More Proton Satria Neo Photoshops

neochop_sedan_small.jpg

More Proton Satria Neo-based photoshops by Theophilus Chin. Above is a sedan car based on the Proton Satria Neo, pretty much the same as before but this time in Iridescent White instead of the usual orange you see on most Satria Neo images. The bling turbine wheels have also been replaced with something similiar to the first wheel design featured on the Proton Waja.

neochop_estate_small.jpg

Like the Chevrolet Optra has it’s brother the Optra Estate, Theophilus has given the above sedan a sibling in the form of this estate car. Estate, station wagon, it all means the same thing anyway.

neochop_suv_small.jpg

Make the body larger, raise the suspension and you have an SUV! This is what Proton’s possible upcoming SUV could look like, if it carries Satria Neo design cues.

As usual, click on any of these images for an enlarged version.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jtshin (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:59 am

First comment!!! well.. good job theo! but i don like the rims.. haha.. the SUV looks nice to me.. looks similar RAV4 design though… how'll be Proton's design look like?

• V_NoZ (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:05 am

wei! good job man! i like the white satria sedan.. damn! looks much better than vois or city…

• infinity (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:07 am

wow..very nice..i like the SUV..theo has brought the fuel cap to a better postion for the sedan..not bad at all..the wagon, is nice..proton should really give it a try on these designs..i wonder if theo can do the front and rear view..heheh…

• infinity (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:10 am

btw..if proton come out with a version of sedan jz like the above sedan..it'll surely sell…can really compete with vios/city market..i love proton's design..i feel it's much better than toyota and honda..

• Jay (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:12 am

YOU SHOULD TAKE CHARGE AT PROTON'S R & D CENTRE ! I SUPPORT…..VERY CREATIVE. gOOD jOB MAN !

• Celicazz (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:25 am

nice one, nice…

I did some too…it's the cabriolet…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:36 am

the stationwagon looks soooooooooooo tempting! great idea…bt not marketable…bt seriously a mouth watering design!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:50 am

Hi Theo, I love your stuff. I'm a photoshop artist as well, impressed at your work. Would love to see a Satria Neo photoshopped into a Putra Neo though , maybe you could work out a coupe version of it? It would definately look like a 2 door Impreza, im sure of it.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 9:06 am

oh yeah, theo, im not sure if u want some pointers, but i think there are some flaws in regards to ur photoshop, if u want me to point out let me know

• tbcheese (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 10:12 am

very nice. the rims match the car very well. good job mate

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 12:01 pm

If Proton manage to put the SUV before Perodua puts in Kembara Replacement Model, Proton are in for teh win. LOL.

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 2:55 pm

good job..people at satrianeoclub.com will happy to see this if real.

• tanasi (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:32 pm

hey Theo, get out of the 2D plane and give life to your designs in 3D. Then we'll reevaluate the depth of your design skills….

• myfaiz (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 3:58 pm

Hi Theo, Good effort tho. I heard from a reliable proton source, Neo will be too early to be sedanised. Gen-2 is confirmed to be sedanised next year as a replacement model to iswara. And will be priced within the same range too..

BTW theo, i'd love to see 4 doors compact neo. It wud certainly position neo in the aveo, jazz, myvi segment… only sportier.

• KY (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:00 pm

what i want is a neo convertible. hehe

• drM (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 4:53 pm

agree with KY up there..i want a convertible oso..hehehehe..nice work Mr Theo. but then, I realised that you 'sedan' creative design has the same built as the 'savvy sedan'. exactly the same…but hey, who cares? cheeerss for Mr Theo!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:06 pm

Hi Kevin Lee,

Do tell me what are my flaws so I can improve upon. I have done (other) 3D chops of cars (Protons and other) but none on the Neo yet as I've got no high resolution image of it.

few of my other chops…
    http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=15214 http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=14993 http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=15402 http://www.carspyshots.net/zerothread?id=16462

