JD Power 2015 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index – Toyota ranked top, non-national lead national brands

According to J.D. Power’s 2015 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI), UMW Toyota Motor has managed to retain its top ranking for overall customer satisfaction when purchasing a new vehicle.

The study, now in its 13th year, considers six factors – salesperson (19%), dealer facility (19%), delivery timing (17%), deal (16%), delivery process (16%) and sales initiation (13%) – and assigns dealership service performance based on a 1,000-point scale.

The study is based on responses from 2,371 new vehicle owners in the mass market segment, who purchased their vehicle between August 2014 and May 2015. Included in the study but not ranked due to small or insufficient sample size are Ford, Hyundai, Isuzu, Kia, Peugeot, Suzuki, and Volkswagen.

UMW Toyota managed to score 791 points, which is above the industry average of 752 points. They are then followed by Mitsubishi (787 points), Honda (758 points), Nissan (755 points), Mazda (742 points), Perodua (739 points), and Proton (729 points).

Interestingly, the overall satisfaction associated with Malaysian national brands in the mass market segment averaged 736 points in 2015 where as the non-national brands registered an average of 770 points.

The study revealed that buyers looking to buy a new car considered vehicles that have attractive design and styling, good fuel efficiency, and low purchase price or attractive deals as factors when making their acquisition. It also points out that 40% of new-vehicle buyers in 2015 acquired their household’s first new vehicle, a 15 percentage point increase from 2014.

Additionally, those who purchased their household’s first vehicle considered the brand’s reputation and vehicle performance as the top deciding factors before coming to a decision. Replacement-vehicle buyers meanwhile, placed a greather emphasis on vehicle interior space, comfort, and reliability instead.

Rajaswaran Tharmalingam, country head for Malaysia, J.D. Power said, “the sales approach that works for someone who has purchased several new vehicles in the past doesn’t necessarily work for someone who has never purchased a vehicle before. It is important that salespeople are trained to understand the distinct shopping behaviors of the two buyer segments so they can deliver a meaningful sales experience.”

So, does the study accurately reflect your experience when purchasing a brand new vehicle? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Samsu on Oct 30, 2015 at 4:59 pm

Even with power window problems, we still have many highly satisfied Toyota customers. No wonder Hilux RV is highest around^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
    • Toyota Altis 1.8 Rm60k (2013) on Oct 31, 2015 at 11:48 am

Now Toyota salesman cannot lie and say other cars, especially Korean, got bad RV. Now, it seems, Toyota has worst RV of all cars cause nobody wants a Moving Coffin with no VSC.

People already know the importance of VSC and more airbags. That is why now even 2014 Camry 2.5 selling at RM98k, down from rM180k brand new. In 11 months Toyota can drop so much. Altis 2013, 1.8 accident free also now RM60k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Ajis Gor on Oct 31, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Bro, PM me, i want to buy ur 2013 altis with CASH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Nic Tan on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:12 pm

Please tell me where to buy the Camry 2.5L 2014 model for RM98k, I’ll go test drive the car this weekend, if everything okay, I’ll buy it. Thanks.

• ben yap on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:04 pm

i close my eyes also i will know VW is at the last place.

If JD power reveal it, i think VW terus tutup kedai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • jefri on Nov 02, 2015 at 2:46 pm

this is not revealing the truth because the study case seems not full or complete. this is like normal survey. when you see VW car on the road, seems like all the car came with new plat no. registration. so, how to close the shop when people still demanding it.

• dugongx on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:10 pm

Definitely fake. Toyota salesmen are the most arrogant. Always looking down on potential customers. I am sure the survey is biased as mostly are done by hardcore toyota blind fans that think their godcar is already perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 13
    • You go Prada, Gucci, the salesperson will also be arrogant.
      The moral of the story is if you are good, you can afford to be arrogant. Unlike Proton barang dahlah lousy but act like they are selling BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 31
      • dugongx on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Comparing toyota with prada and gucci? HAhahaha. Toyota is uniqlo at most.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
        • uniqlo? haha! petaling street cloth got la. Cetak rompak but sell in expensive price… haha!!!

• Sammy Loo on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:10 pm

That is because you did not find the right sales person, Sam Loo’s customers are all happy with their Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Seemingly very true that Toyota SAs were deemed arrogant and selective. Still remember during 90s in Sejati Motor HQ along Federal Highway. Mercedes-Benz Federal Highway the most hospitable unlike AUDI GLENMARIE the least friendly. THe Ingolstadt manufacturer lost few sales from our family.

• Syabas Proton. Keep it up! Don’t give up!

#Kipidap #Dongibap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Same L0rrrr on Oct 30, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Toyota good or not, let the independent survey company tells the truth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
  • Jobless on Oct 30, 2015 at 6:41 pm

Syabas Prodon, jaguh kampung still among the best just 10 point below anoter jaguh kampung Produa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Albert on Oct 30, 2015 at 8:20 pm

This report hides a lot of unreported incidents.
    Have u heard the boot of the vios opening by itself 6-7 times>It took them 45 days to replace the parts,after banging their tables at selayang branch.
    Shambolic,UMW.
    Now the high fuel consumption of the car cannot be solved.The car is like Proton,guzzling petrol.Their service centre also shaking their head,blaming the petrol nozzle instead and doubting customers complaints.They think we are khayal and cooking up a story.
    UMW is no better than Proton.
    They are just interested to rake in profits to enable PNB to give maximum dividends .
    Mr .Suki,please dont sit in your posh office and forget the poor service given to technical complaints.
    Shambolic,UMW.Dont buy Toyota.Give Honda your hard earned money.
    UMW only good and efficient in doing routine normal service.When your engine/other parts start giving problems….they will have to take photos/write plenty of reports to Shah Alam…and the parts take quite long to arrive.You blame Hyundai/Ford….now Toyota is another slow turtle when you need warranty parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • alldisc on Oct 30, 2015 at 9:41 pm

Apparently this comment comes from someone who cannot differentiate between SSI and CSI. And that is a great shame.

On the other hand, well done Toyota.
      BTW, VW, peugoet and ford didn’t have enough samples? I believe they still sold thousands of cars a year. A lot more than Subaru or Chevrolet.
      Or is it fear of getting lowest scores ever, 300 perhaps?

• Fishy comments..

• Diam lah Hyundai Salasman

• Honda in 3rd place? Service center staff and mechanics are horrible and dont give a Sxxx attitude in most parts of KL and one melaka branches.
    They always blame and treat the poor customers like nothing.
    Damn stuck up people. Buck Up Honda. Nice Big H brand logo and all but staff attitude and image are completely horrible. After warranty expired, bye bye Big H………

• Bryan on Oct 31, 2015 at 8:26 pm

Went to perodua showroom midvalley once to check out axia. First thing the Malay sales lady ask:

You mau beli ke?
    Saya mau tengok kejap.
    Ok, kita bagi you tengok, tak ada kacau you.

I was like wth? So whatever it is a cheap car so I helped myself. She was looking at me from far, and her attitude was like I was looking at nothing more than a blender. Then another sales person was driving a test drive car into the showroom behind me. She didn’t even bother to tell me there was a car behind me until it nearly knocked me only she shouted at me.

When demand is high, salesperson sell car macam sell groceries. Heh.

• Richard Jonathan Lim on Nov 02, 2015 at 10:53 am

Honda in 3rd place? I service my wifes 2013 CR-V 2.4 and my 2009 Accord 3.5 and the services are great.Service Advisors smile at you, give you a drink to drink while chatting about your cars problems and the place to sit are comfortable.Even Audi Euromobil in Glenmarie doesnt give me services like that when I go to service my A6 Hybrid.