a few days back that Proton changed the 5 STAR ANCAP to 5 STAR ASEAN NCAP. You may see for yourself right now, at the Iriz website, and compare them with the photos that Paul posted here on Merdeka Day. Proton DEFINITELY changed it for some reason.

But WHY ? This makes me very, very angry, disappointed and worried. Does this mean that the Iriz is not 5 Star ANCAP rated ?

I hope you’re listening Proton, you guys can’t afford to f*** things up again, not after what happened to the Prevé’s launch. This kind of small oversight should not and cannot happen ! Each and every step you make is being watched by all 30 million of us Malaysians. Don’t disappoint us, not again, not any more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • mim (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:52 am

I guess this move has something to do with the rumoured 2-airbags setup on 1.3VVT base model. It still has full VDC systems though.

• Best to go straight to the ANCAP website to find out..

• Anonymous Coward on Sep 07, 2014 at 4:02 pm

I read that ANCAP was not happy with Proton using it for their promotional material as the car was not yet launched in Australia.

• What is there to surprise? Proton have the history of advertising 4 disc brakes but change to 2 after a while. Sending saga flx+ after their original model scores badly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Anti-Establishment on Sep 07, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Probably because like the Euro NCAP car makers aren’t allowed to advertise their NCAP rating until they’ve started to sell it in the NCAP market.

• walaweh on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:47 am

dey mr botolsusu, dvvt pada perodua tuh dual vvti, dia vvt mecha pada intake jek n enjin tuh masih pkai cast iron construction.

axia punya fc pun ada syaratnya klu.nk dpt mcm yg dicanangkan. myvi sndiripun xsejimat yg di beritahu dlm spec list.

i dont have any prob with axia or iriz cuz its serve its purposed. atleast proton managed to get 5 stars safety rating, perodua,even used ready.made platform from big names in the industry,toyota n daihatsu, still cant get 5 stars.

anyway, thumb up for both.

• walaweh on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:48 am

dey mr botolsusu, dvvt pada perodua tuh bukan dual vvti, dia vvt mecha pada intake jek n enjin tuh masih pkai cast iron construction.

axia punya fc pun ada syaratnya klu.nk dpt mcm yg dicanangkan. myvi sndiripun xsejimat yg di beritahu dlm spec list.

i dont have any prob with axia or iriz cuz its serve its purposed. atleast proton managed to get 5 stars safety rating, perodua,even used ready.made platform from big names in the industry,toyota n daihatsu, still cant get 5 stars.

anyway, thumb up for both.

• ikan masak tau chu (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:54 am

Proton don’t forget to put the ‘turn-signal’ lever on the right side of the steering wheel… OKAY?!..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • nonono.. not that cvt tranny.. pls.. nonono

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:32 am

pls come cvt tranny… trendy n latest tech… no matter what… its still trendy
      4at era change to cvt era just like caburetor syst engine change to fuel injection system

no matter how .. ppl will go for fuel injection

this is trend

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:16 am

perodua macai, petodua salesman n umw salesman butthurt

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:29 am

mamak product = perodua alza M2 version

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:20 am

Tun M = mamak
      Proton = mamak production

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • 100years on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:23 am

If Tun M open mamak shop, i will support. But poton, sorry…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:29 am

sushi= real japs jdm car
        taik= umw japs wannabe car

• ayamitik on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:56 pm

you sir indeed are very racist. Do you need to be racist in your comment and remark? Have a bit of courtesy. it a bit rare now day.

cheers

• Teh Tarik on Sep 08, 2014 at 10:22 am

Mamak products are Teh Tarik & Roti Chanai and not Proton cars.

• Nieko on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:29 am

I have a feeling that the next Proton Saga3 is going to rock the whole country as judging from the Proton Iriz with its feature and all can we aspect the New Saga to have 5star Ancap and 6airbags as standard….interesting times ahead for My Dear Proton …

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:40 am

come on baby… come to papy
    rakyat want your vvt engine n CVT gearbox… so urban

love to see p2 macai n umw salesman butthurt here

ppl smart oredi
    few years ago.. they can simply cheat rakyat and hiding behind real japan car…. their price expensive oso blame proton

but now.. rakyat smart oredi… all thier old story modal to bash proton… rakyat understand orediii
    rakyat sudah bosan

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 4:01 am

wow… the leather seat looks sooo perfect

comeon perodua pnb macai n umw salesman.. start ur engine

savvy savvy bla bla… sales salesbla bla ., non japan dna bla bla.. power window bla nla… gomen, nap, protection ( perodua lain tauuu) bla bla

• justsomerandomdude on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:01 am

What keeps baffling me is that proton is the owner of lotus.. one would think that they’ll at least have a significant improvement in their car/engine design technology but nope.. i just don’t understand proton at all. What was the point of buying lotus then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Go and read lotus mag about CFE and its development.

