Fuel prices unchanged for April, RON 97 incl 6% GST

RON97 GST receipt

UPDATE: This story has been revised as of 1.30 am, April 1.

The Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) has announced that fuel prices will remain the same for April 2015 – RON 95 petrol will continue to be priced at RM1.95 a litre, RON 97 petrol at RM2.25 a litre and diesel at RM1.95 a litre. However, a KPDNKK spokesperson told Bernama that RON 97 petrol will be subject to the 6% Goods and Services Tax (GST) from April 1.

We decided to check on just how GST would be incorporated into the selling price of RON 97, heading out to fill up so we could get our hands on a receipt, which would show the mechanism of the tax within the RON 97 pricing structure.

We had initially reported that the inclusion of GST would effectively raise the price of RON 97 to RM2.385 a litre. It turns out that this isn’t the case – RON 97 essentially remains unchanged in price at RM2.25 per litre, and this is with GST included in the per litre retail price.

As shown in the receipt of our example fill, we pumped 16.448 litres of RON 97, amounting to RM37. The amount of 6% GST is listed in the receipt, but does not add to pricing per se (the particular receipt looks confusing because it was a ‘full tank’ fill off a RM100 deposit). Which means that however manner you choose to fill up (by litre or a set amount), RON 97 will always be priced at its retail point, GST inclusive.

Thanks to reader Jean, whose comment prompted us to verify the GST structure in RON 97 petrol.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam L00 on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:07 pm

buy camry hybrid..use less fuel..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 126
    • poorguy on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:20 pm

Sounds like a good idea to me ! How much do I have to top up after trading in my kancil ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 6
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:57 am

Oil is one thing. But we must ask ourselves why people not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% in car prices help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k before the GST.

So, why all the BN fanboys not asking the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat?

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA, MAI and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
      • Same Lorrr - Bee Dees Promoter on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:16 am

Now, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) have no choice but to join Parkson or Jusco and promote ladies undergarments. Nobody is going to touch Toyota with no VSC and only 2 airbags. So, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) can now only give discounts on Sorella, Bee Dees, Wacoal, Skiva, Triumph products.

• Buy an wind mill, you’ll save electricity.
      The never ending idiotic statements from sam poo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Lok on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:12 am

but still use fuel, right?

• Yes, buy GX 2.2 just few thousand, the remaining 174k can use for pump petrol, save a lot!

• Kind of surprise that ron95 not even drop 5 cent.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 9
    • based on the fuel price, suppose it drop. How come remain? barang naik tipu again :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 11
      • Gargantia on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:38 am

BN force Rakyat to use ron95 or suffer expensive fuel if choose Ron97…

BN the greatest liar, keep giving excuse and unreasonable answer to Rakyat.

All blame on currency exchange, well soon more to come prepare Rakyat “if you still blinded by BN”.

• Didn’t drop because of the value of the ringgit compared with USD. Oil is traded in USD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…Ya,the Ron 95 April pricing should be less 6% …but the G r the genius in calculation…CHIBAI

• jkept on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Walao, why u dont wait 1st april only post?

• Farker on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:26 pm

Import crude oil from South America for more cheaper price but use Brent Crude Price to cheat rakyat. Now don’t even want to reduce the price. Just rob lah, the day that party will down soon. Very soon. Feeling excited and worried.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 13
    • very funny when most of the oil we import comes from Arab

• Proxxymax on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:53 pm

Msian crude oil has lower sulphur content (“less sweet”), hence is better for combustion, n worth more than Arab oil. Rich countries like Japan buy from us; we buy fr Arabic countries, that’s why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
        • whatever on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:52 am

not many people know this, glad there is someone know.

• Typical attitude from local oil tycoons. Marginalize us malaysian by offering substandard sour crude based petroleum product. No wonder they have yet to offer Euro spec fuel cuz their refinery would probably explode if they refine the sour crude into a euro 5/6 fuel.

• abi abi on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:47 pm

if you dont know how the oil is traded pls don’t leave a comment in here..Please read before commenting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
  • Sleepy on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Typical decisions that would be made by my country leaders – always confusing – never fail to suprize the rakyat – BOLEH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Stupid on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:37 pm

Hallo Govn please show us how you calculate!! Average crude oil for March is lower than Feb and is about the same with Jan15. Petrol price should drop back to RM 1.70. Why still RM 1.95??? Really Hopeless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
    • Dear Stupid,
      USD now trading higher against MYR month on month.
      We are trading in USD. Hope that answers your question.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 14
      • kaizen on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:06 am

don’t bother, he is really stupid. that’s what he confess of himself.

• OMG…Dear rip…The April pricing for Ron 95 should be at least less 6% (RM1.83) since the Ron 97 remained after inclusive GST6%.

• domainicus on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:45 pm

Double whammy of GST and petrol price hike is a no-no its seems. Well not RON97 anyway.

