For those of you who are eagerly awaiting the arrival of diesel-powered Mazda vehicles in the country, here’s some information you’ll want to pay attention to. A source within Bermaz Motor has revealed that nearly the full range of SkyActiv-D Mazdas will be launched in Malaysia soon.
Yes, the Mazda CX-5, 6, CX-3 and 2 will all be offered with diesel engines soon. Unfortunately, the 3 will not be offered as an oil burner. In terms of pricing, we only have two so far – the CX-5 and 6 will have an estimated price of RM166k and RM206k, respectively. As for the CX-3 and 2, both models will be launched alongside its larger siblings, but will only be available later.
Out of the four models, only the diesel CX-5 will be a locally-assembled model. In fact, the diesel SUV is already being assembled in Inokom’s Kulim plant here for export to the Thailand market. The 6 will come fully-imported from Japan (CBU) together with the CX-3, while the 2 continues to be sourced from Thailand.
As a brief recap, under the hood of both the diesel CX-5 and 6, there is a 2.2 litre twin-turbo SkyActiv-D inline four-cylinder engine. The mill outputs 175 PS at 4,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, and is mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. You can read our thoughts on the pre-facelift (pictured here) Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D, here. We’ve also had a go in the diesel CX-5, and you can expect to read about it on paultan.org really soon.
Moving on, the CX-3 and 2 gets a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D four-cylinder engine (104 hp/270 Nm) instead, mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. We’ve highlighted the capabilities of the diesel-powered 2 in our earlier review, where we took one from Bangkok to the Malaysian border (over 1,000 km) on a single tank of diesel.
With almost the entire range of SkyActiv-D Mazda models coming to Malaysia, which will you be aiming for?
This price, no thanks
u mean u like it, but not affordable…then work harder
I worked very hard for 8 years. And now I have 14,000 millions in oversea account. You all don’t lazy just talk sh*t here…
When Mazda 3 facelift will come to Msia…???
Oh My! Prices have gone up so much. this is 2nd good news from BN today besides the increase in petrol prices
Soon more good news ie food prices all will go up and everything else also will go up.
Even the mere school bus also will go up.
All to support fat mama’s private plane rental of RM98 million!
People buy diesels mainly for ringgit savings and not just for the higher torque. If petrol car is RM126 OTR (after discounts), am I going to get any saving when I have to pay RM35k more for this diesel?
Also, the diesel CX5 will depreciate faster and harder for me to sell later. It will be at least Rm20k lesser than the petrol CX5
So, in total, can I recoup back the extra RM55k on petrol?
ppl willing to pay extra on this diesel, I think the main reason is they want to enjoy the high torque. I don’t think fuel consumption will be a concern for them.
yeap, totally agreed…its the torquey performance of the diesel which ppl are after. Just look at the santa fe diesel, selling more than the cheaper santa fe petrol version….just for the sake of that torqueylicious engine
Since when they don’t care about fuel consumption?
If not, there is no e-racing cars prix lor
Those who are willing to pay extra, they will always go for premium cars like Mercedes C180/C200 or BMW318i/320i, and will not pay 200k plus just for a Jap brand.
Jap is for reliability, cheap maintenance, and good second hand value, not for “Torque”.
mazda are nice but comparing it with toyota and honda, mazda still lose out in the branding section. badge value is not there yet.
we buy car for fun, not for rv and brand
Bashers say better die stylo in their jepunis overlord branded cars rather than saved in no brand “jaguh kampung” p1
Any comment from Mazda regarding B10 biodiesel compliance?
i think what malaysians want are
1. soul red for ckd
2. ckd cx-3
What they want is you stop commenting nonsense on p1, when you give comment on your jepunis overlord you use brain pulak
Topkek
Horrifying price! All thanks to that Proton creator.
In Thai cx5 2.2l diesel is 174k, so they also protek p1?
Basher pls use brain
With prices like that and the current economic situation I doubt the adoption rate would be encouraging. A more palatable price would be 150k for cx5 And 185k for m6
Surely Bermaz can apply for EEV tax reduction and pass on the savings to consumers..
Mazda took the effort (and cost) to ensure their oil burners can use B10 diesel while others (more expensive) brands cry to mama cuz their diesels cannot be re-tuned unless they pay money to HQ which their profit grubbing CEOs says TABOULEH!
Gud job Mazda/ Bermaz/ Vincent Tan. Whiners can go F themselves.
Those expensive branded diesel car owners were too naive.
420nm of torque for 2.2 liter diesel’s mill…i’m sold!
Due to the uncertainty surrounding the B10 biodiesel, I would not buy any diesel vehicle in Malaysia at this juncture.
If Mazda brings this in, that means they r confident to use cuz they have been tuned for B10. Others r just whining cuz they need to pay a bit more for the retuning of their current stocks but they dun wan to spend that money. So they cry to mama
you can always opted for Euro5 diesel currently sold nation wide
Defeinitely willing to pay more for Euro 5 diesel, but sadly it is not widely available in Sabah yet. Really strange considering the high number if diesel cars sold here.. sigh ~
Mazda is catching up now.
P1 already into diesel tech since years ago…Wira 2.0 diesel.
More important than the disels, when is Mazda going to finally offer a proper facelifted Mazda6 2.0 variant? Why does only the 2.5 gets the full exterior and interior facelift update while the 2.0 only gets a new interior?
I could be driving a Mazda 6 2.0 by now if we got the latest update.
It’s the same with the rest of the world. The new bumper for the 6 only comes with the adaptive headlights option. Since the local 6 omits the adaptive headlights, so it made do with the old bumper.
Is it compatible with B10?
none of them. the pricing is ridiculous. berjaya can drive those beauties up their ***
166k – 206k? Then may as well wait for XLT FL x2.
B10 diesel in Malaysia a matter of time … no diesel cars for me, unless pick up trucks
I want a 2.2 diesel Mazda3 with 6MT as sold in the JDM market. However, my wish is just a wishful thinking, don’t think Bermaz will bring in though.
Imagine 420 nm of torque at 2000rpm with a stick and clutch pedal, this would murder most of the stock cars under 200k sold in Malaysia at Ulu Yam except the Megan and Golf R. In fact, I think the JDM Mazda3 diesel could even beat the Focus 1.5 Ecoboost through the bends.
Syok sendiri nie.
And u still riding a bike
BMW Superbaik
Nope, actually a honda
Honda Wave
can mazda engine survive on B10 diesel though implementation plan halted..
How about safety feature on this diesel? We should get what have been offered in Japan and US.
Gerald,
How many km/l for all the variants? Could you tell us more rather than mentioning its full tank for 1000km. Thanks
Kia Sorento diesel with 7 seaters at RM 158k as compare to CX5 diesel at RM166k. Warranty period seem better too.
Naza Kia service mahal & xde efisien.
excellent sales rep cars, the fuel savings will huge considering our country considers diesel inferior hence cheaper than petrol.
other countries, diesel is more expensive than petrol
m2 1.5 diesel should be fun to drive, if can sell at about 100k will be hot cake…civic 1.5 turbo? errrrr
With mazda 2 weight only a tonne..amagine 270nm torque will be..must be very fun…
I’m waiting for ur review on diesel CX-5. How soon will it be reveal?
With these ridiculous prices, Volvo V40 seems a bargain.
Do consider a used Tucson if you are looking for a CX5
Do consider a used Sonata if you are looking for a Mazda 6
Very good value for money