• justsomerandomdude on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:58 pm

And after all these years they just managed to come out with VVT right? is the CFE more quiet or has better FC than other peers in its class?? apart from the so called “lotus handling” what else can proton honestly say they’ve borrowed or learned from lotus? You all keep saying lotus handling have any of you here actually driven a lotus to see if it’s really “lotus handling”? when other auto companies buy others they do implement/share some tech./design elements from each other. can anyone here just by looking at the proton models say they have ANYTHING to share with lotus? The new models (preve/suprima) DON’T EVEN LOOK modern (compared to even the new qoros 3/5) or its peers.. I understand national pride and all but call a spade a spade.. proton’s purchase of lotus was/is a just a waste. i really feel bad for lotus

• Say Who? on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:55 am

have u ever heard of Lotus Ride & Handling that applied to P1 cars? have you ever drive Preve or Suprima S, and feel the different compared to other brand?

• justsomerandomdude on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:29 pm

You are joking right? if by other brans you mean those cheap ass chinese brands/cuban brands then i’ll agree with you otherwise u must be joking.. very funny lah you. if think you can actually compare preve/suprima s engine/car design to major car brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Marieta on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:06 pm

You obviously never drive proton car post-lotus buy then. Try test drive Preve and compared it with City or Vios or Forte (cars within its price range)…you gonna feel more confident tackle sharp corners and chicane in the Proton than the latters.

• Don carleone on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:16 am

I would buy a proton. It is comparable to Perodua in every aspects. I don’t know why people keep saying Perodua is having higher quality than proton. I ve own both, and for me it the quality of both cars were the same. Both proton and Perodua share the same vendors and obviously, the outcome will be the same.
    Some people complaining about proton giving discount to clear stocks, and gloating about city and vios having a better sales. Well, proton, toyota Honda are not my father’s company, so I don’t care. What matters to me is the car that give me the most value for money. And, I don’t care of about what people think.
    Some people bought certain brand of car, not for themselves, but, to fulfill other people expectations.
    I would choose suprima s anytime over vios and city.
    Just because it is cheaper and specced higher.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:35 am

those who bash proton n praise petodua tu actually petodua dalesman n umw salesman jer

real import car owner ( jdm n conti owner) if they bash.. they bash all local cars, NAP, protection..

• U made sense, until u mention sup’rima. Ffs, take the Preve la.

• xoner on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:34 am

Driving suprima is nothing like City and Vios, it’s heavier but powerful.

Noone cares about sales number, only salesman and those who brag they pay 4/5 digits tax to gomen but no balls to show the proof.

Haha!

• lancerswksbh on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:30 am

agree

• hakim on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:33 am

can’t wait to see more improvement product being develop since the DRB take over Proton. This is the first Proton DRB’s Product right? I’m sure the next gen saga would be great too. Please do so.

Iriz… Dpn’t let us down pls.

• cendol (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:53 am

Iriz sounds like a Jewish name. How can it even be approved?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Steve Jobs on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:00 am

• Kamon la proton, who cares about your engine cover?
    Ppl already know this poton use VVT lah.
    More important is this car can cover how many kilometres per litre?
    tease that noob hai.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:55 pm

atleast proton put vvt on engine cover

unlike perodua .. dvvt emblem they put on the back of the car

hahaha

• 5.7l/100km

• Ceplos on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:29 am

You, Sir, are an idiot

• botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:49 am

Ok la dvvt is dynamic single not dual. Ok la i am macai only compared to all you clever proton engineers and marketing people here. Why not you people go back to make proper r&d and marketing instead of becoming keyboard warriors. CFE is euro 5? Are you sure? And well done to you all… dual or dynamic, you guys have proven that your engine is definitely something from the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:58 pm

sebab ko macai petodua la jadi bodoh

siap mengaku salesman p2.. pastu dgn yakin sembang kencang perodua kembara dah 10 thn lepas pki dual vvt

ni klu ko sembang kat customer makcik2 mesti mereka kata
      ” wowww p2 tech hebattt”

sekali kantoi tunjuk kebebalan sendiri di paul tan

hahahaha

• Definitely from past? That’s light years ahead than claimed state of art p2 engine with sort of intake manifold. p2 definitely going backward leaving vvt behind just to milk money from uneducated and non-knowledgable people,

THAT’s SUCK!

