SPIED: W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class interior seen completely undisguised for the first time!

Mercedes E Class Wagon 1

Today we can show you for the first time the interior of the upcoming W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class, completely undisguised. The previous spyshots that we’ve seen show the interior partially covered up. Today’s shot is from a S213 Wagon with the sport grille.

The E-Class slots in between the C-Class and the S-Class in the Mercedes-Benz sedan line-up, and it seems that the designers have literally crafted the interior around this middle-ground positioning – the upper half of the dashboard seems to be inspired by the S-Class while the lower half is from the C-Class.

Like the S-Class, the new E-Class interior features a big trim piece that extends horizontally across the entire dashboard. This trim integrates four aircond vents in the middle just like the S-Class, the only thing missing is the analog clock that sits in the middle of the vents. We also notice a new-style engine start button positioned next to the air cond vents, moved higher up from its usual position.

Since this car has a sport grille on the exterior, the interior dash trim has a textured aluminium similiar to what you can find in the Malaysian-spec W212 E300 Bluetec Hybrid. There will no doubt be the usual options like gloss black or wood trim for the buyer to choose.

There’s also a single large cowl that extends across the driver instrument panel and the COMAND display. While the COMAND display looks similiar to the S-Class, the instrument panel uses analog dials instead of a digital display. The bottom half of the dashboard curves down in a similiar design as the C-Class, including the positioning of the analog clock. This is where the climate controls are, instead of buttons running along the lower edge of the main dashboard trim on the S-Class. And then you have the COMAND rotary knob as well as the touch panel “palm rest” that floats above it.

Based on previous spyshots, we connected the dots and said the upcoming W213 interior was previewed in the form of the interior of the Mercedes-Benz Concept IAA that was shown at the recent 2015 Frankfurt Motor Show. Now we can definitely say whatever we see here matches what we saw in the concept.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz Concept IAA Interior

GALLERY: S213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Wagon

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MBM Folger - Where E400 Hybrid? on Sep 30, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Hope Folger price this reasonable and bring down the Hybrid. E400 Hybrid in the US only US$55k. If Malaysia wants, can bring this car down tax free ie using the existing tax free incentives for hybrid.

Folger, don’t lah sell your cheap E250 for RM428,000. Be fair to Malaysians.

• Areyousure on Sep 30, 2015 at 2:40 pm

4 center blowers? Next time Audi puts their logo as A/C blowers, LOL

• gerenti best-selling car in high-income Malaysia

• kereta_lembu on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:01 pm

Not sure if its the angle of the picture but the odometer looks pretty odd and fugly.

• sudonano (Member) on Sep 30, 2015 at 3:44 pm

Looks decent, but analog speedometer – really?

After all the 5 series already has a digital display, the new XF has it as well and the next A6 will have it too…

More pressing, the cowling for the speedo is rather minimal, at least if it was more recessed it wouldn’t look half as bad.

I think unlike the S class, the E class would probably look better with a black interior, while on the S class the lighter interiors looked so good (though not practical, but who cares, it’s an S class right?)

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 01, 2015 at 1:02 am

I have the feeling that’s a test speedometer bro I bet it will be digital display when it launches. But heck the interior looks like a cut n paste job from the S class.

• alldisc on Sep 30, 2015 at 6:20 pm

mercedez had proven all it is capable of in terms of technology and digital. there is not much far ahead they can go.

try to recall that mercedez is actually going back to its root… the mercedez W115 (the e class before W123). the meter concept is exacly similar.

it looks like… toyota not the only one going retro wtih corolla altis dashboard. i am not surprised at all with mercedez and should some other companies following suit.

• Gaviny on Sep 30, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Ugly as heck, the s class glass scree is horrendous

• Rojakman on Oct 01, 2015 at 12:29 am

Those meters look so cheap and ugly

• atz1999 on Oct 04, 2015 at 10:21 pm

MB>BMW
    MB>AUDI
    BMW>AUDI
    AUDI>BMW