2016 Honda Civic spotted in Malaysian showrooms

2016 Honda Civic in showroom 4

After several sightings of the 2016 Honda Civic on trailers in Malaysia, dealers have now gotten their hands on the tenth-generation model. We now have images of the new Civic following its arrival in Malaysian showrooms.

For buyers, it appears that there will indeed be three variants on offer – a base 1.8, mid-spec 1.5 Turbo and top-spec 1.5 Turbo Premium. How do you tell them apart? Well, based on the lead image above, the car painted White Orchid Pearl should be the top-spec 1.5 Turbo Premium. The full LED headlamps (with LED DRLs), LED fog lamps and chrome door handles are obvious giveaways.

Moving on, the middle car in Dark Red Ruby Pearl is likely the mid-spec 1.5 Turbo. Although it shares the same 17-inch five-spoke, two-tone alloy wheels as the Premium, the middle variant gets halogen projectors instead of LED units, and the door handles follow the body colour instead. Both Turbo models are powered by a new 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo mill that produces 173 PS at 5,500 rpm and 220 Nm of torque from 1,700 to 5,500 rpm, with a CVT paired to it.

2016 Honda Civic in showroom 9

Finally, the Civic on the far right, wearing a Modern Steel Metallic paintjob ought to be the base variant featuring the familiar 1.8 litre i-VTEC naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol engine making 141 PS at 6,500 rpm and 174 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, also with a CVT mated. It shares the same halogen projectors as the 1.5 Turbo, but comes fitted with wheels that sport a shuriken-style design instead.

Interior-wise, we are only provided a view of the 1.5 Turbo Premium’s cabin. Items that should be exclusive to the top-spec variant include dual-zone air-conditioning, evident by the ‘Climate’ button located just below the seven-inch touchscreen, and nicer trim materials. As you can see, a multi-function steering wheel, a digital instrument panel, push-start, electronic parking brake (with auto brake hold) and Eco button are part of the equipment list here.

Of course, we’ll have to wait until the official launch of the 2016 Honda Civic on June 9 before any specifications can be confirmed. For now, things that are a certain include six airbags and eight-way powered seat, which comes standard on all variants. As for pricing, the Civic range is expected to be priced from RM118k to RM135k, according to dealers. Thoughts?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express mixed feelings about the 2016 Honda Civic, with some praising its design, features, and performance, while others criticize its high price, interior quality, and spotted overheating issues, especially in Thailand. Several commenters mention concerns about the value for money, comparing it unfavorably to Mazda 3 and other models, and highlight technical problems like overheating. There is skepticism about the pricing strategy, with some feeling the car is overpriced and worrying about future reliability. A few comments highlight the excitement for the launch and the Civic’s global reputation, but overall, opinions on build quality, design, and value are divided, with many urging caution or delay before purchasing.

• Wiwiwiwiw on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:31 pm

Habisla DRB Proton
    Habisla UMW Toyota
    Habisla Nissan Tan Chong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 30
    • baik tunggu Accord turbo utk upgrade sekali gus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
      • Every1canTalk on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:09 pm

ya, tunggu saja..

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:51 pm

So much hype on Civic until we forget, where is the 30% promise of price reduction??

Now Civic is RM118k. If we follow the promise to the rakyat, it should be RM82k.

Let’s not compare prices to Thailand and Indonesia. Since government said by 2020, 4 more years we become developed nation, we should be comparing to Western pricing of Civic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 13
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:43 pm

You tak suka U keluar Hidup AP system owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
          • Yes. Lets not compare Tomyam price cuz its only 10k less than MY price, but w/o P1 for the masses. So why not just have these lower level pipu only ride tuk-tuks, right? After all, cars r for the privileged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
        • Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:54 pm

So much hype with this new Civic. Every few days, we get excited with images of Civic.

But most important is the price. Malaysians see PRICE. If price is good, it will sell well.

But what happens when Honda Malaysia prices the Civic so close to Accord like the last time? This was the MAIN reason previous Civic was a big failure and people just went ahead buying an Accord instead.

People rather add a bit more to get a proper big D class sedan if it is only a few thousand more. Nowadays you go bargain for an Accord, can even get RM128k also.

Big headache….buy Civic small C class sedan (albeit 6 airbags) for RM120k or buy huge luxurious Mercedes feel D Segment Accord for RM128k.
          Both Honda and Toyota have failures like the Altis and Civic cause they price is so close to their larger D segment.

Ask most Malaysians, buying a proper large D segment is far better value and more comfortable than buying a kuci Civic for nearly the same price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 9
      • Passat 1.8 turbo only at 120K lo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 15
        • john is otak batu on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:08 am

just pay vw 120k .settle! Passat is yours 4 good! No point complain HM

• Bodo honda is under drb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Wiwiwiwiw on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:56 pm

Ya, same parent but useless child. Still berselimut, covered with blanket, tidur.

• SushiCar on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Not interesting look rather dissapointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
    • lawak dgn CVT la, x syok lo…. tekan enjin oorrrrrrr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Leong on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:46 pm

pasang subwoofer besar sikit la

• Alvin on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:40 pm

yalo, really dont like CVT…no kick lol..as i used to the 5 speed automatic gearbox, kick whenver i press full step down, thats the good feel about driving VTEC

• What CVT you use? Turbo can kick in lor. No turbo of course no kick in

• atleast 0-100km in 7.5 seconds

• Mohd Faiz on Jun 07, 2016 at 10:15 pm

why the rear lamp design so UGLY one…yuckz!! should learn from audi and merc, make it elegantly sporty..

• policeman on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Ewww. Look at the panel gaps around the radio panels. Yuck. Even a Proton Saga has better fittings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 63
  • policeman on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Is it easy to steal the new Civic? If it’s as easy as the City then good luck fellow buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Design is not “wow” at all. Better wait Accord turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
  • john is otak batu on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:50 pm

may the best car win on total sale result.
    Especially lunching this month!… everybody knows whose who..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Lunching this month? Tabouleh! puasa kantoi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Deadpool on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:57 pm

i don’t want to laugh.. but it’s fuuny.. ur lunching LOL bbq lamb or hotdog?

• Susukotak on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:51 pm

Nice

• Makes me bad not to have one…

• azhar on Jun 07, 2016 at 12:58 pm

Global Amity boss doing the video..haha

• Therealmaserati on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Damn, it looks superb! kIA and Hyundai dont stand a chance. They will be obliterated. Cant wait to see this Civic on the roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • i lol at the video

wow macam kapal terbang,

wowo macam main piano…

anyway damn good lor. if only i i have 3k extra per month,

• Ollie on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:24 pm

unbelievable that anyone would pay more than 100k for this.. interior and exterior look hideous. drivetrain looks good, but i’d not pay more than 60k for this. Please stop buying new cars and buy a 2nd hand civic for 80k if you really want one; the old one is better looking too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 45
    • Technician on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Ollie is used car dealers..you have your point..frankly some pple like to smell new cushion or leather sit…they dun mind to fork out 140k per piece…

• Ollie on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:18 pm

more to do with not supporting the local car tax regime. as not just I have said, stop buying local cars and new cars.

• No name on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:38 pm

What car you using dude ?

• modesto on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:36 pm

i think midspec 1.5 turbo will be the hot cake.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:36 pm

BINGO. Probably the best deal of the 3.

But it seems the Mazda 3 comes very close. Especially the top spec at 125K that comes with Active city stop.

Even the base 3 comes with 6 Airbags/DSC as well for 110K.

I’m really surprised I don’t see more of the Mazda 3 on the road.

And UMW still haven’t figured out why their Altis isn’t selling.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2016 at 5:42 pm

three letters….H….R…V…..

• A possible explanation might be the lack of support from dealers. I contacted the local Mazda dealer in KK, Sabah last year for the Mazda 3 and was informed that there will be NO test-drive unit available at all. As good as it is on paper, I want to know how it drives personally before buying a car. Ultimately, decide to go with another car even though I was really interested in it. Hope this helps~

• Roxas on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Just saw post in fb from thailand that many of it suffers overheating issue dy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Can share the posting???

