GALLERY: Peugeot 508 THP facelift in showrooms

Peugeot 508 THP Facelift 2

The launch of the facelifted Peugeot 508 is clearly imminent – we’ve just seen the range-topping GT turbodiesel that is currently on display at Mid Valley Megamall, and today we bring you first showroom pictures of the petrol THP variant.

Looking at it from the outside, there are new claw-shaped adaptive LED headlights, slimmer trapezoidal chrome grille that incorporates the lion badge (previously on the bonnet) and reshaped lower air intakes incorporating the LED daytime running lights (these double as indicators). This particular version sits on the same 18-inch wheels as on the current Premium, indicating that it replaces the outgoing mid-spec variant.

At the rear, the LED tail lights retain their three-bar graphics, but they’re of a cleaner design this time around, and the reverse and indicator lights are now arranged at the bottom instead of being in between the bars. The black rear bumper insert is also wider than before – here, they feature chrome bars that frame the reflectors; on the GT they’re replaced by visible dual exhaust exits.

Peugeot 508 THP Facelift 15

Very little has changed on the inside – as we mentioned before, the iDrive-style rotary controller for the central display has disappeared, with a new roll-top cubby hole taking its place. Instead, the seven-inch display is now a touchscreen; this also explains why the radio preset buttons on the centre stack have disappeared, as they are now controlled by touch.

One point of contention is the monochrome multi-information display in the instrument cluster – on the current Premium variant it’s a colour LCD unit, shared with the GT.

Under the bonnet sits the same Prince 1.6 litre THP turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder engine as before, but it’s now upgraded to 163 hp at 6,000 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,400-4,250 rpm (the same tune as on the 3008 and 5008, as well as the Citroën DS4). Power is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed automatic transmission.

Peugeot 508 THP Facelift 40

Kit count remains the same as before and includes keyless entry, push-button start, auto lights (including auto high beam) and wipers, leather upholstery, power-operated front seats, four-zone automatic climate control, navigation, a colour head-up display, a JBL 10-speaker sound system and manual sun blinds for both the rear side windows and, bizarrely, the rear windscreen.

Safety-wise, there’s six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill start assist and Isofix child seat anchors at the rear, unchanged from the outgoing car.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• sudonano (Member) on May 15, 2015 at 8:04 pm

By far the 508 has been Naza’s best effort with Peugeot. Its been a real success, which is the reason why they are still here.

Now if only they did the same with Chevy….

Still think this has to be one of the best cruisers out there. Especially the 2.2GT diesel. Oh the torque…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • Pinky on May 15, 2015 at 10:11 pm

Somehow this car looks really alike with the new Hyundai Sonata.. Inside out..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • sudonano (Member) on May 16, 2015 at 9:43 am

The 508 feels miles ahead of the Sonata in terms of quality and premium-ness.

Though the Sonata does have a huge back seat, but even then I find the 508 seats more comfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • my thought as well..but a poor design copy from sonata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • cendol (Member) on May 16, 2015 at 10:12 am

the one and only reason Chevy is not sellable in Malaysia is because of the ‘cross’ .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • gestte on May 16, 2015 at 8:21 pm

Proof?

• mythbuster on May 16, 2015 at 11:39 pm

So narrow minded. Next time pls don’t use plus symbol in mathematics bcoz its also looks like similar as u stated. Pls leave comments related to automotive.

• lowprofile (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 9:42 am

Tale of 2 different principals with very, very different approaches to Malaysia and how they perceive our country, what we buy, what we would like to buy etc. Again, they are very different in how they want to move their brand here. The importer unfortunately has to play to their tune most of the time.

• Pakcik on May 15, 2015 at 8:11 pm

This is one handsome car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • DPCraft on May 15, 2015 at 8:46 pm

I see old Honda Accord front

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
  • Same L0rrrr on May 15, 2015 at 8:58 pm

No RV car. Just like the kimchis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
    • This MORON person of the century so call Same LOrrr is trying desperately and sweating to stop high income bracket buyers from buying better high Tech and stronger Continental cars and good looking sensible Korean Cars.

This Same LOrrr only wants to push out those Japanese Toyota Camry New Junk cars to the high bracket income buyers .

THis stupid Moron branding is RV .

Where in today world had TOYOTA given us good RV. DEPRECIATION of Camry is in its worst to come. Bear in mind the latest TOYOTA front grill design looks like cartoons same goes with LEXUS .TOYOTA IS NOT A PREMIUM CAR BUT JUST ANOTHER SHIT JUNK NEW CAR ON THE ROAD.