And Vios? Haiz when to learn to put VSC, Iriz ady to have one (VDC).

Sorry i forgot, Vios has VDC – Very dangerous car!!

Muahahahahahahhahahhhhhhhhhhh

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:08 am

What i know is slightly lower weight than previous Proton Campro cars..The 1.3 weight is almost the same as Saga FLX 1.3 with tons of features..More responsive from the lower torque..The CFE mid torque is tweaked to give better broad range than current CFE.Its a whole new engine not just upgrade from Iafm nor CFE engine

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:13 am

I was thinking about power-to-weight ratio. Looking at CFE’s output solely, it’s very high.. but maybe, because the car that it’s bolted on is heavy, thus giving higher FC and less acceleration.

am looking forward for this NFE and Iriz. hoping for a change.

• At the end of the day, you are the one who goes to kedai mamak everyday for lepaking :P

• civicEK on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:25 am

campro engine not good? its on par with kia and hyundai’s engine in malaysia. makan minyak kuat dan under power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Joney on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:31 am

I am not a malaysian and finding new car now. It is rare that an asian car maker has their own model with own platform except Japan and Korea(China is still copying all inside of car). Please support your nation car maker. I heard that there is no nation car maker in UK. Of course Proton must have competitive car. I will see how about the Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • This malaysia national car is sucking the life & souls out of own malaysian pocket!!!

• Wooooow! Proton engine has VVT!! It’s only year 2014 and they make VVT!! So now they can brand their car as a lotus with VVT! Win already lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • feefe on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Already has vvt in cfe lor. Get your facts right

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:15 am

that’s why proton highlight VVT in this NFE (I prefer this name though) because people like him don’t even know that CFE already has it.

• Anak Malaysia on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:55 am

alah, senang jea, kalau nak org beli kena buat kereta yang berkualiti dan menjimatkan, baik dari segi harga maupun pemilikan. Proton kena tiru macam perodua – buat kereta dengan kos yang seminimum mungkin tetapi berkualiti. Specifikasi tinggi atau sekadar gaya sahaja pun tak akan bermakna kalau kualiti rendah dan kos pembuatan/pemilikan mahal. Servis lepas jualan pun kena utamakan. Utk rakyat bawahan macam kita beli kereta dari proton dan perodua sebab tiada banyak pilihan dan pembelian ibarat satu pelaburan – pembuat kereta kena fikirkan fakta ini. Good luck proton and perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Good improvement hopefully vvt the entire engine.
    Not too late I suppose where others are adopting start stop sequence engine feature.

• messi on Sep 07, 2014 at 12:44 pm

i would not touch proton if the engine still having a loud sound, rough, unreliable, bad pick up and still using timing belt which need to change at very 80,000 KM.

I trying to convince my self to get a proton since 2004 (gen 2), 2010 (New extended hatchback) and 2014 (my friend Preve) and always disappointed with the rough engine sound and bad pick up.

With the CVVT in campro, I dont think this engine can complete with VVTI/DVVT/CVTC/IVTECH.

Another 3 years, Proton will become another MAS which will go bankrupt if No Mamak to rescue. (get subsdise from G at the rakyat’s expense/taxpayer money)

Why you need a child that can not grow up and need subsidies for 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
    • orion on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Have you drive them before…? i mean preve and gen 2…? have you drive the preve cfe…? If no then how you know got no pickup…?

• No need to drive or own. I can hear my next door shop owner drive Preve every time he arrive. Can differentiate its looooow vibration noise!!!!
        next 6 years we might experience earthquake!!!

• Wei Joey,no need to condemnlah.Hmmmm…I think your ears got problem.Because car doesn’t have vibrations.Go and see doctor as fast as you can,Joey

• Saga r on Sep 07, 2014 at 1:56 pm

My friend have this, my friend have that…
      Next time do better drama lah.

