Proton Satria Neo GTI Artist’s Impression

Proton Satria Neo GTI Artist's Impression

Inspired by the spyshots of the performance-oriented Proton Satria Neo prototype posted earlier today, talented Theophilus Chin has worked some photoshop magic and produced this artist’s impression of a Proton Satria Neo GTi.

Bumper design as well as hood vents are inspired from the design we saw in the spyshots, and an intercooler has been added, peeking out from the center bumper intake. Theophilus has also added wheel arch extensions, though he has omitted the “screw holes” that we saw on the prototype car.

The bling wheels have been swapped with larger 6-spoke wheels though not of the same design as the prototype car, and behind these are red Brembo calipers.

Click the image above to have a look at a larger version of the image for more detail. What do you think?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• payjoel (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 6:30 am

perghh…cool tuuu..sempoiii..besar intercooler tuuu

• 8918 (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 6:32 am

you're so sweet Theophilus Chin,thank you very much on your work for us to admire.

• happymeal (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 6:39 am

should include those fancy skinny lightweight wing mirrors like on the challenge stradale ferrari. :P

those arches look like its …. aint cool at all?

trying too hard kinda styling.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 6:43 am

Little bit if everything

• drM (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 7:01 am

come out with the unexpected la Proton, but it should be something that I can buy la.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 7:28 am

theo, i think it looks great, but i would love it more if u added more details to the screwed type fenders and maybe a bigger spoiler to make it look not so stock, like the a1gp yellow version, otherwise, its brilliant

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 7:40 am

The looks can kill!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 8:14 am

No more spyshots, it is real artist impression! Good job Theo

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 8:20 am

what i hope is real.. 1.6 supercharge, 6-speed LSD gearbox and the car like Theophilus Chin design.. Well done!

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 12:01 pm

nice… great work Theo!

• keyboard.rosak (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 12:08 pm

where's that big spoiler, its a must in a gti,

Satria Neo GTI – 1.8L Turbo

Go Go Proton!!

i wonder when this car gonna be in production…

• maru (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 12:30 pm

Theo, this is a good impression.clean chop…nice work

but i hate the fact it's looking like a car that rolls out from any bodykit shop..[no offence to Theo,i know u just render this image based on the spyshot]…

i still remember when i first saw the GTi…i was stunned, mesmerized by the look and the stance of it.i was perfect in every sense.But if the Neo GTi rolls out looking like this,that is one step backward,because the stock Neo look better.R3 done a better job with the kit.

btw this is just my 2 cents…dun flame me..hehe

• geminas (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 2:03 pm

maru u have done a superb work photoshopping cars, why dont u post your own version of gti,would love to see it. I kind of like the looks of this version of gti simple and clean :D

• chrisbangle (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 2:45 pm

good try but needs more work. like some of u said here, it looks too plain. I thought everybody else in malaysia are better at cars than proton people? So, prove it!

• azrai (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 3:20 pm

He misses the screws at wheel arch. Still not adorable. I think it the real GTi will have some of the R3 prototype feature. By the way, the old Satria R3 is actually black GTi. Except for the CF hood and spoiler.

• kody (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 4:05 pm

wahlaueh…

good jod, Theophilus.

i wonder P1 will take consider the customers with 175cm above in height to sit proper in the satria NEO… I am 178cm & my head is touching the roof top when i sit straight in a NEO at showroom. Even savvy have better head room…

• nizam80 (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 4:14 pm

The artist's impression looks better than the previous spyshot. But, i have to agree that it will still look better if the trademark screw holes on the wheel arches are there. If the Neo GTI ever comes out, i don't think it will have a turbo. A 185 bhp 1.8 CPS engine is possible. Just my opinion.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 4:17 pm

Sorry Theo,

No X- Factor..

• The Unicons (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 4:51 pm

Good job Theophilus Chin. However, if you can put in the screw type fenders, wider rear spoiler, a bit lower side skirting and side moulding / protection at the door like the one on the current Satria GTi, then this Satria Neo GTi will looks more aggressive.

I hope I can see another of you work. Keep on the good job.

• rhoma (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 5:02 pm

he's done a clean work but no..not impressed at all with the design..aftermarket bodykit shop can do better than this

• ... (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 5:06 pm

Sorry theo…

your rendition is wide of the mark of the real neo GTi especially the front bumper…

• superman (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 5:30 pm

Front Bumper looks like the SEAT LEON CUPRA's. Side sills is standard. No aggreisve rear wing. etc.

Sorry Theo but your rendition this time is not so great. I've seen, during the NEO Launch, the Neo by R3. Now that car is nice.

Take a look at Audi S3, Fords Fiesta ST, Focus ST and Vauxhall VXR for more inspiring designs.

