Singapore will continue to match Malaysia’s toll hikes

johor causeway jam bernama pix

Singapore’s Ministry of Transport has stated that the republic will continue to match any increase in Malaysia’s tolls, Channel NewsAsia reports.

According to Transport Minister Khaw Boon Wan, the long-standing policy is to ensure Malaysia takes into consideration Singapore’s response whenever it plans to raise tolls. Khaw was responding to a question posed in Singapore’s Parliament on whether the ministry will adjust the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) fee and toll charges for vehicles entering Singapore.

This comes following Malaysia’s plan to introduce a VEP system for foreign vehicles entering the country via the causeway from Singapore. The system is currently undergoing its trial run, which ends on July 15, after which, a RM20 VEP charge will be imposed from July 16. The registration of vehicles for the VEP system will continue until the end of the year.

Singapore’s current toll charges (left), VEP fees (right)

Singapore’s VEP charges for foreign-registered cars is SGD$35 (RM103) per day, while the fee for a Goods Vehicle Permit for foreign-registered goods vehicles is SGD$40 (RM118) per calendar month. Additionally, ten free days (per year) are given to each foreign car, and there are no charges during the weekends, Singapore public holidays and when entering Singapore between 5pm and 2am from Monday to Friday.

Khaw said Singapore has always supported open and liberal transport links and connectivity with Malaysia. Citing the tolls at the Causeway and Second Link, he said both were introduced in 1998 only in response to Malaysia’s decision to charge tolls at both crossings.

“The same principle will apply in our response to Malaysia’s impending road charge. If it discriminates against Singapore-registered vehicles, we will match it in some form. We will confirm whether and how we will respond, after Malaysia has implemented their road charge and the details become available,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Terbaik!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
    • carlist on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:44 pm

What is so called “discriminates”?

My understanding is maybe RM20 is too cheap for them and doesn’t match with the high income nation registered cars. We shall increase the VEP to match with their high income where they rank almost at the top in terms of GDP per capita. Malaysia gov, just increase more please!

If you afford to buy a S plate car, there is no reason not afford to pay RM20. Don’t say “Singapore will continue to match Malaysia’s toll hikes” which doesn’t make sense at all!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
      • same thing, if you can afford to drive into Singapore there is no reason to say you cannot afford that S$35 VEP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Andas on Jul 12, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Why kanchong.. got 10 days free yearly.. weekend also free.. unless u owned sg car la.. that will be paiseh..

• Why don’t you and your fellow johoreans take a bus instead? Can’t you see that MY Gov cares for us?

• hailthepurist on Jul 12, 2016 at 12:49 pm

john currently in every comments..

• Mr Khaw you from Penang now you very kiasu and kiasi as hell, seems like you really fed up with Malaysia govt right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Jason on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:36 am

This idiot is saying Malaysia VEP discriminates against Singapore car???!! Is he stupid or what? Singapore started VEP in discrimination of Malaysian cars! Khaw please think with your brain before you open your fat mouth!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
    • kapchai on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:46 am

S’pore always bully the neighbours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • COE in Singapore is implemented for a purpose: to limit the number of cars on the road. Locals pay a huge premium to own a car. VEP imposed to foreign cars entering Singapore serves the same purpose: to limit the number of foreign cars on the road. If there is no VEP on foreign cars you can see plenty of JB folks driving to work in SG every morning.

Singapore offers 10 days of free usage, and no VEP charged on weekends. I think this is a fair and practical approach.

Now come back to MY’s VEP imposed to Singapore cars… what is the objective? RFID tags are not ready, and now want to charge RM20 for no purpose other than being greedy. RoadCharge is nothing more than another T&G reader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
      • It’s the same thing. Just G want to limit sg car that enter MY. Not to mention lower fuel price here that it is impossible those Sig will not pump for their car. So if Sg gov want to limit cars entering the island to reduce jam maybe, why can’t MY gov limit Sg cars entering MY that get to pump lower fuil price here? RM20 to get back what Sg get form getting lower fuel is cheap. Better increase it. Discriminate? Sound like kiasu to me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Powerless citizen on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:52 am

I feel so poor the moment I step onto Singapore land.
    What happened to our once mighty and beloved country ? Living in destitute sooner than I had imagined

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t go to Sg then. Why? Because Sg people also love to come here. If not, their menteri will not bising when MY want to VEP them.