• bolo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:17 pm

the sedan roof line need to be stretched back a little bit to provide adequate headroom for rear pessenger, otherwise their heads will hit therear wind screen judging from the position of the rear seat head rests. the wagon looks great! a longer wheel base and longer tail will be even better.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Nice! Now that the stodgy fuel flap and "turbine" wheels are gone, the Neo no longer looks aesthetically challenged. Keep up the good work, Chin! And keep it coming, because we want more! :D

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:33 pm

Oh…I forgot to comment on the estate version. It won't really sell on our shores, but ship it to the UK and it might steal some sales from the likes of Skoda Octavia Estate and Vauxhall Astra Estate, to name a few. The SUV needs a wee bit more attention, but it is heading the right way. ;)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 5:38 pm

One more thing – could someone pleeease promote this website to Proton designers? :D

• pablopabla (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:02 pm

Hats off to Theo! Are you Chinese or Italian??

I like the SUV design.

• AMG (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:09 pm

I Like The Cutie SUV .

Look like the Renault Scenic

• ckengyo (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:21 pm

Futher update from neo owner.

Pro

-The power r improve after the 1st 1000 run in service.

Con

-The 3 free service r only free on service fee only. My total 1st service cost is Rm119. Inclusive of Caltex semi-syn, oil filter, gear oil & G tax.

-Cannot upgrade the trash sound ice. If effect the wiring, warranty void.

Any Gen2 owner or campro Waja owner here can share experience on servicing outside from proton edar & upgraded ice? Cos we r using the same Campro engine.

• bestofamat (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:51 pm

I like what Theo did. All the three designs should be considered by proton, but I think the plastic bumper on the SUV should be changed due to reasan:

1) Malaysia's wheather would not allow the plastic bumper long lasting

2) the previous Ford Escape, Renualt Scenic and previous Volvo V50 Wagon used plastic bumper were not sale well in Malaysia.

That is why the changed to colour bumper.

• maru (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:55 pm

yeah!i want a coupe/putra

• antnagir (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 6:58 pm

Still too small for me and family.

• Hikaru (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:02 pm

I believe that this is would be right step forward for Proton to compete with car of similar segment (e.g. Vios, City) if the Satria Neo has such capacity to do so. However, it would be a futile attempt if they still get the fundamentals wrong. Pricing and assessory isn't everything.

Nonetheless great effort and great design. Maybe Proton should hire Theopiluschin for his input.

• december (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Stationwagon is hot. Damn.

• frenzyskye (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:57 pm

Audi fans, do check out the ultra-cool Audi ad here!

http://blissfuldelirium.blogdrive.com/archive/307…

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 7:59 pm

wonderful… hope to see the rear and front design (especially on the SUV)…

• claxxion (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:06 pm

Yeah. Good job man. I love the estate. And even more for the SUV! Good work great stuff..

• motberg (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:33 pm

wow! i m impressed theo… too bad u will never offered a job at proton becoz u will make them look like FOOLS!!! if I had it my way, u will be the head of design at proton man! great job. just can't take it that all your great work will only remain concepts…. WAKE UP PROTON!!! here's one talented guy that you need (and not the guy who designed the thermometer back light for the waja!)

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 8:49 pm

one word to describe:

EXCELLENT!

• J (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 9:49 pm

Yes… another one support here… good job.. and I like the SUV !

• szw (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 9:54 pm

da estate is nice .

but a SUV looks abit like copy other car's design .

da back lights like da new vitara .

• Jazzy_Jay (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 11:39 pm

good effort on the PS images. Personally i like the white sedan version.

Then again, how good are these images to be injected into proper R&D in terms of design feasibility? These are some of the general stuff you may need to consider before stretching the body/wheelbase.

MOTBERG : Its kinda sad on how you think its easy to just make a car… at least from your statement it shows. Car designs is not all just about aesthetic. My opinion would be yes, Theophilus' skills in image editing is good, but to have a spot on the Styling Team? Sorry to say this but I have yet to see anything original from him. No offence intended.

• philippecr (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 11:53 pm

is not easy to make a car. But then, a nice concept/start drawing of the new car is also important. And later, mayb the redesign for actual usage. If Theophilus works in Proton R&D, it's a good start for Proton.

