GALLERY: 2016 Mazda 2 – now with LED headlamps

2016 Mazda 2 Malaysia 5

Following the introduction of the 2016 Mazda 2 in Malaysia, we now bring you live images of the updated B-segment car straight from the Mazda showroom in Setia Alam.

Pricing for the 2 (sedan and hatchback) now starts at RM90,766.30, representing a RM5,300 premium over the car’s previous price tag (RM85,466.30). Colour options include Snowflake White Pearl, Aluminium Metallic, Metropolitan Grey and the brand’s trademark Soul Red, with the latter costing an additional RM530. The 2 continues to be a CBU from Thailand model.

As you can clearly see on this 2 hatchback, LED headlamps (with LED DRLs) represent the main change here, replacing the previous halogen reflectors. This puts the 2 (sedan and hatchback) in the same league as the CX-5, CX-3 and 6, all of which feature LED lighting.

Beyond the LED lighting units, everything else on the 2’s exterior remains unchanged from before. The wheels are still 16-inch alloys (with 185/60R16 tyres) and bulb-type tail lamps continue to be fitted here.

2016 Mazda 2 (left), 2015 Mazda 2 (right)

The unit seen here is fitted with a ‘sports kit’ consisting of front and rear bumper lips, side skirts and rear spoiler. On the sedan, it’ll cost you an additional RM2,300, and RM2,370 for the hatchback.

Similarly, the 2’s interior is relatively unchanged. As the headlamps feature auto levelling, the manual levelling dial found near the traction control and i-Stop button has been omitted as well.

The seven-inch MZD infotainment touchscreen system is still here, linked to the Commander Control unit. Leather is aplenty as before, partly covering (with fabric) the manually-operated seats and various pieces of trim. Other returning features include a heads-up display, single zone automatic climate control and paddle shifters.

Safety kit remains the same with two airbags (driver and passenger), with ABS with EBD and brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and Isofix child seat anchors all fitted as standard.

For those who can’t wait to see the new 2, head on over to Setia Alam now. However, if your weekdays are swamped by work, Bermaz will be holding its Mazda Zoom Zoom carnival from March 30 (Wednesday) to April 3, 2016 (Sunday) at Oval Concourse – New Wing, 1Utama, where the 2 will be on display, alongside the locally-assembled CX-5 facelift.

What do you think of the updated 2016 Mazda 2? Do you think the new LED headlamps make the B-segment car more attractive over its rivals? Scroll through our gallery before letting us know what you think in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Additional 5k just for the LED headlamp, if they increased the airbag count from 2-6 then the 5k increase is justifiable

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 28, 2016 at 6:49 pm

5K for headlights is daylight robbery.

I don’t care less about the headlights. I rather 5K buys me 4 additional airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • timbuktu on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:44 am

an insult to the intelligence of majority car buyers in malaysia. bermaz thinks that people will pay extra 5k for the hugely cosmetic LED lamps. maybe you are right with 10% of the impulsive buyers out there. the majority are practical people who will ditch your mazda 2 for a 6-airbags jazz full spec or the best performance in class fiesta eco-boost with 7-airbags.

• MatiKatak on Mar 28, 2016 at 6:31 pm

My Pasar Malam Rm8 torchlight has 8 LEDs … whats the big deal in LED ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr (Member) on Mar 28, 2016 at 6:40 pm

The 5k extra should have came with additional 4 airbags…this is 2016 not 2006, Bermazzzzzzzzzz….zzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • shawal ali on Mar 28, 2016 at 6:47 pm

Whut is that slit above d cd loading slot for?

• rider on Mar 29, 2016 at 7:46 am

that is where you slot in your CD.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:31 am

TBH, IMHO, B-segment car never really looks GOOD. body too narrow to have a nice visual impact..

• Albert on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:01 pm

OMG,at 90K,I might as well add a little more or lengthen my loan tenure to get a Honda HRV.
    Such a super compact car…at 9oK.
    Prices have escalated as if there is no tomorrow.
    All car buyers….STOP BUYING NEW CARS,AND THE DISCOUNTS WILL COME VOLUPTIOUSLY WHEN STOCKS BUILD UP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • mumtaz on Mar 29, 2016 at 8:55 am

I like the way you use the word VOLUPTIOUSLY. It brings to mind hot fitness girls sweating in a Mazda2 stuck in a KL traffic jam.

• Expensive!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • wait for the raya sale and it’ll probably be the same price as the standard Mazda2

• Roland V on Mar 28, 2016 at 7:28 pm

Price increase manyak sakit ooohhhh

• menee on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:46 pm

If you cannot afford dun buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
      • Roland V on Mar 29, 2016 at 12:31 am

Not cannot afford macha, in fact buying in cash since its a small sum. But looking at value of the facelift. Pre facelift still available, at a discount sammore

• bukapintubayartol on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:14 pm

I can’t decide which one I like better; this one or the Fiesta Ecoboost?

• Lazada on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:00 pm

Both low resale value cars…..

