MyTeksi supports SPAD transport app regulation plan

myteksi-elite-drivers-programme

In response to a proposal by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to amend the Land Public Transport Act 2010 to include mobile app providers that provide transportation services, MyTeksi has issued a statement welcoming the move, saying that it was “timely and progressive.”

The taxi booking app mentioned that the revisions would “provide the framework for all parties to operate and to meet the highest safety standards,” adding that it was ready to consult SPAD and other authorities to propose “holistic and reasonable” regulations which work towards ensuring passenger safety and the betterment of the public transport system in Malaysia.

SPAD’s proposal to review existing laws to include the apps will give the commission a leg up, finally allowing it to prosecute transportation network companies (TNC) such as Uber and MyTeksi-owned GrabCar, which it says provide illegal public transport services.

SPAD-Syed-Hamid-Albar-01

Chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said that the move to regulate mobile apps is not to legalise services such as Uber, but to ensure all matters pertaining to public transport come under the commission. “In the future, we can take action directly against the parties involved should they breach the law,” he added.

Taxi drivers have been demanding for the suspension of these app-based TNCs, which they say are taking away their livelihoods by undercutting their meter rates through underhanded means.

Last month, members of the Malaysian Taxi Drivers’ Transformation Association (PERS1M) held a protest outside the MyTeksi headquarters in Petaling Jaya to vocalise their concerns on the matter – there was a follow-up protest at the same location last week.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Uber_CEO on Jul 22, 2015 at 11:06 pm

alah SPAD…i tak kasi u duet then u mau take action la…jgn la..nanti i kasi duet, umah, ahmoi k. For now, u juz wayang2 la ;)

• IGP mom on Jul 23, 2015 at 10:03 am

Using legal means to stop Uber etc to protect the taxi drivers when they are not making a good name for themselves. This means SPAD encouraging the taxis to extort over charge fees from the passengers by removing all other options.

So here we go again. Always anti competition, and need protection. How is this different from AP, car taxes to protect Proton and cronies? Cowards in business.