• Stephen on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:50 pm

Buy Mitsubishi Attrage. 1 litre of fuel can run for 21km or more depending on your driving pattern. Been driving for almost 2 years,it really saves me a lot.Although it’s only 1.2cc but performance like 1.3cc.So for those who really want to save money on petrol may consider this car model but if you want more powerful performance for acceleration then go for other models. I’m only giving my opinion as a user & I’m not a Mitsubishi car dealer nor salesperson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • Aiman on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:36 am

Wow?1L/21km?but as i know that the monthly installment just like paid for Honda City.

• Isn’t RM2.25/L is already inclusive of GST 6%? You don’t have to add an extra 6% to it and make it RM2.385. Please clarify and amend the article.

So price for RON97 in April is RM2.25/L (incl 6%) with a base price of RM2.1226/L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • tokmoh. on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:28 am

So actually RON97 reduced price by 6%, then add back 6% GST, nett effect is nil?

In that case, we also pay 6% “GST” on RON95? So much for RON95 GST exempt eh?

• Cheater Bug on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:19 am

Right! So the base price of Ron97 has actually reduced from RM2.25/l to RM2.123/l, indicating a drop in market price.

The next question is of course why haven’t the prices of Ron95 and diesel drop accordingly. So much hanky-panky in the mechanism, a sure trademark of the govn.

• Stephen on Mar 31, 2015 at 10:59 pm

Buy Mitsubishi Attrage. 1 litre of fuel can run for 21km or more depending on your driving pattern. Been driving for almost 2 years,it really saves me a lot.Although it’s only 1.2cc but performance like 1.3cc.So for those who really want to save money on petrol may consider this car model but if you want more powerful performance for acceleration then go for other models. I’m only giving my opinion as a user & I’m not a Mitsubishi car dealer nor salesperson.Because I know I can’t count on hopeless Government to drop price so somehow I have to sustain myself with this kind of constant changes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
  • I’m happy that GST came in, because it’s only then that those silly ppl who blindly follow BN knows what is installed for them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • TooHappy on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:41 am

Too soon to be happy, you know…if those people are really “intelligence”, we wouldn’t even suffer like this. All we need is total unity but still some peoples are born “blind”

• from giving subsidy, they not giving the subsidy, and then now they imposed gst on fuel..lucky only ron97…”lucky”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • PorscheCarreraGT on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:09 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah!

• lalalala on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:10 pm

nate beruk

• before, given subsidy for fuel..then they take out the subsidy..now they imposed gst on fuel..lucky only ron97..”lucky”

• In order to to survived for living in this country, I’ve made a big change in my life especially when it comes to transportation. Look below how I downgraded my previous car till now.

Hyundai Sonata—> Honda City—> Myvi—> Motorbike—> Bicycle???(soon)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 2
  • Dun forget hybrid battery also got GST!

• Hidup Been Susah on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Life been suffering & now more suffering with GST coming up. Fuel price suka suka increase, don’t care you like or dislike, don’t care you live or die…Malaysian being fooled,being robbed & being sabotaged with all those empty promises before election….Now that’s the price we paid & we will continue to pay…if we don’t change!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • Cannot tahan with our pathetic Government…Said Malaysia Boleh! Boleh Apa? Boleh ada GST,Boleh naik harga, Boleh tipu rakyat, yang lain semua tak Boleh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • takNakP1 on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:32 pm

i m curious what’s in RON95 that they try so hard to force everyone to use. After all is already priced higher…

truly bolehland

• Formula on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Where is the formula to calculate? I thought they wanna release it to the public.

Hidden formula again?

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Menyusah org. Why can’t show price inclusive tax?

Always like this, display price then gotta mental calculate + this + that. As if people can opt to not pay GST, service charge etc, and pay as advertised price.

In UK, I see item price £1, I will definitely pay £1, not £1 + 0.10 + 0.06 + + + +

Bodoh malas businessmen here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • KERAjaan on Mar 31, 2015 at 11:46 pm

tahniah buat pengundi BN serta kroni2nya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • BN = Baru Naik, Besok Naik, Bagi Naik, Boleh Naik… sampai bawah tak boleh naik… Undilah BN untuk masa depan yang lebih BANYAK NAIK lagi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • Superglue on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:18 am

Harga mau turun…..sikit, sikit, lambat, lambat…

Harga mau naik…….banyak, banyak, cepat, cepat…

Thank you, BN govt. We love you until we are dead(and dry).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • sick&tired on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:29 am

why want to charge GST for ron97!!?? we are already paying high prices for cars. Now government not subsidising petrol+high tax for car+GST!!?? what is going on! all this happen after GE! if GST is good, why don’t they do it before elections!!??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • G=GOVERNMENT
    S=SAY
    T=THANK YOU

for all your contributions so that they can continue to suck up all your money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Negara Kita
    ———–
    Sebelum undi mulut manis bergaya
    Lepas undi baru tunjuk muka
    Bagi janji tak pernah dikota
    Naik harga bila bila masa
    Tak kisah suka tak suka
    Masih benggang nak tahu kenapa?
    Sebab sesetengah orang mudah diperdaya
    Akhirnya kita semua hidup sengsara
    Jangan salahkan orang atau sesiapa
    Biar Tepuk dada tanya selera
    Dah berapa lama kita kecewa?
    Masih tak sedar macam biasa
    Ekonomi merosot hutang berkali ganda
    Sampai 2020 pun tak berjaya
    Inilah fakta sebenar negara kita!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 3
  • mahadi on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:06 am

Rakyat didahulukan Janji Dicapati
    Time and time again the rakyat got played-out
    Crude oil futures pointing to lower levels and
    yet petrol prices is at status quo.
    Could we have some transparency & the calculation
    as a reference?