• thepolygonal on Jul 12, 2016 at 11:09 am

Just go into McDonalds in Singapore and you will know how much our money is worth there. Same food, way different price.

• Operation Manager on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:33 pm

U could grab a bowl of noodle from $2~2.50 while in Msia from RM4 onwards…

• So ur saying better eat McD in MY instead?

• Gov bodo. They shud not have angered our southern masterrace overlords. We shud not have persoaled them. Macai bashers, pls start ur bashings!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • IGP mom on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:36 pm

You should at least better explain yourself. By being racist the moment you started commenting on Paultan, clearly you are on of the macai.

So, what do you suggest? “Macai bashers” to bash the govt for what actually? For a Chinese Singaporean to wield the sword at the mercy of Malaysians? Throw your racial lense away, perhaps you would be able to better see what’s happening rather than bashing for the sake of bashing.

• U must be BNGov macai for persoaling our overlords. Our southern masterrace is superior in every way, even in genes its superior. Our useless Gov only pin prick them but they send Thors hammer onto us. If we just kowtow to them and dun persoal, they will leave us in peace. Now look what happen when u support BNGov.

• ben yap on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:07 pm

it’s ok if singapore raise the VEP. either raise or not, i always take a flight to singapore.

• screw them. they are more desperate to come in malaysia than malaysian wants to go in singapore

• Medic on Jul 12, 2016 at 1:31 pm

Bring it on, singapore…

• Increase to RM200 per car lah

• Well he just trying to man-up, what’s wrong with that?

If you are not happy you can always stay inside MY, no one ask you to come to SG.

• Ameeru Tanggabatu on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Nonsense. They initiated VEP. Basically, obtuse blaming / excuse to take get more money.

“it is not our fault, we only want Malaysia to have a taste of their own medicine”.

• IGP mom on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Ever thought why the causeway that jam? Fact is, Singapore doesn’t want that much volume of vehicles flooding their island. They imposed crazy prices on vehicles to Singaporeans to reduce the vehicle traffic, and will not shot their own foot by opening up free flow.

Charging tit-for-tat is a good excuse for Singapore. Malaysia can do anything, in the end only the cross border workers are at mercy.

• kimochidesuneh on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:33 pm

you are wasting your time to comment here and i am earning the powerful SGD (3 times of Banglasia Ringgit)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Bosan on Jul 12, 2016 at 2:33 pm

If you can afford a car in SG you can afford to pay RM20 la. Otherwise go to Rochor and take bus.

• Andas on Jul 12, 2016 at 6:35 pm

Er, yellow bus ka? That speedy gonzales like crazy everyday..

• yup, good old sg vs my, my vs sg debate… never gets out of style.

Sg govt bans Singaporeans and PR from driving a Malaysian registered car on the island. Why don’t the Malaysia govt do that for all their citizens as well?

What a bunch of idiots.

• camtakpro on Jul 13, 2016 at 10:34 am

Stupid to ban. Just charge them sky high price. If they can bid high price for driving car in SG, charge them high price for coming Malaysia, and exponential price based on car horse power.

Let’s say entrance to Malaysia is RM20, if you have 500hp car, RM20 x 6^5 = RM155,520 ~ SGD53k entrance fee (exclude GST). Just SGD53k entrance fee for 500hp car. If can buy 500hp car, SGD53k is damn cheap lol.

Well, for 105hp (most 1.5L car), RM20 x 6^1.05 = RM131 ~ SGD44, should be way cheaper than COE.

And this must be a per month entry fee.
      (so we could also make them spend more $$$ in Malaysia)

• kimochidesuneh on Jul 13, 2016 at 1:43 pm

you are wasting your time to do the stupid bloody counting here and me and others are earning the powerful SGD (3 times of Banglasia Ringgit)

those who are earning SGD. we got power of SGD. whatever charges just like peanuts. watever imposed doesnt affect anything. those drive will still drive. those haters will still hate and spending their banglasia ringgit

• Why bother with the RFID & RM 20 now. Better catch those cars with summons at all over entry/exit points of the country. Use the income to fund the new VEP system. Might even get surplus income from the summons.