Haval H2 SUV to be launched in Malaysia by Q2, 2016

Haval H2 1

At last year’s NST-MAI ASEAN Auto Show, Great Wall Motors (now known as Haval Motors) previewed the Haval H2. It has now been revealed that the C-segment SUV, which will go up against the likes of the Hyundai Tucson, Kia Sportage, Honda CR-V and Mazda CX-5, will be launched in Q2 of 2016.

According to the specifications sheet shown during the car’s preview, the H2 range consists of 2WD and 4WD models, with the former most likely be offered to Malaysians. Three variants were listed, being City, Luxury and Dignity, but there’s no confirmation yet on which one we’ll be getting.

Powering the H2 is a 1.5 litre 4G15B turbocharged four-cylinder dual-VVT petrol engine that develops 147 hp at 5,600 rpm and 210 Nm of max torque between 2,200 to 4,500 rpm. The mill is mated to a six-speed automatic gearbox.

The equipment list revealed to us back then is pretty impressive as well. On the outside, there are automatic halogen headlights (with a “follow-me-home” function) and LED DRLs in the front apron. The aesthetic package also includes 18-inch alloy wheels and a dual-tone paintjob for the car’s body.

Inside, there are electric-powered seats (six-way with lumbar support) on the driver’s side. The seats themselves are upholstered in leather, as is the steering wheel. Other luxuries include keyless entry and operation, a 3.5-inch TFT colour display multi-info driver display, touchscreen infotainment unit, dual-zone automatic air-con, and a reverse camera/radar system.

Safety-wise, the Haval H2 offers six airbags (dual front, side, curtain), along with electronic stability control (ESC) plus anti-lock brakes with EBD and brake assist. There is even a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS).

Prices of the Haval H2 has yet to be provided, with the same being said of its final specifications as well. For now, are you impressed by what the Haval H2 has to offer? How much would you be willing to pay for the C-segment SUV? Let us know in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• kapchai on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:23 pm

Wah….turbocharged with dual-VVT !! Very advanced. Ahead of the Japanese. We are still waiting for our Civic 1.5 turbo. Good one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0rrrr on Mar 10, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Can’t afford sushi cars due to Proton’s protection? You can consider this also… as long as you don’t get a junk home.

• shawal on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:47 pm

On paper it looks mighty impressive….
    but in the real world…. Things might turn out differently….

If they are serious about expanding and confident in their products, they shud lend i guys a long term tester to counter negative perception….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • Aero (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 5:53 pm

The engine in this Haval H2 is a Mitsubishi unit. The 4G15B is produced at Shenyang Aerospace Mitsubishi Motors Engine Manufacturing Co. Ltd. in North-Eastern China. It could be related to the 4G15P in our Saga C21/C22, Wira, Satria and Arena too, but I cannot 101% confirm this.

In the past, many Chinese cars here came with Japanese engines. The Chery Eastar had a Mitsubishi unit, the Chana CV6 had a Suzuki one, and I’m quite sure those Jinbei vans have Mitsubishi engines too. I’m not sure about the Great Wall/ Haval M4, I’m guessing Mitsubishi as well. I’ll try to dig up more info in time… the Chinese car market is truly vast and diverse… and unfortunately, I don’t understand Mandarin and can’t read Chinese text… but I’ll probably learn it someday. :]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 14
    • FYI this engine is found in Mitsubishi colt ralliart(not your old satria colt) and smart forfour brabus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Sembang kencang on Mar 09, 2016 at 6:53 pm

Better learn Tamil also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • My friend in china told me that, greatwall auto using their own china engine as greatwall make their engine in china. China engine reliability is hard to say due to china engine making experience still very new.. if anybody got gut to be white mouse.. can try..

• FYI Great Wall is using Toyota engine in their lineup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Sammy Loo on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:37 pm

It is a copy of the Vios engine, but is not a Toyota engine. Don’t get fool by the looks of the engine.

• This H2 definitely not Toyota engine. Looking at their engine number an model number will give you answer. Don be fool by the salesman. Toyota will never sell their advance engine technology to anybody.. even other famous auto brand will not do it also..

• kanazai2001 on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:55 am

neither VVT nor dual VVT is not meant it is from Toy…
        VVT tech is from Porsche originally… not related to Toy also…

• New haval h2 facelift will equiqed with gw4g13 ,direct injection,turbocharged ,start stop function.
    With horsepower 136ps and 230nm torque.
    And pair with hyundai source 6 auto gearbox.
    Looking foward to haval h2 fl coming
    If the price right,might sell like a hot cake…

• haval h2 i think is the most popular suv in china…not bad indeed

• Welinkar on Mar 09, 2016 at 9:36 pm

This SUV being Chinese looks like it’s going to be a lot of ‘bang for your buck’ !!! I suspect the OTR price will be below MYR 100 K ! ? However…..how has the vehicle fared in the NCAP tests, and will it last as long as a Japanese vehicle ? Quality of dash board materials ?

• RM79k tops, but must come with 4WD.

• Ah beng on Mar 09, 2016 at 10:07 pm

For a china-made c-segment SUV; I would say the price should be around RM 78,888.88

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:14 am

Nothing more than 70K..anything more, you’re better off with a HRV or CX5 with better pickup, much lower fc & way better resale value.

• Bought this car at RMB120k OTR. Not very powerful car but quite comfortable…