Adoption rate of ABS in Malaysia is behind Thailand, Indonesia and China; only 11% of new cars have ESP

bosch-abs-esp-slide-2

At a technical conference organised by the Malaysian Automotive Institute (MAI) earlier today, Bosch revealed some startling figures surrounding Malaysia’s adoption rate of anti-locking brake systems (ABS) and electronic stability programmes (ESP) for locally-assembled models produced in 2015.

According to the data presented, only 36% of new CKD passenger cars and light commercial vehicles in Malaysia produced last year are said to be equipped with ABS. This puts us even lower than Indonesia, where the adoption rate is 37%. Thailand is next at 40%, while China is miles ahead with 87% of its locally-assembled new models equipped with the basic safety feature.

It’s equally worrying that Malaysia also has a low take-up rate of ESP systems. In 2015, just 11% of new CKD passenger cars and light commercial vehicles were equipped with the life-saving feature. Indonesia’s rate is said to be just 4%, while Thailand and China has a higher rate of 31% and 41% respectively. Globally, ABS has an adoption rate of 89% while ESP has 64%.

With minimal government regulation, the issue of vehicles lacking crucial safety equipment typically arise from manufacturers sacrificing such items to keep prices low. In Malaysia, for example, the cheapest new model money can buy is the Perodua Axia. In 2015, the base Axia E (RM24k) and G (RM31k) variants weren’t equipped with ABS, let alone ESP – the Axia G variant was updated with ABS for 2016.

It’s a similar case for the nation’s other automaker, Proton. The Saga, its cheapest model, offers no ABS or ESP either. Also, while none of Perodua’s models offer ESP, Proton has made massive strides in the department in recent times. Its latest model, the Proton Iriz, even in its base trim (the 1.3 Standard MT – RM39k) offers both ABS and ESP systems as standard. You can read our detailed report on the importance of ESP here.

But what do you think, dear reader? Would you prefer a cheaper vehicle at the cost of these safety features, or would you rather spend a little bit more for something that could save your life one day? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• hasbullah on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Apparently, Malaysian lives aren’t worth much.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:57 pm

Adoption rate is poor because very simple, nearly ALL car companies are owned by the Government in Malaysia. So, the government just wants to untung more at the expense of our lives.

They know you got no where to complain. Even if you take a court case, the court will throw out the case. In Malaysia, you cannot lawan Government.

In overseas, people can complain to the Government if car companies shortchange them by giving low safety spec. Because in other countries, governments are neutral. Not in Malaysia, Government owns nearly ALL car companies.

Many in overseas also sue the car companies and win.

Malaysia is the only country in the world where top D segment cars only have 2 airbags and some don’t have VSC even!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 11
      • Fatimaa on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:20 am

Car company owned by government? Did u just woke up from a long coma? Do some reading bro…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
        • Tq toyota & perodua for your contribution… hoping u guyz keep on supplying this kind of outdated cars

• please listed the car company belong to the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Wilson Ang on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:23 am

Malaysia always champion in all kind of competitions.

• Operation Manager on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:13 pm

Now the data speak the truth, even basic fundamental not built, while Gov Link Auto Institutions talk big outside empty shell inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:33 pm

The name of the cancer is PNB. They are no good bean counters controlling UMW and Perodua. We have a duty to cut off this cancer. Take out our money from Amanah Saham!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
        • Stop buying moving coffins and buy safer cars (ie Iriz) is a better way to kill toyota/P2

• carazy on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:28 pm

Don’t blame the G for everyting, blame the citizen some time. They hv a abundance choice of car, with ABS & EBD or without. At the end they choose to buy crap. For example with the new P1 model such as Iriz or Suprima both of them offered ABS & EBD as standard features. Why choose Myvi or Vios instead? Iriz and Suprima are no crap with good price somemore, but they still choose crap. Think?

• karam singh on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:33 pm

agreed …
        -ve contributor for abs / stability control mainly from perodua/toyota.
        Perodua still don’t have any car with stability control, even their cars have very high body roll.

• Agree. Top spec Myvi and base spec Preve are same price, but spec wise is earth and sky difference. Malaysians never value life.

