Toyota Calya roaming in Indonesia – budget Axia-based MPV to debut at next month’s GIIAS 2016

The Toyota Calya has been spotted on Indonesian roads by a reader of local portal AutonetMagz, probably piling on the final miles in the test programme. The Calya and its twin Daihatsu Sigra are budget three-row MPVs that will make their debut at the 2016 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) next month.

The Indonesian Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) Calya/Sigra duo will sit below the facelifted Toyota Avanza and Daihatsu Xenia to fight the Datsun GO+ Panca that has been sold in the republic since 2014.

The Calya/Sigra is reported to be based on the Axia platform, which of course also underpins the Perodua Bezza sedan that will be launched in Malaysia next week (check out the Bezza’s specs and read our first drive report of Perodua’s first sedan). This MPV could very well be the production version of the Daihatsu UFC-3 concept from IIMS 2014, which was supposed to preview an MPV smaller than Xenia.

There are a number of styling details that are shared between the UFC-3 and this production Calya, such as the side window shape and some of the surfacing, although things have been toned down. What hasn’t been moderated is the aggressive face. Reminiscent of the “X” face on the latest European Yaris, the lower grille is so big that it’s joined to the badge and slim upper grille.

At the rear, there are L-shaped tail lights, much like on the new Innova, although these have much less of a Honda HR-V-esque look to them. No photos of the interior, yet.

The Calya and Sigra are expected to come with 1.0L and 1.2L engines, the latter because of the Indonesian LCGC guidelines. The 1.2L engine could related to the 3NR-FE 80 PS four-cylinder unit used in the Indonesian Etios Valco hatchback, which is also an LCGC. Would such an MPV – capacious and cheaper than the Perodua Alza, but basic in engine and specs – gain acceptability in Malaysia?

GALLERY: Daihatsu UFC-3 Concept at IIMS 2014

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh. on Jul 15, 2016 at 12:50 pm

And here we thought 1.0L sub-1 ton sedan is underpowered. Daihatsu Indonesia just went beeech pleeeez

• So are we now supposed to get excited with budget cars similar to those market especially for Indonesia and India? We seems to be going backwards when at one time Ipoh was given a large Mercedes sign by the carmaker to mark huge sales.
    Sure, I’ll take this MPV for my extended family since we can’t really afford any better cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 15, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Because the Government is greedy and tax us very highly on decent sedans like the Toyota Camry, we have to suffer buying palat cheap cars.

Toyota Camry Hybrid in Australia is AUD$27k. That is hardly RM90k. That is CBU with 10 airbags and highly specced.

Our Camry Hyrbid, despite using super cheap Malaysian parts to qualify for CKD discounts, it is sold for RM175k. Lesser spec and lower quality than CBU.

So, you have to thank your BN Government for creating a sitation where people can only afford cheap low spec cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 15, 2016 at 5:32 pm

You are back…and complaining as usual like sissy with bitchy mouth…get a job laa…haiyaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • normal_user on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:09 pm

Nope not suitable for Malaysian market cant imagine something that is smaller than Avanza/Alza..

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:13 pm

I doubt it will come here with the Toyota emblem…but a P2 version might work if they think it won’t eat into the Alza sales.

• Fairul on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:18 pm

It’s time for a new Alza but this doesn’t really to Malaysians. I won’t buy for sure. It’s not striking and good enuf for Malaysians. I hope Perodua can rebadge the Toyota Sienta or Honda BRV standard for its new Alza. The current Alza is too small to fit 7 adults comfortably.

• Kadiaq on Jul 15, 2016 at 4:47 pm

Hoping for Perodua rebadging Honda cars?? FYI, Daihatsu having share in Perodua and also Daihatsu now own by Toyota.. Wahh, you must be dreaming.. And if they rebadging Toyota Sienta, the rebadging Sienta by Perodua will suffer bad times like Perodua Nautica aka Toyota Rush… Because they sell the the car that already sell here..

• pakcik on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:20 pm

otomotifnet.com/Mobil/News-Apm/Mengintip-Jeroan-Kabin-Daihatsu-Sigra-Lumayan

Interior photos found there

• idealtech on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Stop bringing in rubbish. Enough with Avanza, that is the limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • just another driver on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:27 pm

probably we are seeing the next gen of alza…..

• Lockhart on Jul 15, 2016 at 1:46 pm

That background music tho.

• I heard of moving chicanes b4, but this just gips new meaning to slowpoke landwhale. in b4 Albert@kuntilanak praise it sky high just to up his tali-barutness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Jul 15, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Try not to be lazy john. We are all supporting you. All our taxes are going for you. So try to behave.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • avanjawa on Jul 15, 2016 at 3:29 pm

If the Avanza looks terribly awful, this is totally freaking hideous. Just look at the tallish profile yet smallish wheel arch. Certainly doesn’t fit Malaysian tastes.

The next generation Alza should be derived from future JDM Passo Sette (the new hatch is already there). Or perhaps Toyota can donate their Sienta platform and let Perodua play with it to produce another compact MPV.

• FUGLY

• maidin on Jul 15, 2016 at 4:36 pm

honda brv pun tak nampak bayang lagi, tak payah la nak mimpi kereta ni smpi malaysia

• RavenAii (Member) on Jul 15, 2016 at 5:29 pm

If Perodua are ever bring this vehicle in and rebadge it, they’d probably ditch the 1.0L and 1.2L mill in favour of 1.5L engines since Malaysian really dislike underpowered vehicles. Just like the second generation Daihatsu Boon which are equipped with 1.0L 1KR-FE and 1.3L 1NR-FE compared to a rebadge twin, the Myvi, powered by a 1.3L K3-VE and 1.5L 3SZ-VE engines. If they could even fit a 1.8L from an Altis into the Alza, imo it would surely sell more. If it’s the 2.0L? I guess people will go crazy about it.

• Perodua seems to be able to offer decent deals – that’s an improvement for the rakyat compared to the heydays of Proton but as some commenters mentioned earlier…. we have to do better than India and Indonesia and stop overtaxing reasonably priced, reasonably equipped cars from established marques.

• Syafiq sokong perodua/proton on Jul 15, 2016 at 6:37 pm

Di malaysia mungkin Perodua akan ubah kereta yg indonesian design kepada model yg lebih cantik….Rupa toyota Calya yg hodoh ni mesti berlainan bila Perodua redesign semula

• Even Toyota wan compete cheaply…dear all rakyat, may ur funds rip…proton need another bail out soon…

• auto_hunter on Jul 15, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Correction, Etios Valco is not a LCGC, just sits between Yaris and Agya.
    It has low sales because of its design and technology.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 16, 2016 at 9:25 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV