2016 Toyota Hilux to get new 2.4 and 2.8 litre engines plus a six-speed automatic gearbox?

Toyota-Hilux-Spyshots-0006

Here’s some news for pick-up truck aficionados. Reports around the Internet are suggesting that the 2016 Toyota Hilux may be getting brand new 2.4 and 2.8 litre turbodiesel engines, plus the option of a six-speed automatic transmission!

Rumours are that the smaller 2.4 litre VNT (Variable Nozzle Turbo) unit will output 150 PS and 343 Nm of torque with a standard five-speed manual gearbox, and 167 PS and 400 Nm in six-speed auto form. The 2.8 litre VNT engine, meanwhile, is said to offer 177 PS and either 420 Nm (manual) or 450 Nm (auto) of torque.

If true, this compares favourably to the existing model’s 144 hp/343 Nm 2.5 litre and 163 hp/343 Nm 3.0 litre VNT engines, not to mention the four-speed automatic transmission currently offered. The five-speed manual – one cog down on the manual Ford Ranger and Nissan Navara – could be a slight disappointment to some.

As for looks, what appears to be a leaked brochure of the next-generation pick-up truck was recently leaked. Of course, none of this has been confirmed by Toyota as of yet, so let’s reserve our judgement until it has all been made official, shall we?

GALLERY: 2016 Toyota Hilux testing in Europe

GALLERY: 2015 Toyota Hilux TRD Sportivo

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sam loo is gonna be happy :/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Sam tan on Apr 25, 2015 at 8:53 pm

Why bother about the junior sales man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrrr on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:54 pm

You won’t go wrong with sushi car.

Get a Hilux, you will get back half of your car price after 9 years, this is what we called RV!

• Stanley on Apr 25, 2015 at 6:15 pm

It doesn’t matter what the rest of the world is having, it depends on what umw want to give you. It is currently the best selling pick up truck, umw might just do a external facelift and maintain the old engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Jimmy on Apr 25, 2015 at 10:40 pm

And 2 airbags + 0 ESP .

And the tendency to menjadi sebuah Ninja Turtle. Ninja Turtle mandi air sungai, berfoto sama pokok ……

No mercy to Ninja Turtle jika mereka pernah membuli orang lain kat jalan.

• Gaviny on Apr 25, 2015 at 6:21 pm

Six speed OPTION ? When everyone else is offering as standard

Like quite unintelligent

• The original sports trucks. Even with 4-speed GB, taukes and foremen were flying on the highways with them. Give them 6-speed and power boost will fly them to the moon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Head Hunter on Apr 25, 2015 at 7:28 pm

For sure the current engine will soldier on because of our diesel. That’s what happened with the Triton, the fuel makes the difference for the engine choice in our country. What to do??? Looks good though. No longer a pussy like before..

• If the new engine comes with euro 5 emission, then Malaysian would just dream of it.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 25, 2015 at 9:47 pm

This new hai-lat gotta makes the Triton, Ranger, D-Max all hai-lat already, hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • It’s 25 April already.
    April fools come late this year?

• albag on Apr 25, 2015 at 11:35 pm

when the hell is Tan Chong gonna bring in the all new Navara???

• sam L00 on Apr 26, 2015 at 7:24 am

why not improve the clutch..i having clutch slip when in 3rd gear with 2.5vnt.. better put in beral clutch from thai and tune up the torque..we need torque

• Ganstar on Apr 26, 2015 at 8:15 am

Just another latest model to cater those rude driver.

• Ford Ranger, Nissan Navara, Chevrolet Colorado, Mazda BT-50, Isuzu D-Max, Mitsubishi Triton, Jeep Wrangler are far far better than Toyota Hilux.
    Last time very disappointed driven Toyota Hilux 3.0, suck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • GT3 (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 10:03 am

Finally. And ‘yeayyy’ to the new Hilux owner, now they can really act like king of the road, cucuk2 people everywhere, cilok left and right lane without signals. They’re already king now, thinking that they’re driving an F-150 SVT Raptor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 26, 2015 at 10:04 am

Finally, I can fly with Hilux… 6 spd auto will take me flying to Africa…

• roxas on Apr 26, 2015 at 10:57 am

so many syok sendiri comment

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:18 am

My 10 year old Hilux (purposed to show kimchi owners that they are beyond Hailat) is still worth RM35k (original price is 2005 ~RM90k)

A 2014 Sonata (purchase price ~RM145k)is worth less than that (~RM32k)

I rest my case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Snobs on Apr 26, 2015 at 2:26 pm

Where can i get my hands on a 2014 Sonata for 32k like u said? I tell u what, i will give u 50k for it. The rest as your commission. Now, the only problem is can u back up your talk with the walk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Rover (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 2:30 pm

I’ll buy a Sonata from you. 32k deal

• blaster88 on Apr 26, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Come on Sam…..please put your money where your mouth is…there are 2 people wanting to buy a 2014 Sonata from you at 32K! Empty vessel makes the most noise?

• KarTiN (Member) on Apr 26, 2015 at 6:35 pm

Add me to the list of takers for 32k. You have got to bet a car sales man talking rubbish, used car salesman possibly.

• PM me, I want 2014 Sonata with RM32k top up another RM18k I also want. I dun want use RM35k buy shit

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 27, 2015 at 10:52 pm

Trade in Value is the price I buy the car from sorhai tai lan ngong kimchi owners.

Selling price for these units vary.

Trading used kimchis is far more profitable than Toyota or Honda.

How much I earn is a trade secret. Don’t forget that there is GST nowadays

• Really on Apr 26, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Don’t be too happy bcos UMW still have the say on what specs they want to bring in here. Case in point: the current Hilux and Fortuner comes with 5-speed auto after facelift in Thailand and other places but what does our Hilux come with? Yes, the same 4-speed since its 2005 launch.

• Veneno on Apr 26, 2015 at 3:53 pm

why the hell the auto version have better output figure..?? F**k auto..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • blaster88 on Apr 26, 2015 at 4:02 pm