• Sagia86 on Sep 07, 2014 at 2:04 pm

-5 star ASEAN rating
      -ABS, ESC, EBD, etc…
      -fog lamp
      -6 air bag
      -VVT engine
      -HPF Platform
      -Fresh design
      -Reverse camera
      -lot of improvement compare to 2004 for NVH and quality (nvr have problem with power windows or other electronics stuff with my proton)

But, according to p2 and Japanese car worshipper STILL CANNOT beat Timing chain because of their superiority

• spado on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:44 pm

The ECU seting might be reset. Bad pickup i dun think so. Around 9 sec in century sprint is similar with Civic , pug 30 and forte. CVT gearbox somehow spread the torqueevenly until you feel no pickup available

• Another racist comment. You do realize mamak is a sub ethnic group? They earn their living the hard way like everyone else. If you want to attack Tun by all means go ahead but dont be a racist.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:58 am

bash proton, bash mamak, praise import car.. make u feel good n import car owner wannabe

macam rakyat tak tau.. u setakat driving myvi

prfftggghghhh

• walaweh on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:16 pm

mr leornado, do you know what is platform? 1st gen myvi and 2011 myvi sharing the same platform,not.a new one. same as vios dugong n new vios.

the outlook is diff,even the interior look diff,but it sitting on the old platform. so its not totally new.

its just like a man,putting a new shirt,pants,shoes.n etc,new hair cut,but its still the same man,just the look. thats is how they get alot of profit.

im not saying that myvi is a bad car, just that its not really baharu. its still the same man with diff outfits.

its like savvy n saga n flx,sitting on the same platform but elogated one. but atleast lots of engineering involve cuz savvy is hatchback,and savvy is a segment, saga is b segment. its a modified platforn.

you dont see any similarity from outside,but inside yup,many carry over.

• Vemal on Sep 07, 2014 at 3:28 pm

The engine bay shows existing Campro Engine fitted with VVT….Not sure whether Dual intake VVT or single intake VVT…… I guess it is Timing belt engine…….again Rough Engine with lousy & Noisy CVT Gearbox……… No idea to create new Engine huh!!! No Wonder…..Engineer hired based on various Recommendation. People who really qualify always turn down. …..So the outcome of course a piece of crap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:03 pm

cvt is selling point for iriz… n macai petodua n umw which has no cvt .. really scared on this… they are trying to influence rakyat that cvt is bad… yet rskyat smart orediii

• Vemal on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:08 am

CVT is good. Nissan CVT really smooth…But Punch CVT really Noisy & Rough….. My ex Saga 1.6 FLX always jerking although they already upgrade new firmware…..

• botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Agree with u. Only new engineers and management drive proton. Once engineer promoted they they buy city, vios and myvi for the wife… the ones with family will buy wish the minute their salaries allow it…. proton only gets the bottom of the kuali for graduates… the best goes to oil and gas.. the rest go to manufacturing … whatever left goes to automotive … the desperate of this lot goes to proton…. that i guess is our friend peyno.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • dopple on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Japs car dun have quality especially in ride, example Estima is only bigger but the ride? Duh..Let me tell you.

If you have your eyes blindfold / closed, you will believe you are riding a caravan. It is swaying to left and right on highway!

Exora easily pawns bigger more expensive Japs shiate(in ride and handling). Pity.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:38 pm

best engineering ever

perodua DVVT = DUAL VVT

prffthhhhhhh

• zeta01 on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Wow,toyofags and peroduafags are hijacking this article at this website like what they did at Ford, GM and Chrysler articles at Autoblog.com.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 6:04 pm

not toyafogs laaa

umwfogs

• botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Peyno. UMW give 6 to 12 months bonus, your proton give you how much? You see TIV report or not? Dark clouds for you ahead. You better hope this iriz can sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • botolsusu on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:30 pm

I mean your iriz with kembara wanna be 10 years too late engine.

• Go and drive your decades engined Vios, no upgrade on performance nor FC. That’s 100 years late engine.

Haha!

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:14 am

umw give 6 mths bonus to theire staff… and give crappy car unsafe car to their customer/buyer

we are buyer.. not the staff… we care about what they can give ti us.. not what mth bonus they give to their staff

• driver on Sep 08, 2014 at 4:08 pm

of he cares about bonus. he’s one of their staff. LOL

• ayamxxx on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Seem funny enough for proton to keep the old junk campro engine even after 10years already.

Proton did some improvement, but only of 10% improvement of that FC compared to old campro.

Others car maker, korean n Japan already produce VVT with intelligence (vvti) ( can varies depend on Engine load, driver input) which can improve fc and put the VVT on both inlet n outlet side.

Hyundai also start giving us GDI technology, a direct injection in Petrol engine with VVT on both inlet n outlet. Same goes to Ford engine like in the Ford Focus 2.0 engine.

Please dont talk about car price difference etc, its Bolehland market that make Malaysian to cope with an OLD technology from Proton.

