UMW Toyota extends 8 year hybrid battery assurance to all existing Toyota and Lexus hybrids

2015_Toyota_Camry_Hybrid_Malaysia_ 003

Good news for owners of hybrid Toyota and Lexus cars purchased before this year – you will now enjoy the same 8 year unlimited warranty mileage for the hybrid battery that was introduced for hybrid Toyota and Lexus cars from 2015 onwards earlier this year.

The warranty for the hybrid battery was previously the same as the car – 3 years or 100,000 km whichever came first. There are terms and conditions of course – you would have needed to service your according to a schedule to qualify for the extended warranty. We understand it is 10,000 km or every 6 months whichever comes first, which may be different from your hybrid car’s previously stipulated service schedule.

Screen Shot 2015-07-14 at 8.56.38 PM

This shouldn’t be a problem if you’ve been servicing your car at official service centres all this while, but since the first hybrid cars went on sale way back in 2009, there could be certain owners who opt to service their car at third party service centres after the standard 3 year or 100,000 km Toyota and Lexus warranty is over.

We’ve checked with UMW Toyota on this – as long as you start bringing your car for service at official service centres from now onward, they will be able to provide you with the new extended battery assurance.

Other terms and conditions of the extended warranty is the same as the one that comes with hybrid cars from 2015 onwards – it covers the battery part only and an admin fee of RM100 and other relevant costs in replacing the battery is to be borne by the vehicle owner.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Leafable on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:02 pm

Finally. They wake up to customer care consideration.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • karam singh on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:44 pm

Honda did this already 2years ago with unlimited mileage.
      with 50% discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • What the??? I sold my 2.5 years old Prius 1.8 for HRV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • AP oppo on Jul 15, 2015 at 12:36 am

Yahoo my 2yo Ct200h rv jus increased by at least rm10k with this announcement..as usual my petrol cost still within rm70/month travelling everyday kl-pj, 2 ways everyday jam for 2 hrs..my 6 mths service cost stil below 500..who say hybrid owner bodoh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • niche on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:48 am

Lol useless hybrid. Those exora turbo can do similar, mind you it’s 7 seater mpv. So what’s the point of hybrid again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
          • mudgel on Jul 15, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Of course if you include exhorbitant installment hybrid cars TCO still cannot beat much cheaper local cars.

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Exora can compete with Toyota hybrids in terms of fuel consumption, comfort, reliability, build quality?

Typical Proton 5S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Discount
            5. Siapapun Tak Beli

• taknaktoyota on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Hahaha nowadays toyota no value already. You put 10 airbags also useless. How can trust killer takata airbags to save you? It will kill you instead.

• Areyousure on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:08 pm

Very clever. Never know Lexus owner nowaday so cheap skit only. Haha

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:07 pm

Don’t worry

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a Sonata, Elantra or K5, start writing a will

• paulnut on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:18 am

At least people can afford Kimchi. What is that so proud of your son Saga?

• seasonwenda on Sep 21, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Not really, what they wrote on website and publish on media look very straight forward but if your car really caught with the problem, only then they will give you the details of what component is included and what is not, in most instances after 5 years they have all sort of technical terms to use so long as it qualified their intention not to approve warranty claim.

• lameduck on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:26 pm

Alas, justice for early adopters of hybrid tech =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • maXref (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 5:34 pm

Forcing car owners to service under them for 8 years. Shouldn’t this be investigated under anti competition act? Just something to think about. Normally most of us would start servicing outside (qualified of course) once the the 3-5 years of warranty period is over to save money. But with the promise of a 8 years warranty, what they’ve done is secured the servicing deal for up to 8 years, in essence until the car will be replaced with a new model. Sounds pretty ‘anti-competitive’ to me. How is the rule in other countries? Anyone with experience can share their input?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 28
    • common user on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Life is too short, don’t think about it so much.
      No good thing ever came without a cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano (Member) on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:14 pm

It is difficult in Malaysia to employ because we don’t have anti competition act.

Ok for example in Australia or the UK, as long as you service your car regularly (according to maintenance schedule), and follow which parts to change (i.e. if brake pads are due every 40000 km, you change it such), and original parts are used, in addition to service receipts that tell what work was done on the car, what parts were changed etc, you will not have an issue with warranty. As a result, owners can take their cars to a 3rd party garage, and have service done there – which also brings the advantage to people who prefer in house service, as the prices are way more competitive.