• Jeffrey on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:09 pm

No doubt we are the first automotive industrialisation country in ASEAN but thank to our home grown brands, ABS & ESP stills luxury features and everyone is catching up us, a lot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • i thought we already have a home grown brand which is equipped with ABS, ESP, ESP, BA and 5 stars safety rating cars….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • B-Unggul on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:24 pm

If you’re talking about P2, then yup, spot on!

Modern P1 cars are equipped with those, and people aren’t buying enough. There may be a compound of reasons, but in the end, people aren’t buying them.

You can’t have the features if you’re not buying the ones with them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • 300k pipu buying moving coffins is a big incentive for automakers to NOT bother to gip safety in their cars.

• Wilson on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:11 am

Some ministers will come out again and accuse the report. Inaccurate lah, unfair lah, wrong la, tipu la.

• hahaha on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:14 pm

national cars putting the rakyat at risk! says it all doesn’t it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Jobless on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:46 pm

From daily observation of how mostly Ah Bengs drive otr, No amount of safety features can save them, not even God

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Especially Axia, Myvi, Vios and Saga drivers, they dunno theirs car is taufu but still do dangerous on the road

• Sonyman1 on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:49 pm

Frankly speaking. Why do they even bother? Money is more important especially selling you the crap cars. You see the perodua proton, fellow boses drive their products? No never. Only for the sake of camera they put out their bloody tumb up. Do They even know their products? I guarantee they don’t. Unlike Elon musk who really knows his stuff because he created it. You ask that stupid ceo about their car. Bet you Paul tan readers know even more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:08 am

There pipu said p1 oni sell 10k car to public. The rest govt buy…

• Drive your own products on Apr 07, 2016 at 7:33 am

I agree. All car companies’ bosses should use their products daily. Then they’ll know what to improve.

• Really on Apr 06, 2016 at 8:54 pm

The most popular brands should take the initiative and introduce ABS and ESP across all their models. Sadly, most of them (Toyota and Perodua the two main culprits) still put profit margins ahead of their customers’ safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • manufacturers are greedy and profiteering in malaysia yet car are so darn expensive.

• ChainSmokers on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:25 pm

10% are imports, 89% are Perodua and 1% is Proton ;)

• Malaysian admit Toyota moving to coffin program

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Bernard on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:42 pm

Would Malaysia be behind Laos and Myanmar soon?

• SAE and ASEAN NCAP can also close shop like POTONG on Apr 06, 2016 at 9:43 pm

“Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Malaysia chairman and ASEAN NCAP secretary-general Khairil Anwar Abu Kassim made the bold prediction to adopt autonomous emergency braking (AEB) and lane-keeping active safety systems as standard by the year 2020” !!!! ABS and ESP also cannot adopt properly in Malaysia wanna move to more advance automotive technology …. moron’s talk all the time without facts just to make some headline news, go back to school !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:10 pm

Very few people care about us.
    Therefore we need to take more care of ourselves.

I support good leaders, I can see with my eyes and think with my brain.

• Black Dog on Apr 07, 2016 at 11:15 am

Name me just 1 good leader in malaysia. No?

• I wud say TAR, but some RBAs says if not becuz of him, we wud still remain as slave colony of UK

• nabill (Member) on Apr 06, 2016 at 10:14 pm

Lets all act surprised…

• best thing in bolehland is those cars that usually tailgating u at are these cars without ABS or ESP

• Thank you 300k pipu for buying moving coffins in 2015. Without ur contributions we wud not be making this record. So gip urself a big hand for making our alredi unsafe roads even more dangerous. Hooray!

• tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:16 pm

If compare TRD, Mugen, Nismo bodykits, confirm Msia in the lead. Or nation with most 26″ rim tyres.

Cuz bling bling is more important than safety. Safety bukan budaya kita.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • tokmoh. on Apr 06, 2016 at 11:19 pm

We all like to kutuk Chinese cars are tin milo, look who’s the tin milo now?

A Chinese car even has vision 2020 that nobody will be killed or seriously injured in their car. Haters gonna hate~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Donkey J on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:30 am

refuse to admit is G perspective, rather twist a truth to their lie story. Let see how worst will cause.

