Winners of Proton Design Competition 2015 will be announced very soon. The competition closed on September 18, with a total of 427 entries submitted for both Category 1 (secondary schools) and Category 2 (individuals aged 18 and above).
Designed to instil the spirit of creativity and skills among Malaysians in creating innovative design of concept cars suited for Malaysian families, the competition ran for 14 weeks, starting from June 18.
Judges for the competition consist of heads of various departments in Proton, led by chief designer Azlan Othman. The panel also includes guest judges from the design faculty of UiTM, plus representative from paultan.org and our sister site, InfoKereta.com.
This year’s theme called for a concept car for a Malaysian family, one with a design that echoes the sort of technologies one might see in the next 20 years. The aesthetic should reflect Malaysian lifestyles and values, but with a global touch.
Each of the design received is evaluated based on the criteria given, and only submissions that adhere to the rules set in the contest form qualify for the judging rounds. These include hand drawn ideation sketches and exterior rendering for Category 1. whilst interior and exterior renderings are required for Category 2.
Winners this year will receive cash prizes worth RM10,000, RM7,000 and RM5,000 for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place of Category 1, whilst Category 2 winners will be entitled to RM15,000, RM10,000 and RM7,000 respectively. Consolation winners of up to 10th place will also bring home RM1,000, along with a certificate and medal/trophy.
In case you missed it, do read our series of exclusive interviews with Proton chief designer Azlan Othman on how to package a vehicle effectively, as well as what makes a Proton look like a Proton.
AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.
Name a car, u win a car!.
but design a car, u win 10k which is only a quarter of a car lel
Cant wait to see whose the winner. Who r the future Proton stylist design :-)
Style is never Proton’s problem, quality is!
Ppl don’t buy LV for its style, but the quality!
now u see the trick.
Win a Car = fake.
just for show only.
You are faking and manipulate the fact here. Read and understand the news before you start blindly bashing bout Proton.
The ccash prizes are so small. The should get more money from corrupted Jib and ask him to donate the stolen Rm2.6 bil.
Rm10k cash prize can be Rm100k or RM1 mil. Jib will still have RM2.599 bil left.
The best thing is all submissions belong to proton berhad. Meaning if the design team use your ideas, they get paid doing it.
The world awaits with baited breath. Not.
design here, design there….
after that, Proton decided to rebadge….
Familiar??
No. Name me a currently selling Proton car that is a rebadge, please.
Inspira and government fleet perdana
Inspira is no longer on sale, and Gov Accordana is not available to public. Please try again
Design what la, in the end hire Korean guy to finish the whole thing.
Still better than P2 which is no need design, claimed as national car but copy other…familiar???
How better? P2 is selling 2 cars for every 1 that Proton sold. Earning more money and people are happier with P2 than the ailing P1 and more importantly, they don’t cheat.
These a sick people with narrow mindset.
Pls tell me that this whiz kid isn’t putting his stylus on the sketch picture, in Microsoft Image Viewer.
and the winners are DRB hicom staff family members!!!!!
im sure each application goes through a round of selection process and not just selected based on connection. this is a competition and they have good ppl working in the organisation, giving opportunities for creativity to strive among students and youth. isnt that sthg good?
why Theophilus Chin never enter this contest??
Too proud to loose? Nah, sorry Theo. I say Theo is already on a different higher level. This contest not his standards
Why he need to? His troll renderings even surpassed those topkek designer from Proton.
Design competition again for new model, similar to Iriz and it is just an advertisement tactic. Nothing will help if your brand image, powertrain, quality, after sales service remain the same as current. Look at Iriz, it is so hard to see on the road.
It is practical if Proton invest on its powertrain, change the engine to aluminium direct injection. the engine can couple with turbo or non-turbo for different variance. Proton can engage with transmission manufacturer to implement the 6 speed auto (AT/M). The current turbo + CVT is not an ideal match for most people. I understand it involve huge amount of investment, but the engine can apply for many models, and with little modification the engine displacement can be change from 1300cc to 1600cc. It can be like 1.3NA, 1.3 turbo, 1.6 NA and 1.6 turbo. The turbo version can be in different variance too such as 1.3 120ps and 140ps, 1.6 version 130ps and 160ps. After few years R&D need only touch up or upgrade the kits of the engine for new version, no need to invent a new one. So the investment is one time off for maybe 10 years life cycle.
Besides that, Proton should upgrade the service center and the technician to reduce the lead time, high accuracy to address and solve the problem etc. Just refer to the standard of Toyota and if Proton can achieve 70% of its standard, I bet there will raise up the confident of consumers.
The handling of Proton is the best selling point and it should maintain the level. Safety wise Proton has already prove they commit into high safety level, that’s good job of proton.
You talk so much for what? No use one la. Even if they do so much, one cheating case is enough to destroy all.
ioma, my “boo” is for you. take it as compliment. dowh…
They have already working on a set of new directed injection engines and hyrid and a ev too for iriz. The new vvt engine is quiet good when compared with old campro but proton car is heavy. Heavy weight makes high fc and slow pickup. Proton recently cars are all home designed and looks good.I think lotus enginneer team had helped a lot on car handling and stability but the build quality is still poor Keep it up proton, last thing to do, fuel economy and build quality.
“Keep it up proton, last thing to do, fuel economy and build quality.” <– this should be the first thing to do, not last.
Commit to safety? They just don’t know they had tethergate the Saga until “so many reports from customers” to ANCAP guy. Who knows what else? Airbaggate? VSCgate? ABSgate? PowerWindowGate? Fuel-consumptiongate? Handlinggate?
Shut up and just use a 6AT from Aisin for cars like Preve Turbo or Suprima. Even the 4AT BLM is better than FLX CVT.
Please improve the efficiency of the engine.
Auto Driver..this is what I call as the real comment. Other comments just mindless or sick person shouting for attention.
When is the date for the result?