Perodua takes 36.2% market share, Axia Q1 top-seller

Perodua_Axia_ 001

The Perodua Axia represents the company’s best-seller for the first quarter (Q1) of 2016, with 47,200 vehicles sold in the first three months. Meanwhile, Perodua stated that it captured 36.2% of the estimated total industry volume (TIV) of 130,000 in Q1 2016.

Although the marked increase showed a larger market share, Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh noted that sales (quarter-on-quarter) have fallen by 17.4% from 57,200 units last year. “On a month-to-month basis, Perodua sold 17,300 vehicles in March 2016 against 22,400 units in the same month last year, a drop of 22.8%,” Aminar said.

According to him, compared to the year before, customers were rushing to buy vehicles before the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) came into effect on April 1, 2015. This was the reason behind the higher sales figures for the first quarter of 2015.

“We estimated that the TIV in March 2016 fell by 29% to 47,700 from 67,300 units in the same month last year and this has resulted in Perodua’s market share increasing to 37.1% in March this year,” he disclosed.

Perodua Sentral PJ 9

Based on the company’s internal research, the slower economy, the increase in vehicle prices by competitors due to the weakened ringgit and the chronic effects of the GST, were some of the primary causes behind the lower TIV.

Elsewhere, Perodua’s after-sales business was up by 7% or 515,343 intakes in Q1 2016, compared to 481,627 intakes in 2015. Parts revenue are also up by 4% to RM65 million in Q1 2016 compared to RM62.5 million in 2015.

Production volume however, is lower at 48,300 vehicles produced in Q1 2016 from 60,100 vehicles from a year ago. “The lower production is due to some carry over stock from 2015 as well as the slower pace of the economy in the first quarter,” the president and CEO explained.

As for exports, Aminar stated that Perodua would steadily increase its numbers, with the newly launched Myvi and Alza in Brunei. “For Q1 2016, we have exported 1,600 vehicles to six countries, an increase of 55.8% from 1,030 vehicles in the same quarter last year. We aim to steadily grow our regional reach as we further improve our operations to become globally competitive,” he said.

2016-perodua-export-to-brunei-alza-1

“While we are glad to improve our market share, a bigger ratio of our sales is coming from the lower variants of our models, which enjoy smaller margins, hence the impact to our bottom line,” Aminar stated.

On profits, Aminar disclosed the that the impact of the US dollar against the ringgit and sales volume mix, still represents a big challenge in meeting Perodua’s target.

While there appears to be signs of economic improvement with the increase in prices of crude oil and the strengthening of the ringgit (the US dollar particularly), the company remains cautious. “We will continue to monitor the situation and at this point are cautiously optimistic that we will be able to achieve our key targets, particularly our sales target of 216,000 by year end,” he concluded.

Graham Chin

Having spent a number of years as a journalist for a local paper, a marketing executive for a popular German automotive brand and a copywriter, Graham, a true-blue Sarawakian, knew he had to take the leap back into the motoring scene - and so he did. To him, nothing's better than cruising for hours along a scenic route, in a car that's designed and built for that purpose.

• Cukur udang. on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Bersyukor lah p1 is doing bad,so u can be not so bad.Same lorr not even can ber syukor at all coz UMW not sell many cars like before.Mujur ada pamoga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Same L00 on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Good car cheap or expensive, everyone buy. You can look at the Axia and Mercedes. Junk car no one buy, can still dig RM1.5b from your tax money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • With RM1.5B loan, P1 will soon overtake P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
        • Albert on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:03 am

Tokok John,You have no principles in life.just like the bladdy politicians.
          One day,you angkat P1.Another day ,u write off P1.
          Not malu,kah? korek taxpayers duit to bailout P1.ptui….mentality pengemis.
          P2 workers work very hard.They apply Japanese style mgmt.
          P1 apply “bailout’management.P1 got no dignity at all.
          Tun said many people (dead wood)overstay their welcome.
          There is no future in P1.Just asking for more grants.Shambolic.

• Same L00 on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:10 pm

Overtake P2? LOL
            Again I witness the Proton 7S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Sales
            5. Suka Minta Duit
            6. Suzuki kena con
            7. Siapapun tak nak

• Operation Manager on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:42 am

Today is mid of Apr16, MAA still not release March’16 vehicle sales. MAA website missing 2016 Monthly Vehicle Sales Data from Jan16 onwards. This is the effectiveness shown.

