Inching ever closer to a global debut, here is the Mercedes-Benz W213 E-Class sedan spied once again, this time, wearing nearly no camouflage at all, but for limited areas surrounding the front and rear bumpers and tail lights.
These images are the most revealing ones we’ve ever seen of the next-gen E-Class, and should allow you to fully visualise the final product in your mind — which as recent reports suggest, could make a debut at the 2016 Detroit Auto Show in January.
Here, all E-Class mules spied appear in the brand’s sportier Avantgarde line, distinguished by their twin-bar radiator grille and centralised Three-Pointed Star. The same design line has been seen on most previously spied W213s, but its standard grille has been spotted before, on a test mule at the Nurburgring.
Thus far, we’ve also been able to uncover the W213 E-Class’ interior for you, which as accurately speculated, was previewed by the Concept IAA at the recent Frankfurt Motor Show. With the top half of the dash inspired by the S-Class, and the lower half taken from the C-Class, the coming E-Class is the perfect middle ground between the two variants.
In the test mule we spied, only one of the S-Class’ 12.3-inch COMAND display screens made its way into the E-Class’ cabin, while the instrument cluster featured typical analogue dials, with a digital multi-info display screen in the centre.
The dash and centre console also features circular air vents with climate control toggles and centred analogue clock just beneath. Further down the centre console is where you’ll be able to spot the COMAND rotary dial with the touchpad cum palm rest floating above, just like in the W205 C-Class.
Performance wise, we know for sure that the range-topping Mercedes-AMG E 63 will adopt the same 4.0 litre biturbo V8 from the new C 63, while the remaining E-Class variants are expected to carry forward their range of four- and six-cylinder petrol and diesel engines.
Mercedes-Benz has also revealed a few technological developments for the E-Class, particularly surrounding its Remote Parking Pilot, NFC keyless entry, next-gen safety.
GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class spyshots
- Spy-Shots of Cars – This image has been optimized for a calibrated screen with a Gamma of 2.2 and a colour temperature og 6500°K
GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class interior spyshots
new generation of benz. you can’t differentiate among S-Class, E-Class, & C-Class, they just look the same. LOL
still ok la comparing to audi..boring and what’s more buying pricier car also looks like the least expensive one..
Audi is VW in disguise. Only fools buy VW or Audi after the scandal
Good luck, for same specs and better reliability, ppl go for our new ES250. Waiting list is long.
But ES250 is a bit underpowered & FWD, on the good side it has better interior and it’s CBU.
Lexus is toyota in disguise. Only fools buy Lexus after takata scandal
You must be dreaming! the scandal only happen in US. What to worry when you live in Malaysia?
when i saw the word naked i got excited. Last night Mlam Jumaat was so exciting, tak boleh lupa lah
Why not C-class does win Car of the year… E-class will be the improvement of the same idea !
Same same but different
Exactly like Audi, A1 till A100 hehe
Been using W210, still loving it. But this, too many questions.
The design became quite boring…
German automakers seem to be getting lazy in terms of their design.
BMW – 3, 5, 6, 7 series all look almost the same except for the size and some small tweaks here and there
VW – Passat looks like the bigger version of Jetta which in turn looks like the bigger version of Polo Sedan
Audi – Just like BMW, all Audi sedan looks almost the same except for their size
Mercedes – Now doing the same as the 3 above?
So disappointed.
Maybe they know something you don’t
C is baby S
E would be teenager S
Revolutionary: stretch out a C class or compress an S class…..
Hope they can improve on the crampy rear legroom so that I can upgrade from my fugly aging camry xv50
Obviously you never sit in w212. U shall get a sonata with 9 yrs loan. Work hard.