VIDEO: Ask The Experts – do you need Euro 4M fuel?

We are back with a new edition of Ask The Experts. This time, Gregory Sze quizzes the Petronas fuel technology expert, Chan Ming-Yau, on the new-to-Malaysia Euro 4M RON 97 fuel.

As you may know, the new-grade Euro 4M petrol is now in Malaysia, with Petronas launching its new Primax 97 with Advanced Energy Formula last week, priced at RM2.45 per litre – same as other Euro 2M RON 97 fuels. It’s now available at more than 500 Petronas stations nationwide.

So what’s the difference? Should you upgrade? And is it worth it? Find out here. He had some good news for Primax 95 users too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Civic 2.0 owner on Aug 27, 2015 at 1:53 pm

I can really feel the improve acceleration in my civic 2.0 when first tank of new ron97

Not sure by how much of acceleration/torque though..

• Bruise on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:15 pm

No need, Malaysian need free fuel, dun mind low quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • George Abdul on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:44 pm

Not all Malaysian are like Dumno tongkat AP system owners… All also gets free from Govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Bruise on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:04 pm

Malaysian think that the petrol price is too high, hope to get free petrol fuel, never knowing what high quality fuel.

What u talking about?

• George Abdul on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:03 pm

Rakyat hope to gets transparency and not free fuel…

• Bruise on Aug 28, 2015 at 9:21 am

Petrol price never go lower than mineral water price, enough said.

• Eugene on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:41 pm

My peugeot 208gti felt big power performance after

• George Abdul on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:42 pm

My main question…
    Why Malaysia gets Euro 4M so late compare to other countries? Because Malaysia are 3rd world country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • anonymous on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:33 pm

As usual, good things that benefits the Malaysian, the government always give us as late as they possibly could.

See, why don’t they just upgrade straight to Euro 5 or 6 instead of going for this Euro 4M. Although this 4M cuts down substantial amount of sulfur content, but since you’re upgrading already, just go all the way to the current grade that first world countries are using la…

Want to be first country ah Jibby? Till you resign laa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • George Abdul on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Thanks for the clear answer…. Malaysian Rakyat need to know the truth.

• Which truth are you looking for? Gov truth, PR truth, your truth, my truth, God’s truth? If you dun see all the cards on the table and in the hands how do you know which truth is the truth?

• George Abdul on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Read anonymous comment above that’s truth and Please don’t involve God in human crisis, your acting like Dumno people’s.

• @George Abdul. Really? I can tell you a more factual truth, but thats my truth. So which truth do you seek? A more factually correct truth or an anonymous tin kosong truth?

• I ate on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:11 pm

Well there is such as thing as using one’s brains, which umno seems to discourage

• George Abdul on Aug 28, 2015 at 7:46 am

^ @I ate
            well said.

• Kenneth Fook on Aug 27, 2015 at 2:43 pm

Gregory Sze always looks stiff as compared to the rest of them. Seems like he is trying to hard at times. But he still looks hawt none the less!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • tokmoh. on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:20 pm

No shit, Sherlock. Is drinking filtered, boiled water better than air longkang? Duuuuuuh

The bigger mystery is why can they offer improved product at same price? So they can offer Euro 4M after all, before this give 1001 excuses costing billion la, this la, that la.

Thanks Tringapore, yuo are of genious! Had it not been their strict stance, until eternity we’ll still be running Euro 2M.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • I Love Malaysia on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:32 pm

Don’t really need superior acceleration when I’m stuck in the traffic jam. Looking forward they upgrade ron95 asap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Julian Lee on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:45 pm

i heard they wanting to change rom 95 to erro fuel in 2018

• Diesel on Aug 27, 2015 at 3:47 pm

Sulphur content in fuel is act like lubricant in petrol or diesel. It prevent friction in high pressure fuel pump & injectors. Reduction of Sulphur in fuel in fact reduce the lubricity of fuel but most petroleum companies replace this issues with additives. As the result it has better lubricity level than the euro 2m. Not only Sulphur, zinc level also reduced which is common problem of causing wear & tear & deposit forms in fuel pump & injectors nozzles. Sulphur + zinc really can cause bad emission as time pass as catalytic converter & exhaust system is the main victim. Mostly running 150,000km mileage, cars catalytic converter & exhaust system may need to change as rust forms inside them but also depends on what type of engine as cleaner engine will able to run longer before these problems arises.

For performance to be honest, many people will hardly feel the improvement. But usually direct injection with high compression ratio engines will able to feel the improvement or mostly Honda engines.

Euro 4? Yes! Go for it. It is better if EURO 5.

• oil_worker on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:39 pm

asking Petronas rep is like asking the expert? Ask third party opinion laa…

• U mean like askin Rapizi kah? LOL

• Jimmy on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Ask experts from UK, USA and Germany where mouths and hands cannot be bought with money. Definitely cannot ask the UMNO cybertroopers like Kazeman, and Johan.

• Really?
          If u ask a Brit, he will say sure you should change and u should go for his oil cuz its specially formulated for right hand drive cars in Commonwealth countries.

If ask a Yank, he will say sure you should change and u should go for his oil cuz it has the best quality to eke out every performance in a car, since their oil is designed for muscle cars.