• Mazda 2 vs Fiesta Ecoboost on Mar 29, 2016 at 7:45 am

My family has both of these cars, here are some of the break down in my opinion:

Warranty and free service: both car comes with a 60,000km /3yrs free service and a 100,000km/3 years warranty. The Fiesta gearbox has a extended 5 years/200,000km warranty. Verdict: Draw.

Space: let’s face it, space is never a forte for both Mazda and Ford. Both are equally cramp in the interior. In this case, the Ford win by a hairline margin, just a tad which is negligible, which probably won’t feel by anyone sitting in the car unless you go measure the car interior with a measuring tape. The Ford has a slightly bigger boot though. Verdict: Draw.

Engine/ Power delivery: This interesting, Ecoboost vs Skyactive. Although the Ford losses one cylinder and 0.5 litre in displacement, the Ecoboost actually produces more power, 125hp /170nm vs 114hp/148nm. However, tubolag in the Fiesta is apparent and the throttle leniency is very different from NA cars. You will get turbolag from a 1.0 engine from start, and when the turbo kicks in at early 1500-1800rpm, that’s where all the fun begins, a hot hatch like acceleration and a kick in the back in you go full throttle. But be warn the Fiesta dual clutch transmission is very conservative and it hunt for higher gear too early, so if you will wish to fully exploit the 1.0 Ecoboost mill, you have to drive it in manual mode. We lined both of them in a drag race before, the Fiesta lost to the Mazda2 initially (both in stock form) ! the Fiesta has bigger power, how does this happened!!? We later find out that the Fiesta transmission is the biggest culprit. It is when driven in manual mode that the Fiesta win over the Mazda 2.

On the contrary, Mazda skyactiv mill is far more linear, the start is equally uneventful, but things get interesting once you pass 3000rpm mark. The power is very sweet and linear, and equally exciting (although you won’t get the kick in the back feel as much as in the Fiesta). The skyactiv 6 speed automatic transmission is a gem, it responds to your slightest foot modulation and is very eager to kick down to deliver the power to you. Coupled with a super early lock-up mechanism at 8km/h, you get a pseudo manual driving feel in the Mazda. And one thing I like about the Mazda is the transmission is not “busybody ” like the Fiesta, It’s eager to kick down and it far more willing to holds on to lower gear than the Fiesta.
      Verdict: Draw. The Fiesta has a more powerful engine but hamstrung by a stupid dual clutch transmission, you must drive it in manual mode to fully exploit the highly acclaimed 1.0 Ecoboost engine. The Mazda on the other hand, losses power, but gain with a better gearbox.

Drive/ Ride: Both are equally tuned to meet sporty appeal. So don’t expect City/Vios like comfort here. However, both Ford and Mazda has a very good ride and handling balance, so your gf/ mother in law won’t complaint much. In terms of handling, boy, this is where the Fiesta and the Mazda 2 shine. Both are king in the segment. The Ford and the Mazda 2 chassis are made to call B road home. If you want a very rewarding, laughing, joyful, grinning like a 5 year old boy everytime you hit on the wheel through some corners in Genting Sempah or Kuala Kwalang, these are the cars for you! Their chassis are equally playful and eager to dance through the corners in situation where the Vios or even the City would have at their limit already. But if you ask me, I like a Fiesta better because it has a more aggressive tail, it might feel abit scary at first, but soon you will learn to adapt to it and use this as an advantage in the corners. And Fiesta has higher torque to pull you out of the corner, but you must drive in manual mode to fully exploit it. Verdict: Draw. (I do like Fiesta’s more aggressive tail and torque advantage out of the corners, personal preference though)

Fuel efficiency: Definitely the Mazda. This is because Mazda Skyactiv engine combined both oto cycle and arkitson cycle combustion in one engine, so you get a hybrid like fuel sipping character in low revs (Arkitson cycle) and a eager power delivery (best in NA class if you ask me) in Oto cycle in higher revs. On the other hand, Fiesta’s 3 cylinders and low displacement fuel saving claim is just a gimmick, once that turbo starts to spool, you can throw fuel efficiency out of the window. But heck, why buy an Ecoboost Fiesta and drive it like an old grandma? I might as well get an Axia. Well, guess the old saying does apply here, If you want more power, you gotta pay more petrol bill. Verdict: Mazda 2 wins.

Safety: Both are equally well equipped, with ABS, EBD, ESC, BA and Isofix. But, Fiesta Ecoboost gives you class leading 7 airbags, in the Mazda, you get 2. Verdict: Fiesta wins.

Reliability: Both cars are still pretty new, less than 2 years. So I can’t tell you much. But Fiesta’s most feared transmission issues has not been surfacing in the Ecoboost variant. This is because the Ecoboost uses a different clutch pad set up. You can go to the service center and ask the technicians. So far in my personal case, the Fiesta had clocked more than 42,000k without any issues.
      Verdict: I give it to the Mazda because, well, Japanese mah. It should be more reliable.