In Malaysia, it is difficult. If it is a luxury car, I personally prefer taking it to the dealer network, mainly because there are too many electronics, one screw up and GG. On the other hand if it is a regular car like a Proton, or say even a Japanese or Korean car, I personally prefer to send it out to a 3rd party mechanic mainly because I can cut down the cost, and in many cases the service quality is much better (I have serviced my ex Toyota at a 3rd party mechanic after I passed 2 years, cause UMW Toyota in my area is too crowded, never had an issue till the day I sold it, even did the same to my ex Kia as well, the mechanic outside was doing a much better job than what Naza was rendering at that time – though this was in the early Kia days).

As for this hybrid batter warranty, I think it is a good move, ensures more confidence. And I like how they can reinstate warranty. Now having said that, I think it would be better if they did actually offer a full cover, that is no RM100 deductible, and no labour cost. While it is understood in replacing the hybrid battery, the battery itself is the largest cost, the labour too is quite high. And another thing, why only the battery, why not the entire hybrid system as well? After all, other brands like Hyundai offer an 8 year warranty on the entire drivetrain of the Sonata, and I think Toyota’s Hybrid System is actually pretty reliable, but to build confidence, don’t so kiam siap la UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
    • Ongtk on Jul 14, 2015 at 7:55 pm

I own a 2012 Prius Hybrid and I find the service and maintenance charges are lower compared to my 2010 Honda City. Service intervals for the Prius is every 10,000 km and each service with fully synthetic motor oil cost averagely RM500+. On the other hand, the service costs for the Honda City, at service intervals of every 5,000 km averages RM300 per service. I don’t think it make sense to send a hybrid vehicle to a local workshop as the mechanics may not be equipped to service the vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • RicoT on Jul 15, 2015 at 4:37 am

Are you sure? Honda changed their service interval to 10,000km.

• Babylon on Jul 14, 2015 at 10:10 pm

I don’t think anti competition act apply in this way.

They don’t have any price fixing or force you to buy something in this price. It is fair to a car company to encourage its customer go back to service their car with their best professionalism and technical knowledge.

You always have an option not to service your car under UMW dealer network if you don’t mind the warranty. You wanna take risk, it is your choice.

We should welcome this move from UMW and at least they put customer consideration in place..

• Gonzo on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:01 pm

Outside pomen can service hybrid ka? Dont think local pomen really like to invest in hybrid tech for their bengkel..better send to SC. Its not that expensive.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:10 pm

Service requirements for the Toyota Hybrid is no different to normal cars.

Engine Oil & Filter, Air Filter, Cabin Air Filter, Brake Fluid Flush. Nothing in the hybrid system that needed servicing till the end of life of car.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Great news for me.

Now I can push trade in price of 12 month old Sonata to RM26k and K5 to RM22k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Same L0rrrr on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:38 pm

This is a good news for my new Lexus Hybrid that I am buying next month. I will have total of 4 Lexus at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • I had you beat. I got 5 lexus at home. And they come in different colour.
        One each for chocolate, cheese, peanut butter, duo (chocolate & peanut butter) and vegetable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • B. Lam on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:17 pm

This was really one of its kind that the effort from a group of owners that spent enough time with the distributor (UMW Toyota) to get this really pushed through for over 17,000 owners. at least the cost of that piece of HV battery is covered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Prius C owner on Jul 14, 2015 at 6:29 pm

Good news indeed. The overall service and record kept with the service centre should match what the on board diagnostic computer captured. Read the manual. It’s like a plane black box. A constant visit will resolve issues before it get more expensive to repair. If they are responsible manufacturer and kept their words, I will be a loyal customer.

• Untung manyak wang on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:19 pm

it covers the battery part only and an admin fee of RM100 and other relevant costs in replacing the battery is to be borne by the vehicle owner.

Mean AC/DC card, DC/DC card, hybrid ECU no 8 years warranty?

:p

• Albert on Jul 14, 2015 at 8:59 pm

Same lorr,what happened to UMW ?
    Repentant now,after taxing Toyota diehards for so long? Insaflah kah ?
    Or sales jatuh teruk like Protong,start throwing freebees ? Extended warranty on this or that ?
    Hard to believe,but like the WWE wrestler BO DALLAS said “You only got to BOLIEVE”.

• dugongx on Jul 14, 2015 at 11:23 pm

UMW sales dropping like shit. So they have to find an alternative source of income. Servicing in UMW is known to cost a bomb. Even close to conti cars like merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Bimmerfest on Jul 14, 2015 at 9:13 pm

BMW Malaysia should take note. Extend the new warranty to all owners who bought from official dealerships!

