Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT now in Malaysia – RM699k

Jeep_Grand_Cherokee_SRT_Malaysia_ 002

Jeep Malaysia has officially announced the availability of the Jeep Grand Cherokee SRT in Malaysia. The powerful SUV, powered by a 6.4 litre V8 HEMI engine is priced at RM698,889 as per our initial report back in March 2015.

That’s a RM230k premium over the V6-powered Grand Cherokee Overland variant, but it’s also significantly cheaper than rivals like the Range Rover Sport 5.0 V8 Supercharged which costs close to RM1 million.

You’ll be able to differentiate it from a regular Grand Cherokee via deep aggressive bumpers, blacked-out grille surrounds, bonnet vents, and large 20-inch Black Chrome split five-spoke wheels which hide powerful Brembo brakes behind them.

Jeep_Grand_Cherokee_SRT_Malaysia_ 036

The HEMI engine under the hood makes 461 hp and 624 Nm of torque, which takes the SUV to 100 km/h in under five seconds – blisteringly fast for such a large machine. Shifting duty is performed by an eight-speed automatic with paddle shifters and a Launch Control mode for maximum acceleration from a stand-still. It rides on an SRT-specific Selec-Track dynamic suspension with five settings to choose from, including a Track mode that sends 70% of the power to the rear wheels.

If for some reason you get bored of the sound of the HEMI V8, there’s the 19-speaker Harman Kardon sound system to entertain you. The interior also gets an SRT steering wheel, carbon-fibre bits and suede inserts.

Since the 6.4 litre HEMI is in an SUV body in this case, road tax costs isn’t as painful as it could be – the OTR price includes a road tax cost of RM7,107.20 instead of over RM17k had this been a sedan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:09 am

SRT = suri rumah tangga.

Good for First Lady of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • George Abdul on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:26 pm

Yes better spend the money on property…

The price and road taxes = Malaysia a truly expensive place to owning a car.

• @george abdul; tell that to singaporean.

• George Abdul on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:54 pm

They know it btw…

But look at singapore economic and food price still way way better then Malaysia.

Kid don’t just stay in Bolehland go learn more about others country economic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Are u sure?
            I wonder why most of my Singaporean member didn’t own a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • Bulu Ketiak on Apr 27, 2015 at 5:03 pm

Most Singaporean do not need a car because their public transport is so damn good. In Malaysia, especially outside the Klang Valley public transportation sucks to the max therefore owning a car is compulsory unless you plan to stay home all the time.

Please visit other countries more often for exposure sake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • dr rif on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:38 pm

In the US Jeep is a redneck common man’s car – its costs $64,895…its nuts, really nuts to pay 700K for this car. Buy a Range Rover instead.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:13 am

the legendary Hemi finally in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • applegreen on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:14 am

wow!

• This or BMW on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:21 am

I wonder who would buy this over the BMW X6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Anyone who values speed over brand? I would pick this any day over a bimmer. I am Canadian working here in your bolehland btw. You Asians are to brand oriented.

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:22 am

RM7k road tax is assuming it is registered as a company commercial non-sedan. If it is registered under personal vehicle it’ll be classified as a sedan thus RM17k road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Why register under personal vehicle will be classified as sedan? It’s obviously a big cc SUV instead of sedan…

• you think people who can afford to buy this think of the road tax price ah?

• Road tax system in malaysia should be change. Gila punya system. Above 3000 cc suddenly the price went up like crazy.

• zamer on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:42 pm

i would love to see some badass CEO coming out from this at office lobby..it will be the coolest CEO rather than normal S-class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Bernard on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:24 pm

I guess 99.99% of the population cant buy this.

• you better own a petrol station to have this one, 6.4L it’s just crazy

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:10 pm

Why would anyone buy this over a Cayenne beats me.

• Nenek Kau on Apr 27, 2015 at 3:06 pm

Because on normal street, both kayen and jeep are on par with the speed, but definitely it will be more addictive to the noise of that Hemi.

• Bulu Ketiak on Apr 27, 2015 at 5:06 pm

Because the Cayenne is so common and is even more expensive.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:26 pm

The big V8 Hemi is finally here to haul ass on the road and in the jungles. Or haul flatpacked furniture from Ikea, if you fancy the concrete jungle variety. And it will scare BMW X6, Range Rover Sport & Porsche Cayenne drivers along the way.

At RM700k “only”, thats a pretty good deal. Maybe fuel efficiency is not its strong point (18MPG combined or 7.6km/l for those using metric figures), but hey, if you can afford a car with an RM7.1k annual road tax, why not.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:12 pm

SRT and HEMI baby, the American muscle has finally officially arrived here in Bolehland. Plunk in a good after market exhaust system and drool over the sound it can make from the V8 engine and its proper quick to boot. We’re talking close to BMW X6M performance here.

• No need for aftermarket exhaust. It sounds nuts and it’s silly to break that.

• Josh Ling on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:57 pm

this is one badass SUV!! if i were filthy rich, it will be one of my top priorities to buy!!

• hazamiey on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:44 pm

If you consider using this car for 20 years (before letting it go), with RM7.1 k roadtax per year, it will translates to RM 142,000. If you add it to the SRT price of RM 699k that would be RM 842,000. Still lower than the price of spanking brand new X5M or X6M that will start from RM 1.1 mil (you must consider roadtax for these models also for the next 20 years which is RM 77k). Plus you are paying less insurance per year compared to X5M or X6M. The other competitor in this segment will be RR Sport SVR which will also be priced more than RM 1 mil (this one is 5000cc and high road tax as well). So, ownership for this monster SRT consider not bad for those who can afford it. The only caveat will be fuel consumption. The aural pleasure for this monster is intoxicating. The only thing that come close to it in Malaysia could be the Cayyene GTS with its NA 4.7 v8. But that porsche lacks performance compared to this SRT. It also price from 800k before WITHOUT roadtax, insurance and options. And you know how much Porsche’s options will cost you.

• cost USD64k in the U.S.

• jarhead on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:04 pm

American muscle. #Murrica