Please proton, if u dont hv financial or pure plan to buit a Campro replacement, just outsource the Engine from market like u get the CVT from Punch Belgium company.

Its 2014 already, dont proudly advertised an Old Technology of the VVT for your selling points.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • waxxe on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Old? Pug – makes turbo in its, remember naughty or nic adse? Is turbo new? No

P2 makes the manifold as part of its new state of art engune ads, is the manifold new tech? No

Put it intake outake inlet outlet all parts but when the FC is so so, that’s still sucky big time.
      Want comparisons? Duh, Pls help yourself, go out from cave.

• DIVERTIONS on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:33 pm

guys please wake up…

proton is not here because of itself…it doesn’t need sales or wateva…

it is here because it allows AP to live guys..more money there…

this development are all show n no go..it is a method of controlling the society and leech them dry..just like another tools called religion..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • rrttyy on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:44 pm

You cannot buy cheaper cars when Proton is not exist. Buy Accord 2.4l in Thai for 180k, that’s almost same price bolehland. ANd that’s when Thai doesn’t have such national car maker like Proton. SO?

• ProtonGSC on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Only Accord??
        Please do compare to all others segment and brand too.

Dont be brain waste again!!!

• rrttyy on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:11 am

Talk much no action that’s you
          No wonder being a blind basher, lazy too
          Ptuihhh

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:27 am

Proton sales good, beg money. Proton sales not good, beg money also.

Proton sales good or not, Proton still rich; Proton cars good or not, Proton still rich. Not every car maker has government as their ATM.

• You are the brain waster
          Too lazy and give rubbish comments

• Why you people keep condemmed Proton.They are trying do the best car for people in Malaysia and other country.Why you guys want to condemmed them.You guys supposed to give sokongan,kata2 semangat to them.Dont make them feel down.And,you guys always say that Proton copy other company manufactures like Perodua.They didn’t copy anybody.You guys know what,the Toyota Vios,usethe Proton Saga body.Mitsubishi Mirage sedan,also use Proton Saga body and plus,they use Proton suspension,technology,engine and other else.Please Proton Haters,WAKE UP!!!WAKE UP MALAYSIA,WAKE UP!!!BTW,GO GO PROTON!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • peyno (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:42 pm

dont worry… rakyat dah tau.. yg kuat condemn ptoton ni macai perodua n umw/petodua salesman jerr

for thier survival

• botolsusu on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:03 am

Survival,?? Haha peyno.. out of proton, perodua and umw…. which company do u think is already making rm 200++ million losses and the year is not over yet… actually we dont want proton to die.. its loss of business for umw, umw make so many parts for proton… at least.it can pay for 1 or 2 months of the 6 to 12 months bonus umw and perodua give and you get to keep your job too…. on the assembly line hahahahah

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:27 am

see u now really like a sttaf n salesman…. we rakyat a customer n buyer…. it is more towards survival of perodua and umw salesman
          the more they can influence ppl an tell bad things about competitor(proton) the more they can survive
          this is all about survival to feed their family… thats y u can see every proton thread.. those ppl will appear with same story bla bla
          look at sam loor umw salesman.. ioma and u p2 salesman’s comment
          these all about survival

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/09/02/proton-compact-car-evolution-emas-concept/#ixzz3CfRYeNzT

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:25 am

Proton tried to give the best to RAKYAT or its PART SUPPLIER (nickname CRONIES)? You have to make it clear.

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:26 am

we rakyat… dont care about sales unlike you
            sales is your life… no sales no feed

• Stop putting all the blames to the supplier la. They also supply to other car makers. It the incompetent Proton that screwed up to what they are at now.

• ProtonGSC on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Good MALAYSIA Please stop selling expensive car price to RAKYAT WAKE UP !!!!!!!!!

Dare to competing Price without AP system on CBU cars???
      If CBU can drop price, So does CKD!

Proton talk so much rubbish, in the-end can’t completing…. WAKE UP !!!

• For Info Only….
    If you belive it then just belive… if you think statement are false then make it as False….
    Proton Car are NEW CAR and there are no recycle back on the body…..But others car like BMW, Mecerdes, Volvo, and many more outsider car… Do you think they are NEW CAR ? Actually outsider CAR are recycle cars…..I don’t ask you all to belive me….but just analysis on it….

• Annoynimouse on Sep 07, 2014 at 7:17 pm

My thinking is that, Campro-derived or no Campro-derive, if its more efficient, then it doesn’t matter. Megavalve, family Y, family k-y whatever…

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Another teasers?