• The Hybrid’s Prestige and Class – 8 years Warranty.

• ajo haterz on Jul 15, 2015 at 8:53 am

errr btw, how much is the hybrid battery cost la…if kong and no warranty?….just wandering…

• ooi cheng hoon on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:44 am

I had to change my battery in May’15 it cost me ~RM3.5K at that time Toyota was only willing to discount 50%. Totally refused to waived the cost even though my car was below the 100,000km and but a couple of months after the 3years + 8mths old. Was absolutely disappointed with Toyota then, as their response to my appeal was totally rejected. And insisted that it was due to the climate that the battery failed and giving 50% was an offer i should take or forget it. Dunno what response i will get now considering they have now offer 8years coverage for cars sold after 2009. Wish me luck

• samlordupe on Jul 15, 2015 at 11:54 am

How much sam lorrrr will give you for trade in value? Maybe got bonus with hailat face too?

• dugongx on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:24 pm

You need more than luck dealing with UMW bloodsuckers. You need a fat bank account.

• Sam Loo Ori on Jul 16, 2015 at 1:21 am

Mr. Ooi pls come to my yard so that I can show u the Hilux.

• ooi cheng hoon on Jul 15, 2015 at 9:26 am

Finally Toyota wakes up to servicing their existing customers………. will see if they will compensate for the cost i paid for the battery back in May.

• StevenC on Jul 15, 2015 at 2:05 pm

Ooi Cheng Hoon…you will definitely be compensated back for the cost you paid, please wait for that letter from UMW, or join Hybrid Synergy Drive group so that we can assist you more

• How much your battery? on Jul 15, 2015 at 6:10 pm

Are you sure you change the battery, how much you pay for it? Mind to share?

• Mickey Chin on Jan 08, 2018 at 12:03 pm

I am in the midst to decide to buy or not for a 2nd hand Toyota Prius C Hybrid. I hope you all can give some advise.
    1. How much does a hybrid battery cost in Malaysia?
    2. After warranty of the Hybrid Battery, any other workshop to recommend for regular servicing or better service at Toyota? Estimate each service cost how much?
    3. How to join the Hybrid Synergy Drive Group?

• Angeline on Nov 09, 2018 at 3:05 pm

Little Help in Malaysia for Owners of Toyotas With Hybrid Car Battery Warranty Problems.

We own a Toyota Prius 5 years, and battery break down after 5 years used, we had been servicing our car at UMW Authorized car dealer Wing Hing for passed 5 years and never service our car at third party workshop as we wanna eligible for battery warranty. However, sadly said our battery warranty had been rejected, the reason of rejection is cause we delayed our car service schedule.

Unfortunately we had not aware of delaying car service schedule will come to a consequences to void our battery warranty, if we had known that beforehand, we will surely follow the service schedule . We are not professional in car service maintenance whatsoever, and the service advisers had not mention or warned us, it will void the battery warranty. We express our disappointment and unfairness as a consumer to UMW and Wing Hin, however it is still being rejected.

I’m writing here to hope that our voice is being heard by public and draw attention to public. We are just a small owner of Toyota Prius and this is definitely unfair to a consumer.

Previously we had bought camry from Wing Hin and servicing our car at Wing Hin for the pass 8 years. We had never servicing our car at third party workshop, we are loyal customer. After this incident, we had totally lost confident to the car dealer and UMW. We will never ever chose Toyota Hyrid car again.

We hope this letter can be widely circulate and hope the car owner consider first before purchase Toyota Hyrid car. They might face what we are facing today and no one can help. We got to foot the bill ourselves. Thank you!

• Teckyee on Jun 12, 2019 at 8:35 am

Think again when choosing Toyota hybrid cars…. or perhaps any Toyota cars.

My Prius C has just past 5 years and the hybrid battery goes faulty. Toyota is willing to replace the battery FOC …. BUT will charge me RM300 *admin fee* for disposing the faulty hybrid battery! OMG! I paid for a Toyota faulty part and going to be charged to dispose it because IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY to protect the environment, whereas Toyota who is selling me this faulty green tech IS NOT RESPONSIBLE for it?

From the date of this article (July-2015) to 1st-March-2016, Toyota has jacked up the *admin fee* 3x from RM100 to RM300. Now we all should be aware of Toyota’s ethic.