Jaguar Land Rover is suing Landwind X7’s makers

x7-landwind-pics-001

Jaguar Land Rover (JLR) is suing Chinese carmaker Jiangling Motor for copying the British marque’s Range Rover Evoque, according to a report by Reuters. The model in question is of course the infamous Landwind X7, which made its debut in 2014. As you can clearly see, JLR certainly has a strong case.

It doesn’t take a lot of effort to spot the similarities between the Evoque and the Landwind X7, and even if you do find any dissimilarities, Landwind dealers in China are able to offer a range of aftermarket parts that will make the X7 look like a carbon copy of the original Evoque.

Previously, Ralf Speth, CEO of JLR, stated it was “powerless” to stop Chinese companies from copying their designs. In China, the odds are stacked against carmakers when it comes to legal action involving copyright and unfair competition. Even then, a lawsuit can be a long and gruelling process.

x7-landwind-pics-007

For instance, Honda took 12 years to win a case in China against several companies for blatantly copying its CR-V with models like the Huabei RV, Shaunghuan SRV and Xin Kai Auto SRV. The Japanese carmaker had initially sought 300 million yuan (RM186,144,144) in compensation but was only awarded 16 million yuan (RM9,933,483) in the end.

However, this change of heart is certainly good news for other carmakers who are victim to copycats. Should JLR win its case against Jiangling Motor, it will set a precedent, and will likely invite other companies to take legal action against Chinese car manufacturers, according to a lawyer at the Zhong Lun Law firm.

GALLERY: Landwind X7

GALLERY: Range Rover Evoque (the real one)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• You can copy cars but you can’t copy class.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 6
    • Must sue these bugger copy-cats

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 07, 2016 at 10:43 pm

If they dont copy cut and paste they will buy under market value…haiyaaa

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Jun 07, 2016 at 10:47 pm

Cry like a baby….mommy he took my toys….
      Come on Tata fight like a man.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Courts in China are like Courts in Malaysia. The judge dare not lawan Government or else demoted. Here, Landwind is highly connected to Beijing Ministers.

Like Proton Exora that kena bakar and panggang, owner also takut take legal action against Proton (now the Gomen)

The only justice you can get in Malaysia is from Courts Mammoth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 22
    • Axia Advanced (pun intended) on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Where got justice in Courts Mammoth. Courts everyday call me to settle my Plasma TV purchase. They didn’t know that I’m your cousin. how dare they call me like along. Jialat Court Mammoth.. I don’t want to pay because the TV rosak after I use only 13 months. eh.. sorry2 I tot this is MKini.. wrong venue. soli ah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
      • Toyota Salesman on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:47 pm

Guy, u have problem understanding human language and humor. Are u from other planet. How can alien buy plasma TV in our planet? NASA will send u back,dun write bullshit here and shame ur planet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • MY pipu here dun care copy or not as long as its cheap. So TanahAngin shud sell this clone here. Sure will be hot cake just like P2 convert Diehatsu or Wira convert EVO.
      Diejek tak kesah, asal ada rupa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • fanofthisite on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:09 am

why is the owner takut to take action against Proton? Proton will send ppl to asassinate him / her is it?

• Apa LanJixx pun ada on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:19 pm

If i am Land Rover side, i wont sue them first, i need to find out what tech they use to 100% copy and paste like tat. Is not easy to copy paste so successful like that. China viva forver! All hail China Ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 41
    • Do you even read? Please do the calculation. Lower price because of lower quality, cheaper material, no branding value, different engine and gear box? So you called a cheap quality product as a successful thing? I guess you owned a China version iPhone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
      • Apa LanJixo pun ada on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:01 pm

Did u ever know.They are selling to buyer. Are u dare to copy, paste and production?

• thepolygonal on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:04 pm

If I am Land Rover, I will look to Landwind for cost cutting materials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • tohellwithplagiarism on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Sue Koreans too. Difference is Chinese doesn’t even give a flying f bout copying one while Koreans took some effort to mod here there abit n sell as theirs.
    N for the guy above saying court in China same as in msia, it’s a big difference. China is a communist country with everything in their control while Malaysia bolehland is a democratic country. Democratic can be bought with rm30 per votes while in our kangaroo court can too I assume. 2.6b can buy u a whole country nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • Yeah. Commie court is better cuz can be bought FOC. U just need to rub the right pipu. But once rub wrong pipu, its the firing squad for u. So which is more kangaroo court, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • lololololol on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:37 pm

Chinese translation for Copyright means Copy Nothing Wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • Asal dapat A, jangan kisah by hook or by crook. Results can justify any actions (illegal, immoral or unethical).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • JLR UK mari dun care to sue, but JLR India mari now dare to sue cuz India & China now not ngam.

• fanofthisite on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:14 am

Guys enough lah, if you dont have something intelligent to contribute even if its jokes that are actually funny, you only come across as numbskulls with too much time to waste and wreck a respectable auto blog. Paul Tan, i know you wont censor but at least try to moderate a bit proactively otherwise just turn off the comments function. I mostly learn nothing for some time, too few and far quality comments on actual automotive stuff and the humor is so disappointing

• Ex VGM staff on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:47 pm

If not mistaken BMW and Toyota had also experienced same thing. Toyota including jinbei and got on has gave up to sue the Chinese companies. In their defense, none of their van per including bumper, doors and lamps could not be swapped or interchange with any Toyota vans. And thus the judge accept the vans as original design.

• winners on Jun 07, 2016 at 3:25 pm

If the case is to be arbitrated in a Chinese court, then might as well forget it. The success will be as good as 0%.

• rchoo on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:11 pm

If the parts and exterior without copy right used which can be swapped between JLR and Landwind only then can be considered copying. Else, it should not be entertained.

The west have been abusing this a long time, a good case is Apple using the Iphone shape to sue Samsung and other competitors.

• mael kolip on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:24 pm

We need more country like china. Can buy cheap car like land wind. Money can buy everything but money can buy everything when you live in malaysia because ada umno

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Im sure u r the kind that belip u need to burn ur money for afterlife use. Oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • clone? on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:29 pm

come on la, do you think developed countries like japanese and korean invented car their own meh? they also copied from western tech decades ago…why china can’t copy? maybe one day landwind will ask for pattern charges from JLR just like what happened from Huawei to iphone….who know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • C.P.MOHAN on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Copying also means lacking original ideas. BTW prices are high not because of the marque but the automobile ownership structure in Malaysia including second-hand.

• spongewai on Jun 07, 2016 at 5:14 pm

i have a question which is WILL PROTON GET SUED BY OPEL FOR COPYING PERDANA REAR VIEW DESIGN?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
    • Lets see first if toyota got sued by honda for ciplaking CHR rear lamps from Civic 10.

• It is derived from persona lamp, just expand the lamp so it is suited the bigger rear of perdana

• jinggo on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:51 pm

LandWind? ketahian apa ini? jijik!

• fanofthisite on Jun 08, 2016 at 3:21 am

i think you do not understand the concept of intellectual copyrights , copy doesnt mean only to photocopy. and if you say im wrong then know this, companies copying have backed off even before they were actually dragged to court as the ramification can be huge. This LandWin and parent company may perhaps suffer when the try to do biz outside of China in countries that JLR can apply restrictive trade. Honda took ages but suceeded in stopping the copy of their motorcycle engine in China by the Chinese, ruling by the Chinese.

• chin peng on Jun 09, 2016 at 9:08 am

Well this is my car..It’s in my DNA!!