Mercedes-Benz GL 63 AMG in Malaysia – RM1.014 mil!

Mercedes-Benz_GL_63_AMG_Malaysia_ 003

The top-of-the-range Mercedes-Benz GL 63 AMG is currently being displayed at a local showroom in Malaysia. Brought in on a special order basis, this rare gem is equipped to the brim. We got a glimpse of the kit that you can expect to get, if you ever think of getting one.

This massive behemoth of an SUV weighs over 2,000 kg, and its length is almost equivalent to that of a pick-up truck. It comes with a 5.5 litre twin-turbo V8 that makes 557 hp and a mighty 760 Nm of torque, paired to the AMG Speedshift Plus 7G-Tronic transmission. On paper, it does the century sprint in a mere 4.9 seconds with a top speed of 250 km/h.

The GL 63 also gets the exclusive AMG Sports Suspension with Active Curve System that can disengage stabiliser bars from the front and rear axles to improve axle roll when it’s put on more rugged roads. On normal roads, this translates to enhanced handling and comfort. Coupled with the suspension system, it’s like “driving on rails” as Daimler puts it.

Of course, who can forget the AMG aesthetic treatments. It receives the AMG body styling package – 21-inch five-spoke alloy wheels with big crimson AMG ventilated and perforated brakes. On the inside, there’s your personal in-car orchestra as the GL 63 AMG is fitted with the AMG-only 14-speaker, 1,200 watt Bang & Olufsen BeoSound sound system.

Obviously, this ‘tall order’ is by no means cheap. The GL 63 will set you back a jaw-dropping RM 1.014 million. The 6% GST alone adds RM57k to the base selling price. Still, if you’re considering a seriously loaded luxury SUV that’s as rare as it is special, the mighty GL 63 AMG might just fit the bill.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing’s better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that’s designed and built for that purpose.

• Albert on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:06 pm

What effect has GST on those rich bastards who gobbled up the best Mercedes got to offer?
    In Bolehland,the super rich are getting stinkingly richer.
    The poor,I hope not,one day may resort to crime to combat this GST wrecked economy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Joker on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:44 pm

Jibby: I never steal money from the rakyat…EVER!
      Paris hilton: I am still a virgin!

I rather believe Paris.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • Official UMNO car on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:42 am

This car will be free for UMNO ministers or their children. Remember Nazri’s son using the free brand new Porsche Cayenne? It was free for the son to use and was fully paid and maintained by some dude wanting contracts from Nazri.

This GL will sell well. Either the UMNO cronies will buy it directly or they will get others to buy it for them for free

• benzs on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:17 pm

Ever wonder why if someone bought this piece of million ringgit on the road?

• KeNxRaCh on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:46 pm

ever wonder why people bought PATRIOT plate number for 1mill?

• BoringRakyat on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:47 am

PATRIOT PLATE NUMBER FOR 1 MIL ?

I SAW YESTERDAY PATRIOT PLATE NUMBER IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE… LOL

• nameless on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:58 am

i wonder who bought that plate number..

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:54 am

Go to Naza and see, got even AMG S63 berlambak. salesman told me, so many people come and buy. Just pay cash. Money come in guni sacks. Pay literally cash.

This car considered very cheap when cronies are buy 4 and 5 million ringgit cars by cash

• Mind reader on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:21 pm

datuk datuk cronies cronies can buy buy this car easy easy….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 9:25 pm

Didn’t know we even got the GL Class here, thought only M class…

Completely pointless, but then again, why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • GT3 (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:51 pm

For VVIPs using Bentleys or Rolls-Royces, this is the perfect bodyguard or escort vehicle if they’re bored with Toyota’s V8 Land Cruiser.

• vivavi on Jul 08, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Instead of buying PATRIOT plate no, why wont you buy this car (or any other car with 1mil price tag for that matter)? I cannot brain rich people…

• Jarhead on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:02 pm

I can’t help buy notice- seat heating but no seat ventilation?

• jinggo on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:20 pm

Jilaka mahal! Kat USA harga kete ni $119,450 (RM456,299) je. Rakyat kene kencing selama lamanya..

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 08, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Maybe its worthwhile to drop by the showroom to check this GL out..I mean its not everyday we get to see the GL up close and personal, even more the AMG version…but I bet the doors to the SUV will be locked to keep us fags from tarnishing the interior.

Well at least we got to enter and sit in the M3, M4, M5 and M6 during BMW World and its not locked… =]

• Gracke on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:09 am

If got 1 million, really wanna buy this?1!? or why wanna use 1 million on this, why not Bently? why not Land Rover?? why not McLaren???!!???

• Lam Poo on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:35 am

if you got 1million, you buy camry/accord. if you got 50 milllion, then you buy bently/land rover/mclaren. when you see everybody buy same car as you, only then you buy this la

• hisAMbankAccount on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:14 am

Totally irrelevant in our market. This model will sell in very insignificant numbers.

• Elevate on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:04 am

Its just to elevate the brand and create a halo effect. They don’t expect these models to sell much.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:13 am

This could be a good (and very fast) alternative to the Alphard (and costs probably 5 Alphards). 3 rows of seating in luxury & performance. And can go offroad too – though I doubt anyone would take an SUV worth over a million Ringgit offroad.

The dash is a bit outdated though – compared to the sleek ones in the C, E, S Classes. But still, a nice car. Road tax is a rather reasonable RM5,640.

• ganni on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:25 am

i will rather buy the astonishing mer G glass AMG instead of this..more rugged and i would say it is nice to look at than the GL..i never find the GL is attractive since they launch it last time.

• neemfa on Jul 09, 2015 at 8:29 am

looks like korean dashboard.. hehehe

• GL_Fans on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:03 am

finally arrived malaysia..how about other cheap GL model? GL350 & 450 perhaps..

• I know Mercedes is a luxury marque but pricing on this GL class is darn ridiculous..and what’s the point having amg tune on this type of vehicle, it’s a people mover not a sports car.

• ss427 on Jul 09, 2015 at 9:24 am

Guys, this GL 63 costs just SGD$281000… we can only buy a low end Lexus GS 350 here in Sillypore with today’s COE prices

We sinkies see until @@

• carazy on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:19 am

I saw quit many bare plastic panels with this RM 1++mil car. If im in the market for this kind of car, I’ll pass this car, and take RR sport anytime.

• cendol (Member) on Jul 09, 2015 at 10:39 am

In USA, this car is just a cheap everyday car for the mothers to bring their children to child care center.
    In Malaysia it is priced more than RM1 million.
    Preposterous and ridiculous price

• dr. emm on Jul 09, 2015 at 11:15 am

get GL63 in langkawi tax-free for 600k
    raya balik kampung!

• What is the point to put an exclamation after the price on the title?

• R7746 on Jul 09, 2015 at 12:14 pm

Interior just so-so, exterior old fashion.
    better go for lexus nx with cheaper than this price.