Proton Iriz instrument panel reveals future additions

Proton_Iriz_drive_ 002

There’s more to come for the new Proton Iriz, it seems. A closer look at the new B-segment hatchback’s rather small instrument cluster (pictured below) reveals a number of new features that may be introduced to Proton’s global car in the future; these being automatic engine start/stop system, cruise control, tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS), front parking sensors and rear fog lights.

Icons for all these features are clear to be seen, either within the meters or on the top row of indicators. It’s not uncommon for car manufacturers to do such a thing – BMW instruments, for instance, often carry unlit symbols of features not fitted to that particular model. It just saves them of the unnecessary work and cost of making a different component to suit each model variant, which is totally understandable.

Proton_Iriz_instrument_cluster

The auto start/stop function (not to be confused with the push start button already available on the Iriz 1.6 Premium) will likely be used on models headed for the UK first, where reduced CO2 emission levels would be absolutely crucial. Once fitted, it will work in tandem with the new VVT engine’s Smart Alternator system.

“The Iriz is prepared for Proton’s present and future,” said chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa. Also in the pipeline for the Iriz is the ADAS active safety system developed with LG Electronics, which will include Autonomous Emergency Braking, Forward Collision Warning, Traffic Sign Recognition and Lane Departure Warning.

Also future-proofed is the Iriz’s 240 km/h speedo, a hint of faster things to come.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sirimusa on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:22 am

All of the best technology in PROTON for export markets only.

I don’t blame PROTON.

I blame NAP.

Malaysians overpay, even for national car, and foreigners pay less, with more safety, better engines (and maybe even diesel for Europe!).

Rakyat loose.

#bodoh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 12
    • schmuck on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:42 am

I blame stupidity.

Keep on believing global car fairy tales and ends up cursing himself buying rosak car claim warranty wasting time and money is pure stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 42
    • still realy hard sell after more than 2 weeks launched n still no total bookings announced till now, i smell epic failure here, just look at d meter dials that so small coz konon designer refer to watches for inspiration for future use WTF???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 64
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:38 am

Global small car will be realized by PROTON. Good job PROTON and Tun M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 49
      • megavalve on Oct 17, 2014 at 1:29 pm

It’s just another Savvy. Only fools like you too delusional not to realised it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 52
        • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:02 pm

For Ah Beng typical Proton fanboys, Kl is the world. Iriz already global small car for them.

Wanna sell in Europe? Dream on!

See if Iriz can penetrate Bangkok/SG or even Bangsar or not…

No point sendiri cakap sendiri syok, sales figure speaks the truth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
    • KaoPehKaoBu on Oct 17, 2014 at 2:21 pm

AXIA > ALL

I wonder how much protong coni pay you to keep posting this trash iris! pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
    • kadajawi (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Better engines? What if they end up using for example Renault engines (as they are common overseas, good, frugal and Renault is open to selling their engines to others)? Remember what good using Renault engines did them in Malaysia? For the Malaysian market they have to use something less advanced, because that’s what customers demand.

Otherwise I agree though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:33 am

Back to old days of Proton give better specs for cheaper price to overseas, here in bolehland expensive and kosong.

It was some proton insider here in paultan or funtasticko that said iriz gonna have idle start-stop, but alas, some silly bodykit, crappy touch screen radio is more important than helping rakyat to save fuel.

Pastu meroyan kat rakyat tak patriotik. Lu pikir la sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 22
    • To me it good move… using UK market as reliability test.. so Malaysian buyer not become proton test subject anymore… haa.. haa.. Remember on cased BMW F30 & F10 before, how many buyer become BMW Malaysia test subject & let SC to solve it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:50 am

Tokmoh:
        Don’t show to us that you are SO stupid in commenting. Why PROTON capable to give better spec with cheaper price for abroad cars? Taxes and policies charged from certain countries is not the same. Even PROTON want to sell their cars in Msia, they still need to pay certain amount of tax by our Govt. which still expensive even PROTON and P2 got advantage of lower tax compare to Japanese and Conti cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 22
        • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Ah Beng:
          Don’t show to us that you are SO “Smart” in commenting. It is easy to install features this and that… but it is HARD to keep the features working for long terms. You would be grateful if your Proton has no problem within 3 years already.