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Aug 10, 2006 at 11:53 pm

haha! nice job man!

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 12:15 am

If I have my own blog I would post some 'original' designs I did when I was in university. I am more than grateful Paul posts my chops. It wouldn't be fair should I post links or images of my other effort here.

Thanks for ALL the feedbacks anyway.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 1:14 am

well done!!!!! i love all these 3 models!!! juz great!!!! no negative comment on any of these 3, but the rims is not my taste, thats all i want to say. how about trying out with pickup truck or convertible with the same style of Neo?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 2:04 am

this is my suggestion, i'm so sorry, but i have to use MS paint, since i misplaced my photoshop, lol

http://img142.imageshack.us/img142/6248/suggestio…

the comments is all there, i hope thats constructive enough as a feedback.

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/9072/mitsubishio…

i believe this was a source of idea. its a mitsubishi outlander, would serve as a great idea on what size the engine bay would be. maybe the rav4 or crv design would help you better. hope that helps

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 2:09 am

oh yeah, in regards to satria neo higher quality images, u could try www.desire.com.my , im sure there are wallpaper sized images.

i was once a photoshop champion for anime wallpapers, but it was 2003, haha, im so dated now.

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 2:11 am

TheophilusChin, which university u graduated from? If not local LimKokWing UCT, then I strongly believed u studied at oversea!

Even you have the excellent "artist impression" on the design of car, the P1 never have the "engineering prowess" to translated into production car (fair to say with some minor changes to meet engineering requirement).

• sewell (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 3:42 am

is a very good design ! if the quality are up to standard, i am sure PROTON will shire again.

• Celicazz (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 4:15 am

check this link… i did it during the first week neo rolls out…not good enuff though… http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/307/cabrioletzp6…http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/584/protonmpvi…

• jzkzlz (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 4:30 am

Wow….

Perfect design….No more "turbine" wheel..

Sedan, Station Wagon, SUV. all thumbs up..

its sure all ppl will like it if proton come out these design…

Great!!!

i think if SUV put kangaroo bar in front will make it more off-road feel …!!!

• fusuke9 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 4:30 am

WAY DA'GO!!! awesome job theo, this is the stuff of engineering man! Proton should really consider this designs. Real cun designs, worth a heads turn.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 4:57 am

The imaginary design of variants of the Neo may be attractive but very flawed in every way.

The proportions are incorrect and the cars would not survive engineering scrutiny. The Satria Neo has a broad shoulder area and narrow window gap so the sedan, estate and SUV(which is very RAV4) cannot be real variants coz of the bad proportions.

• wmzhaffran (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 5:24 am

good job…. i liked the suv…. it look very nice and i think…. that suv can make toyota rav crying :p

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 6:12 am

Good job. P1 should hire you.

designing is one part, road legal/passing all the road safety test is another.

• Driven2020 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 7:18 am

All ideas are cool nice and well thought of. But our national car maker still have some items to tackle.

Here's a flashback

http://www.thecarconnection.com/Auto_News/World_R…

cheers

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 8:14 am

otakotak always kutuk org..what U did u graduated from ?lol..

• weiliang88 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 8:38 am

I really think that proton should hire this guy that created this piece of work and buy over all the pic and give him a life time contract and if it does, its really thumbs up for proton as we'll be able to get nice cars!!!

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 8:41 am

nice photoshops u got there. maybe should get some more qualifications and head into car design. see if u like it. just dont start with proton coz they only accept ugly designs.

can we get a 'Jumbuck' version? hahaha

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 10:56 am

These are some good effort by Mr. Theo. These however if I could say, are just imaginative concepts. It may not be feasible for production. It might not be original, copied from here and there, but it gets the imaginations running. Keep up the good work Theo. Perhaps one day you'll come out with your original design of what next Proton would look like.

Oh, btw, I like the Estate. I wonder if Proton will ever introduce an Estate into their model line up. Subaru Legacy Spec B anyone?