• when its citizen driving like monkey behind the wheel, you don’t expect them to account safety features upon purchasing vehicle.

Afterwards, Proton should design model with skull thick enough just to support its own weight and loads.

• AIDIL RAZALLI on Apr 07, 2016 at 12:07 am

I think all new car CKD in Malaysia should equipped with ABS & ESP, Include low spec car. Same as all new car must have SRS Airbag.

• Josh Ling on Apr 07, 2016 at 1:24 am

i think ABS should be the least requirement for a car to be driven on the road today. i mean how much does an ABS system cost to the manufacturers? so it’s seriously unbelievable that Perodua and Proton (especially) chose to not fit any ABS on Axia and Saga Plus. Why?? Is it really because those who can’t afford more expensive cars don’t deserve to be protected?

without ABS it’s rather risky for any car to be driven under any circumstances, especially raining.

• Jimmy on Apr 07, 2016 at 2:12 am

Well this is Malaysia isn’t it. What did you expect from a third world country? We’re just like Indonesia, except we have better food.

• tishaban on Apr 07, 2016 at 5:03 am

Looking at the bigger picture, the majority of road accident injuries and fatalities in Malaysia are from motorcycle users, not car users. If we assume that the cheap, low end car buyers are moving up from motorcycles, or are deciding to not buy motorcycles and instead buying cheap cars, there is already a net safety improvement there.

However if we look at the regional picture, Thailand and Indonesia have as many or more motorcyclists and yet their adoption rates are better too.

• our gov will say syukurla.. indonesia still behind us for ESP.

• Nancy on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:04 am

Blame it all on the government. They make the car the expensive. The car manufacturer have to strip off many stuff in the car to make the car sound affordable but actually put Rakyat at risk. Finally the results reveal all.

• azrai on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:28 am

Because majority of cars sold in Malaysia are Perodua and Toyota.

• transformer on Apr 07, 2016 at 8:53 am

I guess pea brain minister will reply the same way as low internet speed issues, coverage more important than speed…. Back to automotive, minister will reply, our focus is to give rakyat more accessible to affordable cars(even it’s without any safety) so they won’t wet by rain when monsoon season and Gov can also collect more excise duties to support PM yearly Budget.

• Our government like to compare with our ASEAN country. Now, what else excuse they will use? The data is not accurate…. lol

• Minister will tell you these,

Malaysian preferred slow internet because it is cheap.
    Malaysian preferred car without safety features because it is cheap.

• What do we think?

Of course having these safety features are good. But the practice of bringing up safety topic WHENEVER Proton is in trouble seems dodgy. This company have the history in cheating in safety aspect like the 1 star Saga incident and the tether-gate scandal.

• same kot on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:21 am

well the p2 tin kosong still the champs here rite??

• Pitz Jr on Apr 07, 2016 at 9:53 am

I don’t mind hurting my wallet rather then hurting my love ones…

• Bravo to u! Unfortunately a lot of MY pipu, especially bashers here, wud rather prefer cheap price, FC, and ability to drive like maniac over any concerns on their famili lives, even theirs as well

• Even M’sia last in the world, Gov dont care … that how s***** they are!

• oh mak lu cina on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:09 am

Indonesia and Malaysia memang bangsat country.

• aaaaa on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:13 am

we do not want to buy proton that have ABS , EDB , BA , ESP and 6 airbags at RM 60000 marked . But we want to buy car priced at RM60000 that when accident happen , all in the car MATI.

• Dgsgd on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:13 am

This is fking malaysia, fking jpj, fking miros, fking jkjr, fking malaysia automotif association. Nobody concern to make regulation so that any vehicle to be sold in malaysia to have mandatory safety device installed, fuel efficient rating standards, emission standards.

• xoxox on Apr 07, 2016 at 10:13 am

I only can say Malaysians’ Life is cheap :/

• This is fking malaysia, fking jpj, fking miros, fking jkjr, fking malaysia automotif association. Nobody concern to make regulation so that any vehicle to be sold in malaysia to have mandatory safety device installed, fuel efficient rating standards, emission standards.