VIDEO: 600 hp Audi TT Clubsport Turbo at Wörthersee

You’ve seen it, now see it in action. The Audi TT Clubsport Turbo Concept will be heading to this year’s Wörthersee Tour in Austria, but for those who aren’t lucky enough to be in Reifnitz, the good folks from Ingolstadt have prepared a video for us.

Inspired by the successful Audi 90 IMSA GTO of the late 1980s, the TT Clubsport Turbo Concept wears aggressive armour. As hinted by the swollen angular fenders, the Clubsport Turbo is wider than the standard TT by 14 cm. They’re open at both ends, allowing air from the car’s slipstream to flow through and cool the brakes. The single-frame grille and large air inlets are also optimised for maximum air eating capacity.

The manually adjustable rear wing is an advanced development of the Audi Sport TT Cup’s. It’s 20 cm wider here, and the side flaps, which feature the four rings, were given a new geometry. The wing, as well as other add-ons, are made from carbon-fibre reinforced polymer (CFRF). 20-inch rims complete the package

Under the hood is a 2.5 litre TFSI engine with 600 hp and 650 Nm of torque, the latter available from 3,000 to 7,000 rpm. The five-cylinder engine is paired to a six-speed manual transmission and power goes to all corners via quattro AWD. The 1,396 kg TT does 0 to 100 km/h in 3.6 seconds, on to a top speed of 310 km/h.

Fahraufnahme

An electrically powered compressor revs up to max rpm rapidly and without any perceptible delay, and it continues to boost charge pressure when too little drive energy is left in the exhaust gas for the conventional turbocharger. This makes it possible to design the conventional turbo for high charge pressures, and consequently for high engine power – the e-turbo assures spontaneous response from low engine speeds.

A dedicated 48-volt electrical sub-system supplies energy to the turbocharger. A compact lithium-ion battery in the boot stores the energy that is generated by recuperation when coasting. A DC/DC converter provides the connection to the 12-volt electrical system.

The Clubsport Turbo’s exhaust system is designed for minimal back-pressure; a side pipe to the ambient air is located immediately after the racing-type muffler. The 2.5 TFSI engine is cooled by a racing-type radiator.

Audi Malaysia launched the latest Audi TT in Malaysia last week. The third-generation coupe is powered by a 2.0 TFSI engine with 230 hp and 370 Nm, good for 0-100 km/h in 5.9 seconds and a top speed of 250 km/h. It is priced at RM284,900 on-the-road with GST, without insurance, with a list of tasty options to consider.

Audi TT 2.0 TFSI in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• How much power also no point, this car just looks sissy Period. I will go for Porsche or GTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
    • NPG GTH on May 14, 2015 at 12:15 pm

Talk so much can’t even afford Kancil. Go eat $hit la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • Jimmy on May 14, 2015 at 1:44 pm

The new TT looks cantiq to me, and garang with the above modifications.

• I just put up my opinion, this is what the forum all about, why such a nasty reaction?
        Is this how your parent teach you? ask people to eat $hit when they have different opinion from you?
        I suggest you better go to seek a doctor for mental rehab.

• blaster88 on May 14, 2015 at 7:28 pm

That is why personally I prefer BMW and Mercedes. See too many Audi fanboys, they are immature and rude.

• Wow.. a manual!! <3

• doesn’t look so fast in the video.

• VW_rocks on May 14, 2015 at 1:23 pm

wow! Properly modded. If compare to the (3.6 liters bi-chargers) 700hp Golf-R. I wonder who is faster?

• waters on May 14, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Car costs 285k, but the models…285

• firestone on May 14, 2015 at 3:17 pm

looks like an audi with casing…