Proton can’t even beat Perodua in build quality. That’s why it can ONLY sell in Malaysia. Without the high tax protection, Proton really have to sell condom.

By the way, did you buy Iriz? What spec you bought?

Support Proton in talking is CHEAP, show us your action!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
          • peyn0 on Oct 18, 2014 at 5:49 am

only can sell in malaysia??? are u referring to perodua???

• Proton can’t even beat Perodua in build quality?

dey tolol, if P1 parts alos come toyota/daihatsu parts bin then no issue also la… suruh P2 buat design/ mouild sendiri tengok.

• 2ltr bottle on Oct 18, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Sir, if you support Toyota so much, did you buy the latest 2014 Camry yet? What spec you bought?

Support Toyota in talking is CHEAP, show us your action!

• 2ltr bottle on Oct 18, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Same LOrr, since you are a Toyota guy, did you buy the new 2014 Camry? What spec you bought?

Support Proton in talking is CHEAP, show us your action!

• features idle start-stop tu hanya rumour.. bukan datang secara official dari proton.. dan kalau kamu tengok kat market sekarang pun, kereta powered by petrol fuel macam city, vios, altis, civic ,myvi, axia tak da pun features tu.. mengapa feature tu tak da dekat model Iriz sekarang??.. mungkin rnd proton ada alasan yang tersendiri.. mungkin ada beberapa perkara yang perlu ditambah baik dan masih belum sedia untuk diperkenalkan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
      • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:25 am

As I said, it’s about priority.

These fuel saving features are more crucial than some silly bodykits. If people really want those kits, can just add on later, proton can just give option.

But now, cannot simply addon smart alternator etc. F/c for Iriz now is hardly impressive enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • pirlo on Oct 17, 2014 at 3:49 pm

smart alternator tu macam mana fungsi dia?

• 2ltr bottle on Oct 17, 2014 at 8:01 pm

Alternator konventional biasanya mghasilkn 12v-13v ketika operasi, tp smart alternator akan mjana antara 14v-16v ketika enjin dhidupkn, dan berubah mgikut keadaan enjin. Cth; keadaan enjin sejuk @ panas.

• kadajawi (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:00 pm

The problem is to many Malaysian customers this nonsense like bodykits is more important than safety features or lower FC, so that’s what manufacturers provide.

• f*ck_u on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:30 pm

how u know iriz fc is not efficient enough? unless you are driving… dude… don’t be so negative and simply bashing proton without a fact… i’m driving F30 now but i can tell you it’s no better than Proton quality… idle start/stop is simply waste of time and it doesn’t work effectively anyway… btw, maybe you don’t understand since you’re so negative… continue your journey of bashing malaysian products, it will make your life difficult!

• 2ltr bottle on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

Iriz spec kosong? You got to be kidding yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • tokmoh (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:21 pm

You’re the one they’re kidding.

Why must settle as is? Look how Proton omits idle start-stop, but likely giving it to EU market.

Proton thinks we care more about kits than saving fuel. Fuel is not cheap anymore, and never going cheaper. It’s good proton make safer cars, but at this rate, safety is getting unaffordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
        • pirlo on Oct 17, 2014 at 3:50 pm

smart-stop tu beroperasi pada suhu below 20C. kau tahu kan, ketika suhu paling sejuk, lebih banyak fuel perlu dibakar?

• f*ck_u on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:32 pm

tokmoh… i don’t know seriously what’s your problem keep on asking for idle start stop… tell us which brand below RM70k offer you this function… basket

• Ononimos on Oct 18, 2014 at 12:11 am

Proton Iriz kosong?? So you should put negative value for the myvi, vios, altis, axia and the list goes on n on.

Kosong sangat~

• Sawwy on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:35 am

Remove the 75% car excise duty first, then you can talk about any buttons icons etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Sawwy:
      U can enjoy 75% excise duty-free if you migrate to Kiasuland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
      • Whitefox on Oct 17, 2014 at 3:43 pm

get 10k sgd first to buy permit to own a car for 10 year.

• Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:25 pm

In another words, Ah Beng said you deserved to be sucked by government and Proton if you remained in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • hvannees on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:56 am

Icon is there but the component isnt install yet. Btw myvi lg best. Icon is there. The component is installed. But there is no light up when turned on. Whati mean is fog light indicator on instrument panel. What the point put it there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Enough, No stop for promoting IRIS.
    Go and feel yourself, the switches inside IRIS even worst than a China made radio control toy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 37
    • 2ltr bottle on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:43 am

Then you should stop wasting your time commenting here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 40
      • I’m commenting here because P1&P2 are the only car I could afford at this moment.
        Put hope on P1 for improvement, that’s why feedback the weak point here. Marketing will bring sales but engineering still the key foundation for automotive industrial.
        If Proton management thinking like below Ah Beng(Member) then forget about my comment. Hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Ononimos on Oct 18, 2014 at 12:17 am

So stop wasting time here and start seeking for money la dey.. After that u can afford more expensive car. Whining ur ass here will not make u any richer.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:15 pm

HK:
      When and where u test the cars? Reveal to Ah Beng @ [email protected] to me you’re not sissy and have balls..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
      • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I tested already. Not much difference from Axia, the finishing is still very Proton style, can see different gaps here and there. Even lego cars have better finishing.

So did you buy an Iriz? What is your number plate? Show to us you are not talkok and have bola.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Why don’t you post your address here so that Proton owners with problem can look for you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • Lol11 on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Yes tried it…..very flimsy…the controls in the myvi on the other hand feels like it will last longer.

• Ononimos on Oct 18, 2014 at 12:21 am

Anyone with senile mind will think that myvi n axia mcm sampah lepas drive Iriz. There is no single point pun yg myvi lg bagus. Go read all of the review when they compared Iri n Myvi. Iriz is far more superior than that trash myvi. Just shut up and stop sprout bull. People can judge for them self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • again, they’re taken from toyota/daihatsu parts bin, not a bad thing actually, just not original meaning not own design. nothing to shout about.

if they design and make their own parts which is better than P1’s then shout all you want la..

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2014 at 9:59 am

“Also future-proofed is the Iriz’s 240 km/h speedo, a hint of faster things to come.”

Would be good if it was true. Proton has always fitted 240km/h speedos on its top spec cars dated back to the wira. Doesn’t mean that any of thier cars could hit 240hm/h

The quickest I’ve seen Protons do were about 220 with the Twincam 1.8 in the GTI, Putra and the Wira 1.8.

• Low Budget on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:01 am

It is good to add more features to the Iriz, however P1 need to ensure that QC should be near perfect.
    If there are complains of broken, drop down, peel off, water leakage, mis-alignment etc., then P1 will be relegated to bad quality product for another 5 years.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:12 am

Nothing better to talk about? My persona also has speedo till 240kmh. Dont see a super charged persona made to hit the max speed on the speedo….lol

• Colour scheme on graphic panel looks cheap. In future proton can change to other colours than red-black. Try find some colour combinations with modern look.

• kumar on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:49 am

the radio and aircond switches are horrendous. like made from cheap plastic. why p1 why? go try for your self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • 2ltr bottle on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:48 am

Ford Fiesta also have that same plastic design. The worst is axia knob design. Go try for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:49 pm

P2 Axia E/G model Aircon control Switches also look like ‘shit’, probably coming from the same vendor as Proton Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Junjie on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:49 am

Anybody notice that the scale for rpm meter a bit weird?
    5 dots in between each 1000rpm, each dot equals to 166.6667rpm.
    Normally for rpm meter, each dot equals to 100, 200, 250 or 500 rpm. But for Iriz is 166.6667rpm, don’t you think is something wrong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • hassan on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:11 am

Looks like P1 putting all its eggs into Iriz
    and left the others to determine their own path.
    Where is the Saga headed from now on?
    Poor die hard Saga supporters left out high and
    dry and to lead a natural death.
    I foresee Saga RV heading for a free-fall.
    No use talking about added features diesel engines
    remember this is just a compact which has its limitations and is in a cost sensitive sector.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:29 am

Yes, proton is putting a lot of eggs into one basket, and one that I personally feel is a little misguided.