• Infinitt (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 5:50 pm

Hmm…boring design by Theo..sorry 2 say.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 6:58 pm

ok laa… but at 1st glance it looked as normal neo….

Theo, maybe you would wanna put bigger spoiler & add body stripe stickers..

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 7:02 pm

There is a distinction between what could be and what we think it will be. Theo has done a good job on what we think it will be. As for what it could be, only Proton knows.

Theo, can you pull out all the stops and show us what you think the Neo should be? I think we would all be interested to see how far you can go with design…

• BW (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 7:13 pm

Wow!!!! clap clap.. Very Nice… Nicer than the original Neo…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 9:35 pm

how about fitting gen2 side mirrors on that

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 9:48 pm

Hi Theo! I admire your skills. Howevey, I pray hard the new GTi doesn't look like that. It's very predictable and very very ugly to say the least. And I think you forgot the side skirts. I'm hoping the new one will have a bigger honeycomb grille, it needs to suck in a lot of air. Of course, Proton might shock us all by including AWD,LSD,Traction control and perhaps a HUD?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 9:59 pm

great job….theo! like it!

• Illuminate (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 2:40 am

The higher the expectations, the bigger the disappointment..

This sums up what I think of Proton, but hmm.. A 1.8l NA Producing 185HP? – Not really possible I'd say.. If it's a 1.8l Turbo I'd say otherwise, note that the current Merc E200K is a 1.8 Engine, and it produces 135HP..

• szw (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 4:48 am

i like the look of the hood .

• maru (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 8:11 am

geminas..actually i've done my version of neo GTi..but i never posted it anywhere…since now we a talking about it…here's tha link http://img230.imageshack.us/img230/5034/neogtivh3…

• aksMs (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 1:22 pm

I agree with marmitecrab. Maybe Theo just interpret this one directly from the spyshot, minus the the screws. Come on Theo, maybe you've done something better than this one. Show us!

Maru, I like the vent you did on the Neo. But other than that, it looks too Satria GTi'ish to me. You are carrying too much of the previous GTi's onto this one. Should've make it with fresher looks. But overall, it's a nice piece of work. Perhaps, you are too focus on the hood and the rims went out of propotion. Hehehe. Keep it coming bro!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 1:49 pm

not bad especially the bumper and the hood. nice design

• maru (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 2:04 pm

haha..i know the rims were out…lazy to re-draw it.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 20, 2007 at 6:12 pm

hmm……..theo, u have did something nice. good impression on it and opinions also guided u. however some others might not appreciate it. afterall just an artist impression so don't take it seriously because some are idiot to art. hahahaha………

• maru (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 12:31 am

tec96248, dun worry, artist's like Theo have learned to accept criticsm…

btw art is subjective…what good to may be bad to others…

like my russian teacher always say: We improve because we[everyone] are/is different in every sense.

• maru (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 12:32 am

tec96248, dun worry, artist's like Theo have learned to accept criticsm…

btw art is subjective…what good to may be bad to others…

like my russian teacher always says: We improve because we[everyone] are/is different in every sense.

• transformer (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 6:29 am

Absolutely Stunning!

can you lengthen that tiny antenna a bit… quite weird if its that tiny….

or just remove it totally ?

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 21, 2007 at 11:18 pm

transformer said,

June 20, 2007 @ 10:29 pm

Absolutely Stunning!

can you lengthen that tiny antenna a bit… quite weird if its that tiny….

or just remove it totally ?

———————————————————-

u mean like the one found from saga LMST izit? yeah! it'll make it look less wierd. or none is also okay lah.

• hamdanii (Member) on Jun 23, 2007 at 8:45 am

its so great, hpffly the gti version of neo would be like this. nice touch!

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:52 am

wow~~~!!!!! i think this is the most wanted proton car i ever seen !!!!!!!

clean profile and neat too!! GOOD!!like an European style two thumbs up, but i wish this neo would be in production line….

Theophilus Chin, i guess that u're the guy that suppose to design cars,really good job. i like it.

p/s: back to reality, if proton really launch a car like this, how much(rm) wud it be? hmm…. i'll pay 90k for this car.

brembo, 1.8liter turbo charge with big inter cooler, bucket seat, 17" or 18" alloys,carbon hood……etc….. wow!!! perfect.AND THIS IS WHAT WE CALL A BULLET,THIS IS A BULLET.A MACHINE THAT CAN SATISFY YOUNGSTER DESIRE.

on d oder hand, if proton could produce sport car like this i'm sure that ILLEGAL cars modification in our country will obviosly DECREASE..

cheers

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 2:59 am

If this is going to be made, it should be fitted with 6-speed manual gearbox. Barulah power!!!