Value for money: Factor in 10k+ discount sometimes given by Ford SA during Raya/year end, the Ecoboost is cheaper than the Mazda 2 in this revised price form. The 5k increase in price doesn’t justify the LED lights in the Mazda2. Verdict: Fiesta wins.

Final verdict: these are just some of my personal thoughts after driving both cars extensively. You should test drive them yourself to make your choice. If you favor a fun wheel, both are there to serve your need to attack every corner like a mad man and laugh like a 5 year old kid. However, if you like Japanese reliability and fuel saving go for the Mazda. If you favor turbo power and a slightly (just hairpin margin) aggressive tail, go for the Fiesta, as this is the only car that is closest to a hot hatch performance under 100k to buy in Malaysia. Too bad it doesn’t comes in a manual box, which I think the gearbox Fiesta Ecoboost should have from the start, not some dual clutch nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 11
      • Thanks for the effort.

Paultan, you should hire this guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • timbuktu on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:56 am

what a long essay. you should write a book which no one will buy. fiesta running at 43k without problems, yet you give it to the mazda for reliability just because it’s a jap car? what kind of blatant bias is that? talk with facts, not emotions. maybe then people will buy your book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
      • Renault on Mar 29, 2016 at 1:40 pm

K.

• timbuktu on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:48 am

I will go with ecoboost fiesta anytime. By the time the ford smoked the hell out of this useless mazda, it can only wail in a distance flashing it’s LED lamps in a feeble attempt to catch useless attention from far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • Mad3 m3 l4ugh on Apr 28, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Said the guy who asked people to ‘talk with facts and not emotions’. IMHO, the guy put more facts than your poetic, dramatic and emotional comment… “useless mazda”, “smoked the hell out”, “feeble attempt”. In his ‘book’, he contributed something at least, as compared to you, Shakespeare.

• heybadigol (Member) on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:16 pm

LEDs headlamps used to be on German cars costing over RM200k (some are still using LED headlamps even, as laser lights are still quite expensive). Now even sub RM100k cars have them.

• Lazada on Mar 28, 2016 at 9:58 pm

U can convert Led headlight, just try google it from Lazada at affortable price

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 19, 2016 at 12:13 am

i help my friend install led on his myvi…kena stop by police lol

• Jobless on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:29 pm

Hahaha Rm90k for such a small girlish car wat a ripp off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • paanjang16 on Mar 28, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Extra 5k for LED headlamp? If extra 5k to add all the safety equipment I don’t mind, but for the LED headlights?!?!

RM 530 more for Soul red? I didn’t know red paint require more processing and work compared to the other colors. Somemore red is the flagship color for Mazda and it doesn’t make sense that to charge a premium for that color. I’m sure the majority of cars coming out from Thailand are soul red and Mazda have an economic of scale to obtain huge quantities of red paint at a good price.

Wait for Christmas 2016, when they cannot achieve the sales target for 2016 and will throw in the LED headlamp and Soul red for free.

• camtakpro on Mar 29, 2016 at 3:46 pm

Because some say Mazda is Jap reliability and continental feel. That cost 5k for you.

Stop buying it and the price (or equipments) will change.

• Michael on Mar 29, 2016 at 12:18 am

RM5300 for LED lights and they call that a update… this must be the joke of the year and the biggest rip off in the automotive industry.

and what…? Paying RM530 EXTRA just for a red paint? It almost sounds as if the car comes without paint.

• only poor cheaphai buy small car on Mar 29, 2016 at 4:48 am

sohai small and sardine can car put on led wtf noob ,use back your halogen bulbs and dont make cheap my accord 2.4 the fuq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Mar 29, 2016 at 9:28 am

I believe Ex same M2 buyer hate Bermaz for late introducing this LED spec. Now ex buyer will try smash their headlight and claim LED headlight thru insurance claim, rather scarify NCD for getting tis Expensive LED headlight

• Kuinosan on Mar 29, 2016 at 11:53 am

Here is a classic example of a car producer over pricing their customers. But if the Malaysian car buyers are smart enough to stop these unscrupulous car producers, then just stop buying them! They will eventually succumb to the consumer powers in the end and give discounts in the form of rebates or other promotional packages. The power to teach these unscrupulous car producers a lesson is in our hands!

• Ong Chee Boon on Mar 30, 2016 at 5:16 pm

This 5k is justified only if it comes with LED AND more airbags plus additional safety features.

Let’s face it. Bermaz, DRB, TCM etc, all of them will continue overcharging their customers as long as we buy them.

• David Billa on Jun 28, 2016 at 1:00 pm

…this is where bermaz plays the trick…the car gets its entry into malaysia from Thai based on orders…if there are no orders, they won’t bring it in…I have just visited Mazda Autocity Perai…and that’s what they told me…they are still holding the price because the car is a CBU from Thai…and per order takes minimum 2 months to be delivered…plus with AP charges…if it’s a CKD…then it might have been a different story.