JPJ hopes to change the ways of Mat Rempits – report

2015-mat-rempit-5-e1444095620332a

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will approach and negotiate with Mat Rempits, with the hope that the illegal motorcycle street racers change their ways. This is according to a report by The Sun.

JPJ director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad said the actions of these Mat Rempits endanger the lives of the public, and violate road regulations and laws. As such, he said that JPJ will not hesitate to take any action against those involved in the illegal activity.

“In fact, JPJ has identified some of the hotspot areas where Mat Rempits always have their illegal race and we will not hesitate to detain or take enforcement action against them if they are found to have violated any regulation,” he said.

However, he did not comment on the Federal Territories Minister Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor’s proposal of shutting down roads in the city to facilitate legalised Mat Rempits street races. Ismail believes that Tengku Adnan has his rationale behind the proposal, which hopefully follows the JPJ’s goal to reduce the country’s accident rate.

Recently, several ministers have rejected the idea of allowing legalised motorcycle street racing in Kuala Lumpur. The police meanwhile, has said it will discuss the matter further with the government, with Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar quoted as saying, “our youngsters still like to rempit or race late at night. I’m sure he has his reasons. So, let us meet him first.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:22 pm

This is how bodoh our JPJ is. It is like the polis approaching a murderer or a rapist and trying softly and encouragingly say “Brader, tolong janagan bunuh atau rogol” “Tolong brader”

What stupid nonsense is this JPJ? I suggest, before you start talking rubbish and trying to persuade Mat Rempits to change their ways, why don’t you change your officers who are 99% kaki duit kopi?

Your JPJ officers are No 1 duit kopi, asking for money to settle saman. Because of them, so many accidents hapen cause there are many reckless peope on the road who believe that they can settle anything.

Hundreds of people die and get knocked down by lori hantu every year. You know why? Cause all the lori hantu give the JPJ officers duit kopi to settle before and each driver has been driving for years without licence, without work permit etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • see the road on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:54 pm

“The Road Transport Department (JPJ) will approach and negotiate with Mat Rempits, with the hope that the illegal motorcycle street racers change their ways.”

We should not have to negotiate with terrorists. They are going down. Now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • George Abdul on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:32 pm

Will JPJ pampering the illegal druggers and terrorism too??? Seriously wasted Tax payers money on this ministry !!! Rakyat when will you wakeup ??!!!

• hahaha on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:50 pm

lock them up and throw away the keys

• Same L0rrrr on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Marijuana still banned while mat rempit racing is ok?

Lesson of the day:
        1. Endangering yourself (marijuana) — NOT OK!
        2. Endangering others (mat rempit) — SEEMS OK!

• Every1canTalk on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:22 pm

OMG, plan to approach and negotiate with Mat Rempits??? Mat Rempits become the boss now and JPJ need deal with them, what happen to Malaysia now…

• tokmoh. on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:24 pm

JPJ : u vote BN, we protek protek your maruah tercabar. Deal?

• applegreen on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:52 pm

in future mat rempit will make roadblocks and check JPJ vehicles

• Albert on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:38 pm

This type of reasoning by JPJ is shambolic.
      Sooner,enforcement agencies have to negotiate with rapists,terrorists,kidnappers,narcotics mafia,smugglers,tax evaders,crooked lawyers…wahliao eh…no wonder corruption is increasing .
      They scored Bs for their exams.
      B for BODOH,BODOH,BODOH….

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Many Form Five educated JPJ officers on the field earn about RM5000 per day. More than any top surgeon or barrister (lawyer) in the country can earn.

I have first hand information cause my neighbour himself brag and boast to me how much he makes as an officer of JPJ.

I think, high time for Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad to do something. Corruption here actually hurts people. Official stats say there are 2 million drivers with no licence. They actually cause a lot of accidents.

Please clean up your JPJ. Please!

• JPJ pun confused. Mat Rempit ni bukan nak berlumba sangat. Ni aktiviti sampingan dadah saja, bila dah high mereka buat lumba motor. Kalau nak legal kan mat rempit kena ada dadah sekali, kalau tak macam mana nak merempit, ini punca masalah yang pihak berkuasa kena faham..

• Songlap Songlap Malaysia on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:45 pm

Actually it was not only Jabba the Hut that proposed this. Other Ministers, who are mainly bodoh, taught it was a great idea.

With the backlash from the public, all the Ministers, mostly who got no bola, all pusing now and say, it is such a bad idea to legalise rempit.

You see, the Ministers all want to protect their own children, whom mostly are thugs and rempits. One example is Minister nazri’s son, Nedim. He also, kaki rempit. Most of the Minister’s kids like that. Money easy come, easy go. At a young teenage age, they themselves have millions and drive cars like Porsche.

If they are not rempitting with their powerbikes, they are speeding with their Porsches and racing along Kesas. So Ministers themselves now trying to see ways to rehab them.

• Kancil Hybrid on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Negotiate? With whom do u want to negotiate? Those idiots got a President that u can negotiate with? JPJ bodoh nak mampus aka stupid as hell!

Tengku Adnan wants to allow races on streets is nothing more than to win those idiots votes.

Malaysia is becoming such a funny and weird country with clowns running freely at the top.

• tokmoh. on Feb 29, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Wayang only la. Rempit is important vote bank for BN.

Our safety can masuk longkang. Protek protek maruah more important.

• jibby martha focker on Feb 29, 2016 at 1:44 pm

OH GOD.. do these fuctards realize what they really say? Negotiate with rempits? woi..woi bodoh ka jpj kita sampai keluar kenyataan cam ni?

• Seriously this kill my Monday blue

• xoxox on Feb 29, 2016 at 2:38 pm

change the way?to sea mat rempit? lol

• Gov shud make Sepang’s 4th circuit as low-mid power motor racing circuit & change only RM 5~10 per entry. Refueling & mech maintenance can be done inside & oso with cafeteria.

Oso have polis/referees to ensure no gang fights and all race fairly. Bulan Sabit can on/off gip 1st aid training to them, no need ambulance. If they die, then its takdir.

Get some friendlier rempit groups to try it out and let them spread the word. If more & more join, soon all rempits will wanna go there. Then make all states have this mini circuit concept (except Png, cuz they hi keras only race with vios & myvi).

Winners of each states will then go to national finals at Sepang main circuit. Win-win for every1.

• JPJ you want to do what??
    You can’t even handle simple stuff like fancy number plates for goodness sake…
    What you going to do? make them wear sarong??

• Talkcock on Feb 29, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Negotiate? With who? Don’t tell me that ur part time job is be a mat rempit after work!

• Wow. Instead of catching those mat rempit they choose to negotiate with them ?