Bad drivers to face rehab under new Kejara system?

MEX-Highway-01

Errant drivers beware — not only will the new Kejara/AWAS system be able to suspend your driving licenses for several months at a time for reckless driving, it looks like the government is also pushing to introduce a new rehabilitation course for drivers as well.

According to The Sun Daily, deputy transport minister, Datuk Aziz Kaprawi said that the new rehab process will aim to educate drivers about the dangers of poor driving habits. Kaprawi also mentioned that this is likely to be optionally available to drivers, and that it shouldn’t be treated as punishment, but an education.

“When a license holder is suspended, the person can choose whether to undergo a rehabilitation course to reduce his suspension period,” said Kaprawi. “We want to re-educate problematic drivers on road safety elements and courteous driving as part of the effort to reduce road crashes and fatalities,” he continued.

The deputy minister believes that this education process, to be known as the Kejara Driver Improvement Programme, will be more effective at curbing the issue rather than simply increasing traffic fines — as recently suggested by Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar

AES_Camera

Kaprawi’s sentiments were echoed by Road Transport Department (JPJ) enforcement chief Datuk Valluvan. “We are not going to punish them. We want to initiate behavioural changes by highlighting safe driving as well as stressing on the psychological aspect and how their driving will affect them and other users on the road,” Valluvan explained.

“We also won’t be teaching them how to drive or repeat what they have learned from the driving test previously,” Valluvan stated. He concluded by saying that details for the Kejara demerit points system were in its final planning stages, with a proposal due to be submitted to the Cabinet in April.

How do you feel about an optional rehabilitation system that could potentially reduce your original suspension as per the Kejara system, dear readers? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• alldisc on Mar 14, 2016 at 11:30 am

Please oh please… Teach those drivers to be more patient. No cut ques, not beating red lights, no using emergency lanes, no parking in disable lot. And also.. To use signals when turning left or right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 39
    • Talk number 1 on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Please lah please when is the implementation date? Otherwise it is just talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
  • But no re-education for lane hoggers? No one really has to speed to overtake hoggers on the right if they all kept left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
  • Black Dog on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:14 pm

“We also won’t be teaching them how to drive or repeat what they have learned from the driving test previously,”

The only thing a new driver learned is CORRUPTION! Pay up to pass your ‘undang’ and ‘on the road test’!

Settle that too!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • hahaha on Mar 14, 2016 at 12:18 pm

you can’t teach recalcitrant individuals… Malaysians only follow rules when the rules are tough and enforced. If not enforced then no point talking.
    should be:
    take away their licenses for 3 years…
    then have to resit the test from the beginning at the end of the 3 yrs…
    if caught driving without license during the 3 year exclusion period, extend another year…
    three strikes, possible jail term…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 14, 2016 at 1:53 pm

if anyone who should go to rehab,its those guys at the top with their brainless statements…
    there are so many easy cost effective solutions,just deduct their freaking points ..or do 100 hours of community service,or donate a minimum of rm1000 to any charity and so on….geez man….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Painter on Mar 14, 2016 at 4:37 pm

I think I put up this suggestion a few times on Paultan.org almost every time there’s an article on traffic offenses.

They must have picked this up from here or they came out with their own plan.

Either way, it’s a good idea. Punishing by fining offenders is not going to solve anything. Repeat offenders must be psychologically evaluated.