This guy is just a NUT , totaLLY nut . Even when he sleeps he will only dream and murmur RV to himself till HE becomes insane.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 6
      • Mr. Wong on May 16, 2015 at 8:03 am

OH shut up already. Its people like you who feed the trolls like Sam that makes him post more nonsense at every other post.

He would have stopped if everyone stopped replying him or even bother thumbing his posts. U guys asked for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Come to think of it, I think you are right Mr. Wong. Why dont we give it a try and see what happen…

• Same L0rrrr on May 16, 2015 at 10:22 am

You must be the sorhai kimchi drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • This moronic person so name : Same LOrrr is sweating and trying desperately to STOP high income buyers from buying High Tech, comfortable, strong body Continental cars and even good looking and much improved Korean cars.

This person is always fishing ppl to buy junk Toyota new cars. Actually new Camry cars is a piece of SHIT , the front grill design looks like cartoon ” Transformer ” and same goes for New Lexus.

Lately Toyota had been facing Massive worldwide recall ( air bag) and their sudden acceleration had cost lives in USA in which they had deny always . Sales of Toyota cars in europe especially France had been very low.
      Why? plenty of good cars to choose and no reason to buy a TOYOTA.

In China, if you buy a Japanese cars , you are not classify as rich . The rich only drives continental cars and well to do will be US and korean cars.So Japs cars cannot command volume for chinese buyers. Period.

So even when Same lorrr sleeps, this guy will always dream and murmur of nothing except RV till he becomes obsessed and insane in time to come.

Toyota nowadays is losing its shine on RV especiaLLY CAMRY. RV on Camrys are just bad and same goes with most expensive cars. What is this Same LOrrr still living and dreaming under a coconut shell about RV.

Please we want good tech , specs , SAFETY ( most important ) , strong body , comfort cars in which most Jap cars CANNOT provide when compare to continental cars.

GOOD SAFETY SAVE LIVES
      RV DOES NOT SAVE LIVES
      Can little extra money change spare parts for human just like cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • lorr lorr on Oct 03, 2015 at 8:53 pm

peugeot owner butthurt, hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• Any ideas when the facelift 208 is coming?

• vie vie kong on May 17, 2015 at 9:01 pm

208fl with 1.2 turbo n 6 speed please..i swear to god i trade in my 3 door 208 straight away if below 100k. My 208 is an awesome car, love it more than my civic but let down but the gearbox.

Nasim if you listening, this is my christmas wish

• Not sure abt the 1.2 turbo but it’s definitely coming with a 6 speed since there’s no 4 speed box the the lineup anymore.

• Areyousure on May 15, 2015 at 10:10 pm

The front grille looks like Volvo… I still prefer the 508’s design before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Nasi lemak on May 15, 2015 at 10:36 pm

Been waiting for this fl.
    Hopefully naza place a fair price tag!
    Not like sdac on the new mondeo! 200k!!!!!ouchs!!!!

• Different power different price

• Honestly for 240bhp & all the tech included, 200k is not a bad price.

• redknapp on May 18, 2015 at 2:47 pm

it’s 204bhp..

• cha read properly la http://paultan.org/2015/03/09/2015-ford-mondeo-ecoboost-malaysian-specification-and-pricing-revealed-rm203800-otr/mondeo-price-spec-sheet-1/

• nabill (Member) on May 16, 2015 at 1:41 am

That rear kink reminds me of Chris Bangle work of da 7 series e65…
    But this really is a handsome car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • WUV69XX on May 16, 2015 at 10:41 am

Ye… if your pocket hv not money please dont ever own one… only money men afford to ride peugeot… Malaysian only got GST… That why malaysian become hater to peugeot brands… hhahaha…

I am 407 owner… my friends of mine (datok) own BMWs sport and BMW X1… He told me Peugeot 407 is much better ride than his BMWs… ma…. He plans to own one in near future… Come on Peugeot haters read my statement… This Datok got a couple of BMWs… really appreciated me as peugeot owner!!!
    No money dont talk about peugeot maa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • If all you want is comfort then drive a Citroen DS but I highly doubt theres many on the market. So the next best thing is the Citroen C6 /C5. Yes you will lose all your money but it’s definitely the most comfortable way of doing it.