• camtakpro on Apr 15, 2016 at 6:49 am

Overtake in terms of cry babies numbers.

• john is otak batu on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:32 am

Yeah,overtake in paying debt loan & interest!!

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:46 am

Malu betul Proton. Bunch of lazy fools. Always asking money and overspending. If Perodua can do it, why Proton cannot do it?

Somemore, Proton sells 90% of their cars to Spanco and the Government. Every year got confirmed buyer. Yet, they can only sell 100,000 cars. Malu Malu Malu

• Pak Atan on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:07 pm

what wrong with you.

• Noproton for me on Apr 16, 2016 at 7:00 am

Just hate proton taking rakyat money for bail out. Thats all

• Blockbuster on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:03 am

The Return of the Protons!

• Henry on Apr 15, 2016 at 2:18 pm

A name change will do them good. Malaysians mudah lupa mah. How about Neutron?

• Same L0rr on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:14 am

P1 never can overtake P2.. Bcoz of Camporn engine & CVT bising punch powertrain..

• Noproton for me on Apr 16, 2016 at 7:04 am

John lives in fantasy island. Its impossible proton can take over perodua. Proton got no money. Pay vendor with cars. Wtf. got 1.5 bil lifeline just enough to get out from icu. But soon will die. The damage is too big. No matter what they do. Rakyat dh fed up. Perodua can be overtake only byhonda or nissan or toyota only. Babai proton. See u in museum

• OMG…Dun dreaming lah. P1 sales wont beat P2 unless they sell perdana with preve pricing…hahaha.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:54 am

Great sales BUT what Malaysians want is lower prices.

Your boss Najib already promise the rakyat 30% reduction in car prices. As a national car maker, you should start first reducing your car prices before others start to follow.

Do you know why you have done well the past 20 years? You have done well merely because MITI has jacked up the prices of all other cars by RM30k that we Malaysians are forced to buy your car, being the cheapest.

But your car has ZERO safety features which puts of lives and our family in constant danger. We can only pray that we don’t meet an accident. If that happens, we are dead on the spot. Until today, still no VSC. VSC is now basic and compulsory in any car in Europe.

Again I tell you, please don’t compromise on yours cars. You have indeed done well in sales but at our detriment and at the expense of our safety. We are no more your guinea pigs Perodua. Give us cheaper prices as well as VSC and more airbags.

People always pick and condemn Proton but you too have got all the Protectionism like Proton. Yes, Proton may have sucked tens of billions to stay afloat, but you Perodua, though you have not sucked that much, you have benefitted from MITI protectionism.

Honda for instance was about to sell their Honda City for RM50k. But this proposal was shot down by MITI. How do I know? Well I used to work for Honda at a very high level. We used to negotiate with MITI. But MITI was always demanding we increase our prices.
        Surprising why MITI is asking us to increase our prices. What else? It is to protect Proton and Perodua.

So, Perodua, don’t be proud of your achievements, especially your 200k sales. Your cars, still can be reduced further and improve safety features. We are overpaying you as you have still not reduced your car prices by 30% as promised by your big boss Najib.

You are still screwing the lower income people. The big guns in Perodua Boardroom all earn 6 figures per month so they don’t know about the man on the street who still earns RM900 per month. People say, even with RM10k is hard to live in KL. Can you imagine somebody earning RM900?

We tend to blame Toyota and Honda for high prices but let us assume they are for the middle class and Perodua is for the middle lower and lower income people.
        Perodua is still very pricey and burdensome for the lower income.

Don’t be proud Perodua. Lower your car prices Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • Low Budget on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:06 am

Be patient lah, Big Shot Tom Boy said by 2018, the car prices will be reduced by 30%.

• karam singh on Apr 16, 2016 at 8:42 pm

It is cheap and honest. And not trying to be pretentious. Proton need to learn this method of marketing

• And you wonder why our percentage of cars with ESC and ABS is lower than other 3rd world countries….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • Najib GST on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Only shows Malaysians are poor and affordability sub 40k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Apr 15, 2016 at 1:11 am

Now ,our ringgit strengthens to RM3.8/dollar from Rm4.4/dollar.
      mr .Aminarnar,how come you did not reduce price?
      You import from Zimbabwe or Japan or Timbuktu,kah?
      When prices are set by bastards,they never come down.
      recalcitrant idiots.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 14, 2016 at 8:43 pm

That says alot about malaysian consumers, after all the safety campaigns n all, axia stil no1… Their utter ignorance is a blessing for p2…. Seriously… Classic case of WTF!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • thomas on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:16 pm

How to Proton sale?

• Mesia inggeris betta than Spore on Apr 14, 2016 at 9:31 pm

True…

• Same L0rr on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:29 am

Proton no sale. No people want to buy junk.. People want a good car.. Cheap or expensive.. AXIA & CAMRY is good car & everyone buy.. look Proton, KIA, Volkwagen & Chevrolet.. No one to buy that kind of junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
      • Camry sales less than junk Gen 2, meaning that Camry lagi junk

• Same L0rr on Apr 15, 2016 at 3:26 pm

Dont compared Persona B segment with camry D segment bro..
          Compare Persona with Toyota Vios la bro..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Vios only compare to Saga, Vios sales also less than Saga.
            Saga is junk n rubbish, Vios lagi junk n rubbish.

• Myvi coffin macam mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • afterlife john on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Gen 2 coffin macam mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • You should ask if they have put back the tether anchor to the saga. Advertise lain, buat lain.

• No longer exist, yes…is one of the rubbish car

• Same L0rr on Apr 15, 2016 at 9:16 am

Proton Saga, Persona, Exora & Satria Neo oso movin coffin meh.. No ESC, VDC or what so ever! No 4 star NCAP! Axia, Myvi & Alza at least 4 star ASEAN NCAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • Liarsamelorr on Apr 17, 2016 at 9:12 am

Liar. New Exora got ESC plus 4 airbags. Iriz got 5 star ANCAP

• Noproton for me on Apr 16, 2016 at 6:58 am

Better than doom proton model hahhahha

• Congrats Perodua. Axia is a practical proposition for Malaysian motorists who want a low-maintenance, low-fuel consumption ride to work and do school runs. Looks nice enough (it’s a long way from the original Kancil) and has room enough for short-distance runs. Sure the price could be lower but it’s low enough for many. And the sales show it. Ain’t nothing anybody can do if so-called petrol-heads (more like petrol-sniffing heads) decide to use it as a street-racer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • policeman on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:18 pm

36%? That’s all you can do when you’re in your prime?

Proton had over 50% market share in the early 90s – it’s prime and before the “protection” went full swing.

Perodua now has full protection. Offered tax cuts and grants and this is the best they can do? What does that say about its cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 21
    • Reiki on Apr 15, 2016 at 8:24 am

Early 90s no vios no city no almera

• Noproton for me on Apr 16, 2016 at 6:57 am

Proton syok sendiri. Still proud abt past glory. But doom future hahhahhahah. U just got lucky wt that rakyat 1.5 bil money. Enjoy while u can.hehhe

• policeman on Apr 14, 2016 at 10:24 pm

“Parts revenue are also up by 4% to RM65 million in Q1 2016 compared to RM62.5 million in 2015.”

That’s evidence of declining quality. Increased failure frequency.

I see your game Perodua. Because your vehicle sales are declining, you’re making sub-par parts that require frequent replacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:11 am

Rubbish! Its just that they forced the buyers go back to P2 service centers to service and replace parts with 5 year warranty, otherwise the Ah Beng workshop beside Sungai Klang will benefit.

• I was once a passenger inside of the axia.. Wau, even if the car is a new one, it jerking so much when it’s not on a right transmission which is hard to get. I do understand that some people really needed or wanted a cheap run car, but to pay it monthly for something feeling like an old car, I don’t feel it worth. Better buy a good maintain used car. However, it’s your money.

• Tong Sampah on Apr 15, 2016 at 12:46 am

P2 taking over P1 when 1.5B burned is done is inevitable..

• congrats daihatsi..

• It is just the price … no more!.

• Cars that are still not fitted with any options for 6 air-bags, Traction Control and Stability Control should not be proud at all.

• Megane on Apr 15, 2016 at 10:10 am

If you are lazy to go to the gym this is the car for you …the earth shattering suspension will burn your calories. Much cheaper than taking Herbalife .