VEP system begins operating – trial run until July 15

johor causeway jam bernama pix

The Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) system for foreign vehicles entering Malaysia via the causeway from Singapore has begun operating as planned. The system is undergoing its trial run, which began today and will end on July 15. The trial period will be handled by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) to ensure the VEP system runs smoothly, Bernama reports.

According to Johor state public works, rural and regional development committee chairman Datuk Hasni Mohammad, the RM20 VEP charge will only be imposed from July 16. He added that the registration of vehicles for VEP will be until the end of the year. So far, 120,000 Singapore vehicles have registered under the VEP system.

The JPJ will provide 24-hour service counters with personnel working in three shifts to ensure the smooth operation of the VEP system. Hasni said that consumers can seek help from JPJ officers on duty if there is any disruption or issues when using the system.

“We expect congestion in the near future but it will not be bad. From the feedback received, motorists from Singapore are not questioning the implementation of the VEP but are more concerned of its implementation and congestion,” he said.

“In addition, the system will also detect Singapore-registered vehicles that received summons but have yet to settle the dues. This is because the number of Singapore vehicles which have not settled their summonses is still big,” Hasni added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Hunter Zolomon on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:28 am

Kasi saman itu singaporean. Always driving way too fast on the highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • S'porelang on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:09 am

Then wat about the johorean?? U guys more worst when come to driving especially in your own country…and actually we are learning from u guys✌

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:50 am

Bodoh punya kerajaan. Singapore charge us so expensive. but we charge them RM20. That is like SG$6 for them. Kacang puteh for them.

Even if you charge them RM60, which is SG$20, the same number of people will come into JB no matter what from Singapore cause they untung so much filling petrol (yes, still goes on), buying cheap groceries and cheap food.

It is estimated that each family in Singapore saves SG$250 (Rm1000) per week on groceries and food when they come to JB to shop.

Government just dont use their brains how to make money from the Singaporeans despite the Singaporeans making JB people life so difficult with Super high Cost of living

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 30
    • Charge low kena bash, charge high pun kena bash,

• Andas on Jun 01, 2016 at 3:54 pm

Think b4 u talk.. if msia increase too much, sg goment may implement the same charges to msian.. later u complaint.. sg goment will say ‘u raise, we raise the same price’.. sg people for sure never complaint.. 20dollar still cheap.. can reach malacca or kl in no time with their bimmer/merc and yamsey until morning.. yamsey!!!

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Johoreans now suffer with super high house prices cause the whole Iskandar now is owned by Singaporeans. And all we can collect is RM20 per car. Syukurlah

• Good… More income to BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • guest on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:26 pm

er.. u complain alot sgporeans come in drive up johor prices. it is right those at the bottom of the food chain feels this way. but u should ask the businesses and johor government what will happen if singaporeans do stop coming in altogether. ghost town

• S'porelang on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:05 am

Im a singaporean…which i see that there is no different, goverment are all the same!!! But im glad and syukur that malaysian goverment only charged us for RM20 for the VEP, that means u guys are still welcoming us to come to your country to spent our hard earn money..but did u guys ever thought how many of johorean comes to singapore to work and bring back the same pay check as singaporean or could be more!!! U think all the singaporean happy?? Think bro..think…before u said☺✌

• M'sianlang on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:55 am

Im a malaysian, do note that every person going into Singapore has to pay VEP which is 35SGD (20SGD previously), it was raised by 75% over the previous rate. Please do note that, we malaysian commute to work by using Buses, you think what can drive car to Singapore, wake up so early and stuff? Eh, so many jobs in Singapore la, but you all so picky.

• Deng Kin Hock on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:41 pm

Malaysian government spent a lot on free education for their people, and end up thousands of them are working in Singapore and directly cobtributing to her economy and development. I borrow the words from the guy upstair, “If all Malaysian stop working in Singapore, your economy will be going to crash!”