GALLERY: Proton Satria Neo imagined in various body styles – SUV, MPV, cabriolet, four-door hatch and more

2015-theophilus-chin-renders-satria-neo-4

With news of Proton calling time on the Satria Neo’s production this year, digital rendering maestro Theophilus Chin has shared a reminder of his past renders that showcased the design potential behind the Neo’s unique look, via social media recently.

Leading all the way back to 2009, Theophilus began producing renders of the Satria Neo in different body styles. Of the several we’ve compiled for you in the gallery below, you’ll see a sedan, a cabriolet, a 4X4 SUV, an MPV, a wagon, a reworked Arena pick-up, a van, and even a five-door version of the hatchback.

2015-theophilus-chin-renders-satria-neo-11

The Satria Neo sedan rendering was a preview of a Proton Savvy-based sedan model that never happened. There’s also one for what could have been the next-gen Proton Arena, should our national car maker kept the nameplate and light pick-up model alive.

For the more practical minded, you have the 4X4 SUV, which shows a raised ride height, protective plastic panels all around the exterior, and large five-spoke alloy wheels. Theo also showed us what a five-door version of the Satria Neo could have looked like, along with a sibling five-door estate model.

There’s also one for the commercial line-up, with Theo rendering a panel van with the Satria Neo’s design elements, forming what he called the Satria Van.

And who could forget the Satria Neo GTi renderings? Sporting an aggressive front bumper, hood vents and an intercooler, this one had the enthusiast salivating at the thought – especially since these photos were based on a set of spyshots captured earlier.

2015-theophilus-chin-renders-satria-neo-14 copy

Last, but not least, the Satria Neo Cabriolet. This one featured a soft top roof design that would seemingly fold back behind the rear passenger seats. The cabriolet is without a doubt this writer’s personal favourite.

So, which one of these potential Satria Neo variants would you have liked to have in your garage?

Proton Satria Neo

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Sayonara Proton Satria Neo.

May you Rest in Peace.

• I love Proton cars. I love Malaysia for giving us Proton. Because of Proton, we now have chep cars in Malaysia which is very good in quality. I do’t know why Malaysians say car prices are so high in Malaysia.

Car prices in Malaysia are so cheap. Its those idiots who want budaya barat and want BMW, Mercedes and all that. Budaya kuning lah ni, bad for us.

If you want cheap and yet BMW/Volvo quality, you can buy our Proton. Be grateful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
      • Gold Avanza on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:04 pm

Say (CEO of Proton), “we were born for Proton, will die for Proton and will be resurrected in the hereafter for Proton. God will inform us of our deeds for Proton and make us enter His paradise with our Proton.”

So woe to the deniers of Proton for a great torment in which they will neither live nor die.

And for the believers of Proton, how excellent is their ride – then will they not reason?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • SkullJuJu on Oct 23, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Cool story bro.

• Cheap? Quality? Did u just came out from a cave? Or are u just a troll??

• no just no

• Arief on Oct 23, 2015 at 2:18 pm

this setup is good for proton putra reincarnation

• azrai on Oct 23, 2015 at 2:25 pm

Chris, remember the Persona with Neo’s face by Saudi’s student?

• Justinlol on Oct 23, 2015 at 2:29 pm

I hope they won’t use this kind of design ,it is totally old fashioned , at least make some deign like iriz…… the car’s design would be perfect and not be outdated …….

• nabill (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 2:32 pm

Wasnt there a real neo cabriolet? Im pretty certain there was one, gold color, 4 door cabriolet which was going round inside a stadium.. Cant remeber if it was a merdeka celebration or sting…

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Oct 23, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Sharp memory you have there. Yes, there was concept known as the Proton Satria Gemilang, which was a convertible Satria Neo limo. http://paultan.org/2007/09/27/proton-satria-gemilang-convertible-satria-neo-limo/

• from the first sight i feel i am looking at a design from 1980

• areos on Oct 23, 2015 at 6:22 pm

IT IS A MODEL REALLY RESPECTED BY LOTS OF PEOPLE. MANY SAID THAT IF IT IS A FOUR DOOR MODEL MANY WOULD LOVE TO OWN IT. HOPE THERE IS NEW REPLACEMENT MODEL IN FUTURE.

• UGRLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Engineering n design failed.
    Fuel tank so big at belakang
    Only for short passenger at the back

• topkek on Oct 24, 2015 at 2:53 pm

Not a 4 doors car, fiesta 4 doors also crampy at back you dun bash pulak, topkek

• Nissan on Oct 25, 2015 at 2:31 pm

A waste of your time to design this junk. Please focus on new model. Nissan new model in 2016 is going to make impact. Watch out!

• wakrjal on Oct 28, 2015 at 12:55 pm

why malaysian citizen when talk about proton, it’s like “urghh”, “yark”, “old skool”.. why? many people banned our own product.. proton tiru honda la.. tiru mitsubishi la.. x baca sejarah ke apa ni? knp model2 hampir sama dgn mitsubishi @ honda? knp korang x bash pulak perodua yg terang2 copy paste dr daihatsu @ toyota? pemikiran tahap apa korang ni?

• wakrjal on Oct 28, 2015 at 12:57 pm

yg byk trsadai kt tepi highway sbb mcm2 rosak pun byk keta import.. jarang jumpa proton trsadai kt tepi jln kecuali pancit @ abih minyak..

• iPHONExora6 on Oct 29, 2015 at 6:06 pm

Goodbye Proton Satria Neo…

• Abuja pual on Nov 09, 2015 at 11:21 pm

I need herd light for proton arena bakkie 2008 in south africa