VIDEO: 2016 Kia Optima and Christopher Walken rock your socks in this Superbowl advertisment

One more in a series of Superbowl advertisements featuring upcoming cars, the 2016 Kia Optima is featured alongside actor Christopher Walken in a spot making a play on the “beige car” segment. The ad attempts to show an ordinary joe entering his “Walken closet”, and choosing something to wear from his many, same-coloured, clothes, before Walken starts expounding on the 2016 Kia Optima being the “most exciting pair of beige socks.”

The upcoming Kia Optima, in GT form, will house a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged T-GDI petrol engine, paired with a six-speed automatic transmission. Power is claimed to be 245 PS at 6,000 rpm and 353 Nm of torque from 1,350 to 4,000 rpm for the GT. The 1.7 litre CRDi turbodiesel engine comes with better output numbers (141 PS/340 Nm, up from 136 PS/325 Nm), low end response, efficiency and NVH for 2016. A 2.0 litre petrol option with 163 PS/196 Nm is also offered. The diesel can be matched to a seven-speed dual-clutch ‘box, while the petrol sticks to a six-speed automatic.

Topping out at 240 km/h, the Optima takes 7.4 seconds for the 0-100 km/h sprint.To match its more powerful setup, the GT version gets unique suspension settings and an “electronically-controlled suspension” system that provides individualised damping force to each wheel.

Kia says the 2016 Optima is improved over the out-going model with a list of options, depending on market, that includes Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB), Advanced Smart Cruise Control (SCC), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), High Beam Assist (HBA), Speed Limit Information Function (SLIF), Blind Spot Detection (BSD) and Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA).

The Optima’s airbag count now goes up to seven, including a driver’s knee airbag. As for the Malaysian market, it’s more a matter of when rather if the fourth-generation Optima will hit our shores. The current Optima K5 facelift model was launched in January 2014, and is priced at RM150,888.

US-market 2016 Kia Optima

Malaysian-market 2014 Kia Optima K5 facelift

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Cantik betul Kia Optima ni. Sukurlah Malaysia aman dan damai dan kerajaan BN prihatin kepada rakyat dan memberi kami kereta yang munasabah harga.

Saya yakin dan cinta UMNO dan BN! Syukur!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Mohd Faiz on Feb 03, 2016 at 3:35 pm

we all smell your sarcasm, well noted Sir John.

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 03, 2016 at 4:20 pm

One year later, you can beg me to accept this car at RM25k. My son saga get higher RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Same L0rrrr on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:17 pm

As long as it is kimchi, it will no have RV. Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
        • Gilahgum on Feb 03, 2016 at 8:13 pm

You can continue to be proud with your son saga

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 04, 2016 at 8:40 am

If I have any proton, I will give you for free. Who wanna keep junk at home? Not me!!

• Macais says Kia is real BMW of asia, but they bodoh piang. It is Genesis that is the genuine BMW

• holofanboi on Feb 03, 2016 at 3:23 pm

*sigh*

Im fine with the interior but why oh why isnt there a drastic change with the exterior?…

Doubt this design will encourage sales. More and more brands have stepped up the design game.

• dugongx on Feb 03, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Our current malaysian version interior looks so cheapo compared to this new US version.

• TheDean on Feb 03, 2016 at 9:00 pm

They not only build better cars, they make better ads too.

• The ad was going along just fine, just until that ugly car showed up.