SPYSHOTS: Lexus IS 200t ahead of Malaysian launch

Lexus-IS-200t-Malaysia_01

Here we have an early peek at the Malaysian-spec Lexus IS 200t, as spotted on a trailer by our new recruit Chris Aaron. Officially yet-to-launched, full details and prices of the turbocharged IS is already available on the company’s local website. Expect it to go on sale very soon, then.

This white example here – seemingly already on its way to a showroom – is a mid-spec IS 200t Luxury model. The range will start with the base IS 200t Premium at RM278,400, with the Luxury significantly higher at RM311,900. Added on to the Luxury are staggered 18-inch wheels (as pictured here), auto wipers, wood/leather steering, powered rear sunshade, GPS navigation, reverse camera, Blind Spot Monitor and Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

Topping the range will be the IS 200t F Sport, priced at RM344,900. This one gets the full F Sport treatment inside and out, complete with bespoke bumpers, wheels, digital instrument cluster, engine sound generator and adaptive suspension. Surprisingly, the IS 200t prices are higher than those of the outgoing IS 250 V6 models (RM266k to RM328k).

Powering the trio is Lexus’ latest 2.0 litre turbo engine with 241 hp and 350 Nm, paired to an eight-speed automatic gearbox. The BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class rival now gets to 100 km/h in 7.0 seconds, while averaging 7.0 litres per 100 km (14.3 km/l) on the NEDC cycle. This compares favourably against the existing 205 hp/252 Nm IS 250’s figures of 8.1 seconds and 8.6 l/100 km.

Australian-spec Lexus IS 200t

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Areyousure on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:26 am

Nod to 60 is not superbly fast. Of entry level of luxury sedan from Lexus is at least something different Lexus has offered in the past.

• Can someone please tell me why would anyone wants this over the new C-Class?

The interior looks dated. And add Rm40k just to get auto wiper, sunshade, bigger wheels, reverse camera is hardly call Luxury.

This product is a whole generation behind the C.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Sam L0rrrr on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:16 am

Lexus has better RV than all Germans

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • hahah i almost went on a tirade over your comment and then i saw your username.

• Mercw204 on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:26 am

Latest W205 is ugly…on the outside….

• To each his own I guess? It’s actually in the same generation as the C class…they all have different life cycles..the only car currently on sale in Malaysia that is a whole generation behind in this segment is the Audi A4 which had an unusually long life by usual standards…

• dont try to bully people while they have shown alot of better things.

C200 doesnt even come with a keyless start system.

• theanswer on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:08 pm

agree 100%. design-wise not that bad..subjective. but pricing, performance..doesnt look good enough to topple c class (or even 3 series) of the list of entry level exec sedan. wake up lexus..pls work more on your pricing.

• mr1031 on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:52 pm

because human have different taste..

and..a lot of car reviewers praise the interior and comfort of this lexus..dated? just look at the floating display of that c-class..how hideous is that..

• Bob_B78 on Oct 01, 2015 at 2:03 pm

I would buy a Camry hybrid over this car if I want refinement and comfort level nearly as good as Lexus while being 100k cheaper. Lexus won only on looks and brand while performance is only marginal better than Camry hybrid but the latter has better FC due to its a hybrid. With 100k saved I could bring my whole family to Europe trip for 1 month stay easily. I get to drive IS250 last gen all the time whenever my car(VW) goes to SC. Not sure bout the latest gen, but i can say last gen IS250 brakes are weak and handling is medicore only.

• NoBoB on Oct 01, 2015 at 3:01 pm

I don’t quite agree.
        When it comes to a luxury salon, the important ingrediant is “Star power”. It must have a certain pull that makes you feel like God. And Camry just simply doesn’t poses such a quality.

In terms of more comfort, I also disagree. While the Camry has more space, the refinement is simply not there. The suspension is too busy over rough roads, tyre noise is prominent. And the biggest ‘flaw’ that go against the comfort has to be the breaks. Because of the regenerative mechaism, the bite is inconsistent when you try and stop the car in a start-stop traffic. Passengers feel it easily, and if you plan to use it with a driver, don’t get mad if your coffee is spilled.
        And this is exactly why Merc sells better then BMW, because the comfort is better while BMW is more driver focus.
        And this is also why a Lexus cannot be said as a toyota (even they share parts). The difference is in the details. And Lexus (and Merc, BMW…) are meant for people that owns it, while still have the resources to go Europe, without mixing the topic together.

• leonon777 on Oct 01, 2015 at 10:57 am

There’s a red example of the IS 200t at the Mutiara Damansara showroom when I was there last week.

• My eyes…

• cendol (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:36 pm

At the rate our RM value is decreasing, when the car is launched, it might well be priced at RM400k for top spec.

• “Kenapa beli Lexus ?”

Sohais: “Er…Lexus lah. Lexus…em…Lexus.”

• All Cars on Oct 01, 2015 at 11:42 pm

Hmmm….. after looking at this… no regrets on buying Infiniti Q50 Premium….

• Same L0rrr on Oct 02, 2015 at 2:10 am

Lexus high pricing shows that it is more prestigious and higher class than cheap german trio. I already ordered my 4th Lexus, work harder kimchi drivers and p2 rempits!!