• Honky donkey on Jun 08, 2016 at 2:46 pm

Just wait for 1-2years after launch. Newly lauch car seems to always have problems. For me, best to go for facelift instead of pre-facelift.

• Toyota Salesman (serving notice) on Jun 07, 2016 at 1:55 pm

No matter how ppl bash with all the negative comments.. Trust me this car will sell and will be the best selling C-Segment car. There must be a reason why this civic named the 2016 car of the year in North America and many more awards worldwide. Many good reviews from auto journalist too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:22 pm

my nephew say new proton person lagi cun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • Toyota Salesman on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Look at ur Avatar, u only likes Semi Value vehicle.

• Maplai on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Cheap plastic but good design.

• Toyota Salesman on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Early video,the main cast guy seem “suah ku”, sit in and play the gadget like never before, and never walkaround the other spec, just idiotly play the HU. This guy make me feel mountain turtle.

• ahmad ariff on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:35 pm

the side profile really really looks like Audi A5 Sedan !!.. copy ke?..

• Toyota Salesman on Jun 07, 2016 at 2:38 pm

The CKD quality of interior look not worth for 138k!!! Mazda 3 CKD have better quality, trully. Start feeling Civic is a junk even thought better spec than Altis.I think 1.8 model is enuf if u jz like its exterior, dunit a CVT fake turbo to behave like shift change gear box. i wil say no for new Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • applegreen on Jun 07, 2016 at 3:09 pm

that white civic is gorgeous. Wonder it will be in red colour and sportier look for the type r version next year

• tokmoh. on Jun 07, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Can all specs fold rear seats?

• romolus on Jun 07, 2016 at 4:08 pm

well, the front end reminds me of 2008 mazda 6

• CvtPondan on Jun 07, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Cvt sucksss. Go dai.

• Prof. X on Jun 07, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Dont buy, overheating problem.. So many unit affected at thailand shared at fb..

• Ultraman Taro on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:03 pm

Althought it looks superb, it is still TOO EXPENSIVE..1.5 TURBO COST YOU MINIMUM RM 118K, WHAT DA HELL..FOR ME, CIVIC 1.5 L SHOULD COST YOU MAX RM100K..This civic wont be PISANG GORENG PANAS..I HOPE THEY WILL CONSIDER THE SELLING PRICE..if not,it’s a failure.

• Dok sajo on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:21 pm

Honda should give a free ear plugs because the cabin will be noisy as usual

• tokmoh. on Jun 07, 2016 at 9:43 pm

On fb now getting viral a Honda Thai owner suffer turbo overheat.

Inb4 fake, must be german proton propaganda mencabar maruah JAV fagboys hewhewhew

• Rakyat on Jun 07, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Nothing to shout about. It’s a small turbo in a small engine. It’s way too expensive for the average income earner.

Honda has a huge drop in quality in recent years and its car performance doesn’t deliver the fun to drive it once used to.

I’ll wait for the dust to settle before deciding.

• Megane on Jun 07, 2016 at 11:25 pm

A big middle finger to Honda . LED headlight only for premium model . Wtf

• nickken on Jun 08, 2016 at 8:18 am

Will Honda bring in the 2116 Civic Tourer??

• DatukKhairy on Jun 08, 2016 at 9:48 am

the finishing reminds me of City that my maid is driving, even the panel gaps are huge just like the City

Dont ask me how I know my maids car interior finishing
    , hehehe ;) ;)

selamat berpuasa

• alex chan on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:07 am

a video and photo of a few civic turbo stranded by road side in thailand due to overheating is on circulation now :D ..
    the owners seems to pissed of due most of the civics milleage is under 1000km.

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2016 at 10:56 am

will majority malaysian get the high, mid or low spec?

i felt that the 1.5 premium should’ve come with sunroof to set it further apart from the 1.5 std.

• New Civic Fan on Jun 09, 2016 at 8:41 am

The full LED headlamps (with LED DRLs), LED fog lamps and chrome door handles should be fitted on 1.8L too. 1.5 Turbo premium at RM135K is expensive. Might as well pay a bit more to buy Accord.

• good luck with the overheating :)