Yawn.. Motorhead so busy tido.. & pancut (ejeculate) a few times dy..

Still another teaser?….

Hahaha. .

Again. . Kasi lu all syok sendiri lah..

Wa tggu announce harga.. x sabar nak gelak nih..

Hahaha. .

Yawnnn. .. pancut lg lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • motorbart on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Harga sampai 70k ke? Kalau tak sampai 70k aku gelakkan kau balik

• shitpoton on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Rubbish is rubbish. No matter how they change the packaging, junk is still junk. A B-segement low class car need so much time to launch and those stupid teasers coming out once a few days. Pui!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
    • shiateisyou on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Sing song sing song
      Talk kok talk kok
      Sing song sing song
      Talk kok talk kok

• Motorhead (Member) on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Well said..

Thumbs up before my next pancut (climax)

That’s what im trying to say.. pancut many times dy..

They ll still coming out with.. teasers??

Hahaha. .

• I Love Proton! on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Can I know why you guys hate Proton?Proton is trying to make the best car for Malaysia and other country.Please,you guys suppose to give support,kata2 semangat for them!Not suppose to say they are rubbish,junk and other bad things.And you guys like to say that they copy people design,no they didn’t!You know what,this car and the Preve design was design by their self and by thepopular Italian designer’s.Be proud!And you guys always say that the Vios,Mirage sedan,myvi is the best.First,Vios use the saga body.Second,Mirage sedan use the saga body,too and plus proton suspension and the engine parts.Mitsubishi launch this car after the contract with Proton ended.Please!PROTON HATERS,WAKE UP!!!!MALAYSIA,BANGUN!Be proud of your own National Car Manufacturers.GO GO PROTON!!!!!

• Forgive them, their brain no longer function any more.

• Myass on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:08 am

Another naive idiot, what car you driving now? poton, perodua? for the same price you can afford at least toyata camry or honda accord (D segment) out of bolehland. Why? coz idiots like you keep supporting those local car fuckers that jack up the price of all the imported cars. Why? protect local product? my ass, this is to protect their own pocket so they can drive lambo or ferrari. Wake up moron. By the time you buy the local junk car, those cronies are laughing and jumping up and down coz they got extra $$$ now because another idiot just been hooked up…..wake up moron!!!

Can I know why you guys hate Proton?Proton is trying to make the best car for Malaysia and other country.Please,you guys suppose to give support,kata2 semangat for them!Not suppose to say they are rubbish,junk and other bad things.And you guys like to say that they copy people design,no they didn’t!You know what,this car and the Preve design was design by their self and by thepopular Italian designer’s.Be proud!And you guys always say that the Vios,Mirage sedan,myvi is the best.First,Vios use the saga body.Second,Mirage sedan use the saga body,too and plus proton suspension and the engine parts.Mitsubishi launch this car after the contract with Proton ended.Please!PROTON HATERS,WAKE UP!!!!MALAYSIA,BANGUN!Be proud of your own National Car Manufacturers.GO GO PROTON!!!!!

• Myass on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:09 am

Another naive idiot, what car you driving now? poton, perodua? for the same price you can afford at least toyata camry or honda accord (D segment) out of bolehland. Why? coz idiots like you keep supporting those local car fuckers that jack up the price of all the imported cars. Why? protect local product? my ass, this is to protect their own pocket so they can drive lambo or ferrari. Wake up moron. By the time you buy the local junk car, those cronies are laughing and jumping up and down coz they got extra $$$ now because another idiot just been hooked up…..wake up moron!!!

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/09/06/proton-iriz-compact-car-two-new-teasers-released/#ixzz3Cgq2Gpi6

• alfie on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:27 am

After more than 27 years of words of sokongan to Proton and they still cant make a decent car than there is nothing with our voice of words of sokongan but that goes to show Proton has a problem LISTENING,UNDERSTANDING in making good cars.

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:26 am

Proton have not been making cars for 27 years. They’ve been ASSEMBLING cars for that long, but they’ve only been making cars of their own design since 2000, which meant it’s only 14 years.

Even Toyota, Honda, Subaru, Hyundai, Kia & Volkswagen, among others, couldn’t produce perfect cars in just 14 years.

• Myass on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:09 am

• I Love Proton! on Sep 07, 2014 at 10:33 pm

And plus,Proton is the first Asian Car Manufacturers that get 5 STARS for the ASEANCap and Ancap with Proton Preve,Suprima S and the Proton “Iris”(P2-30A).Myvi,Vios got ah?Dont have right!

