Proton Design Competition 2015 – budding designers, visualise a concept car for the Malaysian family

Proton-Design-Competition-logo

Yes, it’s back – the Proton Design Competition 2015 is now on until September 1, 2015. The national carmaker is calling budding designers aged 13 and above to showcase their artistic chops, but it is now opening up the contest to established industry practitioners as well. As with last year, paultan.org is the exclusive online motoring partner for the event, together with our Bahasa Malaysia sister site InfoKereta.com.

This year’s theme calls for a concept car for a Malaysian family, one with a design that echoes the sort of technologies one might see in the next 20 years. The aesthetic should also reflect Malaysian lifestyles and values but with a global touch. As before, participants can utilise any medium they prefer, whether digital or pencil and paper. There are attractive cash prizes of up to RM15,000 to be won.

The competition is again divided into two categories, but the rules of eligibility have been tweaked for 2015. Category 1 is open to groups of up to three students each, between 13 and 17 years of age – entries must come with the endorsement of the respective schools’ principals or head teachers, as well as a school stamp.

PROTON_COMP-ENG

Moving up, Category 2 is open to individuals aged 18 years and above; unlike last year, there’s no age cap. Only Malaysians are allowed to take part, and they must possess a valid Malaysian identity card.

Submission formats have also been changed – all participants must now submit exterior development sketches; these must be hand-drawn either using traditional media or a digital sketching tablet. This is in addition to the final illustrative renderings – either hand-drawn or 3D – that were required last year.

Category 2 entrants are also now required to provide a vehicle packaging diagram that illustrates the positioning of the occupants and the powertrain, along with 2D or 3D illustrative renderings of the interior.

PROTON_COMP-ENG

For the entry to qualify, participants must also provide a Design Brief in an A4 size paper containing the title of the design, the design concept and unique selling proposition of the car. Participants can submit a maximum of three (3) designs via mail only for this year; the entry form for the competition can be downloaded here (BM form here) or collected from selected Proton outlets nationwide.

This is great opportunity for Malaysian youths to be part of something that could define their future and possibly that of the local automobile industry. Time to start drawing!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• dicky on Jun 17, 2015 at 1:51 pm

Let the bashing party begins.
    Even Pug has sort of competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Beng P1boy on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:37 pm

Hahaha P2 macai can’t even stop !!!

Proton will shit all competition like BMW to close shop.

Proton still top sales and DrM comfirm global brand !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Prozuki on Jun 17, 2015 at 3:51 pm

Why bother? Rebadge pun using Suzuki design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • w3ll3r on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:03 pm

Rebadging is reusing, not starting from scratch.

• Beng P1boy on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:37 pm

Proton can have launch 2-3 model at anytime… don’t be so naive P2 macai.

Just use your head a bit to accept Proton still top sales over your P2 annual sales !!! Lousy uneducated brain P2 macai…

• King Sulu on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:45 pm

Yes, yes, you are right. All hail ah Beng P1boy

Btw, how much Ah Beng paid you?

• Nazgul on Jun 17, 2015 at 6:57 pm

All company has continuous improvement plan especially for car makers. Finding talent is one of them. Proton is doing the right thing.

• Al haffi on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Meh,Look like Tamiya toy car

• mason_ on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:00 pm

Wow..nice..
    I has a lot of idea to national car makers..
    Too bad I am not good in drawing/sketching…haha

• helping hand on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:21 pm

Maybe you should share your idea with your young brother/sister who can draw.

• Proton - Kacang Tak Kenang Budi on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:57 pm

I suggest you not to give your idea to this lousy national car maker. Just look at what happened to Dany Bahar. He helped Proton designed the stunning 5 Lotus concepts and see what happened to him at the end? Moreover, the design will have to go through ‘Top Management’, who are based on majority race. If you like to design, you can try for different car makers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • Joe Jambu on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:03 pm

Does this means Proton admit their design is ugly and needs inspiration from public ???… ( Preve awkward high bontot tonggeng, Suprima ugly side look, Iriz look like an egg on wheels, and lets not even talk about the Juara @_@ )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 37
    • digestl on Jun 17, 2015 at 2:46 pm

But it still cannot beat fugly Almera dugong and Vios catfish designs, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 27
    • frossonice on Jun 17, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Bodo nak mampos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 17, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Audi, vw, ford, gm, bmw every year have same design contest..do they oso admit their car ugly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
    • rigid on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:52 pm

such a stup*d comment..just condemn everyone at fault.why dont you give them your inspiration, we wanna look is it your design some sort of ‘pininfarena’ or bulls**t too!talk is cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
    • I think proton wanna be fair to malaysian specially to critical citizen like u. So proton is offering not only cash but also chance for people like u to show off ur talent. See if u can design car secantik u punya bahasa and sebijak u punya so called akal. Tunggu apa lagi? Take up the challenge. It is time for u to design a practical, afordable yet exqusite national car. Mind u, this design will need u to squeeze ur mind ok. Bukan pakai air liur saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 14
  • After all sorts of design competition, and the outcome will fit in with another Campro engine?

Forget it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 22
    • dsgnr on Jun 17, 2015 at 4:00 pm

This is exterior design, you ask kids to design engine kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • makalele on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:30 pm

Yes, kids can design better than Proton designers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • uglyjaps on Jun 17, 2015 at 8:25 pm

Sounds more like vios and almera designs. So childish.

• patheticproton on Jun 17, 2015 at 9:37 pm

Proton low sales because of bad design, now need kids to help design? Pathetic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
          • uglyjaps on Jun 18, 2015 at 6:25 am

Bad design? OMG you must be Veeyos and Almari design fans. Suggest you go to optometrist.

• frossonice on Jun 17, 2015 at 5:32 pm

Another one.

Oh why so many ignorant Malaysian around.

• In b4 Malaysia got no talent for design, better go back tanam padi. Dun memalukan own country in front of the world

• das auto on Jun 17, 2015 at 11:45 pm

I think Toyota is the one that needs to do a design competition and not proton. Their recent cars are fugly as hell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • viosFTW on Jun 18, 2015 at 6:28 am

No, VW needs it more. Vios nowadays look like Ferrari, people stare at it everytime.

• Same L0rrr on Jun 18, 2015 at 2:48 pm

STFU. I don’t need you to help me on defending my TOYOTA.

• I IS ME on Jun 30, 2015 at 7:25 pm

at the end theres lot of people that have nothing to do other than play with their keyboard or screen..no matter what other try to do the only thing that you know is condemn..how good is you??show it off..we wanna see it..if people do bad and you do good.bring your own..bad mentalities shows bad attitudes.as a student of industrial designer we try to build our qualitie’s with this kind of contest or so on..even we are not good enough.for us this is oportunities.but for you it just to critize.everyone have their own brain.,but you should know even ordinary people sometime can do great better than clever..

• alldisc on Jul 03, 2015 at 3:03 pm

Jonathan,

proton website states for both category 1 & 2, only students. where else in you article category 2 is open to all Malaysians.

can you please confirm which is which.
    http://corporate.proton.com/en/protondesign2015/How%20to%20Enter

• imtiyaz muhammad on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:16 pm

when it want to tell the winner….who is it

• imtiyaz muhammad on Oct 02, 2015 at 3:17 pm

when it want to tell the winner

• reeskey on Oct 11, 2015 at 12:10 pm

when can i know the results???