Mazda 3, CX-5 CKD to be available in Soul Red from next year – will cost extra over other colours

mazda3-sedan-australia

Apart from confirming the impending arrival of the new Mazda CX-9 and MX-5 RF, official Mazda distributor Bermaz has also affirmed plans to introduce the iconic Soul Red Metallic paint next year as an option its locally-assembled (CKD) models, the Mazda 3 and CX-5 – which were previously not offered with the colour. The 3 last had Soul Red on its palette when it was sold here as a fully-imported (CBU) model.

The reasons for the colours noticeable absence were varied, with paint supplier Nippon Paint’s assistant general manager for industrial use (IU) marketing Ong Eng Keong previously saying that the four-coat finish would have sapped too much productivity at the Inokom plant in Kulim – where Mazdas are assembled in Malaysia – to be viable for local production.

“As far as CKD [assembly] of Mazda is concerned, Soul Red was never a choice for them because of [the colour’s] four-coat system,” he said. “Having to coat four times would mean that you lose half of your productivity, because the car has to go to the oven three times.”

2015-cx-5_2014-laas_eu_exterior_2

It seems, however, that Bermaz has managed to work around these issues, with a new paint shop being built at the Kulim plant specifically for Mazda vehicles. To facilitate the construction, Mazda production will be halted temporarily, and test runs of the new Soul Red hue will commence soon after its completion, before the colour is rolled out.

As usual, Soul Red Metallic will come as a cost option separate from other, more conventional colours. Although the exact premium has yet to have been finalised, expect it to be priced around the same as on certain CBU models like the Mazda 2 – around RM500.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Petrolheadx on Jul 04, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Worth the wait!

• Malaysian on Jul 04, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Nice to see Bermaz paying attention to the details.

• Bernard on Jul 04, 2016 at 2:30 pm

Mazda cars are aesthetically beautiful and well built but the pricing is horrendous!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Vin Poh on Jul 04, 2016 at 3:27 pm

Worth it to pay it unless the power of Soul Red~ I will wait for that! before that I think if Mazda didn’t got the soul red for 3 den I will choose for Civic Turbo-P Pearl White.

• M3 - Miss 3 on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:26 pm

I was about to get the 3 until I came to know it was not offered in Soul Red (for CKD). That colour is what make the car stand out and got me hooked! Now I have set my eyes on the Civic TC White, guess there is no turning back! Mazda should have introduced this from the beginning for CKD.

• when is bloody bermaz finally going to give us a real, proper facelifted Mazda 6 2.0? Takkan update interior je bang oi!

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 04, 2016 at 4:29 pm

That really is the facelifted model. The new look is only reserved for Mazda 6 models equipped with the LED headlights; those with the halogen headlights get the old front fascia. It’s the same thing everywhere else in the world.

• Same thing everywhere else in the world eh?

http://www.mazda.com.sg/wp-content/plugins/pdf-viewer-for-wordpress/web/viewer-shortcode.php?file=http://www.mazda.com.sg/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/Mazda6_7Jan_brochure-export-2.pdf&settings=011000010&lang=en-US#page=&zoom=auto

https://revvvolution.com/2015/11/11/mazda-6-2-5-r-luxury-the-fantastic-six/

I didn’t have to go very far to fact check for you. Just googled what kind of specs the Singaporeans get on the Mazda6 2.0l. I repeat, TWO LITRE model. If they can get an Executive trim with LED headlights, why can’t we?

• ben yap on Jul 04, 2016 at 5:32 pm

i prefer myvi’s apple green.

• So the next question is, when will the M3 facelift be introduced?!

• if it’s so troublesome, does that mean if there’s a need to repaint a big portion of the car, normal service centre will not get it correctly done?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 05, 2016 at 8:54 am

Pity the owners of other colours. Bermas just admitted they sold you a cheap single layer paint job for your beloved car.

• Mazda cars design never stands the test of time … Shiok at the beginning but never appeals after a few years unlike Honda and Toyota. After sales is still questionable and availability of parts just say after 10 years