• aboveismoron on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:14 am

5 stars? my ass. The chassis is 5 stars, but the interior materials all 0 star. Of coz, you got lifetime warranty for that. Unfortunately the “lifetime” only 6 months. LOL!

• Wooooow so some clever dude here claimed that proton engine already has VVT in cfe engine. So now what’s so special about having VVT in this new iriz? Why not brag about it when they launched Preve? Don’t understand proton supporters la

• Hey bro,if you dont understand bout Proton car technology,no need to say anything.Just shut your mouth.

• Because Proton is not like p2 which is bragging thing that is actually nothing to shout about

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 5:47 am

remwmber.. perodua aziah.. the put seatbelt buzzer as one of safety feature

even daihatsu japan n daihatsu indon laughing at perodua nasional car wannabe

• curry on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:33 am

What so special about VVT in Vios? Even Saga with IAFM also can do 11km/l like Vios

• Ikr brother Curry.Saga have more power,horsepower than Vios.I also don’t know what so special the Honda and Toyota cars.I see their cars is worse that Proton.

• Same L0rrr on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:23 am

If you drive Saga like the way you drive the 11km/l Vios, you will get max 8km/l in Saga.

3 km/l less means you have 90km less per full tank.

If you pump a full tank a week, you have a 4680 km less in a year.

• beemer on Sep 08, 2014 at 9:01 am

This is joke of century. 8km/l is for car 2.2l and above.
          LOL

• antibeemer on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:27 am

You are the joke of the millenium, how u know 8km/l are for car 2.2l and above? so stupid….LOL

• beemer on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:55 pm

You dun know coz you dun drive such big cc cars. I know some have good FC but the price is just not for normal people.

Cheers!

• Anti-Establishment on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:09 pm

I say bullshit on Saga FC only 8 km/l on city driving. I’ve used a Saga FLX SE & can easily get 11 km/l for 100% city driving (through Puchong area where start-stop traffic in the morning is real bad)

• ayamitik on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Kit Dude,
      where have you been hiding all this time? Just come out bertapa from cave ka? Please do some reading and not your own bertapa dalam gua asumption. VVT are in the CFE long time already lah. Have you heard about project pheonix?

They (proton) already mention vvt technology inside Exora blod CFE, Preve CFE and Suprima Turbo. U in the other hand miss the buss.

cheers

• To Proton Haters and the import car lovers,please dont condemned Proton.Please,be proud of you national carmaker,Proton

• Amiridiot on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:18 am

I feel ashamed with this junk car maker. Only stupid idiot still feel proud of it. They are either stupid or the cornies. Which one you are?

• Brother Azmi,you are right.90 percent of outsider car like Honda,Toyota,BMW,Mercedes and others are not a new car.They are recycled.They are be taken from scrap yard and change the parts all.But not body and got some material like the dashboards are not changed.Yay!But,Proton is not like that!Yay Proton Haters,be proud of the outsider car manufacturers(if you didn’t believe what I say,search on Google bout outsider car)

• amirfamilyidiot on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:25 am

OMG, even the materials from junk yard still better than self-made parts by poton. What this mean? poton is just a shit…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:40 pm

yes real jdm n import car way better than proton perodua n umw local made

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:06 am

rakyat notice… p2 salesman now really2 butthurt
    cant even use brain to think and post a crap comments

p2 salesman case 1
    ” proton is under SIME DARBY”

p2 salesman case 2
    ” kembara perodua DVVT= Dual VVT”
    prffthhhh

• Albert Lee on Sep 08, 2014 at 8:47 am

Proton :
    1.Very profitable now
    2.Very saleable now
    3.Very fuel efficient
    4.Has overtaken Perodua
    5.Has world class recognition
    6.Has no more perlindungan and sendiri syiok
    7.Has no more ‘semakin mahal”accusation
    8.Even Jeremy Clarkson loves driving it
    9.Has 7 star ratings
    10.Proton is finally,Jaguh Dunia,surpassing Toyota
    Hardcores,you like or dislike the above unreal comments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • 100years on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:21 am

I think at least they need 100 years to achieve them. Hope TDM can live till that time. But i don’t agree with statement 3, coz proton cars still more efficient, compare to bus and lorry…

• peyno (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:31 am

p2 salesman in panic mode

if customer ask why aziah no use CVT … how to answer meh???