But I will give it to them to try… if they do well, we benefit. Hopefully. As it is, while the Iriz may likely be the best try proton has mustered, I don’t believe the Iriz is good enough to complete in Europe. They will sell better than other tries, but the powertrain and interior build remains its primary weakness.

All wont be lost though, the platform that underpins the Iriz will eventually spawn the new Saga, but it remains to be seen if proton can make it cheap enough for the general public.

• Low Budget on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:53 pm

If they don’t make the Saga as the same build quality as Iriz and also affordable enough, then Proton will definitely behind P2 further and further.

• It will be the same if the because Iriz quality memang tak bagus. Good attempt for trying to portray that Iriz is good.

• Petrofsky77 (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 11:26 am

P1 don’t have to prove anything locally, be best if they just concentrate on selling well overseas since Malaysians will never support it anyways, so long as they don’t leech on my tax money, then go ahead and do what you want …

• Low Budget on Oct 17, 2014 at 12:55 pm

TDM has admitted that Proton engines are not good enough for Europe, they need to start building engines that fit European standard.

• Tokok on Oct 17, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Iriz Iriz Iriz.. i notice that Proton tend to overhype their new models with all sorts of ways including those really cheezy taglines.. Preve’s “drive it to believe it” la, Suprima’s “Fully loaded with built in value” la.. now Iriz’s silly and equally strange “betul betul onz”.. i don’t even have a clue what that even means? Proton should really let their product quality do the talking.. only really good quality cars sells and able the lift the brand profile.. not hypes and taglines.. sigh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Lol11 on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Not to forget….Waja….Asia’s BMW…..despite all the hype they are still struggling. Even now, Iriz cannot beat myvi sales. When Perodua launches the new Myvi…Iriz is history…

• peyn0 on Oct 18, 2014 at 5:54 am

iriz still cannot beat myvi sales???
        iriz just in the market

u sooo stupid n really p2 macai jdm lover bit only can afford p2 meh

• sebulan pun tak sampai lagi hang Iriz punya sales potong myvi????
        …jadi kalau aku tanam padi hari ni, hang nak aku tuai esok????

• iskhalifah (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Hmm I wonder why they didn’t include the automatic engine start/stop for the local market launch in the first place? Better option compared to push start button & touch screen audio. This fuel saving tech had been used for quite long time among European small hatches.

Again, this act will sure make most of Malaysians felt that they are treated second class next to the Mat Salehs. Honestly. Remember the old UK-spec Wira days?

• jamaludin on Oct 17, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Proton wants this and that
    Start stop tech / diesel engine / ev /
    240kmh speedometer.
    Not as simple as going to Brothers and
    simply add on only?
    All these are technology which u have to pay
    due to massive R&D and car co’s won’t just sell
    you their trade secrets.
    Until we move away from the Tun Era with a merger with a bigger player then only will we see value to Proton’s cars and branding.

• budin on Oct 17, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Cannot stand the heat? Get out from the kitchen.

Cannot make cars properly, better close factory.

• Garfield (Member) on Oct 17, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Allow me to share my 20 sen thinking regarding the idle stop-start function. I’m wondering if those who for anything will bash P1, have they driven any car with that feature in hot sunny Malaysia?

Admittedly I’ve only borrowed a friend’s X3 EfficientDynamics. I noticed that the owner had turned that function off, so I asked him why. His answer was, the stop-start works during traffic crawls, BUT will also turn off the aircond compressor….. which made it unbearable under the heat. The starting up is also hardly smooth. So he turned the function off.

My point is the function will probably be only a bragging point rather than useful one. It will add to the price point, with bigger and more expensive batteries (I can imagine all the fitnah P1 will get when its time to change batteries).

When we’re ready (like, when the excise duty is low); then know that the tech is readily available by P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0rrr on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:34 pm

That’s why you need to get a Toyota Hybrid Synergy Drive (HSD), air cond compressor, power steering, water pump, brake pump is all running in electric. Whole car doesn’t have any belt or chain (even the CVT). Very reliable, very low maintenance, very fuel saving. You get MINIMUM 20km/l for 100% CITY drive also.

Even 20 years more (2034), Proton can’t make this kind of technology, you can mark my words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Errrr….anyone knows how many bookings already confirmed!!! What is the leadtime for delivery?