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 11:00 am

These are some good effort by Mr. Theo. These however if I could say, are just imaginative concepts. It may not be feasible for production. It might not be original, copied from here and there, but it gets the imaginations running. Keep up the good work Theo. Perhaps one day you'll come out with your original design of what next Proton would look like.

Oh, btw, I like the Estate. I wonder if Proton will ever introduce an Estate into their model line up. Subaru Legacy Estate Spec B anyone?

• rexis (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 4:42 pm

This is how easy to design a car… wonder why p1 taking all the troubles for releasing new models. During the good old times, they can easily make a mini bus out of the wira chassis if they want.

• Whopper (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 6:27 pm

Hmmm…Whopper just lurves the NEO Stationwagon/Estate version. If Proton does produce the NEO stationwagon/estation version, I would rush to the nearest Proton dealer and book one. Whopper most definitely lurves…:-)

• Driven2020 (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 6:53 pm

Anybody, whom properly trained can design cars. Good or bad designs are subjective as beauty lies in the hand of the beholder. It will be wonderful that final products will look just as great as the concept.

Unfortunately for most of the time, due to fabrication, technical or dimensional issues, design alterations big or small are hard to avoid and rarely straight forward. Not to mention several input/modification requests from up top, ding dong here and there, ping pong up and down, most likely to end up as rojak.

Now with possible coming of VSS, vendor review and sorts, the final end product pricing may be revised to be higher maybe. I'd like to see some the concepts above roll on our streets as I personally think its not bad (from the outside), but with the things happenning now I'd think it's highly unlikely.

• DrA (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 9:46 pm

I wonder how WAJA SUV would look?

• Jazzy_Jay (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 11:29 pm

Well said Driven2020.

Ive seen too many design changes from Styling to what we could possibly churn out on Design side… but at the end of the day, it all comes down to one thing – cost and allocated budget.

• synchro_k (Member) on Aug 11, 2006 at 11:58 pm

damn nice! This can SELL. anyway, i guess proton engineers are well paid enough….that put them in a somekind of a RELAXING mode….yooo dudeee….chilll…relaxxx……zzZZZzzzzZZZzz….no need to rush mannn…we still get paid….zzZZzzZzzzzz…..(hence the dynamic state became static).

• matmoto_5125 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 12:16 am

yea…zzzzzzzzzzzzZzZZzzZz…no la…to make a car is not an easy job,although designing seems 2 be a very easy task.but car is not juz bout design maa….!!!

• chrisbangle (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 1:48 am

Good job!!!!! I know one of the highest ranking proton staff has the sedan pic in his laptop.

Good job! At least u r giving them some clues!

• Driven2020 (Member) on Aug 12, 2006 at 4:28 pm

I believe Proton has developed some of the concepts above before as well. This path has been well walked through even b4 we even saw the car. Proton would have gone through countless stages of approval b4 showing us the final product. Life is rarely straight forward. If you are dealing with ppl, nothing is straight forward. What more to say car design and manufacturing.

Design is just the tip of the iceberg and unfortunately is the most critical. Designers will spend long hours to check everything is in consideration. During the stages of development if they find out there are some design errors, redesign is required. Depending on how serious it is, a variation order may be issued and variation order is something the management will be very very crossed at because it cost time and especially alot alot of money.

so from this point of view, photoshoping is somewhere equivalent to an artist impression. Nothing more.

Mr. Theo no doubt is skillful in photoshop and that's a fact. Maybe Mr. Theo should join the Proton design team and take up the real challenge.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 7:17 am

I chop a Gen.2 Cabriolet before…
    http://img232.imageshack.us/img232/6762/gen2cabri…

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 7:25 am

I also did a Putra chop based on the Gen.2…
    http://img178.echo.cx/img178/2815/newputra6ws.jpg http://img178.echo.cx/img178/8880/putraspypic2cm….

• OtakOtak (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 8:59 am

Theo, waste of time for cabriolet, Malaysia not suitable, with the black smoke from bus/lorry, hot sun, dusty road, rain, vandalism, theft, etc. cabriolet is not practical.