• botolsusu on Sep 08, 2014 at 6:52 pm

4AT that works is better than made in china CVT that doesnt work properly… every proton cvt come with free washing machine gearbox sound and be ready for failure.at 80k km… just wait and see. Easy to convince buyers.

• at last something good compare to previous generation car..
    look forward for your car review..

good job Proton and please do keep improving and spend our tax money wisely..hu2

• The launching should be on 16th September 2014 Malaysia day

• cendol (Member) on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:06 am

Tease me some more and I’ll slap you

• Nieko on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:13 am

ok I may have an insight on the reason Proton has removed the AnCap on its micro site and replaced it with AseanAnCap …
    Well its very simple actually as Proton can only use the Ancap moniker when the car is launched in Australia that’s not so hard to understand as Australia is the home for Ancap …………

ohh now I got it so that’s why The Proton Preve was launched only with Mywap Safety rating as it was not launched in Australia yet ..

• Nieko on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:23 am

on another note Did you guys know that IndianAutoBlog/IAB, Caradvise.net and Also protonukownersclum.com are keeping a close eye on this particular Proton Model ..ok I understand Caradvise(Aus) and Protonownersclubuk(UK) as these are Proton export markets but what does India wants with this car….

• tdmmamaktehtarik on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:35 am

All teasers I saw during past few months are either, plastic headlamp, plastic engine cover, cheapo plastic interior, cheap leather seat (only top of the seat), etc….and there are lots (maybe same people) keep saying, “wow, nice design, wow, so pretty, wow this and wow that”. Like this car is the best in the world. LOL…come on man, we are in 21st century now and these stupid tricks can only cheat uncles, aunties, pak cik and mak cik..

• Cheat what? If it’s from plastic then it is, you want steel dashboard kah?

• Say Who? on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:12 pm

nope he want titanium maybe, and he dont like mamak… but always lepak mamak…

• ax-on on Sep 08, 2014 at 2:40 pm

You want BMW OEM leather buy Suprima lor

• ayamitik on Sep 09, 2014 at 2:24 pm

what kind of substance do you want for headlamp, engine covier, interior? Other maker use plastic too. Or because it is a proton and for the sake of complaining and whining, you wish for wood deadlamp, wood engine cover and plywood interior. Wood is premium right? or you wish there part made from textile and sofa?

cheers

• Nieko on Sep 08, 2014 at 11:47 am

hum lets just hope Proton would replace the Satria Neo with the Proton Iriz in the next Malaysian Super Series (Touring Car )at sepang ..uuuhh can you imagine the look of this car with all the racing equipment bolted on this car uhuh .

FYI its not undoable as the cars in MSS are mostly B-segment cars ie The Honda Jazz, Suzuki Swift,new team with a VW Polo(rumoured)..

• ahmad on Sep 08, 2014 at 12:10 pm

what ever la, your car your money…remember, when u driving please don’t CUT Queue…

• Say Who? on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:10 pm

yup Do NOT cut queue!! agree… even your car is big and expensive it will make your brain look small and cheap!

• horrayooi on Sep 08, 2014 at 1:15 pm

PCC – I think it is an upgrade of Campro with VVT.
    What is the use of fancy looking plastic engine cover? What we want is a durable timing chain engine which is the present trend by car manufacturer. Low maintenance cost compare to timing belt which needs to be change every 80,000km. I hope Proton don’t give us timing belt engine otherwise the sales will be affected. Wake up.

• pirlo on Sep 08, 2014 at 3:10 pm

proton timing belt has extended to 120,000km lifetime, at least. ecoboost also use timing belt.

• To Joey,please dont condemned Proton.Be proud of your national carmaker.Please!Wake up

• F1teamadvisor (Member) on Sep 10, 2014 at 11:27 pm

My 2014 Jazz by Honda is consistantly giving me an average of 9.3 km/l… been monitoring the FC for the last 8500 km… city driving without traffic congestion…. is this better than lousy Preve’s campro?

• Hey bro,are you serious?you want to compare you junk car,Jazz with The Proton Preve?Come on ah,Jazz is a compact car,Preve is a Sedan car.Preve use CFE,a Turbo engine.While your junk car,Jazz use the V-Tec engine.Eh,please,dont compare your junk car with The Preve because they are in different segment

• To Mr.teamf1advisor,if you want to compare you junk car with The Proton car,wait for the upcoming Proton GSC.Because that car is compact same as your junk car.Maybe The Proton GSC will win because your car is junk,obviously.Second,it is GLOBAL RATED.And it got several things that got in hybrid car.Peace Mr teamf1advisor!