If u ask a Kraut, he will say sure you you change and u should go for his country-refined oil cuz EURO standard is designed by Europeans and their oils is specially effective for EU branded cars.

• Cleaner fuel for cleaner air? When Indon is donating us their annual tribute of haze and air pollution?
    Is there any use?

• It’s people that have same mindset like you that cause the environmental problems. If everyone do their part in taking care of the environment, the world will be a greener place.

• tokcok on Aug 27, 2015 at 10:03 pm

You tok cok? You wanna save the Earth? Ride bicycle lah. Ptui! Hypocrites!

• Wowww, chill bro. Calm your tits. There are a lot of way to save the environment. If you can take public transport, use it. If you can stop open burning, stop it. And so on… I don’t say cannot drive car. Drive la. This cleaner fuel is another alternative. One step at a time

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:02 pm

Last I heard those companies who are burning the forests belong to Malaysians so….

• Bilam on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:14 pm

You never seem to offer anything useful hor?

• Albert on Aug 27, 2015 at 4:50 pm

What we rakyat need is ” RM 1.50 PER LITRE” PETROL.Even the price of imported condoms have shot up cos of the shrinking ringgit.
    Next month,all imported motor vehicle spare parts/including CKD and fully imported cars will go up.
    The ringgit is lurking shit at 4.20 to the US Dollar.Wait until it hits rm5 to the dollar.Your Myvi and Iriz….surely will see price increases.
    Shambolic….

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2015 at 12:58 am

All the more reason to believe despite falling crude oil, the fuel price will increase. Thanks, 47%.

• Rover (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:32 pm

One thing I would ask here, for I can’t seem to find the answer. What does it exactly mean when a car is Euro 4M compliant or not? Like someone previously mentioned, the Honda City is only rated at Euro 2. Can it run with the new fuel? Or even older cars like Wira or Saga?

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:18 am

Yes they can, just they probably cannot enjoy much improvement.

Newer engines are much more refined, technologically advanced, and that’s how they can be more fuel efficient. They’ll be more sensitive to fuel used, and that’s why need purer, cleaner fuel.

Older engines are simpler, and less refined. That makes them able to run “dirtier” Euro 2 fuel no issue at all. Filling Euro 4 may help a bit, but the engine design limits the benefit.

• Out of curiosity… why there is an M at the back of the grade? Are cars in MY are so special so they need special blend of fuel?

Can someone clarify on the grading please?

• Faris on Aug 27, 2015 at 8:55 pm

Wai yu so stupid. Go read about Euro 4M la. Not special because of malaysia or what shit. Its a grade you twit.

• Rover (Member) on Aug 27, 2015 at 9:43 pm

Euro 4M is indeed only for Malaysian markets. I believe that you were referring to Euro 4.

No need to be so rude…

• Add-A-Comment on Aug 27, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Serious…do u really needed to complete this “New Petronas Primax 97 with Improved Advanced Energy Formula” every time when you mentioned it? I feel tiring just by listening…LOL

• tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2015 at 1:32 am

I was hoping to hear challenges of introducing it here.

Like, the refinery is there and running, why select only 97 to refine to E4M? Costlier? Yet price remain the same, so can’t be that.

Capacity? Why so long? Did it take this long when they need to setup 97 E4M refining facilities? How long it took to setup 97 E4M? Was it way before Singapore dropped the bombshell that forced O&G here to expedite Euro 4/5 fuel?

Euro 7 is on its way in Europe, can we expect it here within this lifetime? How long will they be content with E4M? What role Petronas play to push for cleaner fuel standard? Why is the govt dilly-dallying clean fuel? How serious are they now? And how serious will they be as other parts of the world advance onwards?

• James Wong on Aug 27, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Actually this is no rocket science. Fuel up first with other brands of 97 Ron and do a Dyno test. And then fuel up with Euro 4 Petronas 97 Ron. I would be happy to donate my car for this excercise. I drive a STI. Repeat it for a Myvi and a Direct Injection Turbo Engine like a Golf.

• Diesel on Aug 27, 2015 at 11:58 pm

It might having not much significant change. Most also change 3% of hp & torque. But engine emission will have much change. If you able to run engine consistency test on pump & injectors, this euro 4 will able to run more consistent. From my experiences, engine consistency drop in the present of zinc in fuel especially diesel fuel.

• albag on Aug 27, 2015 at 7:09 pm

why petronas only??? shell when upgrade to Euro 4M????

• blah! on Aug 28, 2015 at 8:24 am

I’m sorry, the video give absolutely no real information to anyone.
    The petronas Rep constantly uses words like “improved”, “better”, “cleaner”, “faster”.

But where are the numbers? Where are the dyno charts comparing euro 2 vs euro 4m? How much cleaner? How was the test conducted?

There is absolutely no science behind this interview.

Imagine a honda Rep says ” the new Civic is engineered to be faster, more stable, but at the same time quieter than our last generation civic. with the new HonVTec-iitc with lift and fly technology the new civic uses gives out less emissions, more power and comfort to the buyer…”

It sounds nice, but absolutely useless if you are looking for real information.

And Gregory sounds stiff in the video.

• When there’ll be euro4 for Ron95?
    Tried Ron97 Euro4m lately, it is a real good thing on my polo sedan. Better power with lesser gear change!
    Which translate to lesser maintenance, perhaps?