• Thanks for the update and clarification. It would be more interesting if you can get different receipt sample (Best would be for all 3 products, or just RON97 pun boleh lah) from the 5 different petrol stations (namely Petronas, Shell, Caltex, Petron, and BHPetrol) and see the mechanism that each is using for the GST implementation. A good reference for your readers. Challenge accepted? ;)

• The odd thing is that since they removed the subsidy from RON95, the notices about foreign vehicles not being allowed to buy 95 have come down but the stations STILL do not allow foreigners to buy 95.
    Is it a conspiricy to make more money?

• Renan on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:22 am

What’s in Ron 95, gud question..
    Did a little research myself last month goin to Perak from KL..

SAGA FLX 1.3

Ron 95 RM 50 = 270 km
    Ron 97 RM 50 = 345 km

Both times pump fuel when de petrol light started blinking..

Ron 95 is just a very low grade petrol wic burns way faster..
    So it’s rely not “Pilihan Jimat” like they say!

• A Yasir on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:15 am

Please do see the picture of the receipt properly.

Those who purchases RON97 will get their full amount in litres.

For example :
    1 litre of RON 97 now, price valid throughout April 2014, in West Malaysia ( not sure about the pricing at East Malaysia ) is RM 2.25, inclusive of GST which is set at 6%.

If one purchases RM 22.50 worth of RON 97 in West Malaysia, he / she will receive 10 litres of RON 97. It will be depicted in the receipt.

The 6% GST costs, which will be depicted in the receipt, is borned by the dealer of the petrol station where he / she bought the RM 22.50’s worth of RON 97. Although it is borned by the dealer / operator of the petrol station, it must be stated on the receipt as it is a must to do so ( by the dealer / operator of the petrol station ). This is because the GST auto – calculation done by the back-office PC ( the PC that controls the cashier’s till / register ) will do a daily / weekly / monthly calculation on how much GST the dealer / operator can legally claim from the Government.

Get it?

Next time don’t simply come out with your own conclusions without understanding the whole picture lads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • driver on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:45 am

http://i.imgur.com/HYQgPFB.jpg

• Anak Din on Apr 02, 2015 at 12:49 pm

GST borne by the petrol dealers? You think Mydin owns them or what? The Petrol Dealers Association has been crying out loud for making losses as the while, the latest being today. Absorbing GST for you is the last thing they would ever do.

The fact is that the market price of RON97 has dropped from RM2.25/l to RM2.123/l, the effect which was negated by gst. The question is why RON95 and diesel have not dropped accordingly in tandem with RON97.

Get it?

Next time don’t simply come out with your own conclusion without understanding the whole picture.

• Suka GST on Apr 01, 2015 at 5:42 am

Happy GST to all Malaysians..
    GST celebration nationwide
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X07ddQ5G-Fs

• kereta_lembu on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:02 am

With RON97 maintaining its price at RM2.25/litre (with GST included), it indicates that the actual selling price of RON97 has dropped. Consumers won’t feel any changes because there’s no price drop or hike in this sense. However, what puzzles me is that RON97 price dropped but RON95 price remain unchanged. So…I guess we’re being duped yet again. No matter which type of petrol you choose to pump, there’s only one winner and its definitely NOT the consumers.

• No point of using RON97 if your car can’t take advantage of it. Regular unleaded fuel in the US is RON92 and most naturally aspirated cars run fine with that.

Unless you drive a car with a turbocharger or a high-performance car (VW recommends RON95+), you don’t need a higher octane fuel since your Vios or Camry can’t make full use of it…

• Jimmy on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:36 pm

Fair decision.
    Less burden on the less-rich groups.

• but shell increased price for V Power Racing. It was RM 2.70 before 1st April. Now it’s RM 2.86, which is 6% GST inclusive. However no justification on why the increase of V Power Racing.

• With the introduction of GST and the government scrapping the Sales Tax, shouldn’t our pretrol/diesl price be coming down significantly? This is especially true when the government announced no GST for diesel and Ron 95, but only on Ron 97. Diesel sales tax was 19.64 cent a liter while both Ron 97 and Ron 95 had a 58.62 cent per liter sales tax. Prior to April, the Ron 97/95 and Diesel were R2.25, 1.95 and 1.95 respectively. If you remove the sales tax, their pre-tax price should be R1.6638 for Ron 97, R1.3638 for Ron 95 and R1.7536 for diesel. With only GST applicable to Ron 97, the April pump price should be RM1.7636 for Ron 97, RM1.3638 for Ron 95 and RM1.7536 for diesel. Pls correct me if I am wrong.