• waimak (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:02 pm

TheophilusChin,

How about the original Neo but just give it a 5 doors look?

• synchro_k (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:10 pm

matmoto_5125,

of course to make a car is not an easy job, yes i agree with that, for me of course it will be very hard because i dont have a degree or masters in Automotive engineering or physics….because i'm not the line of car making, but what about those engineers in proton?

1. A carpenter is best in wordworks.

2. A choreographer is best in musicals.

3. A car enginneer is best in?

Oh c'mon, if one studied in engineering bla bla…..and came out and do R&D bla bla bla…..and still cannot compete in other automotive industries, what is wrong with one? and what did one gain during your engineering studies? hmm? Orang lain boleh buat kete gak, iye dak? Takkan kite takleh? Malaysia Boleh!

• waimak (Member) on Aug 14, 2006 at 8:47 pm

TheophilusChin,

Maybe also you can show us your version of Waja MME which I think many gave their comments here recently.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 15, 2006 at 5:42 am

Yes Theo…I agree with waimak…we'd love to see a Waja MME with proper front and rear bumpers instead of those stick-on skirtings…and with slightly bigger wheels…and without the "thermometer" rear lights…hahaha…hope that's not too much to ask for… :D

• lembagatanah (Member) on Aug 22, 2006 at 11:46 pm

what i see is, if all those car is based on neo chassis, the suv would not be so big. the size could be a bit smaller compared to nissan xtrail. the same goes to estate wagon. but i like the sedan version. perhaps as big as vios.

• dang (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 6:16 pm

pehhhhh!! awwsome mann!! you know what? you should sit at the proton R&D and guide them to produce real car not the junk's. hahahaha

• cikepong (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 9:28 am

Now if we look proton design is look ugly…look "LEPER".The window is too bigger if look from the side look.Look like car from old skool in era 80 an 90.Is it the JPJ spec?If JPJ spec i hope the JPJ must think again the new spec.It is the reason why the proton sales is drop.The design is not look good.

I like the design above.Very beautiful.And can beat the orthers car model if proton have a good design and designer.

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 23, 2007 at 11:17 pm

looking back at these photos…

why the heck potong don't react over it??

there been no concrete rumours on potong looking / manufacturing satria 5-doors, sedan, SUV or SW.

i really hope i am wrong on the above.

the sedan and 5door hatchback sure fire one. even monkey in the jungle knows.

satria neo core design seems to be accepted by locals and people overseas, so tunggu apa lagi.. or why there is no ready-made design of other type (e.g. sedan or SW) when the 3-doors hatchback was released. a low risk ini, once it is clear people like the design, with other design (e.g. sedan or SW) ready on the table… announcement of new type can be made let say 6 month after 3-doors date release and commit target to release new types/variants in another 3-6 months. inform potential customer clearly of what are to be offer with the new variants, baru create the correct / positive hype.

orang pun sanggup tunggu… apatah lagi kalau ada photos of the soon-to-be-released variants. baru customer mabuk macam masa Myvi been released.

Why Myvi was so successful? part of it is due to the fact that people KNOW what to expect in the exterior and interior design of the car.

as for remote variants like SUV or SW, it would generate sales too if the price is slightly lower than what it should be. sweetener la a bit..

potong oh potong.. why (not what) so difficult?

• GlowJo (Member) on Mar 24, 2007 at 10:01 pm

intermilan your opinion very good maaa…

go and fill the form laaa join potong…

you do the change from inside…

don't be NATO maaaa….

I dare you

• BW (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:47 pm

Very nice all of it haha… Proton should see this and satrt produce all these Neos… Anyway i've seen a convertible 2 door Neo in some web b4, quite attractive o… But ppl edit it using photoshop la… not real…

• hamdanii (Member) on Apr 09, 2007 at 6:55 am

all three model is nice! better work make it! the first 1 look like subaru impreza. nice make it real proton!

• Ghostfreak Syaqi (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:09 pm

All nice