And about the 407, it is smooth but the 4 speed box makes it quite noisy on highway speeds. However I still think my old C5 is better in terms of comfort. The 407 has a good blend of comfort and sporty but still tuned towards comfort. BMWs on the other hand is tuned more towards sporty handling. I know because I actually own both a 2002 C5 & 2009 407. And drove a relative’s E60 530i.

• hang on why is the LCD on the speedo not a color LCD anymore?

• theanswer on May 18, 2015 at 10:11 am

not sure about the premium. but turbo s lcd is non coloured like in the picture.

• ss427 on May 16, 2015 at 11:23 am

Hmm… a French Hyundai Sonata… LOL…

It just shows that the Koreans designs are so damn good that the French have no choice but to copy from the Koreans as well. They can’t pull anything more unique than what the Koreans had done

Great job Hyundai /Kia!! :) And shut up Sam Loo, you should try even harder convincing people why they need to spent so much money on your near 16 yr old Avanza, Innova, Fortuner and Hilux crap.

You need to tell them why low efficiency truck engines (and really lousy ones for that matter, considering what the Europeans are offering for their light trucks) mounted on ladder frame chassis and driving a live rear axle setup can beat the shit outta any super high tech and modern offerings from Korea and Euro and Americans.

You need to work super hard to convince carrot heads why a 2.7L engine makes just 157hp in 2015… and why that engine still uses engine driven radiator fan, and why such setup can beat the shit outta Koreans 250hp, 2L Turbo GDI with almost extra 60% torque o/p despite having a smaller engine. And why the Koreans engine offer much better fuel economy while able to put out much higher power.

Sam Loo makes a poor salesman by just using one reason alone… RV… and even the most daft carrot heads will get a rude shock when he realize how much his dear Avanza, Innova, Fortuner shit is worth when he tried to trade it in after 12 mths (Sam’s favorite number)

Work harder Sam, consider yourself unlucky to stumble upon a car forums with many well informed, technically trained members, and one from Singapore too LOL. Your smoke blindly tactics doesn’t work here anymore

• panjang on May 16, 2015 at 11:40 am

Drove the pre facelift version.Have to say its a great cruiser.Good car indeed at cheap price considering the spec.

The facelift unit somehow remind me of mitsubishi gallant when look from the front.still,a handomse cruiser.

• theanswer on May 18, 2015 at 10:12 am

yep..pre facelift is a good cruiser for 150k car. of course comfort put aside.

• Performance and design honda accord wins hands down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • i_the_kiasu_people on May 16, 2015 at 1:52 pm

I prefer the old front look..but the rear looks better than the out going..

• Merc real Euro on May 16, 2015 at 2:15 pm

VW Passout will sweat even more with this new car on the market.

• New Passat on May 16, 2015 at 11:29 pm

German engineering way better than French. Not to mention new passat way better looking, if they can sell below 200K it will make the Pug pass out even more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • what do u mean will sweat even more?

• This car look good in real.
    more mature this time and interior is classy.
    a big no was just the estimated price was ard 175k.

• Danny on May 16, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Is facelifted 508 SW GT coming??

• intermilan on May 16, 2015 at 9:29 pm

Having a sunblind for the rear windscreen is not bizarre.

• Daniel on May 17, 2015 at 2:52 am

If I’m not mistaken,what it meant was that the rear windscreen’s sunblind is Manually Operated,whereas other cars in its class are activated in a flick of a button. Heck,this is the only D segment car I know that has this ‘bizarre’ feature,correct me if I’m wrong.

• Manual sunshade is just one less thing to go wrong. Plus I usually just leave it on.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 18, 2015 at 9:17 am

Is the gearbox Aisin like in the new 308 THP?

• Salwani85 on May 18, 2015 at 10:17 am

It’s a perfect car in every detail but too bad the distributor’s after sales services makes bad impression in the potential buyer eyes..

• leonardo on May 18, 2015 at 10:18 am

The exterior is quite okay aesthetically, but it is the interior that I have an issue with. As everyone knows, Peugeot and Citreon are ‘cousins’ as they belong to PSA group. But when you compare the interior of the DS4/DS5 with the 508, the 508 is surprising bland and tasteless, for an upmarket car. There seems to be too much plastics all around and not enough ‘brightworks’ found on a car within this segment. It looks like an interior of a car in the C segment.
    The saving grace are the nice leather trims, which is a ‘must’ in this segment.