• Habibie on Oct 17, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Lol. Don’t get too excited.

All these are just future proofing the molds/designs/templates of the dash/dials components.

It has almost no bearing on whether such features will ever make it into any future variant.

• Harith on Oct 17, 2014 at 4:36 pm

I’ve never owned a proton, but I think its worth to believe in the beast of possibility even if proton still have a long way to go. Nothing in this world is perfect though.

• Mike001 on Oct 17, 2014 at 5:10 pm

The only way for proton to regain their No1 position is to buy Perodua. If not, there is no way they can regain their share. No Iriz or Iriz Turbo is going to make that happen. The majority of people are still with Perodua because of quality and reliability…yes and good resale value which is important in this segment.

• Typical rent seeking mentality. Buy this buy that. With this type of mentality, you let them buy Toyota also it won’t last long. Look at Sunrise, look at SP Setia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • peyn0 on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:20 pm

viva rv so good meh???
      everytine i see viva ownwer with new plate no… i feel pity at them

• Actually Viva is still more reliable than any Proton model. This is why people don’t mind the size than a bigger sedan saga.

• eddie shah on Oct 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Next Proton will want efficient dynamics of BMW
    Heads up display
    Predictive driving
    Laser lighting system
    Lane departure warning & preventive system
    Talk is cheap but does the IRIz deserve all these features?
    Perhaps Proton should go back to the drawing board and concerntrate on its premium fleet ie Preve, Future Perdana and not waste time on
    a compact.targetted for the mass in general and
    where price is the main determining factor.

• walauweh on Oct 17, 2014 at 10:33 pm

mr tok moh. current iriz already has smart alternator. what they dont have smart stop idle. i dunno smart stop idle on petrol car suit in malaysia traffic condition cuz for the time being in malaysia,only mazda equip it car with start stop idle function for petrol, n hell many auto journos feel discomfort with it when drivibg it here. mazda who created skyactive tech still not perfecting the art of smary stop idle,then u expect prtn to introduce it here in iriz?
    i think its suicidal . better prtn focus on getting the basic right 1st. atleast they manage to nail in safety expect.

why some malaysians, when prtn launch a car,expecting everything must be perfect. i mean if talk about prtn engine fc,it must be the best fuel efficient vehicle in the class,even beating every car,if not,fail.
    acceleration n top speed,must be the fastest 1.6 na segment b compact, if not,fail.

must be the most spacious inside n cargo compare to others, the most quality segment b in the world,n even expecting iriz to be the most cheapest b segment in the world with all the best in everything.

fiesta,has its own strength n weakness,same as jazz,same as polo n etc. nothing perfect.

of course iriz not perfect,but it has its own strength n weakness. same as others.

when talking bout fc,compare iriz with axia,talking bout spacious,compare with jazz,talking bout dynamic,compare with fiesta,compare bout quality,compare with polo,when talking bout reliability,compare to yaris,passo.
    talking bout price,compare back with axia.

if prtn nail everything,vw,hnda,toyota,ford n all,shud bungkus by now.

• true dat, but people punya reaction is a reflection of their pent up anger/frustrations jugak bro. As much as aku sokong P1 aku pun bengang jugak dengan P1. they brought it upon themselves. aku boleh paham sangat2 the feelings of those who hantam P1 kau2, and memang patut pun!
      sampai bila nak macama ni? sampai bila nak mediocre je? sampai bila nak harap kat protectionism? sampai bila nak jadi jaguh kampung je? sampai bila nak bagi alasan company masih muda dalam bidang ni? qoros punye 1st model dah boleh comptet head to head dengan conti cars already… how do you explain that?

• Ab.Kadir Ibrahim on Nov 23, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Just to share…Iriz is using new engines as claimed but when observed it likely Campro engines with a slight up grade on internal components i.e pair with new block plus VVT ( intake valves if not mistaken) and still used timing belt instead of timing chain…resulted extra maintenance cost and hidden problems if not aware.
    Currently majority of car players now is changing to timing chain this to ensure durability and reliability.
    Why proton cannot fight with this car players to start with timing chain……any comments plz.

• from 2023 on Feb 12, 2023 at 12:18 am

This comment article didn’t age well, maybe you guys should bring it up again